DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Examiner’s Remarks
Claims 7-10 and 12-15 are withdrawn as of June 15, 2026, with traverse.
Claims 1-6 and 11 are examined.
This application contains 7-10 and 12-15 are drawn to an invention nonelected with traverse.
A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims, 5-9 and 16-20, to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention with Applicant’s amendment and response to this Non-final office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., (US Publication No. 2019 0082427 A1 and Kim hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
determining that a first bandwidth having a size smaller than a preconfigured bandwidth is used in a frequency band operated by the base station (i.e., a time-frequency resource structure of the system bandwidth 410 in frequency and one slot 420 in time (it is assumed that 1 slot consists of 7 OFDM symbols) includes two CORESETs, i.e., CORESET #1 401 and CORESET #2 402. The CORESETs #1 and #2 401 and 402 may be configured in certain sub-bands 403 within the system bandwidth 410 in the frequency domain. A CORESET may span one or multiple OFDM symbols in the time domain and may be referred to as control resource set duration 4 ) Para [0075]-[0076]; and transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information for a control resource set (CORESET) having an index of 0, (i.e., downlink or uplink data scheduling information is transmitted from an eNB to the UE using DCI. The DCI is categorized into different DCI formats depending on the purpose, e.g., indicating UL grant for UL data scheduling or DL grant for DL data scheduling, indicating usage for control information that is small in size, indicating whether multiple antenna-based spatial multiplexing is applied, and indicating usage for power control. For example, the DCI format 1 for a DL grant is configured to include at least the following information. [0045] Resource allocation type 0/1 flag: Resource allocation type 0/1 flag indicates whether the resource allocation scheme is Type 0 or Type 1. Type-0 is used to allocate resources in units of RBG by applying a bitmap scheme. In the LTE system, the basic unit of scheduling may be an RB that is expressed by time-frequency domain resources, and the RBG may include multiple RBs and may be the basic unit of scheduling in the Type-0 scheme. Type-1 is used to allocate a particular RB in an RBG [0046] Resource block assignment: Resource block assignment indicates an RB allocated for data transmission. The resources may be determined depending on the system bandwidth and the resource allocation scheme.) based on the first bandwidth Para [0044-0045],
wherein the CORESET having the index of 0 (i.e., the CCEs corresponding to PDCCH candidate m of the search space S.sub.k.sup.(L) are given by L {(Y.sub.k + m′)mod └N.sub.CCE,k/L┘}+i where Y.sub.k is defined below, i = 0, . . . ,L − 1 . For the common search space m′ = m . For the PDCCH UE specific search space, for the serving cell on which PDCCH is monitored, if the monitoring UE is configured with carrier indicator field then m′ = m + M.sup.(L) .Math. n.sub.CI where n.sub.CI is the carrier indicator field value, else if the monitoring UE is not configured with carrier indicator field then m′ = m , where m = 0, . . . ,M.sup.(L) − 1 . M.sup.(L) is the number of PDCCH candidates to monitor in the given search space. Note that the carrier indicator field value is the same as ServCellIndex For the common search spaces, Y.sub.k is set to 0 for the two aggregation levels L = 4 and L = 8 . For the UE-specific search space S.sub.k.sup.(L) at aggregation level L ) Para p[0064] comprises a plurality of resource element groups (REGs) (i.e., time-frequency resource structure, the basic resource unit is a resource element (RE) 106 indicated by an OFDM symbol index and a subcarrier index. A resource block (RB) (or physical resource block (PRB) 107 is defined by N.sub.symb consecutive OFDM symbols 101 in the time domain and N.sub.RB consecutive subcarriers 108 in the frequency domain. That is, one RB 107 consists of N.sub.symb×N.sub.RB REs 106. Typically, the RB is the smallest data transmission unit. In the LTE system, N.sub.symb=7, N.sub.RB=12, and NBW and N.sub.RB are proportional to the system transmission bandwidth.) Para [0059] to which a control channel element (CCE) is mapped, (i.e., Resource allocation for PDCCH 201 is performed based on a control-channel element (CCE), and one CCE consists of 9 resource element groups (REGs), i.e. 36 REs. The PDCCH 201 may be transmitted on 