Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 May 2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-14 and 18-19 in the reply filed on 19 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract recites technical features that are illustrated in the drawings, but the applicant fails to include reference signs placed between parenthesis. Additionally, the Abstract contains 207 words which is over the maximum limit of 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical reasons.
Regarding Claim 1, the consistent use of commas (,) within the claim are not used correctly. The limitation recited in lines 2-3 of the claim would be better recited as something similar to “a housing comprising a housing side wall and a closed housing distal wall; the housing side wall comprising a…”. The limitation recited in lines 4-5 of the claim would be better recited as something similar to “a sampling brush configured to be accommodated in the housing wherein at least a part of the sampling brush is exposed in at least one state of use…”. The limitation “rotate in a circumferential direction, so that the…” recited in the ninth line of the claim would be better recited without the comma (,) such as “rotate in a circumferential direction so that the…’.
Regarding Claim 19, the limitation “lubricant, tweezers and a biological tissue preservation solution” is more wildly accepted for formal documents written as “lubricant, tweezers, and a biological preservation solution”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the term “close to” recited in the third line of the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The current verbiage makes it unclear what constitutes as “close to” or to what distance would qualify as being “close to”. For this examination, the limitation is being interpreted to mean that the first notch is “formed adjacent to the housing distal wall”.
Additionally, the limitation “to a position where the first notch is located” recited in the fifth line of the claim is indefinite. It is unclear what is in a position where the first notch is located. Is any part of the sampling brush in a position where the first notch is located? Is the at least a part of the sampling brush being exposed in a position where the first notch is located? For this examination, this limitation is being interpreted to mean “at least a part of the sampling brush that is being exposed is in a position where the first notch is located”.
Furthermore, the term “near” recited in the last line of the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The current verbiage makes it unclear what constitutes as “near” or to what distance would qualify as being “near”. Additionally, it is unclear if the “target sample” is “near the first notch” or the “sampling brush” is “near the first notch”. For this examination, the limitation is being interpreted to mean “against a target sample wherein the sampling brush is attached at the first notch”.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitation “the action of an external force” recited in the third line of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is being interpreted to mean “an action of an external force”.
Regarding Claim 7, the limitation “the position of the second notch” recited in the second line of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is being interpreted to mean “a position of the second notch”. Additionally, the limitation “the position of the manipulator” recited in the second line of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is being interpreted to mean “a position of the manipulator”. Furthermore, the limitation “the retaining wall” recited in the fourth line of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is being interpreted to mean “a retaining wall”. Lastly, the limitation “the position of the window” recited in the fourth line of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is being interpreted to mean “a position of the window”.
Regarding Claim 11, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The current verbiage makes it unclear what part of the housing distal wall needs to be “domed” or to what degree the housing distal wall is “domed”. For this examination, the limitation is being interpreted to mean that the housing distal wall is overall “domed” but does not have to be exactly “domed”.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected due to their dependence on the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by de Koning et. al.'903 (U.S. Patent Publication 20170303903).
