DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-17, 21-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al. 20180260334 herein Asano in view of Chou 20180260319 herein Chou.
Per claim 11, Asano discloses: receiving, by a storage device, a command to adjust a size of a namespace; (¶0054; A method 700 of increasing a namespace is shown in FIG. 7. Upon receipt of a command from a host 110 to increase the size of the NSA for a namespace NSIDx; ¶0055; a manner of decreasing the namespace according an implementation of the present disclosure. Here an NSAU entry 850 in NSAU LUT 450 is removed following a command received by the SSD 120 from a host 110 for namespace resizing) in response to the command, adjusting a namespace map to change a number of blocks of logical addresses allocated to the namespace while maintaining logical addresses of data stored in the namespace;(¶0054; .. the controller determines the number of unallocated NSAUs available in the LCA space. The controller then determines if the number of unallocated NSAUs in the LCA space is greater than or equal to the number of NSAUs required to increase the NSA as required by the host (step S730). If the number of unallocated NSAUs in the LCA space is greater than or equal to the number of NSAUs required, the controller creates a new entry in the NSAU LUT 450 for NSIDx in step S740. This new entry in the NSAU LUT 450 is added as the very last entry in the NSAU LUT 450) and translating logical addresses in the namespace to physical addresses for a non-volatile storage medium of the storage device using the adjusted namespace map (¶0041; SSD controller 130 first converts the namespace-based address to a linear, internal address, termed a logical cluster address (LCA), using the NSID and uses the LCA as an index to a logical-to-physical lookup table. Within the linear address space that is associated with the NSID, the namespaces are arrayed in a back-to-back manner, so that the NSID corresponding to one namespace are adjacent to the NSID corresponding to the subsequent namespace).
Asano discloses a look up table for the namespace but does not specifically disclose: wherein the namespace map comprises an array storing identifications of blocks of logical addresses allocated to the namespace.
However, Chou discloses: wherein the namespace map comprises an array storing identifications of blocks of logical addresses allocated to the namespace (¶0022; FIG. 4 is a global H2F mapping table created by the control unit 210 in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The size of the global H2F mapping table is proportional to the sum of the capacity of each namespace indicated in the set values. The global H2F mapping table can be partitioned into a plurality of sectors, and the total number of sectors is equal to the namespace number indicated in the create command For example, the global H2F mapping table is partitioned into four sectors, and each sector corresponds to one namespace. Assuming that each of the namespace capacities indicated in the set values is identical, the length of each sector in the global H2F mapping table would also be identical. Assuming that each record of data in the global H2F mapping table has a size of 8 B for recording a correspondence of 4K data from the host 100 and that each of the namespaces to be created #0 to #3 has a capacity of 64 MB for recording 16,384 records of data, the total capacity of the namespaces #0 to #3 would be 256 MB, and the global H2F mapping table created in step S210 would have a size of 512 KB and record the correspondence between the 65,536 LBAs (e.g., LBA0 to LBA65535) and the physical address (e.g., block ID and page ID).)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Asano and Chou’s namespace mapping to manage multiple namespace access. Chou’s namespaces avoid insufficient and limiting of system resources (¶0008; the present invention prevents system resources (e.g., spare spaces) from being partitioned for supporting the multiple namespaces, thereby avoiding the insufficiency or limiting of the system resources).
Per claim 12, Asano discloses: wherein the command is a command to increase the size of the namespace, and wherein the adjusting comprises allocating additional blocks of logical addresses to the namespace (0054; A method 700 of increasing a namespace is shown in FIG. 7. Upon receipt of a command from a host 110 to increase the size of the NSA for a namespace NSIDx .. the controller determines the number of unallocated NSAUs available in the LCA space. The controller then determines if the number of unallocated NSAUs in the LCA space is greater than or equal to the number of NSAUs required to increase the NSA as required by the host (step S730). If the number of unallocated NSAUs in the LCA space is greater than or equal to the number of NSAUs required, the controller creates a new entry in the NSAU LUT 450 for NSIDx in step S740. This new entry in the NSAU LUT 450 is added as the very last entry in the NSAU LUT 450).
Per claim 13, Asano discloses: wherein the command is a command to increase the size of the namespace, and wherein the adjusting comprises allocating additional blocks of logical addresses to the namespace (0055; a manner of decreasing the namespace according an implementation of the present disclosure. Here an NSAU entry 850 in NSAU LUT 450 is removed following a command received by the SSD 120 from a host 110 for namespace resizing.. Prior to receiving such a command, NSAU 850 corresponded to an LCA pointer 852 that mapped to an NSAU cluster 854 in the LCA space. Once NSAU entry 850 is removed, pointer 852 to NSAU 854 is also removed from the NSAU LUT 450, and the status of that cluster is updated to unallocated. Unallocated NSAU 854 then forms part of the unallocated NSAU pool and becomes available for assignment should a namespace be added as in FIGS. 6 and 7).
