Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination. Claims 1, 6 and 12 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 16, 18, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a operon” and should recite “an operon.”
Claims 2 and 7 recite “to prepare the the recombinant plasmid” with duplicate “the.”
Claims 3 and 8 recite “genes of firefly luciferase” suggest rephrasing to “a firefly luciferase gene” to improve clarity.
Claim 14 recites “preparing a named pEZ15a” in which a word appears to have been omitted.
Claim 16 recites “primes” in four locations which should be “primers.” Additionally, claim 16 recites “the 1323DS-F is shown as SEQ ID NO.28, the 1323DS-R is shown as SEQ ID NO.28” in which both forward and reverse primer are SEQ ID NO. 28. The sequence corrects this, as the forward primer should be SEQ ID NO. 27, therefore the claim should recite “the 1323DS-F is shown as SEQ ID NO.27, the 1323DS-R is shown as SEQ ID NO.28”
Claim 18 recites “gibson assembly” which should be capitalized as “Gibson assembly.”
Claim 20 omits “wherein” following “The use according to claim 12.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
In regards to claims 4 and 10, recite inserting the gene “LmldhA” into the genome of Zymomonas mobilis. However, the specification does not define the designation “LmldhA,” identify the organism from which the gene is derived, discloses a corresponding nucleotide sequence or accession number, or otherwise provide sufficient identifying characteristics for determining the identity of the recited gene.
“LmldhA” is not a standardized gene designation recognized in the art. The designation “ldhA” is used in the art for lactate dehydrogenase belonging to two structurally unrelated protein families, D-lactate dehydrogenase, which belongs to the D-isomer specific 2-hydroxyacid dehydrogenase family, and L-lactate dehydrogenase, which belongs to a separate family. Different organism apply the designation “ldhA” to member of each family. Accordingly, even if the prefix “Lm” were understood to denote a source organism, the designation would not identify a determinate nucleic acid, and would not establish whether the recite gene encoded an enzyme producing the D- or L-enantiomer of lactic acid, a distinction central to the claimed subject matter, which is directed throughout to D-lactic acid.
Although D-lactate dehydrogenase genes from Leuconostoc mesenteroides are known in the art, the specification does not establish that the designation “LmldhA” refers to a particular such gene or otherwise delineate which nucleotide sequences fall within the scope of the recited designation. Accordingly, it is unclear which particular gene or class of genes is encompassed by the recited designation, and the metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said gene to regulate biosynthesis of D-lactic acid” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 recites “genes to regulate biosynthesis of D-lactic acid”, using the plural “genes”.
In regards to claim 12, the claim is directed to “A use of ZMO1323 in biosynthesis of D-lactic acid.” First, a claim reciting a use without setting forth steps is indefinite, see MPEP 2173.05(q), Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). Although the body of claim 12 recites two steps, the claim remains indefinite because it is unclear whether applicant intends to claim a method, a product, or a different statutory category.
Second, the preamble is irreconcilable with the body. The preamble recites a use of ZMO1323 in the biosynthesis of D-lactic acid, which conveys that the recited gene participates in or contributes to the production of D-lactic acid. The body of the claim, however, recites preparing an editing plasmid for knocking out ZMO1323 and transferring the plasmid into production strains, steps directed to eliminating the gene from the genome rather than employing it. The specification confirms that elimination is intended, designating the resulting strains ZMNP-HAPLΔ1323 and ZML-pdc-ldhΔ1323 and reporting in Table 2 and paragraph [0084] of the Spec that the increase in D-lactic acid yield is obtained in the knockout mutants. A gene that has been knocked out is not thereafter used in the biosynthesis of the product. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore be unable to determine whether the claim is directed to a method in which ZMO1323 participates in D-lactic acid biosynthesis, a method of inactivating ZMO1323 in a production strain, or some other subject matter.
Thirds, the stated purpose of the preamble is not accomplished by the recited steps in any event. The body concludes with transferring the editing plasmid into the production strain. No step of effecting the knockout, recovering or isolating the edited strain, culturing the strain, or producing D-lactic acid is recited. See MPEP 2111.02.
In regards to claims 13-19, claim 13 recites “preparing a guilder by annealing primers 1323gr-F shown as SEQ ID NO.23, and 1323gr-R shown as SEQ ID NO.24; inserting the guilder into a plasmid named pEZ15Asp.” The term “guilder” has no recognized meaning in the art and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would not know what the metes and bounds of the claim would be. The only definition of “guilder” found online is in reference to the former currency of the Netherlands. The specification does not define the term. Claims 14-19 depend from claim 13 and do not rectify this deficiency, and in claims 15 and 17 reuse the term.
