DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 27, 2026. Claims 16, 25 and 30 have been amended, claim 27 has been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 16 – 26 and 28 – 30 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16 – 30 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 21, 23 – 26 and 28 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0355044 A1 to Cardinal et al. (herein after “Cardinal et al. publication") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0033066 A1 to Beckerman et al. (herein after “Beckerman et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claims 16, 29 and 30,
the Cardinal et al. publication discloses a method for detecting an imbalance in a rotor of a wind turbine, the method comprising:
from one or more sensors, receiving one or more movement signals indicative of oscillations of the wind turbine (see ¶8 for “measuring, by at least one sensor, a vibration signal during operation of the rotary machine”; ¶11 where “the at least one sensor may include any suitable sensor known in the art, such as for example, a proximity sensor, an accelerometer, a strain gauge, a speed encoder, a Miniature Inertial Measurement Unit (MIMU), a vibration sensor, or similar”; ¶15 for “measuring, by at least one sensor, a vibration signal during operation of the wind turbine”; see also ¶35, where “the one or more sensors may include blade sensors 48 for monitoring the rotor blades 22 (deflections, tip speed ratio, etc.) . . . shaft sensors 54 for measuring the loads acting on the rotor shaft 34 and/or the rotational speed of the rotor shaft 34. Additionally, the wind turbine 10 may include one or more tower sensors 56 for measuring the loads transmitted through the tower 12 and/or the acceleration of the tower 12”);
determining an energy level of the one or more movement signals at a rotational speed frequency of the rotor (see ¶28, where “at least one sensor measures a vibration signal within the rotor during operation of the wind turbine, which typically operates in a high noise and direct current (DC) component environment. Next, the system modulates the noisy data signal at a desired frequency to generate a modulated signal so as to convert the vibration signal to a direct current (DC) value. As such, the modulated signal can then be easily filtered via a low pass filter. After filtering, the amplitude of the filtered signal can be easily extracted and compared to a threshold amplitude for the rotor of the wind turbine”;
comparing the energy level of the one or more movement signals at the rotational speed frequency of the rotor to an energy threshold (see ¶28, where “[after] filtering, the amplitude of the filtered signal can be easily extracted and compared to a threshold amplitude for the rotor of the wind turbine” and ¶44, where “the processor 58 compares the amplitude 96 of the output signal to a threshold amplitude for one or more components of the wind turbine 10. The threshold amplitude is indicative of an imbalance within one or more components of the wind turbine 10”);
determining that an imbalance exists in the rotor when the energy level of the one or more movement signals at the rotational speed frequency of the rotor is above the energy threshold (see ¶44 – ¶45).
The Cardinal et al. publication, however, does not specifically disclose
generating a flag signal or making an operational change in response to determining that the imbalance exists in the rotor, wherein the operational change is one or more of the following: reducing power output, reducing rotor rotational speed, modifying a pitch angle of one or more blades of the wind turbine, or stopping operation of the wind turbine.
Generating a flag signal in response to determining that the imbalance exists in the rotor is old and well-known, as demonstrated by the Beckerman et al. publication who discloses an “asset data platform 102 . . . configured to execute an example ‘alerting’ phase to detect rotor imbalance in wind turbines that generally involves (i) at block 902, receiving vibration data from a given wind turbine from a reference time, (ii) at block 904, optionally filtering the given wind turbine's vibration data to exclude vibration data corresponding to abnormal-turbine operation, (iii) at block 906, transforming one or more time segments of vibration data into a frequency domain representation, (iv) at block 908, for each of the one or more time segments, deriving a set of ‘harmonic mode’ values from the frequency domain representation of the vibration data, (v) at block 910, optionally performing a temporal ‘roll-up’ operation on the one or more sets of “harmonic mode” values, (vi) at block 912, executing a model for detecting rotor imbalance based on the one or more sets of ‘harmonic mode’ values for the given wind turbine, and (vii) at block 914, generating an output (e.g., an alert or other notification) indicating a rotor imbalance based on the output of executed model. Each of these functions will now be discussed in further detail.” (See ¶190.)(Emphasis added.)
Such disclosure suggests generating a flag signal . . . in response to determining that the imbalance exists in the rotor, wherein the operational change is one or more of the following: reducing power output, reducing rotor rotational speed, modifying a pitch angle of one or more blades of the wind turbine, or stopping operation of the wind turbine.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify the Cardinal et al. publication to generate a flag signal . . . in response to determining that the imbalance exists in the rotor, wherein the operational change is one or more of the following: reducing power output, reducing rotor rotational speed, modifying a pitch angle of one or more blades of the wind turbine, or stopping operation of the wind turbine, as suggested by the Beckerman et al. publication, in order to monitor wind turbine attributes and/or detect abnormalities of the wind turbine.
