Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024 & 05/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-12, 16, 19-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varney et al. (US 2020/0257696 A1) in view of Seminario et al. (US 2017/0063566 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Varney et al. disclose an energy measurement meter, comprising: a first measurement device (122) comprising a plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H)(meter nodes 112, which measure various operating characteristics and generate corresponding meter reading records 122, see [0022]), wherein the plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H) is coupled to a plurality of sensors through a plurality of input ports (608) to receive a plurality of first sensing signals (meter nodes 112 monitor and measure characteristics related to resource consumption such as power usage, power surges, outages, load changes, and transmit the collected data including reading records 122, see [0023]), and the plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H) is configured to convert the plurality of first sensing signals into a plurality of first sensing data (meter nodes 112 generate meter reading records 122, each including a reading value 202 and reading type code 204 describing the nature of the reading value, see [0031]); and a processing device communicatively connected to the first measurement device (122) to receive the plurality of first sensing data from the first measurement device (122)(headend system 104 receives streams of meter reading records 122 from root nodes 114 and forwards them to meter data management system 106 for processing and conversion, see [0023]); a plurality device code (204) corresponding to the first measurement device (122)(see [0032]) and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits (see {0033-0034]).
Varney et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits; providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device; and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes.
Seminario et al. disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device (IED with network interface using protocols like Modbus TCP with slave ID or IP address, see [0058]-[0059]) and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits (phase-specific data for A, B, C, N with register addresses or internal tagging, see [0050]-[0053]); providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device (communication via network protocols providing addressed data, see [0058]-[0059]); and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes (data recorded and processed per channel/phase with codes, see [0050]-[0053], [0060]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Varney et al. by incorporating the first measurement device setting a first device code and channel codes, providing the codes when communicatively connecting, and providing sensing data so the processing device records energy data corresponding to the codes as taught by Seminario et al., as doing so would enable multi-phase/multi-sensor measurement in a compact device with per-channel identification for accurate data aggregation and analysis in resource networks (Seminario see [0048]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 1, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the processing device is configured for: setting a first data filter when the processing device (104) is communicatively connected to the first measurement device (122)(122), wherein the first data filter comprises a plurality of signal types and a plurality of data storing criteria (see [0026]), the plurality of signal types corresponds to the plurality of data storing criteria, and the energy measurement meter records the at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as the plurality of first energy data according to the first data filter (see [0032] preferences for analysis including signal types, intervals, formats, and criteria for conversion/storing, see [0026]-[0028]); and setting the first device code in the processing device and the first measurement device (122) to an enable state after setting the first data filter (see [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 2, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the first data filter further comprises a plurality of filtering threshold values corresponding to the plurality of data storing criteria (128), and the first measurement device (122) is configured for: classifying the plurality of first sensing data according to the plurality of signal types to correspond to the plurality of filtering threshold values (classification by type codes/units/periods, see [0032]-[0039]); wherein the processing device is further configured for: when one of the plurality of first sensing data matches (304) to one of the plurality of filtering threshold values, storing the one of the plurality of first sensing data as one of the plurality of first energy data corresponding to one of the plurality of signal types (see [0028]) valid conversions/tables for matching/storing, see [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 2, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the plurality of sensors comprises an analog flow meter, and the first measurement device (122) is configured for: converting an analog sensing signal provided by the analog flow meter into an analog sensing data (see sensors/A/D [0075]; gas/water meters, see [0023]); and sampling the analog sensing data according to a sampling accuracy to generate a digital sensing data, wherein the digital sensing data corresponds to one of the plurality of signal types, and the one of the plurality of signal types is water flow, gas flow or oil flow (see [0022] & [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 9, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the first measurement device (122)(114) is selectively set in one of a plurality of measurement modes (112), and the plurality of measurement modes corresponds to a plurality of measurement parameters and the plurality of signal types (see [0056]); wherein the first measurement device (122) is configured for: when the first measurement device (122) is set in a first measurement mode of the plurality of measurement modes (see [0072]), calculating the digital sensing data according to the sampling accuracy and a first measurement parameter of the plurality of measurement parameters to use as one of the plurality of first sensing data (calculations per mode, see [0037] & [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, Varney et al. disclose an energy measuring method, comprising: when a processing device is communicatively connected to a first measurement device (122), setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device (122) and setting a plurality of channel codes corresponding to a plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H) of the first measurement device (122)(meter nodes 112 with implicit addressing in mesh network, see [0022]-[0023]); converting, by the first measurement device (122), a plurality of first sensing signals provided by a plurality of sensors into a plurality of first sensing data (see [0032]-[0033]); receiving, by the processing device, the plurality of first sensing data, and identifying the first measurement device (122) and the plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H) according to the first device code and the plurality of channel codes (see [0023]); and recording at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes (processing and recording with type codes, see [0035]& [0066]).