Claim 14 is recites “insert a gene of spectinomycin into the pEZ15A.” Spectinomycin is an antibiotic and is not encoded by a gene. A spectinomycin resistance gene may be intended, but the limitation as recited has no definite meaning.
Claim 16 recites the limitations "the upstream fragment of ZMO1323" and “the downstream fragment of ZMO1323” in lines 1 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The claim recites “a reaction system of the ligation comprising: 20~40ng linearized pEZ15Asp, 2µL annealed primers, 0.5µL T4 ligase, 1µL Buffer and surplus ddH2O.” First, no reaction volume is recited such that the recited mass and volume quantities do not define any determinate concentration or ratio. Second, “2µL annealed primers” specifies a volume without a concentration. Third, “Buffer” is not identified and the composition is unknown. Fourth, “surplus ddH20” has no definite meaning in the art. It is unclear whether an excess or a remainder of previous reaction, or adding an amount of water to fill the reaction to fixed volume is intended.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. This dependent claim does not provide additional limitation to the claim they depend on, instead they merely list the result of using the method of the claim. The results and characteristics of the assay cannot be separated from the assay. Claims must define the method or specify the technical steps, reagents, or processes involved in achieving the stated outcome rather than merely describing the desired results or characteristics.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh et al., (“A novel D(−)-lactic acid-inducible promoter regulated by the GntR-family protein D-LldR of Pseudomonas fluorescens,” Synthetic and Systems Biotechnology, 4 (2019) 157–164).
In regards to claim 1, Singh disclose obtaining a recombinant plasmid carrying a connector consisting of an operon for catabolizing D-lactic acid and a gene for report. Specifically, Sign constructed the plasmid pUCPK-D-lldR-PlldP-gfp by PCR amplifying DNA amplicons containing the promoters PlldP and PD-lldR from Pseudomonas fluorescens A506 genomic DNA, amplifying the gfp gene encoding green fluorescent protein from pET-GFP:28, overlapping the combination of DNA fragments, and ligating them into the vector pUCPK’ (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”). Singh further discloses that the operon employed catabolizes D-lactic acid. Singh identifies the D-lactate catabolic operon lldP_dld-II of P. fluorescens A506 negatively regulated through the inversely transcribed D-lldR encoding GntR-type regulator, with repression relieved by the addition of D-lactate and depression specific to D-lactate. (see Singh Abstract, pp. 160-161 “3.1. Comparative genome analysis and identification of D(−)-lactate-specific LldR”.
Regarding the limitation that the operon “is shown as SEQ ID NO. 1”, applicant’s SEQ ID NO. 1, is identical to the lldR-PlldP operon sequence of Pseudomonas fluorescens strain A506 (see Spec. [0028]), the identical strain from which Singh amplified the recited elements.
Singh further discloses transferring the recombinant plasmid into a strain to be mined. The plasmid pUCPK-D-lldR-PlldP-gfp was sequence confirmed and introduced into P. denitrificans (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”). Singh discloses screening positive colonies according to the fluorescence intensity of the strain. As many as 95 colonies for each library were screen in deep 96-well blocks, and GFP fluorescence was reported for 8-15 of the colonies screened per library (see Singh pp. 162-163, “3.3. Analysis and characterization of D-lldR intergenic regions”).
Thus, Singh teaches “A method for mining strains to produce D-LA comprising: obtaining a recombinant plasmid, the recombinant plasmid carries a connector consisting of a operon for catabolizing D-lactic acid and a gene for report, the operon for catabolizing D-lactic acid is shown as SEQ ID NO.1; transferring the recombinant plasmid into a strain to be mined; screening positive colonies according to the fluorescence intensity of the strain to be mined,” anticipating claim 1.
In regards to claim 3, Singh discloses using green fluorescent protein (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”).
In regards to claim 5, Singh discloses using lldR-PlldP-gfp in the plasmid (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al., (“A novel D(−)-lactic acid-inducible promoter regulated by the GntR-family protein D-LldR of Pseudomonas fluorescens,” Synthetic and Systems Biotechnology, 4 (2019) 157–164), as applied to claims 1, 3, and 5 above, and included here for reasons supra.