Regarding Claim 1, Koning et. al.'903 discloses a cervix sampler (200) (Paragraph [0052] - The sample collector 12 can be any suitable device for collecting a vaginal sample; Paragraph [0065] - the distal end of the medical diagnostic device 2 is inserted in the vagina 82 of the female patient 80 and advanced in the direction depicted by arrow 83, within the vagina 82 toward the cervix 84; Paragraph [0067] – the sample collector 12 extends and rotation of the engagement member 36 causes the sample collector 12 to rotate and engage the cervix in order to gather a sample; Paragraph [0074] - In a second or deployed position, shown in FIG. 13B and after the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient), comprising:
a housing (220), comprising a housing side wall and a closed, housing distal wall (combination of elements 276, 270, and 271), the housing side wall comprising a first notch (268), and the first notch (268) being formed adjacent to the housing distal wall (combination of elements 276, 270, and 271) (Paragraph [0072] - A core 220 is positioned within the hollow interior 214 of the outer sleeve 204. The core 220 according to this embodiment is defined by an elongate tubular member 224 that includes an exterior surface 228, as well as respective distal and proximal portions 232, 236…A pair of stop grooves 244, 248 are provided in the exterior surface 228 of the core 220 in spaced relation; Paragraph [0073] - Still referring to FIG. 13A and extending from an axial opening 221 formed in the distal end of the core 220 is a sampling device 260 that is formed as part of a diagnostic assembly…FIGS. 13A and 14A, the distal end of the core 220 includes at least one keyway 268 that is configured to engage a corresponding number of keys 270);
a sampling brush (260) configured to be accommodated in the housing (220) wherein at least a part of the sampling brush (260) that is being exposed is in a position where the first notch (268) is located (Paragraph [0052] - such as a brush having a plurality of disposed bristles 31. The sample collector 12 can have a coupling portion 32 that is configured to releasably couple the sample collector 12 relative to a distal end of the rotatable shaft 24; Paragraph [0032] - Still referring to FIG. 13A and extending from an axial opening 221 formed in the distal end of the core 220 is a sampling device 260 that is formed as part of a diagnostic assembly, the remainder of which is initially provided and retained within the core 220; Paragraph [0074] - the core 220 is advanced axially toward the distal end of the outer sleeve 204, which advances the sample collecting device 260 through a formed distal opening of the outer sleeve 204. Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248, the latter groove 248 being disposed adjacent the transition of the conical portion 240 of the core 220. In this position, the substantially conical sections 212, 240 of the outer sleeve 204 and core 220 are nested. The angled shaft 280 of the sample collecting device 260 better insures the ability of the sample collecting device 260 and more specifically the disposed bristles 271 to engage the surface of the cervix (not shown) in order to obtain a suitable sample through rotation of the core 220…As shown in FIG. 14A, the proximal end of the sample collecting device 260 includes a coupling portion having a pair of radially disposed keys 286 that are aligned with corresponding keyways 268 at the end of the ejector rod 256. In this position, the keys 270 and keyways 268 are still engaged within the distal end of the core 220, thereby retaining the sample collecting device 260 in use); and
a shaft (280), comprising a shaft distal end and a shaft proximal end (Paragraph [0051] - the hollow rotatable shaft 24 has an engagement member 26 positioned at a proximal end 18 of the rotatable shaft 24 and the core 16; Paragraph [0052] - The sample collector 12 is coupled to the ejector pin 22 and the hollow rotatable shaft 24 at the distal end 3 of the device 2A; Paragraph [0073] - According to this embodiment, the sampling device 260 is further defined by a shaft 280 disposed between the bristles 276 and the coupling portion 271 that is angled relative to a common primary axis defined by the core 220 and the outer sleeve 204, when assembled, and as shown in FIG. 13A);
wherein the shaft distal end is connected to the sampling brush (260), the shaft proximal end further comprises a manipulator (246), and the manipulator (246), operated by an external force, drives the shaft (280) and the sampling brush (260) to rotate in a circumferential direction, so that the sampling brush (260) acquires biological tissue in a state of use by being in contact with and rubbing against a target sample wherein the sampling brush (260) is attached at the first notch (268 via 270) (Paragraph [0052] - such as a brush having a plurality of disposed bristles 31. The sample collector 12 can have a coupling portion 32 that is configured to releasably couple the sample collector 12 relative to a distal end of the rotatable shaft 24; Paragraph [0051] - the hollow rotatable shaft 24 has an engagement member 26 positioned at a proximal end 18 of the rotatable shaft 24 and the core 16; Paragraph [0072] - A pair of stop grooves 244, 248 are provided in the exterior surface 228 of the core 220 in spaced relation; Paragraph [0074] - The angled shaft 280 of the sample collecting device 260 better insures the ability of the sample collecting device 260 and more specifically the disposed bristles 271 to engage the surface of the cervix (not shown) in order to obtain a suitable sample through rotation of the core 220 as accessed using the engagement member 246; see Annotated Figure 13B below).
