DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Status
2. The amendment to the specification filed August 7, 2026 has been entered. Claims filed May 23, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Specification
3. The objection to the disclosure is withdrawn in view of Applicants Amendments to the specification.
Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., (WO 2011075677 published June 2011; priority to Dec 2010) in view of Koike et al., (Industrial Biotechnology 9, no. 6:352-367. Published Dec. 1, 2013).
The claims are drawn to a protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated.
Jang et al., teach mutants of a parent Trichoderma strain, comprising a polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide and one or more (several) genes selected from the group consisting of a first subtilisin-like serine protease gene, a first aspartic protease gene, a trypsin-like serine protease gene, a second subtilisin-like serine protease gene, and a second aspartic protease gene, wherein the one or more (several) genes are modified rendering the mutant strain deficient in the production of one or more (several) enzymes selected from the group consisting of a first subtilisin-like serine protease, a first aspartic protease, a trypsin-like serine protease, a second subtilisin-like serine protease, and a second aspartic protease, respectively, compared to the parent Trichoderma strain when cultivated under identical conditions. The present invention also relates to methods of producing a polypeptide in such mutants and methods for producing such mutants [abstract]. The enzyme-deficient Trichoderma mutant strain may be constructed by reducing or eliminating expression of one or more (several) genes selected from the group consisting of a subtilisin-like serine protease gene, an aspartic protease gene, and a trypsin-like serine protease gene using methods well known in the art, such as insertions, disruptions, replacements, or deletions [para 64]. Inactivated resulting in no expression or a weaker promoter may be substituted for the native promoter sequence to reduce expression of the coding sequence [para 65]. The Trichoderma mutant strains may be constructed by gene deletion techniques to eliminate or reduce expression of a gene. Gene deletion techniques enable the partial or complete removal of the gene thereby eliminating their expression [para 65]. The mutants of Trichoderma strains may contain additional modifications, e.g., deletions or disruptions, of other genes, which may encode substances detrimental to the production, recovery, or application of a polypeptide of interest [para 106]. The Trichoderma strain further comprises a modification, e.g., disruption or deletion, of one or more (several) genes encoding a proteolytic activity selected from the group consisting of an aminopeptidase, dipeptidylaminopeptidase, tripeptidylaminopeptidase, carboxypeptidase, metalloprotease, cysteine protease, and vacuolar protease [para 107]. Thus teaching the M1 and M28 aminopeptidase family of claim 3.
The term “deficient” is defined herein as a Trichoderma mutant strain that produces no detectable activity of one or more (several) enzymes selected from the group consisting of a subtilisin-like serine protease, an aspartic protease, and a trypsin-like serine protease compared to the parent Trichoderma strain when cultivated under identical conditions, or, in the alternative, produces preferably at least 25% less, more preferably at least 50% less, even more preferably at least 75% less, and most preferably at least 95% less of one or more (several) enzymes selected from the group consisting of a subtilisin-like serine protease, an aspartic protease, and a trypsin-like serine protease than the parent Trichoderma strain when cultivated under identical conditions [para 37]. Jang et al., teach Subtilisin-like serine protease: The term “subtilisin-like serine protease” is defined herein as a protease with a substrate specificity similar to subtilisin that uses a serine residue for catalyzing the hydrolysis of peptide bonds in peptides and proteins [para 34]. The term “aspartic protease” is defined herein as a protease that uses an aspartate residue for catalyzing the hydrolysis of peptide bonds in peptides and proteins. For purposes of the present invention, aspartic endopeptidase activity [para 35]; thus teaching claim 2. The deletion of one or more (several) of the subtilisin-like serine protease gene, the aspartic protease gene, and/or the serine protease gene may be partial or complete. The modification results in a decrease in or elimination (inactivation) of expression of the subtilisin-like serine protease gene, the aspartic protease gene, the serine protease gene, or a combination thereof. In a preferred aspect, one or more (several) of the subtilisin-like serine protease gene, the aspartic protease gene, and the serine protease gene are inactivated [para 58]. The mutants of Trichoderma strains may contain additional modifications, e.g., deletions or disruptions, of other genes, which may encode substances detrimental to the production, recovery, or application of a polypeptide of interest [para 106]. Thus teaching claims 4-5 and 7.
The Trichoderma mutant strains are cultivated in a nutrient medium for production of the polypeptide of interest using methods known in the art. The cultivation takes place in a suitable nutrient medium comprising carbon and nitrogen sources and inorganic salts, using procedures known in the art. Suitable media are available from commercial suppliers or may be prepared according to published compositions [para 111]. Thus teaching the inorganic salts as stabilizers just as recited by claims 8-9.
The secreted polypeptide can be recovered directly from the medium. If the polypeptide is not secreted, it may be obtained from cell lysates [para 111]. Thus teaching the protein preparation as recited by instant claims 10-11.