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs, and the number of CCEs is determined depending on the channel coding rate of the DCI message payload. The reason for using different numbers of CCEs is to achieve link adaptation of the PDCCH 201. A UE must detect the PDCCH 201 without information thereon through blind decoding within a search space, which is a set of CCEs) Para [0057] and wherein the CCE is mapped to the plurality of REGs according to one of non-interleaved mapping (i.e., mapping types A and B. In addition, the method is advantageous in terms of maximizing scheduling flexibility by scheduling PDSCH with both the PDSCH mapping types A and B in the whole bandwidth of the terminal without limit to any specific frequency band in the terminal bandwidth. For example, in the case where the CORESET#1 and CORESET#2 are configured in association with the PDSCH mapping types A and B respectively, the base station may transmit to the terminal one DCI for scheduling PDSCH in the CORESET#1 in association with the PDSCH mapping type A and another DCI for scheduling PDSCH in the CORESET#2 in association with the PDSCH mapping type B.) Para [0128] or interleaved mapping using a number of resource blocks (RBs) included in the first bandwidth (i.e., the base station may configure multiple BWPs different in bandwidth to the terminal for the purpose of reducing power consumption of the terminal. For example, if the terminal supporting a very broad bandwidth, e.g., 100 MHz, always performs data communication via the corresponding bandwidth, this may result in significant power consumption. For example, monitoring an unnecessary downlink control channel with the broad bandwidth of 100 MHz in a situation with no traffic is very inefficient in view of power consumption. For the purpose of reducing power consumption of the terminal, the base station may configure a BWP with a relatively narrow BWP, e.g., BWP of 20 MHz. In this case, the terminal may monitor the BWP of 20 MHz in the situation with no traffic and, if data to transmit/receive occur or a command is received from the base station, the terminal may transmit/receive the data in the BWP of 100 MHz. ) Para [0095].
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the terminal, information about whether interleaving is applied in case that the CCE is mapped to the plurality of REGs (i.e., Resource allocation for PDCCH 201 is performed based on a control-channel element (CCE), and one CCE consists of 9 resource element groups (REGs), i.e. 36 REs. The PDCCH 201 may be transmitted on 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs, and the number of CCEs is determined depending on the channel coding rate of the DCI message payload. The reason for using different numbers of CCEs is to achieve link adaptation of the PDCCH 201. A UE must detect the PDCCH 201 without information thereon through blind decoding within a search space, which is a set of CCEs. The search space is a group of CCEs composed of an aggregation level (AL), which is implicitly determined based on a function of the UE identity and a subframe number rather than explicitly signaled) Para [0057].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches further comprising: in case that the CCE is mapped to the plurality of REGs (i.e., search space 1005 is composed of 8 CCEs 1006 (i.e., CCE 1007, CCE 1008, CCE 1009, CCE 1010, CCE 1011, CCE 1012, CCE 1013, and CCE 1014) among which 5 CCEs, i.e., (i.e., CCE 1009, CCE 1010, CCE 1012, CCE 1013, and CCE 1014) are located in the non-overlapped region 1004 as shown in FIG. 10, the base station may map the DCI only to the PDCCH candidates on the CCE 1009, CCE 1010, CCE 1012, CCE 1013, and CCE 1014.) Para [0194] according to the interleaved mapping using the number of RBs included in the first bandwidth (i.e., time-frequency resource structure of the system bandwidth 410 in frequency and one slot 420 in time (in the embodiment of FIG. 4, it is assumed that 1 slot consists of 7 OFDM symbols) includes two CORESETs, i.e., CORESET #1 401 and CORESET #2 402. The CORESETs #1 and #2 401 and 402 may be configured in certain sub-bands 403 within the system bandwidth 410 in the frequency domain) Para [0075], transmitting information on the number of RBs included in the first bandwidth to the terminal, wherein the information is transmitted based on a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) (i.e., possible to receive DL-SCH scheduling assignment information for transmitting system information block-1 (SIB-1) including operator information of the cell by decoding the common search space of the PDCCH 201) Para [0058].