Varney et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits; providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device; and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes.
Seminario et al. disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device (IED with network interface using protocols like Modbus TCP with slave ID or IP address, see [0058]-[0059]) and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits (phase-specific data for A, B, C, N with register addresses or internal tagging, see [0050]-[0053]); providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device (communication via network protocols providing addressed data, see [0058]-[0059]); and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes (data recorded and processed per channel/phase with codes, see [0050]-[0053], [0060]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Varney et al. by incorporating the first measurement device setting a first device code and channel codes, providing the codes when communicatively connecting, and providing sensing data so the processing device records energy data corresponding to the codes as taught by Seminario et al., as doing so would enable multi-phase/multi-sensor measurement in a compact device with per-channel identification for accurate data aggregation and analysis in resource networks (Seminario see [0048]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measuring method of claim 11, wherein Varney et al. further disclose setting a first data filter when the processing device (106) is communicatively connected to the first measurement device (122), wherein the first data filter comprises a plurality of signal types and a plurality of data storing criteria (122), the plurality of signal types corresponds to the plurality of data storing criteria (see [0023] & [0026]), and the processing device records the at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as the plurality of first energy data according to the first data filter (see [preferences/types/criteria, see [0026]-[0028]); and setting the first device code in the processing device and the first measurement device (122) to an enable state after setting the first data filter (see [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measuring method of claim 12, wherein Varney further disclose the first data filter (126) further comprises a plurality of filtering threshold values corresponding to the plurality of data storing criteria (see [0028]), and the energy measuring method further comprises: classifying the plurality of first sensing data according to the plurality of signal types to correspond to the plurality of filtering threshold values (see [0032] & [0039]); and when one of the plurality of first sensing data matches to one of the plurality of filtering threshold values, storing the one of the plurality of first sensing data as one of the plurality of first energy data corresponding to one of the plurality of signal types (see [0038] matching and storing [0040]).
Regarding claim 19, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measuring method of claim 12, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the plurality of sensors comprises an analog flow meter (112), and the energy measuring method further comprises: converting an analog sensing signal provided by the analog flow meter into an analog sensing data (see [0073]); and sampling the analog sensing data according to a sampling accuracy to generate a digital sensing data (see [0030]), wherein the digital sensing data corresponds to one of the plurality of signal types, and the one of the plurality of signal types is water flow, gas flow or oil flow (see sampling flow [0033]).