Annotated Figure 13B
Regarding Claim 2, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as comprising a retaining wall (204), the retaining wall (204) being sized and shaped to at least cover the first notch (268) (Paragraph [0071] -According to this embodiment, at least one stop surface 216 is provided along an inner surface of the outer sleeve 204 at the transition between the tubular and conical sections 208, 212 of the outer sleeve 204. More specifically, the stop surface 216 can be an axial projection; Paragraph [0072] - A core 220 is positioned within the hollow interior 214 of the outer sleeve 204…A pair of stop grooves 244, 248 are provided in the exterior surface 228 of the core 220 in spaced relation. In an initial position, the stop surface 216 is engaged with a distal stop groove 244, also as shown in FIG. 13A), and
the retaining wall (204) being configured to switch between a first state of use and a second state of use under an action of an external force (Paragraph [0074] - In a second or deployed position, shown in FIG. 13B and after the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient (not shown), the core 220 is advanced axially toward the distal end of the outer sleeve 204, which advances the sample collecting device 260 through a formed distal opening of the outer sleeve 204. Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248, the latter groove 248 being disposed adjacent the transition of the conical portion 240 of the core 220);
wherein in the first state of use, the retaining wall (204) covers the first notch (268) (Paragraph [0072] - In an initial position, the stop surface 216 is engaged with a distal stop groove 244, also as shown in FIG. 13A, which prevents the core 220 from being retracted outwardly beyond a predetermined axial position); and
in the second state of use, the retaining wall (204) is away from the first notch (268), so that the sampling brush (260) is exposed to the position where the first notch (268) is located (Paragraph [0074] - In a second or deployed position, shown in FIG. 13B and after the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient (not shown), the core 220 is advanced axially toward the distal end of the outer sleeve 204, which advances the sample collecting device 260 through a formed distal opening of the outer sleeve 204. Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248, the latter groove 248 being disposed adjacent the transition of the conical portion 240 of the core 220).
Regarding Claim 3, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 2 as well as the retaining wall (204) is configured to move in an axial direction along the housing side wall (Paragraph [0071] - More specifically, the stop surface 216 can be an axial projection; Paragraph [0074] - Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248).
Regarding Claim 4, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 2 as well as the retaining wall (204) is configured to slide in a circumferential direction along the housing side wall (Paragraph [0071] - According to this embodiment, at least one stop surface 216 is provided along an inner surface of the outer sleeve 204 at the transition between the tubular and conical sections 208, 212 of the outer sleeve 204. More specifically, the stop surface 216 can be an axial projection; Paragraph [0074] - Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248).
Regarding Claim 5, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 2 as well as the retaining wall (204) is configured to further comprise a protrusion (212), and the retaining wall (204) enables switching between the first state of use and the second state of use when the protrusion (212) is operated by an external force (Paragraph [0059] - When the conical section 6 of the outer sleeve 4 is compressed, using the at least two locator pads 20, FIG. 1, or otherwise, the medical diagnostic device 2A, 2B, 2C transitions back from the deployed position to the insertion position; Paragraph [0071] - According to this embodiment, at least one stop surface 216 is provided along an inner surface of the outer sleeve 204 at the transition between the tubular and conical sections 208, 212 of the outer sleeve 204. More specifically, the stop surface 216 can be an axial projection; Paragraph [0074] - In this position, the substantially conical sections 212).
Regarding Claim 6, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as the manipulator (246) is a rotary converter, an outer wall of the rotary converter (246) is provided with anti-skid stripes (Paragraph [0074] - The angled shaft 280 of the sample collecting device 260 better insures the ability of the sample collecting device 260 and more specifically the disposed bristles 271 to engage the surface of the cervix (not shown) in order to obtain a suitable sample through rotation of the core 220 as accessed using the engagement member 246; see Annotated Figure 13A below), and
Annotated Figure 13A
the manipulator (246) drives the shaft (280) and thus the sampling brush (260) to rotate in the same direction when the rotary converter is rotated in the circumferential direction under the action of an external force (Paragraph [0066] - In this embodiment, in the deployed position, the sample collector 12 extends and rotation of the engagement member 36 causes the sample collector 12 to rotate and engage the cervix in order to gather a sample; Paragraph [0074] - The angled shaft 280 of the sample collecting device 260 better insures the ability of the sample collecting device 260 and more specifically the disposed bristles 271 to engage the surface of the cervix (not shown) in order to obtain a suitable sample through rotation of the core 220 as accessed using the engagement member 246).
