DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controller module”; “communication module”; in claims 28, 33, 37, 39, 42, and 43.
The structure for “controller module” and “communication module” are taught in figs. 1a and 1b; and para 0136, 0138, 0150, and 0151.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2019/0160231 to Dobie et al.
Regarding Claim 28, Dobie teaches a method for confirming tube insertion into a target insertion area, comprising: inserting a distal end of a tube into a target insertion area, wherein a proximal end of the tube is removably coupled to a pressure sensing apparatus, and wherein the pressure sensing apparatus comprises: a controller module, a pressure sensing element, wherein the pressure sensing element is coupled to the distal end of the tube, and wherein the pressure sensing element is coupled to the controller module, and an indicator coupled to the controller module, wherein the controller module outputs a signal to the indicator based at least in part on a measured pressure of the pressure sensing element (figs. 1, 2, 15 and 16; and para 035 and 048); and confirming tube insertion into the target insertion area based at least in part on the signal outputted to the indicator (figs. 1, 2, 15 and 16; and para 11, 40-42 teaches indicator).
Regarding Claim 29, Dobie teaches that the target insertion area comprises a blood vessel, an artery, a vein, a tissue to be biopsied, a nerve, a joint, a cavity, muscle tissue, fat tissue, skeletal tissue, an airway, or a combination thereof (para 038-043 teaches an artery).
Regarding Claim 30, Dobie teaches identifying the tube inserted into a second target insertion area proximal to the target insertion area (figs. 2 and 15).
Regarding Claim 31, Dobie teaches that the measured pressure of the pressure sensing element comprises a fluctuating pressure measurement (figs. 15 and 16).
Regarding Claim 32, Dobie teaches that the measured pressure of the pressure sensing element comprises a real-time measurement of pressure at the distal end of the tube (fig. 15-16 teaches real-time pressure measurement).
Regarding Claim 33, Dobie teaches that the pressure sensing apparatus comprises a base coupled to the controller module, the indicator, or a combination thereof (para 040-043 teaches an indicator for pressure sensing).
Regarding Claim 34, Dobie teaches the measured pressure of the pressure sensing element is a local pressure in the target insertion area (para 038 and figs. 15-16).
Regarding Claim 35, Dobie teaches that the indicator comprises a light-based indicator, a haptic indicator, an audio indicator, a visual display indicator, or any combination thereof (para 011 teaches a visual indicator).
Regarding Claim 36, Dobie teaches performing a procedural action upon confirming tube insertion in the target insertion region, wherein the procedural action comprises injecting a substance into the target insertion region, aspiration of a substance from the target insertion region, or a combination thereof (figs. 1 and 2 teaches injection).
Regarding Claim 37, Dobie teaches a device for confirming tube insertion into a target insertion area, comprising: a tube, and a pressure sensing apparatus removably coupled to a proximal end of the tube, wherein the pressure sensing apparatus comprises: a controller module, a pressure sensing element, wherein the pressure sensing element is coupled to a distal end of the tube, and wherein the pressure sensing element is coupled to the controller module (figs. 1, 2, 15 and 16; and para 035 and 048), and an indicator coupled to the controller module, wherein the controller module outputs a signal to the indicator based at least in part on a measured pressure of the pressure sensing element, and wherein the signal outputted to the indicator confirms when the tube is inserted into the target insertion area (figs. 1, 2, 15 and 16; and para 11, 40-42 teaches indicator). .
Regarding Claim 38, Dobie teaches that the tube is a needle, a catheter, cannula, or a combination thereof (figs. 1 and 2 teaches a needle).
Regarding Claim 39, Dobie teaches a base coupled to the controller module, the indicator, or a combination thereof (para 011 teaches a visual indicator).
Regarding Claim 40, Dobie teaches that the indicator comprises a light-based indicator, a haptic indicator, an audio indicator, a visual display indicator, or any combination thereof (para 011 teaches a visual indicator).
Regarding Claim 41, Dobie teaches that the pressure sensing apparatus is coupled to a flexible medical apparatus (para 051).
Regarding Claim 42, Dobie teaches that the pressure sensing apparatus comprises a communication module coupled to the controller module (para 051 teaches a communication module).
Regarding Claim 43, Dobie teaches that the signal of the controller module outputted to the indicator identifies the tube inserted into a second target insertion area proximal to the target insertion area (para 011 teaches a visual indicator, identifies tube insertion).
Regarding Claim 44, Dobie teaches that the target insertion area comprises a blood vessel, an airway, or a combination thereof (para 038-043 teaches an artery).
Regarding Claim 45, Dobie teaches that the measured pressure of the pressure sensing element comprises a fluctuating pressure measurement (para 038 and figs. 15-16).
Regarding Claim 46, Dobie teaches that the measured pressure of the pressure sensing element is a local pressure in the target insertion area (para 038 and figs. 15-16).
Regarding Claim 47, Dobie teaches that the pressure sensing apparatus comprises a cap, a seal, or a combination thereof, coupled to the pressure sensing apparatus to prevent fluid, debris, blood, particles, or a combination thereof, from contacting the pressure sensing element (fig. 3 teaches a cap/seal mechanism).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798