Per claim 14, Asano discloses: wherein the adjusting comprises modifying a pointer in the namespace map to point to a different block of logical addresses (0053; While the clusters allocated to a namespace need not be contiguous (or indeed arranged in any particular order) in the LCA space 600, the NSAU LUT table entries for the namespace do need to be in contiguous order of NSID, hence the need to re-order NSAU LUT after increasing the size of a namespace. As previously mentioned, this re-ordering of NSAU pointers according to NSID in the NSAU LUT 450 does not require any movement of data as only the NSID and corresponding pointers to the LCA space that get re-arranged).
Per claim 15, Asano discloses: wherein the adjusting comprises modifying a size indicator in the namespace map to indicate a different size for a block of logical addresses allocated to the namespace (fig. 4A, ¶0040; An address in the address space includes the namespace identifier NSID 210 and a logical address 220 within the namespace (also referred to as an offset or an offset within the namespace). The logical address 220 is the LBA; the examiner notes that the size indicator is merely a value indicating a list of blocks identified via the block ID’s (see ¶0067)).
Per claim 16, Asano discloses: further comprising after adjusting the namespace map, writing data to the namespace using the adjusted namespace map (0037; Commands from host 110 include requests to read or write to locations within the NV semiconductor memory 140, and various administrative commands, such as commands for querying the feature set of storage device 120, commands for formatting the NV semiconductor memory 140, commands for creating and modifying various types of queues, commands for requesting notification of various events, and various other commands.).
Per claim 17, Asano discloses: further comprising after adjusting the namespace map, reading data from the namespace using the adjusted namespace map (0051; when a read command is received from a host 110 to read 23 clusters from NSID ‘1’ and LCA=137, for example, the NSID pointer table 430 entry 411 is read to obtain the start pointer corresponding to NSID ‘1’.).
Per claim 27, Asano discloses: further comprising after adjusting the namespace map, reading data from the namespace using the adjusted namespace map (0051; when a read command is received from a host 110 to read 23 clusters from NSID ‘1’ and LCA=137, for example, the NSID pointer table 430 entry 411 is read to obtain the start pointer corresponding to NSID ‘1’.).
Claims 21-26 are the device claims corresponding to the method claims 11-17 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 11-17.
Claims 28-33 are the CRM claims corresponding to the method claims 11-17 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 11-17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/19/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chou. Chou discloses: FIG. 4 is a global H2F mapping table created by the control unit 210 in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The size of the global H2F mapping table is proportional to the sum of the capacity of each namespace indicated in the set values. The global H2F mapping table can be partitioned into a plurality of sectors, and the total number of sectors is equal to the namespace number indicated in the create command For example, the global H2F mapping table is partitioned into four sectors, and each sector corresponds to one namespace. Assuming that each of the namespace capacities indicated in the set values is identical, the length of each sector in the global H2F mapping table would also be identical. Assuming that each record of data in the global H2F mapping table has a size of 8 B for recording a correspondence of 4K data from the host 100 and that each of the namespaces to be created #0 to #3 has a capacity of 64 MB for recording 16,384 records of data, the total capacity of the namespaces #0 to #3 would be 256 MB, and the global H2F mapping table created in step S210 would have a size of 512 KB and record the correspondence between the 65,536 LBAs (e.g., LBA0 to LBA65535) and the physical address (e.g., block ID and page ID). The 65,536 LBAs are preferably sequentially arranged and sequentially mapped to the namespaces #0 to #3 to be created. For example, the first sector includes LBA0to LBA16383, which correspond to the logical block addresses LBA0to LBA16383 of the namespace #0 respectively; the second sector includes LBA16384 to LBA32767, which correspond to the logical block addresses LBA0 to LBA16383 of the namespace #1 respectively; the third sector includes LBA32768 to LBA49151, which correspond to the logical block addresses LBA0 to LBA16383 of the namespace #2 respectively; and the fourth sector includes LBA49152 to LBA65535, which correspond to the logical block addresses LBA0 to LBA16383 of the namespace #3 respectively.
Remark
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
Conclusion
BABOUCARR . FAAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/BABOUCARR FAAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2131