DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Given(US 6282655).
Claim 1: Given disclose a sensor; and a controller in (fig.1, motion sensor 100 and controller 210). Given disclose wherein the controller is configured to monitor, based on signals from the sensor, presence of a user in front of the sensor, to determine, based on the signals from the sensor, that a user is not present in front of the sensor and, in response to determining that the user is not present in front of the sensor based on the sensor signals, to transmit a keystroke code to a computer, wherein the keystroke code is configured to cause the computer to implement a computer lock in (col.2,lines 63-67; col.3,lines 8-11: motion/proximity sensor monitors presence of user where as soon as the user leaves the immediate vicinity of the computer, the motion sensor senses the absence of the use and the controller immediately sends a command sequence or artificial keystroke to the computer to put it into a security shutdown mode such as enabling workstation lockup with a password protected screen saver. Mode where a series of keystrokes are sent after an optional timing period to the workstation to immediately lock it down should the detector sense the lack of a person at the workstation.)
Claim 2: Given disclose the computer interprets the keystroke code as being keystrokes, the computer lock is a screen lock and wherein the computer implements the screen lock in response to receiving the keystroke code from the controller in (col.2,lines 43-62).
Claim 3: Given disclose the keystroke code denotes a simultaneous selection of multiple keys that is defined as a screen lock code by an operating system of the computer in (col.2,lines 28-49).
Claim 4: Given disclose wherein the sensor and the controller are integrated into the keyboard which is coupled to the computer and wherein the keystroke code is transmitted by the controller to the computer via an interface with which the keyboard is coupled to the computer in (fig.2).
Claim 5: Given disclose a display device coupled to the computer, wherein the sensor is mounted on the display device in (fig.1,2).
Claim 6: Given disclose the controller is configured to monitor a distance of the user from the sensor and to determine that the user is not present within a predefined distance of the sensor in (col.1,lines 50-63,col.2,lines 5-24).
Claim 7: Given disclose user is not present within the predefined distance of the sensor for a time interval selected by the user in (col.4,lines 1-17).
Claim 11: Given disclose monitoring presence of a user in front of a sensor in (col.2,lines 5-16). Given disclose determining, based on signals from the sensor, that a user is not present in front of the sensor; and in response to determining that the user is not present in front of the sensor based on the sensor signals, transmitting a keystroke code to a computer, wherein the keystroke code is configured to cause the computer to implement a computer lock in (col.2,lines 63-67; col.3,lines 8-11: motion/proximity sensor monitors presence of user where as soon as the user leaves the immediate vicinity of the computer, the motion sensor senses the absence of the use and the controller immediately sends a command sequence or artificial keystroke to the computer to put it into a security shutdown mode such as enabling workstation lockup with a password protected screen saver. Mode where a series of keystrokes are sent after an optional timing period to the workstation to immediately lock it down should the detector sense the lack of a person at the workstation.)
Claim 12: Given disclose computer lock is a screen lock in (col.3,lines 8-11).
Claim 13: Given disclose the keystroke code denotes a simultaneous selection of multiple keys that is defined as a screen lock code by an operating system of the computer in (col.2,lines 28-49).
Claim 14: Given disclose wherein the sensor is integrated into the keyboard which is coupled to the computer and wherein the keystroke code is transmitted by the controller to the computer via an interface with which the keyboard is coupled to the computer in (fig.2).
Claim 15: Given disclose a display device coupled to the computer, wherein the sensor is mounted on the display device in (fig.1,2).
Claim 16: Given disclose monitoring a distance of the user from the sensor and the determining comprises determining that the user is not present within a predefined distance of the sensor in (col.1,lines 50-63,col.2,lines 5-24).
Claim 17: Given disclose determining that the user is not present within the predefined distance of the sensor comprises determining that the user is not present within the predefined distance of the sensor for a time interval selected by the user in (col.1,lines 50-60; col.2,lines 63-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Given(US 6282655) in view of Milito et al(US 2021/0342435).
Claims 8,18: Given does not specifically disclose controller is configured to recognize a face of the user. Milito disclose user facial recognition in (page 3[0030]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made employ facial recognition as taught in Milito with system of Given to provide seamless user experience since authentication occurs as soon as system detects user face without typing credentials. Further, facial recognition unlike passwords is far harder to guess or share thus enhancing overall system security.
Claim(s) 10,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Given(US 6282655) in view of Gillian et al(US 2021/0365124).
Claims 10,20: Given does not specifically disclose sensor is a radar sensor. Gillian disclose radar sensor in(page 10[0109]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to employ radar sensor as taught in Gillian with sensor system of Given since radar sensor detects motion and range using radio waves it is unaffected by lighting conditions therefore providing high accuracy of range and motion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435