DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claim 1-7 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng et al. TW I733623B in view of Chen et al. (US 20060081360A1). Horng discloses (figures 4-6) a heating element cooling structure comprising a lower plate (1); an upper plate (2) configured to be bonded to an inner surface of the lower plate to form an internal space (S); a column unit (24) formed to be concave (25) on an outer surface of the upper plate (2) and protrude to an inner surface of the upper plate; and a wick unit (P1) formed at one or more of the inner surface of the upper plate and the inner surface of the lower plate and configured to move a refrigerant. Regarding claims 8 and 11, Horng does not disclose that the wick unit comprises scratches or scars formed in the inner surface of the upper plate or/and (claim 11) the inner surface of the lower plate by a laser irradiation to a predetermined depth. Chen discloses (figures 2-4 and paragraph 24) a heating cooling structure that has a wick unit (23) comprises scratches or scars (miniatures grooves 23) formed in the inner surface of the upper plate and the inner surface of the lower plate by a laser to a predetermined depth (grooves have depth and as shown in figure 3B) for a purpose of improving the capillary force of the wick structure (paragraph 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Chen’s teaching in Horng’s device for a purpose of improving the capillary force of the wick structure. Regarding the term “scratch or scar”, it is reminded that the examiner must interpret the limitation as broadly as it reasonably allows. Therefore, the term” scratch or scar” is interpreted as it has a groove structures with a predetermined depth.
Regarding the limitation of “by a laser irradiation”, the method of forming device is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the device itself. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the scar or scratch in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from the scar or scratch of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior scar or scratch was made by a different process.
Regarding claim 9, Horng further discloses (figure 5) that the column unit (24) is bonded to the inner surface of the lower plate. (paragraph 43)
Regarding claim 10, Horng further discloses (figures 4-5) that the column unit (24) is formed integrally with the upper plate (2).
Regarding claim 12, Horng further discloses that the upper plate and the lower plate are bonded using a laser. (paragraph 43)
Regarding claim 13, Horng further discloses that an outer surface of the lower plate is disposed to be in contact with an electronic device H. (paragraph 41)
Regarding claim 14, Horng further discloses (figure 6) that that the wick unit (P1) is configured to move the refrigerant using capillary.
Regarding claim 15, Horng further discloses that the column unit (24) is bonded to the inner surface of the lower plate (1) using laser welding. (paragraph 43)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (KR 20200056917A) discloses scratch or scar wick.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Atkisson Jianying can be reached at 571-270-7740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763