In regards to claim 6, the claim differs from claim 1 only in further reciting “mining the genes to regulate biosynthesis of D-lactic acid from positive colonies.”
Singh discloses identifying regulatory elements from the screened colonies. Singh discloses that “Degenerate libraries were constructed for promoter elements (−35, spacer and −10 regions; Library 1-3), TSS (Library 4) and operator (half-site, Library 5–6)” and screened these by GFP fluorescence, and from the results determined that PlldP is regulated by repression-based transcriptional control, that lldR binds strongly to the operator region in the absence of D-lactate, and that the strength of the core promoter can be improved by altering the operatory site (see Singh Fig. 5, “3.3. Analysis and characterization of D-lldR intergenic regions”). Singh further performed deletion and complementation of D-lldR to confirm it as the responsive transcription factor negatively controlling transcription of did-II (see Singh Fig. 1, pp. 160-161 “3.1. Comparative genome analysis and identification of D(−)-lactate-specific LldR”).
To the extent that “mining the genes to regulate biosynthesis of D-lactic acid” is construed to require an act not expressly recited in Singh, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to identify the regulatory genes responsible for the fluorescence phenotype of the screened colonies, because Singh expressly identifies this as the purpose of transcription factor-based screening and expressly states “The present study aims at screening D-lactate responsive TF and exploring its use as a biosensor.” Singh teaches that the availability of high-throughput screening methods is essential for fast identification and selection of strains with desired traits from libraries often composed of over millions of cells, that conventional screening relying on direct measurement of enzyme activity or metabolite concentration is laborious and impractical for high-throughput screening, and that a transcription factor sensing 3-hyrdoxypropionic acid was employed in engineering core enzymes in a biosynthesis pathway and in selecting better-performing strains (see Singh p. 157 “Introduction”)
In regards to claim 8, Singh discloses using green fluorescent protein (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”).
In regards to claim 9, Singh discloses using lldR-PlldP-gfp in the plasmid (see Singh p. 158 “2.3. Cloning of plasmids and construction of recombinant P. denitrificans”).
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al., (“A novel D(−)-lactic acid-inducible promoter regulated by the GntR-family protein D-LldR of Pseudomonas fluorescens,” Synthetic and Systems Biotechnology, 4 (2019) 157–164), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 above, and included here for reasons supra, in further view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0348939 A1, published Nov. 3, 2022).
In regards to claims 2 and 7, as recited above, Singh teaches all of the limitations for claims 1 and 6, for which claim 2 and 7 depend, respectively. Singh does not teach that the plasmid is named pEX15A and employs the pUCPK’ plasmid instead.
Yang discloses the Zymomonas mobilis-E. Coli shuttle vector pEZ15Asp, states that the pEZ15Asp contains the gene encoding spectinomycin resistance (see Yang [0058]), and discloses construction of editing plasmids using pEZ15A as the vector backbone carrying an artificial expression unit under the promoter PJ23119 with two BsaI cleavage sites for insertion of guide sequences (see Yang [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute pEZ15A for pUCPK’ as the vector backbone in Singh’s biosensor construct. Both are shuttle vectors functioning in E. coli and a Gram-negative host of interest, both carry conventional antibiotic selection markers, and the substitution of one art-recognized shuttle vector for another is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established function. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143(I)(B). One would be motivated to make the substitution in order to deploy the biosensor in Z. mobilis, for which pEZ15A-derived vectors are an established tool.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al., (“A novel D(−)-lactic acid-inducible promoter regulated by the GntR-family protein D-LldR of Pseudomonas fluorescens,” Synthetic and Systems Biotechnology, 4 (2019) 157–164) in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0348939 A1, published Nov. 3, 2022), as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-9 above, and included here for reasons supra, in further view of Hu et al. (“Metabolic engineering of Zymomonas mobilis for co-production of D-lactic acid and ethanol using waste feedstocks of molasses and corncob residue hydrolysate”, Front. Bioeng. Biotechnol. 11:1135484., published Feb. 20, 2023) and Shen et al. (“Establishment and application of a CRISPR–Cas12a assisted genome-editing system in Zymomonas mobilis”, Microbial Cell Factories, 2019 Oct 3;18(1):162.)
Singh discloses the subject matter of claims 1 and 6 as set forth above. In regards to claims 4 and 10, the claims further recite a second process comprising preparing a strain named ZM4-dCas12a and substituting ZMO1650 with a gene named LmldhA.
