DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed August 23, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Taiwan on July 10, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the TW 112125620 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the double cladding fiber (i.e. a fiber having two cladding layers) as defined in line 2 of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1; the claim recites (emphasis added) “a double cladding fiber including a fiber cladding an a coating at each of two ends, and a fiber core layer” in lines 2-3 of the claim.
Applicant’s Figure 2 is provided below for reference.
Paragraph 20 of Applicant’s specification states that Figures 1-4 show an optical fiber (e.g., double cladding of a passive fiber) 10. As described in paragraphs 21-24, the fiber 10 includes a core 13, cladding 12, and coating 11, wherein coatings 11 are interconnected by a bare part 13.
The term “double cladding fiber” is a term used in the art to refer to a particular structure that includes an optical fiber core, a first inner cladding layer, a second outer cladding layer, and a coating. For reference, Kimball et al. (RE44,288 E) discloses a double clad optical fiber (10; see Figure 1) having a core (12), an inner cladding (14), an outer cladding (16), and a coating (18).
Applicant’s fiber includes a single cladding layer (12), and thus does not disclose both a first inner cladding layer and a second outer cladding layer. Therefore, the optical fiber of the present invention does not appear to be a double cladding fiber.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “double cladding fiber” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “an optical fiber having a cladding layer and a coating,” while the accepted meaning is “an optical fiber having a first inner cladding layer and a second outer cladding layer, and a coating.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Additionally, claim 1 states (emphasis added) “wherein each of the uneven surfaces is gradually concave” in line 6 of the claim. It is unclear what qualifies as a “gradually concave” surface. For the purpose of examination, any surface that is concave will be considered to be “gradually concave”.
Furthermore, claim 1 defines (emphasis added) “a generally trough-shaped profile” in line 7 of the claim. It is unclear what shapes qualify as “generally trough-shaped”. For the purpose of examination, any concave shape will be considered to be generally trough-shaped.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 9; the claims inherently contain the deficiencies of any base and/or intervening claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chao, Liang-Fang (CN 212160138 U), hereafter Chao.
Regarding claim 1; Chao discloses an optical fiber component (see Figure 1), comprising:
a double cladding fiber (optical fiber 10 including inner cladding layer 12 and outer cladding layer 13) including
a fiber cladding (12 and/or 13) and
a coating (coating layer 11) at each of two ends respectively, and
a fiber core layer (core 11) ;
a bare part formed between the two ends (see Figure 1, the core 11 and the inner cladding 12 are exposed to form a bare fiber between two end of the fiber); and
two uneven surfaces formed on the bare part (each annular groove 121 is formed by two uneven surfaces);
wherein each of the uneven surfaces is gradually concave from the two ends toward a central portion thereof and has a generally trough-shaped profile (see Figure 1, each annular groove 121 has two uneven surfaces, wherein each of the uneven surfaces is gradually concave from the two ends toward a central portion thereof, i.e. the surfaces are sloped to form concave surfaces towards the bottom of the groove 121, wherein the groove 121 has a generally trough-shaped profile); and
the two uneven surfaces are located at a same axial position but formed in different directions (the two uneven surfaces of each groove 121 are located at a same axial position and formed in different directions; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2; Chao discloses that due to the uneven surfaces (surfaces of grooves 121) an angle of incidence that light makes at a boundary of cladding (12) and surrounding air results in the light being coupled out of the fiber (10) and not totally internally reflected at the boundary (see Figure 1 of Chao, wherein the out-coupled light is illustrated with arrows in the section of the fiber having grooves 121).
Regarding claim 3; Chao discloses the optical fiber component of claim 2, wherein the bare part is cut by laser to form the uneven surfaces having concave and convex surfaces in a wavy shape (the bare part of the fiber 10 has uneven surfaces having a concave and convex shape which form the plurality of grooves 121 having a wavy shape; see Figure 1).
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (optical fiber component) including the process of making the product (cut by laser), and therefor claim 3 is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 4; Chao discloses the optical fiber component of claim 2, wherein the bare part is cut or grinded to form the uneven surfaces thereon, and the uneven surfaces are wavy or toothed-shaped (the bare part of the fiber 10 has uneven surfaces which form the plurality of grooves 121 having a wavy or toothed-shape; see Figure 1).
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (optical fiber component) including the process of making the product (cut or grinded), and therefor claim 4 is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 5; Chao discloses the optical fiber component of claim 2, where in the bare part is polished by a sand paper or a polishing wheel to form the uneven surfaces (surfaces forming grooves 121) thereon.
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (An optical fiber component) including the process of making the product (polished by sand paper or a polishing wheel), and therefor claim 5 is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 9; Chao discloses the optical fiber component of claim 2, wherein an amount of ammonium bifluoride solution is applied on the uneven surfaces to etch to form rough surfaces so that the uneven surfaces are configured to further increase power stripping on the fiber cladding and guide the light to an environment (the plurality of uneven surfaces forming grooves 121 form a rough surface on the cladding that strips the cladding mode light from the fiber, thereby forming a power stripper, and couples the cladding mode light outside of the fiber 10; see Figure 1).
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (An optical fiber component) including the process of making the product (an amount of ammonium bifluoride solution is applied to etch to form rough surfaces), and therefor claims 9-15 are of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Chao forms a plurality of annular grooves 121 on the surface of an optical fiber. The annular grooves may be V-shaped or semicircular and are arranged along the axial direction of the optical fiber. The Examiner interprets the two sidewalls of the same V-shaped annular groove as two uneven surfaces located at the same axial position, formed in different directions, and intersecting each other. However, the two surfaces disclosed by Chao are merely the two sidewalls that together define a single V-shaped annular groove. In contrast, the first uneven surface and the second uneven surface of the present application each have a complete surface profile that is gradually concave from both ends toward the center and generally trough-shaped, and these two uneven surfaces intersect each other at the same axial position while extending in different directions. Accordingly, the principal difference between the present application and Chao lies in the intersection of two uneven surfaces, each having its own complete gradually concave, trough-shaped profile, rather than the mere meeting of the two sidewalls of a single V-shaped annular groove at the bottom of the groove.
The examiner does not agree that the claim language of amended independent claim 1 is limited to the specific embodiment that Applicant appears to be arguing. The claim language is general and broadly reads on the grooved fiber disclosed by Chao as applied in the rejection above. If Applicant intend to claim that each trough further includes smaller grooves and/or teeth, than that should be specifically claimed.
The examiner notes that the uneven surfaces of each groove 121 of Chao are formed at a same axial position and extend in opposite directions therefrom.
The examiner further notes that each of the uneven surfaces of the grooves 121 are gradually concave from two ends towards a center, as they are sloped surfaces extending into the body of the fiber and are formed in a central section of the fiber (see Figure 1 of Chao), thereby forming a generally trough-shaped profile.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874