DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final rejection in response to RCE amendments filed 5/4/2026. Claims 1, 6, 10, 13-15, and 19-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art of Wells being ineligible to be considered prior art have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, given further consideration to the interpretation of an “error signal”, as discussed below, Au teaches the claim limitation of calculating an error signal for the second control objective and applying the error signal when driving the movable closure jaw. As the error signal described in paragraph 91 of the specification includes feedback used to achieve a joint control objective, the distal joint errors of Au teach this means of feedback to achieve a joint control objective.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Au (US 20120123441, IDS).
Regarding claim 10, Au teaches an apparatus to provide a control objective using a null space of a redundant degree of freedom of a surgical tool ([0006] discusses the inventive system as control systems having multiple degrees of freedom to control the configuration of a medical instrument), the apparatus comprising:
a tool driver including a plurality of actuators providing a redundant degree of freedom (DoF) ([0034] discusses the medical instrument including mechanism 230 as a transmission system to drive the end effector tool using two actuators with claim 17 further discussing this providing redundant degrees of freedom); and
one or more processors ([0048] discusses the control system of the exemplary system being a general purpose computer executing a program or a circuit wired to generate a drive signal where it is interpreted that this would include one or more processors) configured to:
calculate a position displacement of a movable closure jaw to effect a desired movement in response to an input command ([0062] discusses an operator performing an action (input command) to indicate a desired position of the robotic instrument where the position and velocity vectors are calculated to change the robotic instrument to the desired placement);
calculate a first movement of the two actuators based on the position displacement of the movable closure jaw and a second movement of the two actuators based on a second control objective in a null space corresponding to the redundant DoF ([0043] discusses how two drive motors (actuators) connected to a joint are used to operate the end effector where the actuators are used to achieve the desired position of the end effector as discussed above with operation of actuators to operate an end effector into a desired position being interpreted as the first movement while maintaining a minimum tension in the connective tendon with using the actuators to maintain a minimum tension is being interpreted as the second movement where maintaining minimum tension is the second control objective and where the torque required is found using a null space projection operator as discussed in [0075] and where claim 17 discusses the joint providing a redundant degree of freedom), wherein the second control objective is a null space torque for the movable closure of the jaw ([0070] discusses controlling the torque of the surgical instrument (as described above as jaw members));
calculate an error signal for the second control objective; apply the error signal when driving the movable closure jaw ([0049] discusses calculating distal joint errors which are the difference between the measured and desired positions and velocities of joint 410 where these joint errors are used to determine the tension required to control the joint with [0062] further describing this joint control being used to actuate an end effector (as described above as jaw members)); and
drive the movable closure jaw according to the first movement and the second movement while accomplishing the second control objective in the null space ([0043] discusses the two motors driving the torque applied to control the movement of the joint to further control movement of the end effector).
Regarding claim 15, Au teaches wherein the null space corresponding to the redundant DoF for the movable closure jaw provides a relationship between the first movement of the two actuators and the second movement of the two actuators ([0075] discusses determining joint torques (controlled using two actuators) that will maintain the tension while preventing the joints from reaching their range limit where it is interpreted that preventing the joints from reaching their range limit shows the relationship between movement of the actuators for position displacement and movement of the actuators for maintaining tension).
Regarding claim 19, Au teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions to cause one or more processors ([0048] discusses the control system of the exemplary system being a general purpose computer executing a program or a circuit wired to generate a drive signal where it is interpreted that this would include one or more processors) to perform:
calculating a position displacement of a tool to set a desired end effector movement in response to an input command ([0062] discusses an operator performing an action (input command) to indicate a desired position of the robotic instrument where the position and velocity vectors are calculated to change the robotic instrument to the desired placement);
calculating a first movement of two actuators based on the position displacement and a second movement of the two actuators based on a second control objective in a null space corresponding to a redundant DoF ([0043] discusses how two drive motors (actuators) connected to a joint are used to operate the end effector where the actuators are used to achieve the desired position of the end effector as discussed above with operation of actuators to operate an end effector into a desired position being interpreted as the first movement while maintaining a minimum tension in the connective tendon with using the actuators to maintain a minimum tension is being interpreted as the second movement where maintaining minimum tension is the second control objective and where the torque required is found using a null space projection operator as discussed in [0075] and where claim 17 discusses the joint providing a redundant degree of freedom) wherein the second control objective is a null space torque for the closure jaw ([0070] discusses controlling the torque of the surgical instrument (as described above as jaw members));
calculating an error signal for the second control objective; applying the error signal when driving the movable closure jaw ([0049] discusses the calculating distal joint errors which are the difference between the measured and desired positions and velocities of joint 410 where these joint errors are used to determine the tension required to control the joint with [0062] further describing this joint control being used to actuate an end effector (as described above as jaw members)); and
driving the tool according to the first movement and the second movement while accomplishing the second control objective in the null space ([0043] discusses the two motors driving the torque applied to control the movement of the joint to further control movement of the end effector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US 20120123441, IDS) in view of Hariri (US 10166082).