Regarding Claim 8, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 2 as well as a proximal end of the retaining wall (204) is further provided with a pair of booster wings (212), the booster wings (212) being configured to apply an axial pushing force or pulling force to the retaining wall (204) so that the retaining wall (204) enables switching between the first state of use and the second state of use (Paragraph [0062] - As discussed above, the substantially conical proximal section 6 of the outer sleeve 4 can be flexed or compressed inwardly. In particular, during use, a inwardly radially directed force is applied simultaneously to the exterior of the proximal section 6 and preferably to the at least two locator pads 20, FIG. 1, causing inward flexion of the conical proximal section 6 towards the axis A. This inward flexion causes corresponding portions of an internal wall surface of the proximal section 6 to be placed into intimate contact with an outer or external surface of the substantially conical proximal section 28 of the core 16. This engagement triggers axial retraction of the core 16 and the sample collector 12 along the axis A (FIG. 5) from the open deployed position in which the core 16 is advanced within the outer sleeve 4 and the sample collector 12 extends beyond the outer sleeve 4 to the closed insertion position in which the core 16 and the sample collector 12 are retracted within the hollow interior 9 of the outer sleeve 4; Paragraph [0071] - at least one stop surface 216 is provided along an inner surface of the outer sleeve 204 at the transition between the tubular and conical sections 208, 212 of the outer sleeve 204).
Regarding Claim 9, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as a proximal end of the housing (220) is further provided with a base (246), and a side of the base (246) is rotationally connected to the shaft proximal end (Paragraph [0072] - The core 220 further includes a hollow tapering or conical portion 240 extending from the proximal portion 236 of the elongate tubular member 224 and in which the proximal end of the hollow proximal conical portion 240 includes an engagement member 246, which according to this embodiment is in the form of a knob; Paragraph [0074] - through rotation of the core 220 as accessed using the engagement member 246).
Regarding Claim 10, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 9 as well as another side of the base (246) is configured to comprise a handle, the handle being configured to apply an axial pushing force or pulling force to the sampler (200) so that the sampler is placed into or withdrawn from a vagina (Paragraph [0066] - As illustrated in FIG. 11C, when the vaginal diagnostic device 2 is suitably positioned within the female patient 80, the user applies a force to the engagement member 26 using the hand 88 of the user. Because the engagement member 26 is seated within the conical section 28 of the core 16, the force is transmitted to the core 16, causing the core 16 to advance axially within the outer sleeve 4 until the conical section 28 of the core 16 is received in the conical section 6 of the outer sleeve 4; Paragraph [0074] - In a second or deployed position, shown in FIG. 13B and after the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient).
Regarding Claim 11, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as the housing distal wall is substantially domed (Paragraph [0071] - The majority of the outer sleeve 204, including the distal portion 208, is defined by a substantially tubular configuration having a substantially constant diameter that transitions to the proximal portion 212, the latter being defined by a tapering or substantially conical shape).
Regarding Claim 12, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as the sampling brush (260) is detachably connected to the shaft distal end (Paragraph [0052] - The sample collector 12 can have a coupling portion 32 that is configured to releasably couple the sample collector 12 relative to a distal end of the rotatable shaft 24; Paragraph [0074] - As shown in FIG. 14A, the proximal end of the sample collecting device 260 includes a coupling portion having a pair of radially disposed keys 286 that are aligned with corresponding keyways 268 at the end of the ejector rod 256. In this position, the keys 270 and keyways 268 are still engaged within the distal end of the core 220, thereby retaining the sample collecting device 260 in use).