Regarding claim 20, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measuring method of claim 19, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the first measurement device (122) is selectively set in one of a plurality of measurement modes (see [0033]), and the plurality of measurement modes corresponds to a plurality of measurement parameters and the plurality of signal types (see table 302), and the energy measuring method further comprises: when the first measurement device (122) is set in a first measurement mode of the plurality of measurement modes (see [0041]), calculating the digital sensing data according to the sampling accuracy and a first measurement parameter of the plurality of measurement parameters to use as one of the plurality of first sensing data (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 21, Varney et al. disclose an energy measurement meter, comprising: a measurement device (122) comprising a plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H), wherein the plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H) is coupled to a power sensor and an analog sensor through a plurality of input ports (608) to receive a power sensing signal and an analog sensing signal (meter nodes with implied sensors for power/voltage/current, see [0022]); wherein the measurement device (122) is configured to convert the power sensing signal and the analog sensing signal into a plurality of sensing data (see [0032]); and a processing device communicatively connected to the measurement device (122) to receive the plurality of sensing data from the measurement device (122)(see [0023]), wherein when the processing device is communicatively connected to the measurement device (122), the energy measurement meter is configured to set a device code corresponding to the measurement device (122) and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits (112A-112H)(implicit in network, see [0023]); wherein the processing device is configured to record at least one part of the plurality of sensing data as a plurality of energy data, wherein each of the plurality of energy data corresponds to the device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes (see [0023]-[0027]).
Varney et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits; providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device; and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes.
Seminario et al. disclose the first measurement device is further configured for: setting a first device code corresponding to the first measurement device (IED with network interface using protocols like Modbus TCP with slave ID or IP address, see [0058]-[0059]) and a plurality of channel codes corresponding to the plurality of measurement circuits (phase-specific data for A, B, C, N with register addresses or internal tagging, see [0050]-[0053]); providing the first device code and the plurality of channel codes to the processing device when communicatively connecting to the processing device (communication via network protocols providing addressed data, see [0058]-[0059]); and providing the plurality of first sensing data to the processing device, so that the processing device records at least one part of the plurality of first sensing data as a plurality of first energy data, wherein each of the plurality of first energy data corresponds to the first device code and a corresponding one of the plurality of channel codes (data recorded and processed per channel/phase with codes, see [0050]-[0053], [0060]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Varney et al. by incorporating the first measurement device setting a first device code and channel codes, providing the codes when communicatively connecting, and providing sensing data so the processing device records energy data corresponding to the codes as taught by Seminario et al., as doing so would enable multi-phase/multi-sensor measurement in a compact device with per-channel identification for accurate data aggregation and analysis in resource networks (Seminario see [0048]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 22, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 21, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the processing device is configured to provide a driving power to the measurement device (122), and the measurement device (122) generates the plurality of sensing data according to the driving power (see {0022] & [0026]).
Regarding claim 23, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 21, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the processing device is configured for: setting a data filter when the processing device is communicatively connected to the measurement device (122)(see [0023]), wherein the data filter comprises a plurality of signal types and a plurality of data storing criteria, the plurality of signal types corresponds to the plurality of data storing criteria (see [0029]), and the energy measurement meter records the at least one part of the plurality of sensing data as the plurality of energy data according to the data filter (see preferences/types/criteria, see [0026]-[0028]); and setting the device code in the processing device and the measurement device (122) to an enable state after setting the data filter (see [0057]).
Regarding claim 25, Varney et al. as modified by Seminario et al. disclose the energy measurement meter of claim 22, wherein Varney et al. further disclose the processing device is configured for: converting an analog sensing signal provided by the analog sensor into an analog sensing data (see [0073]); and sampling the analog sensing data according to a sampling accuracy to generate a digital sensing data (see [0030]), wherein the digital sensing data corresponds to one of a plurality of signal types, and the one of the plurality of signal types is water flow, gas flow or oil flow (see [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 13-15, 17-18, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In terms of claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “when a second measurement device is communicatively connected to the first measurement device, the processing device is configured for: receiving a second device code provided by the second measurement device; determining whether the second device code is equal to the first device code; and transmitting a conflict signal to the second measurement device or a control device to reset the second device code when the second device code is equal to the first device code and the first device code is set to the enable state” in combination with all elements of claims 1-2.
In terms of claim 7, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the plurality of filtering threshold values is dynamically adjusted according to an analysis result of the plurality of first energy data” in combination with all elements of claims 1-2 & 6.