Regarding the ZMO1650/LmldhA substitution, Hu discloses this expressly. Hu states that editing plasmids pRep-1650 (ldh), pRep-1650 (pdc), and pRep-1360 (ldh) were constructure for replacement of ZMO1650 with LmldhA, replacement of ZMO1650 with ZMO1360 (pdc), and replacement of ZMO1360 (pdc) with LmldhA, respectively (see Hu p. 03). Hu further states that strain ZML-ldh was constructed by integrating another copy of the LmldhA gene to replace the chromosomal gene ZMO1650 (see Hu p. 04).
Hu identifies the gene employed as LmldhA (GenBank AB233384.1) encoding D-lactate dehydrogenase derived from Leuconostoc mesenteroides (see Hu p. 03 “Construction of plasmids and recombinant Strains”). Hu further states that the chromosomal locus ZMO0038 and ZMO1650 were selected as gene integration locations because their deletions do not affect the growth of Z. mobilis. (see Hu p. 03 “Construction of editing plasmids and mutants”), thereby teaching the suitability of ZMO1650 as the integration site recited in the claims.
Regarding the limitation “preparing a strain named ZM4-dCas12a”, the claims recite no structural limitation distinguishing the recited strain from the strain of Shen. Shen discloses constructing a recombinant Z. mobilis ZM4 strain by “integrating a cas12a-expressing cassette driven by the tetracycline-inducible promoter Ptet, together with a spectinomycin antibiotic marker for selection, into the ZMO0038 locus through homologous recombination” (see Shen p. 3, “Construction and functionality of genomic integrated Cas12a in Z. mobilis ZM4”, Fig. 1, Table 1).
To the extent applicant contends that the designation “ZM4-dCAs12a” requires a catalytically inactivated Cas12a, the limitation would have been obvious. Catalytically inactivated Cas12a was known in the art before the effective filling date for transcriptional regulation in place of cleavage. Shen acknowledges the catalytically dead Cas12a in the art (see Shen p. 2 “Introduction”). Substituting a catalytically inactive Cas12a for the active nuclease in the established chassis of Shen would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B), KSR. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the substitution in order to effect transcriptional interference rather than DNA cleavage, a recognized application of catalytically dead Cas nucleases in metabolic engineering.
Sing teaches that transcription-factor based biosensors address the need for high-throughput screening of strains with desired trains, and states that no transcription factor specific for D-lactic acid had previously been identified (see Singh p. 157 “1. Introduction”, p. 161 stating “In this study, D-Lactate specific TF and its cognate operator sequence were identified and characterized”). Hu establishes that Z. mobilis is an industrially significant platform for D-lactic acid production and that improvement of D-LA in this organism were an active objective (see Hu, Abstract, Conclusion). One of ordinary skill seeking to screen Z. mobilis variants for improved D-lactic acid production would therefore have had reason to deploy the D-lactate responsive biosensor of Sing in the engineered Z. mobilis strains of Hu and Shen, with a reasonable expectation of success given that Singh himself demonstrated function of the A506-derived system in a heterologous host P. denitrificans (see Singh p. 163 “3.4. Performance of D-LldR as biosensor towards D(−)-lactate”), and given that fluorescent reporter proteins were shown to function in Z. mobilis ZM4 under heterologous promoters and to be detectable by flow cytometry (see Shen Fig. 4, pp. 5-6; Yang [0102]).
In regards to claim 11, Singh discloses the method of claim 6 as set forth above. Claim 11 recites that the gene to regulate biosynthesis is ZMO1323. The claim recites no affirmative step of knocking out, characterizing, or otherwise manipulating ZMO1323. It recites only the identity of the gene obtained as the output of the screening method of claim 6. Where the claimed method is obvious over the prior art, reciting the results obtained by performing that method does not render the claim patentable. The identification of ZMO1323 would have been the natural result of performing the method of claim 6 in a Z. mobilis D-lactic acid production strain.
Further, the annotation of ZMO1323 as the sensor histidine kinase ChvG of the ChvG-ChvI acidity sensing two component system, together with the teaching of Hu that acid accumulation limits D-lactic acid production in Z. mobilis, would have directed one of ordinary skill to this locus.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (“Metabolic engineering of Zymomonas mobilis for co-production of D-lactic acid and ethanol using waste feedstocks of molasses and corncob residue hydrolysate”, Front. Bioeng. Biotechnol. 11:1135484., published Feb. 20, 2023) in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0348939 A1, published Nov. 3, 2022).
