DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/672,003 filed 5/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the melting hole and separator covering the melting hole must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show melting hole and separator covering the melting hole as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0016] - [0017] and [0018] - [0019] are duplicate paragraphs
[00155] L6 includes an equation for the size of the “welded zone” in the Y direction but the welded zone includes two embodiments “a first and second welded zone”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second direction" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the second direction" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode plate" (singular) in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as prior claims recite “multiple electrode plates” (plural).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the electrode plate" (singular) in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as prior claims recite “multiple electrode plates” (plural).
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first protective layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim "the first protective layer" depends on claim 17, which depends on claim 1 and neither recite "a first protective layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4,6-7,12-14,16,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 20200235368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xue et al. teaches an electrode assembly (5) with a body portion (5131) and a tab (5132) as the lead-out portion extending from the body where the tab has a conductive structure (52) where on one end is connected to either a positive electrode terminal (3) or a negative electrode terminal (4) and on the other end the conductive structure is welded to the tab to form a welding region (53) and a melting zone between the welded zone and body portion. The term “melting zone” is interpreted as a fusion area when the process of joining by welding ([0044] ultrasonic welding, such as rolling welding or transfer welding) the conductive structure (52) to the conducting layer (513) which inherently forms a melting zone ([0041], [0044], FIG. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Xue et al. further discloses the size of the melting zone is larger than the size of the conductive structure (52) in the width direction ( [0044], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Xue et al. further discloses the size of the melting zone (53) is larger than half the size of the body portion in the z direction (5131 conductive structure) (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Xue et al. further discloses the electrode assembly (5) can be formed by laminating or winding which inherently comprises straight and bent portions ([0038], FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Xue et al. further discloses the electrode assembly (5) the size of the melting zone is not larger than a size of the straight portion in the z direction (511 active material) (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Xue et al. further discloses an insulating substrate (512) as the non-metal layer and conductive layer (513) disposed on the two sides of the conductive layer ([0040], FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 7. Xue et al. further discloses an insulating substrate (512) as the non-metal layer and conductive layer (513) disposed on the two sides of the conductive layer ([0040], FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Xue et al. further discloses size of the melting zone (53) is smaller than the size of the conductive structure in the z direction (52) (FIG.3).
Regarding claim 12, Xue et al. further discloses the tab (5132) comprises a transition portion (51322) as the first tab portion and a main portion (51321) as the second tab portion where the width of the transition portion is larger than the width of the main portion ([0044], FIG. 4 and5).
Regarding claim 13, Xue et al. further discloses the welded zone (53) comprises a first welding region (531) on the main portion and a second welding region (532) on the transition portion and where the width of the second welding region is larger than the width of the first welding region ([0052], FIG 3 and 5, Claim 2).
Regarding claim 14, Xue et al. further discloses an insulating layer (54) as a protective layer provided in the gap between the welding region (53) and the first portion (5131) ([0055]-[0056], FIG. 3, Claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, Xue et al. further discloses the welding region (532) is 0.5mm-2.5mm and the welding region is understood as a melting zone ([0053], FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Xue et al. further discloses a secondary battery ([0036], FIG. 1) comprising the battery cell of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Xue et al. further discloses an electrical device that would widely apply to the battery discussed such as mobile phones, laptops, hybrid electric vehicles, energy storage systems and the like. ([0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. as applied to claims 1-2,4,7 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 8632911 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Xue et al. teaches the invention as described in Paragraph 5. Xue et al. does not teach a melting zone is smaller than the size of the conductive structure.
Byun et al. teaches a fuse portion (32a) as a melting portion is thinner than other segments of the current collecting portion including the terminal joining portion (32c conductive structure) (Claim 3, FIG.3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to want to modify the cross-sectional area and width of the melting zone of Xue et al. taught by Byun et al. for when internal short-circuit occurs, thermal conditions for operation of the fuse can be efficiently improved, and therefore resistance and thermal problems can be solved. Thus, when a fuse operating in such a current is provided, resistance and heat generated in the fuse during normal battery operation may be substantially reduced ([0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Xue et al. modified by Byun et al. teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. Xue et al. does not teach the melting zone is provided with a melting hole.
Byun et al. further teaches a fuse (melting zone) that has at least one opening ([0012], Claim 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to want to include at least one melting hole to the melting zone of Xue et al. taught by Byun et al. for in the event of a short circuit or overcharge, the fuse melts/blows more quickly to increase safety of the battery ([0012], Claim 5).
Regarding claim 11, Xue et al. modified by Byun et al. teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Xue et al. does not teach separator wherein the separator covers the melting hole.
Byun et al. further teaches a lower insulation member (34 separator) that covers a portion the fuse (32a melting zone) and opening (melting hole) ([0037], Claim 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to want to include a lower insulation member to cover the melting zone of Xue et al. taught by Byun et al. for electrical insulation ([0037], Claim 12).
7. Claims 15,17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue; Qingrui et al. (US 20200235368 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20190393511 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Xue et al. teaches the invention as described in Paragraph 5. Xue et al. does not teach a first protective layer is 0.1 mm to 6 mm in the first direction.
Zhou et al. teaches a first protective layer (14) is in a range of 0.1mm to 4mm in the Z direction ([0010]) to prevent deformation of the protrusion portion (1122) of the electrode plate (1) anything less than 0.1mm the bonding force would be to weak, anything more the energy density would reduce ([0044], FIG. 8, Claim 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first protective layer not below 0.1mm on a protruding tab of Xue et al. taught by Zhou et al. so that when bending the electrode plate the protrusion portion does not break when bending or rolling the electrode assembly and not above 4mm so that the energy density of the battery is not reduced ([0044], FIG. 8, Claim 6).
Regarding claim 17, Xue et al. teaches the invention as discussed above in paragraph 5. Xue et al. does not teach a second protective layer is provided on a surface of the welded zone away from the tab portion.
Zhou et al. teaches a second protective layer (15) disposed on a surface of the welded zone (W) facing away from the protrusion portion (1122). The second protective layer is applied since the welded surface may be rough and may pierce a separator (5) causing a short circuit ([0059], FIG. 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second protective layer on a welded zone of the electrode of Xue et al. taught by Zhou et al. to protect a separator from being pierced and causing a short circuit ([0059], FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 18, Xue et al. modified by Zhou et al. teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Xue et al. does not teach both the first protective layer, and second protective layer are made of an insulating material.
Zhou et al. further teaches both a first protective layer (14) includes a binder and an insulating material. The insulating material includes at least one of aluminum oxide and aluminium oxyhydroxide ([0040]) and the first protective layer (14) and the second protective layer (15) can be made of a same material or different materials ([0060]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first protective layer and second protective layer be made of the same material of Xue et al. taught by Zhou et al. to reduce material costs and ensure consistent thermal and electric protection ([0060]).
Conclusion
/Dilon K Phuong/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
10/20/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717