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches wherein a CCE index of a search space set associated with the CORESET (i.e., time/frequency resources as reserved resources for various purposes. Neither a base station nor a terminal uses reserved resources for transmission or reception. An aspect of the present disclosure provides a method for a base station to transmit DCI and a method for a terminal to monitor a control resource set (CORESET) for the DCI in a case where part of the CORESET for transmitting downlink control channels is configured as reserved resources ) Para [0008] having the index of 0 is determined based on a number of CCEs included in the first bandwidth in the CORESET having the index of 0 (i.e., Resource allocation type 0/1 flag: Resource allocation type 0/1 flag indicates whether the resource allocation scheme is Type 0 or Type 1. Type-0 is used to allocate resources in units of RBG by applying a bitmap scheme. In the LTE system, the basic unit of scheduling may be an RB that is expressed by time-frequency domain resources, and the RBG may include multiple RBs and may be the basic unit of scheduling in the Type-0 scheme. Type-1 is used to allocate a particular RB) Para [0045-0046]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches further comprising: transmitting information for configuring a common search space set to the terminal, wherein a CCE aggregation level for the common search space set is 1 or 2 (i.e., control-channel element (CCE), and one CCE consists of 9 resource element groups (REGs), i.e. 36 REs. The PDCCH 201 may be transmitted on 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs, and the number of CCEs is determined depending on the channel coding rate of the DCI message payload. The reason for using different numbers of CCEs is to achieve link adaptation of the PDCCH 201. A UE must detect the PDCCH 201 without information thereon through blind decoding within a search space, which is a set of CCEs. The search space is a group of CCEs composed of an aggregation level (AL), which is implicitly determined based on a function of the UE identity and a subframe number rather than explicitly signaled.) Para [0057] and (i.e., there are two different ways of transmitting the EPDCCHs 202 according to the mapping scheme of EREGs to REs: “localized” and “distributed.” There are 6 possible ECCE aggregation levels of 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, and 32 of which one is selected based on the CP length, subframe configuration, EPDCCH format, and transmission scheme) Para [0060] and Para [0064]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches further comprising: receiving information for configuring a common search space set from the base station, wherein a CCE aggregation level for the common search space set is 1 or 2 (i.e., The search space is a set of control channel candidates corresponding to the CCEs where the UE attempts to decode its control channel, and a UE has multiple search spaces for several aggregation levels as groups of CCEs. For LTE PDCCH, the numbers of PDCCH candidates to be monitored by the UE within the search spaces being determined according to the aggregation level are listed in Table 2 below:
TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Search space S.sub.k.sup.(L) Number of PDCCH Type Aggregation level L Size [in CCEs] candidates M.sup.(L) UE- 1 6 6 specific 2 12 6 4 8 2 8 16 2 Common 4 16 4 8 16 2) Para [0067].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to dependent Claim6, BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) in light of the specification, Examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record, which sets forth in the following:
Kim et al., (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0082427 A1), discloses to a communication method and system for converging a 5th-Generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a 4th-Generation (4G) system with a technology for Internet of things (IoT). The present disclosure may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology, such as a smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car, connected car, health care, digital education, smart retail, security and safety services.
However, Kim fails to show “transmitting a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) based on the first bandwidth, wherein a ratio of PSS energy per resource element (EPRE) to SSS EPRE in the SS/PBCH block is determined according to the size of the first bandwidth and is a value smaller than 3 decibels”" as supported in Applicant’s specification, Para [0227]; [0230]; [0232]-[0234], for example.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al., (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0082427 A1), “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING CONTROL AND DATA CHANNELS IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM” (March 14, 2029) discloses to a communication method and system for converging a 5th-Generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a 4th-Generation (4G) system with a technology for Internet of things (IoT). The present disclosure may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology, such as a smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car, connected car, health care, digital education, smart retail, security and safety services.
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov