DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/22/24 and 6/21/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group, I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged. Claim 18 is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the barrier layer of a first tile extending from an edge thereof and overhanging at least some of the ceilings associated with absorbing members of an adjacent tile as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cormier et al., US 2020/0141132.
Regarding claim 1:
Cormier discloses a progressive load-distributing and absorbing system that is subjected to an applied load, the system comprising:
one or more multi-tier, hat-shaped absorbing members (20 in Fig. 1), at least some of the absorbing members having
a basal portion (24) with a thickness (T) made of a material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethane (para. 0047 and 0057);
a curvilinear wall (26) extending upwardly from the basal portion, the curvilinear wall defining a number (N) of tiers (2 tiers) that telescopingly cooperate in response to and resist the applied load, at least some of the tiers being characterized by a curvilinear wall section having a height (23), an average thickness (T), an angle of inclination (θ), a shoulder having a length (25), and a radius portion between the shoulder and the wall section of an adjacent tier, the radius portion having a radius (refer to Fig. 1, there is a radius between the shoulder and the adjacent tier);
the tiers having a compliant region, an intermediate region, and a protective region,
the compliant region having one or more compliant tiers that at least partially absorb forces initially resulting from the applied load, the compliant tiers lying in an upper portion of an absorbing member;
the protective region lying below the intermediate region and having one or more protective tiers extending below the intermediate region, the protective tiers deflecting substantially after the compliant tiers have absorbed the forces initially resulting from the applied load;
wherein the shoulders form transition regions between the protective, intermediate and compliant regions and provide transition zones between a relatively soft resistance offered by the protective region and a relatively stiff resistance presented by the compliant region (para. 0045),
wherein the tiers in the protective region deflect after the tiers in the compliant region; and
a ceiling portion that lies above an uppermost compliant tier;
wherein the curvilinear wall portions return to their pre-impact configuration and strength after the applied load is removed (para. 0067, it is a resilient material of TPU that remains unblemished before, during and after impact events).
Regarding claim 2:
Cormier discloses further including a barrier layer (18 and 12) below which the absorbing members are positioned, so that after the load is applied to the barrier layer, the absorbing members react by a deflection mode that is characterized by an initial absorption by the compliant region followed by a stiffer resistance progressively presented by the intermediate and protective regions.
Regarding claims 6 and 7:
Cormier discloses wherein the barrier layer is ceramic or wood (claim 6 of Cormier) and the foundation is concrete (claim 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
Cormier discloses wherein at the some of the compliant regions have a footprint with a shape that is a circle (Fig. 5) and the protective regions have a footprint also with a circle (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10:
Cormier discloses further including one or more tiles of absorbing members (Figs 2 and 3) wherein a barrier layer of a first tile extends from an edge thereof and overhangs at least some of the ceilings associated with absorbing members of an adjacent tile.
Regarding claim 11:
Cormier discloses wherein groups of tiles are conjoined (Figs. 2 and 3), at least some of the absorbing members having a load-attenuation characteristic such that within the group, there is a user-determinable force attenuation property that may be uniform within the group (claim 13 of Cormier).
Regarding claim 12:
Cormier discloses wherein a group of conjoined tiles has an energy absorption characteristic that differs from another group of conjoined tiles, so that tiles that underlie a first installation site may present a different footfall than a group of tiles that underlie another installation site (implied by para. 0044, tuning of characteristic for various applications).
Regarding claims 13 and 17:
Cormier discloses wherein the barrier layer includes a surface of a floor located in a senior living facility (claim 20 of Cormier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormier et al., US 2020/0141132.
Regarding claim 15:
Cormier does not expressly disclose multiple tiers in the protective region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a plurality of tiers in the protective region, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In the case above, it was found that while the addition of multiple plies had undoubtedly made it stronger, it is not the type of innovation for which a patent monopoly is to be granted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most relevant prior art of record to Cormier et al., US 2020/0141132 does not disclose differences in thickness between regions (claim 3 through 5) nor differences between draft angles (claim 14). Modifying Cormier to have the claimed features would require improper hindsight reasoning and reconstruction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633