Regarding claim 1, Au teaches a method ([0006] describes the inventive system as a method of robotic control) comprising:
providing a redundant degree of freedom (DoF) for a tool by driving a movable closure jaw with at least two actuators ([0065] discusses and Fig. 6 shows an exemplary system where two actuators, 640-1 & 640-2, are coupled to one joint for movement of the end effector where claim 17 further states that the joint provides a redundant degree of freedom for the tool with [0074] discussing the surgical tool as a including movable jaw members);
calculating a position displacement of the movable closure jaw to effect a desired movement in response to an input command ([0062] discusses an operator performing an action (input command) to indicate a desired position of the robotic instrument where the position and velocity vectors are calculated to change the robotic instrument to the desired placement);
calculating a first movement of the two actuators based on the position displacement of the movable closure jaw and a second movement of the two actuators based on a second control objective in a null space corresponding to the redundant DoF ([0043] discusses how two drive motors (actuators) connected to a joint are used to operate the end effector where the actuators are used to achieve the desired position of the end effector as discussed above with operation of actuators to operate an end effector into a desired position being interpreted as the first movement while maintaining a minimum tension in the connective tendon with using the actuators to maintain a minimum tension is being interpreted as the second movement where maintaining minimum tension is the second control objective and where the torque required is found using a null space projection operator as discussed in [0075] and where claim 17 discusses the joint providing a redundant degree of freedom), wherein the second control objective is a torque of the closure jaw ([0070] discusses controlling the torque of the surgical instrument (as described above as jaw members));
determining a projection of a control signal for the position displacement of the movable closure jaw to a ([0070] discusses controlling the torque of the surgical instrument (as described above as jaw members) where [0073]-[0075] discuss calculating the torque required for the position displacement of the surgical instrument where the function provided by the solution (position displacement of the joint) is a null space projection operator that selects torques from the null space of the transpose of the joints);
calculating an error signal for the second control objective; applying the error signal when driving the movable closure jaw ([0049] discusses the calculating distal joint errors which are the difference between the measured and desired positions and velocities of joint 410 where these joint errors are used to determine the tension required to control the joint with [0062] further describing this joint control being used to actuate an end effector (as described above as jaw members)); and
driving the movable closure jaw according to the first movement and the second movement while accomplishing the second control objective in the null space ([0043] discusses the two motors driving the torque applied to control the movement of the joint to further control movement of the end effector).
Au does not explicitly teach the position displacement as a vector. Hariri teaches the position command being in the null space and the null space being described as a vector (Col. 15 line 60 – Col 16 line 5).
Au teaches projecting position displacement into null space and Hariri teaches the null space being described as a vector as discussed above. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize this vector within null space as utilizing null space projection would allow for multiple conditions to be considered in the movement and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize vectors with the Jacobian matrix to describe the null space.
Regarding claim 6, Au teaches wherein the null space corresponding to the redundant DoF for the movable closure jaw provides a relationship between the first movement of the two actuators and the second movement of the two actuators ([0075] discusses determining joint torques (controlled using two actuators) that will maintain the tension while preventing the joints from reaching their range limit where it is interpreted that preventing the joints from reaching their range limit shows the relationship between movement of the actuators for position displacement and movement of the actuators for maintaining tension).
Regarding claim 13, Au teaches determining a projection of a control signal for the position displacement of the movable closure jaw ([0075] discusses the function provided by the solution (position displacement of the joint) is a null space projection operator that selects torques from the null space of the transpose of the joints).
Au does not explicitly teach the position displacement as a vector. Hariri teaches the position command being in the null space and the null space being described as a vector (Col. 15 line 60 – Col 16 line 5).
Au teaches projecting position displacement into null space and Hariri teaches the null space being described as a vector as discussed above. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize this vector within null space as utilizing null space projection would allow for multiple conditions to be considered in the movement and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize vectors with the Jacobian matrix to describe the null space.
Regarding claim 14, Au teaches wherein the null space corresponding to the redundant DoF for the closure jaw joint is described ([0075] discusses the solution operation occurring in a null space projection using a Jacobian matrix).
Au does not explicitly teach describing the null space as a vector. Hariri teaches the position command being in the null space and the null space being described as a vector (Col. 15 line 60 – Col 16 line 5).
Au teaches projecting position displacement into null space and Hariri teaches the null space being described as a vector as discussed above. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize this vector within null space as utilizing null space projection would allow for multiple conditions to be considered in the movement and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize vectors with the Jacobian matrix to describe the null space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rockrohr (US 20220071726) teaches using a feedback loop to receive motor positions and use a kinematics model detect when a system loses a DOF.
/D.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657