DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/3/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (element) that is coupled with functional language (heating) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a heating element in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horng et al. TW I733623B. Regarding claim 8, Horng discloses (figures 4-6) a heating element cooling structure comprising a lower plate (1); an upper plate (2) configured to be bonded to an inner surface of the lower plate to form an internal space (S); a column unit (24) formed to be concave (25) on an outer surface of the upper plate (2) and protrude to an inner surface of the upper plate; and a wick unit (P1) formed at one or more of the inner surface of the upper plate and the inner surface of the lower plate and configured to move a refrigerant.
Regarding claim 9, Horng further discloses (figure 5) that the column unit (24) is bonded to the inner surface of the lower plate. (paragraph 43)
Regarding claim 10, Horng further discloses (figures 4-5) that the column unit (24) is formed integrally with the upper plate (2).
Regarding claim 12, Horng further discloses that the upper plate and the lower plate are bonded using a laser. (paragraph 43)
Regarding claim 13, Horng further discloses that an outer surface of the lower plate is disposed to be in contact with a heating element (electronic device H). (paragraph 41)
Regarding claim 14, Horng further discloses (figure 6) that that the wick unit (P1) is configured to move the refrigerant using capillary.
Regarding claim 15, Horng further discloses that the column unit (24) is bonded to the inner surface of the lower plate (1) using laser welding. (paragraph 43)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng et al. in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20090040726A1). Horng substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the wick is formed on the inner surface of the upper plate and the inner surface of the lower plate, excluding a portion where the upper plate and the lower plate are bonded to each other. Hoffman discloses (figure 8 and paragraph 80 ) a heat pipe that has a wick (12) is formed on the inner surface of the upper plate and the inner surface of the lower plate, excluding a portion (101, 102) where the upper plate and the lower plate are bonded to each other for a purpose of enhancing the flow of the working fluid on both surfaces due to capillary forces. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hoffman’s teaching in Horng’s device for a purpose of a purpose of enhancing the flow of the working fluid on both surfaces due to capillary forces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dussinger (US 20050145374) discloses an integrated circuit heat pipe.
Ueki (US 20030173064A1) discloses a plate type heat pipe.
Yamamoto et al. (US 20020056542) discloses a flat type heat pipe.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763