Regarding Claim 13, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 2 as well as comprising an auxiliary plate (216), fixedly connected to the housing (220); wherein the auxiliary plate (216) is connected to the retaining wall (204) in a sliding manner to enable axial movement of the retaining wall (204) relative to the housing (220) (Paragraph [0071] - at least one stop surface 216 is provided along an inner surface of the outer sleeve 204 at the transition between the tubular and conical sections 208, 212 of the outer sleeve 204. More specifically, the stop surface 216 can be an axial projection).
Regarding Claim 14, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as the biological tissue is cervix cells (Paragraph [0066] - causes the sample collector 12 to rotate and engage the cervix in order to gather a sample).
Regarding Claim 18, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 1 as well as a sampler (200) according to claim 1; and a container (44) sized to accommodate at least the sampling brush (260) therein (Paragraph [0067] - In an example, the sample collector 12 can be ejected into a sample container 44; Paragraph [0074] - the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient; Figure 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koning et. al.'903 (U.S. Patent Publication 20170303903) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sgro'735 (U.S. Patent 6059735).
Regarding Claim 7, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as wherein the housing side wall is configured to comprise a second notch, a position of the second notch (248) corresponding to a position of the manipulator (246) such that at least a part of the manipulator (246) is exposed to a position where the second notch (248) is located (Paragraph [0074] - In a second or deployed position, shown in FIG. 13B and after the diagnostic device 200 has been implanted into the body cavity (e.g., vagina) of a patient (not shown), the core 220 is advanced axially toward the distal end of the outer sleeve 204, which advances the sample collecting device 260 through a formed distal opening of the outer sleeve 204. Axial movement proceeds until the stop surface 216 engages the second spaced stop groove 248, the latter groove 248 being disposed adjacent the transition of the conical portion 240 of the core 220. In this position, the substantially conical sections 212, 240 of the outer sleeve 204 and core 220 are nested…obtain a suitable sample through rotation of the core 220 as accessed using the engagement member 246), but fails to disclose a retaining wall is configured to further comprise a window, a position of the window corresponding to the manipulator when the retaining wall is in a second state of use such that at least a part of the manipulator is exposed outside. Sgro'735 teaches a reading window used to observe displacement of the outer tube (sleeve) with respect to an inner rod (Column 3 Lines 37-42 - The device according to the invention is equipped with a means 4 for measuring, in particular for reading off, the relative displacement of the rod 2 with respect to the tube 1. This reading-off means 4 comprises markings 24 engraved or present on the rod 2, and a reading window 1b formed on the tube 1, and more specifically at its proximal end 1c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Koning et. al.'903 to include a window showing a position of the sleeve (retaining wall) corresponding to an engagement member (manipulator) in order to observe and thereby help control a relative displacement of the sleeve with respect to a shaft as seen in Sgro'735.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koning et. al.'903 (U.S. Patent Publication 20170303903) as applied to Claim 18 above, and further in view of Thakor et. al.'259 (U.S. Patent Publication 20220395259).
Regarding Claim 19, Koning et. al.'903 discloses the device outlined in Claim 18 above, but fails to disclose comprising an auxiliary tool, the auxiliary tool being any one or more of a lubricant, tweezers and a biological tissue preservation solution. Thakor et. al.'259 teaches a vital (container) comprising preservatives (Paragraph [0108] - In some variations, the vial 901 may include one or more preservatives such as for example, methanol, ethanol, etc. to store the biological sample). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Koning et. al.'903 comprising a vial to include a preservative solution within that vial in order to preserve and store a biological sample as seen in Thakor et. al.'259.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Larson et. al.’073 (U.S. Patent Publication 20190388073) discloses a device with a slidable sheath over a “notch” comprising a cutting tool configured to collect a biopsy. Yim’265 (U.S. Patent 5456265) discloses a biopsy device comprising a slidable sheath over a brush configured to retain samples.
/SARAH ANN WESTFALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791