DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/671,734 for MODULAR LOAD PADS AND METHODS OF USE, filed on 5/22/2024. This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 9/17/2025. Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 13-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 14-19 contain an incorrect status identifier. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 20-21 are not included in the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 contains the limitation regarding “wherein the series of center apparatus engagement features are configured to engage with a series of bottom engagement features of the second load pad when the second load pad is aligned with respect to the first load pad” but claim 18 contains the limitation regarding “when the second load pad is offset with respect to the first load pad.” It is unclear how the second load pad can be simultaneously aligned and offset with respect to the first load pad. Appropriate clarification s requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chou (U.S. Pat. 7,490,561) in view of Du Toit et al. (U.S. 2013/0032507).
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches a load pad for distributing a load, the load pad comprising: a top apparatus with a substantially flat upper surface and a bottom surface with a series of top apparatus engagement features; a center apparatus configured to removably connect to a bottom surface of the top apparatus via a series of center apparatus engagement features; and a bottom apparatus connected to the center apparatus, but do not teach that the top and bottom apparatuses are formed of an elastomer, wherein the center apparatus is formed of a material that has a higher rigidity than the top apparatus and the bottom apparatus. Du Toit teaches a pallet comprising both a thermoplastic elastomer in order to absorb shocks and protect the pallet and a reinforced polymeric material in order to provide a suitably light, strong and durable material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the top and bottom apparatus formed of an elastomer, wherein the center apparatus is formed of a material that has a higher rigidity than the top apparatus and the bottom apparatus in order to provide a pallet with sufficient strength and durability that can absorb shocks and vibrations.
[AltContent: textbox (Flat upper surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (Top apparatus)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (center apparatus engagement features)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (top apparatus engagement features)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Engagement openings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center apparatus)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom apparatus)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Chou and Du Toit teach the pad of claim 1, wherein the bottom apparatus is removably connected to the center apparatus.
Regarding claim 10, Chou and Du Toit teach the pad of claim 1, wherein the bottom apparatus is removably connected to the center apparatus via a plurality of engagement protrusions (33).
Regarding claims 11, Chou and Du Toit teach the pad of claim 10, wherein the plurality of engagement protrusions protrude from a top surface of the bottom apparatus and wherein the plurality of engagement protrusions are configured to be captively engaged with corresponding engagement openings of the center apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Chou and Du Toit teach a load pad comprising: a top apparatus with a substantially flat upper surface and a bottom surface with a series of top apparatus engagement features; a center apparatus configured to removably connect to a bottom surface of the top apparatus via a series of center apparatus engagement features; and a bottom apparatus connected to the center apparatus, but do not teach that the load pad is a part of a plurality of load pads in a load pad system, and wherein a top and bottom apparatus are formed of an elastomer, wherein the center apparatus is formed of a material that has a higher rigidity than the top apparatus and the bottom apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the load pad as a part of a plurality of load pads in a load pad system in order to provide support for multiple members , and further, since the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Further, Du Toit teaches a pallet comprising both a thermoplastic elastomer in order to absorb shocks and protect the pallet and a reinforced polymeric material in order to provide a suitably light, strong and durable material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the top and bottom apparatus formed of an elastomer, wherein the center apparatus is formed of a material that has a higher rigidity than the top apparatus and the bottom apparatus in order to provide a pallet with sufficient strength and durability that can absorb shocks and vibrations.
Regarding claims 14 and 17, Chou and Du Toit teach the pad of claims 1 and 10, but do not teach that the center apparatus is formed of at least one of a Polycarbonate, ABS Plastic, High Density Polyethylene (HDPE), or Polypropylene. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, however, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the center apparatus formed of at least one of a Polycarbonate, ABS Plastic, High Density Polyethylene (HDPE), or Polypropylene in order to provide a strong and durable material, and further, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chou (U.S. Pat. 7,490,561) in view of Du Toit et al. (U.S. 2013/0032507) in further view of Apps et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0134390).
Regarding claim 3, Chou and Du Toit teach the pad of claim 1, but do not teach a handle opening passing through the top apparatus, the center apparatus, and the bottom apparatus. Apps, however, teaches a pallet (Figs. 8, 9) comprising a handle opening (125) passing through a top apparatus and a bottom apparatus in order to form a handle for carrying the pallet sections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct a handle opening passing through the top apparatus, the center apparatus, and the bottom apparatus in order to form a space for easily carrying the load pad, and further, in order to reduce the weight of the load pad by removal of material, in view of Apps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 December 26, 2025