Claim interpretation: Claims 13, 15, and 17 recite a “guilder.” As set forth above, this term has no recognized meaning in the molecular biology arts. For purposes of applying prior art, the term is interpreted in light of the specification as denoting a guide sequence, that is, a spacer sequences that directs a CRISPR-Cas effector complex to a target locus. This interpretation is supported by the paragraphs [0033] and [0066], which recites a 32 bp sequence downstream of a CCC PAM site, and with paragraph [0065], which refers to the endogenous Type-I-F CRISPR-Case system of Z. mobilis.
Applicant is advised that this interpretation is used examination purposes only and does not cure the indefiniteness set forth above.
In regards to claim 12, Hu discloses a D-lactic acid production strain Z. mobilis. Hu constructed strain ZM-pdc-ldh by replacing ZMO0038 with the LmldhA gene driven by PadhB replacing ZMO165 with native pdc driven by Ptet, and replacing native pdc with a second copy of LmldhA driven by PadhB, to divert carbon from ethanol to D-lactate (see Hu Abstract, p. 1). Hu reports that ZML-pdc-ldh produced 13.8 ± 0.2 g/L D-lactate from 50 g/L glucose (see Hu Table 1, p. 05) and 42.8 ± 0.0 g/L D-lactate using corncob residue hydrolysate (see Hu Table 2, p. 06).
Hu further discloses preparing editing plasmids for substitution at targeted genomic loci of that strain lineage, and transferring them into Z. mobilis. Hu discloses designing 32-bp spacer sequences annealing and ligating the spacer oligonucleotides into a BsaI-digested linearized plasmid, amplifying donor DNA fragments containing 800 bp upstream and downstream sequences of the target locus, linearizing the target plasmid by PCR amplification, and cloning the donor fragments into the linearized targeting plasmid, followed by electroporation of the editing plasmid into Z. mobilis ZM4 and selection using spectinomycin (see Hu pp. 02-03).
Yang additionally discloses the same workflow in Z. mobilis ZM4. However, neither Hu nor Yang specifically target the ZMO1323 locus.
It would nonetheless have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date toe apply the genome-editing methodology of Hu and Yang to knockout ZMO1323 in a D-lactic acid production strain of Z. mobilis, for the following reasons.
First, the locus recited in claim 12 is not an uncharacterized gene. ZMO1323 is annotated as a sensor histidine kinase of the ChvG-ChvI two-component system of the OmpR family. The function of ChvG as a global pH sensor regulating acid-inducible genes is established in the art.
Second, Hu teaches that acid accumulation is the factor limiting D-lactic acid production in the recited production strain. Hu reports that the pH of the ZML-pdc-ldh culture declined below 4.0 within 10 h of inoculation and continued to approximately 3.0 by the end of fermentation, that the depressed growth rate of 0.18 h-1 was attributable to the acidic environment resulting from lactate accumulation, that acidic pH affects DNA and RNA synthesis, and many metabolic processes , and that addition of CaCO3 as a neutralizing agent increased D-lactic acid production from 13.8 g/L at 44 h to 21.5 g/L at 22h. (see Hu Fig. 2, pp. 05-06).
Third, Yang established that knocking out a non-essential locus in Z. mobilis was routine by the filing date, reporting editing efficiencies of 100% for site-directed mutations (see Yang [0085], [0091], [0118], [0124]).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to improve D-lactic acid production in Z. mobilis, and knowing from Hu that acid stress limits such production, would therefore have had reason to target the annotated acid-sensing histidine kinase of that organism, with a reasonable expectation of altering the strains acid-stress response, using the routine editing methodology of Hu and Yang, in the production strain of Hu.
In regards to claims 13 and 14, Yang discloses each recited step of preparing the editing plasmid, using the endogenous Type-I-F CRISPR-Cas system referred to at specification paragraph [0065]. Under BRI “a guilder” denotes a guide or spacer sequence directing a CRISPR-Cas effector complex to a target locus. Yang discloses selecting such a sequences and preparing it by annealing a primer pair. Yang teaches that from the target gene sequence, “any 32 bp sequence immediately downstream of a 5’-CCC-3’” is intercepted as the gRNA, which “can be located on any strand of the genome” (see Yang [0087]), and that the PAM sequences of the endogenous editing system is NCC (see Yang [0017]). Yang further discloses that the spacer length in the native CRISPR structure is “32 or 33 bp, of which 32 bp account for 70%” (see Yang [0056]). These steps correspond to those recited in the present application.