In terms of claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the processing device stores a plurality of carbon emission coefficients, the plurality of carbon emission coefficients corresponds to the plurality of signal types, and the processing device is configured for: calculating each of the plurality of first energy data and a corresponding one of the plurality of carbon emission coefficients to collect a carbon emission data” in combination with all elements of claims 1-2 & 6.
In terms of claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “receiving, by the processing device, a second device code provided by a second measurement device; determining whether the second device code is equal to the first device code; and transmitting a conflict signal to the second measurement device or a control device to reset the second device code when the second device code is equal to the first device code and the first device code is set to the enable state” in combination with all elements of claims 11-12.
In terms of claim 17, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “adjusting the plurality of filtering threshold values dynamically according to an analysis result of the plurality of first energy data periodically” in combination with all elements of claims 11-12 & 16.
In terms of claim 18, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the processing device stores a plurality of carbon emission coefficients, the plurality of carbon emission coefficients corresponds to the plurality of signal types, and the energy measuring method further comprises: calculating each of the plurality of first energy data and a corresponding one of the plurality of carbon emission coefficients to collect a carbon emission data” ” in combination with all elements of claims 11-12 & 16.
In terms of claim 24, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the processing device stores a plurality of carbon emission coefficients, the plurality of carbon emission coefficients corresponds to the plurality of signal types, and the processing device is configured for: calculating each of the plurality of energy data and a corresponding one of the plurality of carbon emission coefficients to collect a carbon emission data” in combination with all elements of claims 21 & 23.
The cited references Varney et al. in view of Seminario et al. do not disclose the conflict detection for second device codes equal to first (with enable/disable handling), transmitting conflict signals to reset, or reusing/setting filters based on disable state; dynamic adjustment of filtering threshold values according to an analysis result of the energy data (periodically in claim 17); or storing carbon emission coefficients corresponding to signal types and calculating energy data with coefficients to collect carbon emission data as claimed. Rather, the combination teaches multi-device networks, configurations/tables, and energy/power metrics but lacks the specific code conflict resolution with enable/disable and reset signaling, dynamic threshold adjustment per analysis, and carbon-specific calculations. These distinctions are structural and functional requirements that are neither disclosed nor suggested by the cited art.
Dependent claims 4-5 and 14-15 variously depending from claims 3 and 13 are allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 6,553,418 B1 to Collins et al. disclose an energy management system for monitoring and analyzing the power consumption at a plurality of locations. The energy management system includes a primary server connected to at least one building server or other device through a computer network. Each of the building servers are connected to one or more energy meters contained in a building. The primary server sends out a data request and receives energy usage information from each of the individual building servers. The primary server stores the energy usage information in a power database such that the information can be processed in a variety of manners, such as aggregating the energy usage information from multiple locations into a single energy consumption statistic. The primary server can be accessed by remote monitoring stations to view and analyze the energy usage information stored in the power database.
U.S. 2011/0202194 A1 to Kobraei et al. a sub-meter device for use in a home energy management (HEM) network. The sub-meter device measure power characteristics related to usage of an appliance (or other device) within a HEM network and provides such data to a home energy controller or the like. The sub-meter device can include one or more sensors, such as a current transformer, Rogowski coil, shunt resistor, or hall effect sensor, for collecting data relating to at least one of real power consumption, reactive power consumption, line frequency, line voltage, power factor, leading/lagging voltage-current comparison, and apparent power, etc.
U.S. 7,729,810 B2 to Bell et al. disclose a power adjustment process. The process for power distribution regulation includes filtering data from electrical sensors to provide conditioned data representative of a portion of a power distribution grid and determining, by a controller and based in part on the conditioned data, when an increase or decrease in an output parameter from one regulator of a plurality of regulators in the power distribution grid will reduce system power consumption. The process also includes increasing or decreasing the associated output electrical parameter in response to the controller determining that such will reduce system power consumption.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
March 10, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858