Therefore, Jang et al., teach a protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated; however Jang et al., does not specifically recite the nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13.
Koike et al., teach Trichoderma reesei is a key fungus for industrial production [abstract]. Koike et al., a wide variety of filamentous fungi, including T. reesei, are used as production hosts for a multitude of proteins. Strains of T. reesei are reported to produce a complex mix of cellulolytic enzymes in excess of 100 g/L. The amount of the secreted enzymes is significant as it is not only elevated for cellulase production, but also more generally for protein secretion [Introduction]. Knowledge of the genetic factors responsible for the cellulase hyper-producing phenotype is important for improving biomass saccharification as well as for enhancing the expression of heterologous proteins. Genome-wide analysis of the mutations lays a genetic foundation that may be translated into more economical production of enzymes needed for renewable bioenergy applications [Introduction]. The amount of cellulolytic enzymes produced by T. reesei is significantly high, not only for cellulase production in fungi but also for protein production by microorganisms in general. Much research has been conducted to reveal the biology that underlies its high protein production and secretion mechanisms. Studies involving functional genomic analysis of T. reesei have continued to increase [Conclusion].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of applicants’ invention to apply Koike et al’s T reesei strain and sequence for Jang et al’s protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene in order to provide a host cell known to protease deficient and able to produce and secrete enzymes. Jang et al., already teach a protease deficient T reesei host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success by incorporating the T reesei host cell where several genes are modified rendering the mutant strain deficient in the production of one or more (several) enzymes selected from the group consisting of a first subtilisin-like serine protease, a first aspartic protease, a trypsin-like serine protease, a second subtilisin-like serine protease, and a second aspartic protease.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, thus the combination is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that "The combination of familiar element according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results". It is well known to take a
protease deficient T reesei host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated, where there is no change in the respective function of the host cell or the expression mechanics, thus the combination would have yielded a reasonable expectation of success along with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods that is ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Sequence Alignment with SEQ ID NO:13
A0A024S366_HYPJR
ID A0A024S366_HYPJR Unreviewed; 825 AA.
AC A0A024S366;
DT 09-JUL-2014, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 09-JUL-2014, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 25.
DE RecName: Full=Clr5 domain-containing protein {ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF14420};
GN ORFNames=M419DRAFT_85889 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:ETR99517.1};
OS Hypocrea jecorina (strain ATCC 56765 / BCRC 32924 / NRRL 11460 / Rut C-30)
OS (Trichoderma reesei).
OC Eukaryota; Fungi; Dikarya; Ascomycota; Pezizomycotina; Sordariomycetes;
OC Hypocreomycetidae; Hypocreales; Hypocreaceae; Trichoderma.
OX NCBI_TaxID=1344414 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:ETR99517.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000024376};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000024376}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=ATCC 56765 / BCRC 32924 / NRRL 11460 / Rut C-30
RC {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000024376};
RX DOI=10.1089/ind.2013.0015;
RA Koike H., Aerts A., LaButti K., Grigoriev I.V., Baker S.E.;
RT "Comparative genomics analysis of Trichoderma reesei strains.";
RL Ind. Biotechnol. 9:352-367(2013).
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; KI911156; ETR99517.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; A0A024S366; -.
DR KEGG; trr:M419DRAFT_85889; -.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_008755_0_0_1; -.
DR OrthoDB; 194358at2759; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000024376; Unassembled WGS sequence.
DR InterPro; IPR025676; Clr5_dom.
DR PANTHER; PTHR38788; CLR5 DOMAIN-CONTAINING PROTEIN; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR38788:SF3; CLR5 DOMAIN-CONTAINING PROTEIN; 1.
DR Pfam; PF14420; Clr5; 1.
PE 4: Predicted;
FT DOMAIN 367..419
FT /note="Clr5"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF14420"
FT REGION 302..367
FT /note="Disordered"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 302..311
FT /note="Low complexity"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
FT COMPBIAS 325..335
FT /note="Polar residues"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:MobiDB-lite"
SQ SEQUENCE 825 AA; 92235 MW; CE24243B7AA2A6B5 CRC64;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 695; Length 825;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 132; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RPSREQVPAEAWEQYKSTIRTLYLEERKPLKEVMSVMAEQYGFQATPKMYKTRFSQWGFV 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 359 RPSREQVPAEAWEQYKSTIRTLYLEERKPLKEVMSVMAEQYGFQATPKMYKTRFSQWGFV 418
Qy 61 KNNTEEEVKRLLSMKFQRDAEGKVSEFVRNGRVVNLGTYLKRKGVTEYDLVDFELPADLP 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 419 KNNTEEEVKRLLSMKFQRDAEGKVSEFVRNGRVVNLGTYLKRKGVTEYDLVDFELPADLP 478
Qy 121 AHIRCRTPTPPP 132
||||||||||||
Db 479 AHIRCRTPTPPP 490
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., in view of Koike et al., is maintained for reasons of record.