In regards to the 1323 gr-F and 1323 gr-R specific primers, these primers are defined by the target locus to which they direct the effector complex. Once the target locus is selected, design of the corresponding spacer primer pair follows directly from the disclosed PAM and length rules set forth by Yang and requires no more than ordinary skill. Yang teaches the design rule to be applied, and the recited primers are the predictable result of applying that rule to ZMO1323. See MPEP 2144.
Yang discloses constructing an artificial CRISPR expression unit on the plasmid pEZ15Asp, consisting of a promoter leader sequences, CRISPR cluster, and terminator, wherein the artificial cluster “includes two BsaI cleavage sites inserted between two repeats” (see Yang [0064]). Yang further discloses that the plasmid containing the artificial CRISPR expression unit “is linearized with BsaI, annealed to the gRNA primer and ligated with T4 DNA ligase, and then transformed into E. coli DH5a for plasmid amplification and verification by sequencing (see Yang [0088]). Yang identifies pEZ15Asp as the Z. mobilis -E. coli shuttle vector containing the gene encoding spectinomycin resistance (see Yang [0058]; reading on claim 14).
Yang further discloses preparing donor DNA for the editing plasmid, teaching that “the design of the donor DNA is different according to the different genome editing forms, but the donor DNA is amplified and connected by fusion PCR technology” (see Yang [0064]), and that “in the application of gene knockout, the sequences of about 300 bp upstream and downstream of the target gene are amplified and connected” (see Yang [0065], [0089]). Regarding the recitation that the donor is “shown as SEQ ID NO. 29,” the specification defines this donor at paragraph [0070] as prepared “by connecting the US and DS,” that is, the upstream and downstream fragments of ZMO1323 amplified in the preceding steps. The donor of claim 13 is therefore defined by the flanking region of the target locus, and is its preparation follows directly from Yangs disclosed method once ZMO1323 is selected as the target. The particular sequences recited is the predictable consequence of applying the disclosed method to the selected locus. Yang further discloses inserting the donor sequence into the targeting plasmid using Gibson assembly (see Yang {0080], [0106]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the editing plasmid construction methodology of Yang in the D-lactic acid production strain of Hu because Yang teaches that this methodology provides efficient and convenient genome engineering in Z. mobilis (see Yang [0019]-[0022]), reports editing efficiencies of 100%, and states that the cycle of gene editing is reduced from at least 15 days by conventional method to 3 days (see Yang [0020]).
In regards to claim 15, Yang teaches a step of inserting the guide into a plasmid pEZ15Asp to prepare a targeting plasmid comprising: linearizing the plasmid pEZ15Asp with restriction enzyme BsaI; ligating a linearized pEZ15Asp with the guilder by T4 ligase; transferring a ligated product into E. coli DH5α; screening positive colonies by a colony PCR; and verifying by sequencing (see Yang [0078]).
In regards to claim 16, Yang discloses selecting sequences each upstream and downstream of the target gene and amplifying their DNA fragments by PCR (see Yang [0080]). Hu likewise discloses amplifying donor DNA fragments with dedicated primer pairs for the target locus, including upstream and downstream primers (see Hu p. 03).
In regards to claim 17, Yang discloses T4 DNA ligase reaction systems comprising: linearized vector, annealed primer, T4 DNA ligase, buffer, and H2O (see Yang [0058], [0078]). The general optimization of reagent quantities within a disclosed reaction is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent showing that the recited values are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
In regards to claim 18, Yang discloses that the fragments and vector were ligated by standard Gibson assembly methods (see Yang [0080]) and discloses mixing the fragments and vector ins a 3:1 molar ratio (see Yang [0071]). To the extent that the recites 1:3 ratio is stated from the opposite perspective or differs, the optimization of a reagent ratio within a discloses assembly method is a matter of routine experimentation absent a showing of criticality. See MPEP 2144.05(II)
In regards to claim 19, Yang discloses that the target vector construct is amplified by reverse PCR using primers, and the subsequent product is ligated together using Gibson assembly (see Yang [0080]).
In regards to claim 20, Hu discloses strains ZML-pdc-ldh (see Hu Abstract, and throughout).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MATTHEW HAROLD RAYMONDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681