As to claim 21,
the Cardinal et al. publication is considered to disclose filtering the one or more movement signals to determine the energy level of the one or more movement signals at the rotational speed frequency of the rotor. (See ¶28 and ¶44 – ¶45.)
As to claim 23,
the Cardinal et al. publication discloses the filtering comprises using a bandpass filter. (See ¶40, where “the vibration signal 75 may be initially filtered via at least one of a band-pass filter”.)
As to claim 24,
the modified Cardinal et al. publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
the one or more movement signals corresponding to movement of the wind turbine in a fore-aft direction or a side- to-side direction.
According to at least ¶10 of the Beckerman et al. publication, “in one possible implementation of the ‘training’ phase of the process for detecting rotor imbalance disclosed herein, a data analytics platform may be configured to analyze respective sets of historical time-series vibration data for a plurality of wind turbines and use that as a basis to derive a model for detecting rotor imbalance. For instance, the data analytics platform may receive respective sets of historical time-series vibration data captured by multi-dimensional sensors at a plurality of wind turbines, where each wind turbine's historical time-series vibration data may be indicative of vibrations at the wind turbine in multiple different dimensions (e.g., side-to-side vibrations corresponding to an x-dimension and fore-to-aft vibrations corresponding to a y-dimension).” (Emphasis added.)
Such disclosure suggests the one or more movement signals corresponding to movement of the wind turbine in a fore-aft direction or a side- to-side direction.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further modify the Cardinal et al. publication so that the one or more movement signals correspond to movement of the wind turbine in a fore-aft direction or a side- to-side direction, as suggested by the Beckerman et al. publication, in order to monitor wind turbine attributes and/or detect abnormalities of the wind turbine.
As to claim 25,
the Cardinal et al. publication, as modified by the Beckerman et al. publication, is considered to disclose determining the energy level of the one or more movement signals at the rotational speed frequency or the rotor in the fore-aft direction and in the side-to-side direction, and determining that an aerodynamic imbalance or a mass imbalance of the rotor exists based on the energy level of the one or more signals at the rotational speed frequency of the rotor in the fore-aft direction and in the side-to-side direction.
As to claim 26,
the Cardinal et al. publication discloses that “the term ‘operational parameter’ as . . . [refers] to any suitable operating condition and/or parameter that relates to operation of the wind turbine 10 so as to provide information regarding the current or real-time operational state of the wind turbine.” (See ¶34.)(Emphasis added.) Thus, the Cardinal et al. publication is considered to disclose the method being carried out in real-time during normal operation of the wind turbine.
As to claim 28,
the Cardinal et al. publication discloses the one or movement signals being obtained from one or more accelerometers. (See ¶11, where “the at least one sensor may include any suitable sensor known in the art, such as for example, a proximity sensor, an accelerometer, a strain gauge, a speed encoder, a Miniature Inertial Measurement Unit (MIMU), a vibration sensor, or similar”; see also ¶36, where “the sensors as described herein may be any suitable sensors known in the art. For example, the sensors may include a proximity sensor, a pressure sensor, an accelerometer, a strain gauge, a speed encoder, a Miniature Inertial Measurement Unit (MIMU), a vibration sensor, a Miniature Inertial Measurement Unit (MIMU), and/or any other suitable sensors”.)(Emphasis added.)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Cardinal et al. publication in view of the Beckerman et al. publication, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0335829 A1 to Pedersen et al. (herein after “Pedersen et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claim 22,
the modified Cardinal et al. publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
the filtering comprises using a notch filter.
Notch filters are commonly used in a wind turbine to remove specific, unwanted frequency components—such as mechanical resonances, blade-passing frequencies, and electrical ripples—without disrupting the rest of the system. For example, ¶42 of the Pedersen et al. publication where “a filter algorithm may be applied to the operating sensor signal, i.e. the measured operating parameter, for extracting a first wind turbine blade passing signal. The filter algorithm may in example, but not limited to, be a notch filter”. (Emphasis added.)
Such disclosure suggests the filtering comprises using a notch filter.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further modify and/or provide the Cardinal et al. publication with a notch filter, as suggested by the Pedersen et al. publication, in order to remove specific, unwanted frequency components without disrupting the rest of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note: The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Electronic Communications
Prior to initiating the first e-mail correspondence with any examiner, Applicant is responsible for filing a written statement with the USPTO in accordance with MPEP § 502.03 II. All received e-mail messages including e-mail attachments shall be placed into this application' s record.
/RODNEY A BUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666