Applicants argue that Jang et al., does not teach or such reducing the production levels of more than one endogenous protease by inactivation of a single gene, such as a global protease regulator. However, Applicants attention is directed to the instant claims. The instant claims do not recite inactivation of a single gene such as a global protease regulator. Instead, the instant claims recite …a protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies i.e., a single gene such as a global protease regulator are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the argument is not persaussive.
Applicants urge that Koike et al., do not anything specific about protease regulators. In response to applicant's arguments against the Koike et al., reference individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Jang et al., teach a protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, and/or serine proteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, and/or serine proteases, of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated; however Jang et al., does not specifically recite the nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success by incorporating the T reesei host cell where several genes are modified rendering the mutant strain deficient in the production of one or more (several) enzymes selected from the group consisting of a first subtilisin-like serine protease, a first aspartic protease, a trypsin-like serine protease, a second subtilisin-like serine protease, and a second aspartic protease.
Applicants argue that the Examiner must identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the art in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the now claimed invention does. In this case, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of applicants’ invention to apply Koike et al’s T reesei strain and sequence for Jang et al’s protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene in order to provide a host cell known to protease deficient and able to produce and secrete enzymes, just as Koike et al., described. Moreover, it is well known to take a protease deficient T reesei host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated, where there is no change in the respective function of the host cell or the expression mechanics, thus the combination would have yielded a reasonable expectation of success along with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Finally, Applicants assert that the prior art references do not teach the pea1 gene or its role as a protease regulator. Jang et al., taught the enzyme-deficient Trichoderma mutant strain may be constructed by reducing or eliminating expression of one or more (several) genes while Koike et al., teach the naturally occurring wild type SEQ ID NO:13 which is the full-length Pea1 protein. Koike et al., teach genome-wide analysis of the mutations regarding the more economical production of enzymes. In response to applicant's argument, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore, Applicants arguments are not found persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No.10,883,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated.
The patented clams are drawn to a host cell comprising at least one inactivated chromosomal gene wherein the at least one inactivated chromosomal gene comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13; the at least one inactivated chromosomal gene is inactivated by disruption, inhibition of translation or transcription of the chromosomal gene, at least partial deletion, truncation, deletion, insertion, mutation, or silencing, by RNAi, or by CRISPR/Cas9 technology;
and the host cell has reduced protease activity compared to the host cell without said
inactivation.
Therefore, both sets of claims recite the same protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13 having reduced protease activity compared to the host cell without said inactivation. Accordingly, the instant claims and patented claims are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants requested the rejection be held in abeyance until the status of the claimed subject matter is finally resolved. Therefore, the rejection will be maintained.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1, 6 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No.12,031,168. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a protein preparation comprising secreted recombinant protein and a protein preparation comprising the protease deficient host cell comprising at least one inactivation in a chromosomal gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the protease deficient host cell has a lower expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases, compared to the expression level of aspartic proteases, serine proteases, glutamic proteases, and metalloproteases of a corresponding host cell in which the chromosomal gene is not inactivated.
Both sets of claims recite protein preparations comprising additional reagents. Both sets of claims recite a protein preparation comprising spent culture broth from production of a heterologous recombinant protein of interest in a host cell having at least one inactivated chromosomal gene wherein: the at least one inactivated chromosomal gene comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13; the at least one inactivated chromosomal gene is inactivated by disruption; and the host cell has reduced protease activity on the heterologous recombinant protein of interest in the host cell compared to protease activity on the heterologous recombinant protein of interest in the host cell without said inactivation, and wherein the spent culture broth has a reduced amount of endogenous proteases compared to a corresponding spent culture broth produced in a host cell with an intact nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity with the amino acids 402-533 of SEQ ID NO: 13; and wherein the heterologous recombinant protein of interest has an increased stability in the spent culture broth compared to a protein preparation produced in the same host cell without said inactivation.
Therefore, the instant claims and patented claims are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants requested the rejection be held in abeyance until the status of the claimed subject matter is finally resolved. Therefore, the rejection will be maintained.
Pertinent Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
In cell culture, inorganic salts and stabilizers are essential for maintaining the physiological environment that supports cell survival, growth, and function.
Inorganic Salts
See: Koike H., Aerts A., LaButti K., Grigoriev I.V., Baker S.E.; "Comparative genomics analysis of Trichoderma reesei strains."; Ind. Biotechnol. 9:352-367(2013). Teaching 100% sequence match
See also US Patents 5,000,939; 4,120,950. WO2015187697 and WO 2016132021. CA 2994320.
Conclusion
12. No claims allowed.
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANA A HINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645