DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano et al. (US 20240287370 A1), hereinafter referred to as KATANO.
Regarding claim 1, KATANO teaches a cryogenic inorganic phase change material (paragraph [0015]: cold storage material composition allowing for temperature maintenance of a temperature control target article at a constant temperature for an extended period of time in various control temperature ranges in a range of −75.0° C. to − 66.0° C), comprising parts by mass of raw materials in the following:
35-45 parts of a main material (paragraphs [0036]: the present cold storage material composition may contain, relative to 100 mol of water, 8.1 mol to 12.5 mol of lithium ions; and [0039]: examples of the original form(s) of the lithium ions include lithium salts such as lithium bromide), 2-5 parts of a temperature regulating material (paragraphs [0042]: the cold storage material composition may contain, relative to 100 mol of water, not less than 0.3 mol and less than 5.5 mol of chloride ions; and [0045]: examples of the original form(s) of the chloride ions include chloride salts such as sodium chloride), 0.5-2 parts of an inorganic nucleating agent (paragraphs [0047]: sodium bromide as the crystal nucleating agent; and [0049]: the amount of the crystal nucleating agent contained in the cold storage material composition may be, for example, 0.1 mol to 10.0 mol relative to 100 mol of water), and 55-60 parts of a solvent; KATANO teaches a composition comprising 39 wt% to 60 wt% of lithium bromide/main material, 0.9 wt% to 18 wt% of sodium chloride/the temperature regulating material and 0.6 wt% to 57 wt% of sodium bromide/nucleating agent and less than 59.5 wt% of water/solvent. KATANO teaches ranges which overlap and render obvious the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim. See MPEP §2144.05(I);
wherein the main material is lithium bromide (paragraph [0039]: examples of the original form(s) of the lithium ions include lithium salts such as lithium bromide; and Table 1, Ex. 1-3);
wherein the temperature regulating material is one or more of ammonium chloride, magnesium chloride, calcium chloride, or sodium bromide (paragraphs [0041]: cold storage material composition that further contains chloride ions has an advantage such that the melting temperature is further reduced; and [0045]: examples of the original form(s) of the chloride ions include chloride salts such as sodium chloride).
Regarding claim 10, KATANO teaches a preparation method for the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
S1: weighing the main material, temperature regulating material, inorganic nucleating agent, and solvent according to a formula amount;
S2: stirring and mixing the main material, temperature regulating material, and solvent evenly;
S3: adding the inorganic nucleating agent, continuing to stirring and dispersing evenly to obtain the cryogenic inorganic phase change material (paragraph [0084]: the cold storage material composition can be prepared by a method involving the following (II-1) to (II-3): the method involving: (II-1) preparing an aqueous solution of a lithium salt and an aqueous solution of a bromide salt (or an aqueous solution of lithium bromide), and, if necessary, an aqueous solution of a chloride salt, an aqueous solution of a supercooling inhibitor, and an aqueous solution of a crystal nucleating agent; (II-2) mixing the aqueous solution of the crystal nucleating agent and a thickener to prepare the aqueous solution of the crystal nucleating agent in which aqueous solution the thickener is dispersed; and (II-3) mixing the aqueous solution of the lithium salt and the aqueous solution of the bromide salt (or the aqueous solution of the lithium bromide), and, if necessary, the aqueous solution of the chloride salt, the aqueous solution of the supercooling inhibitor, and the aqueous solution of the crystal nucleating agent).
Regarding claim 11, KATANO teaches an application of the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1, wherein the cryogenic inorganic phase change material is configured to be applied in an ultra-low temperature control scenario, and an ultra-low temperature control range is -72 to -70 °C (paragraph [0015]: cold storage material composition allowing for temperature maintenance of a temperature control target article at a constant temperature for an extended period of time in various control temperature ranges in a range of −75.0° C. to − 66.0° C). KATANO teaches a temperature range which overlaps and renders obvious the claimed range.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KATANO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horwarth et al. (US 20240417613 A1), hereinafter referred to as HORWARTH.
Regarding claim 9, KATANO teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1. While KATANO discloses that the water in the disclosed cold storage material composition is not particularly limited and may be, for example, water usable as drinking water, such as tap water; more specifically, the water may be any of soft water, hard water, pure water, and the like (see KATANO at paragraph [0060]), KATANO is silent with respect to the water being deionized water.
However, HOWARTH, similarly to KATANO, discloses a phase change material composition comprised of 40% to 55% by weight inorganic bromide salt; 50% to 60% by weight demineralized water; and 0.5% to 2% by weight nucleating agent; the composition has a melting point of about −65° C. to about −75° C (see HOWARTH at Abstract). HOWARTH also discloses that the composition includes less than 5% of other inorganic salts (see HOWARTH at paragraph [0017]). Furthermore, HOWARTH teaches the use of deionized water (see HOWARTH at paragraph [0028]).
Both HOWARTH and KATANO disclose compositions for use as phase change materials (PCMs) for ultra-low temperature applications comprising inorganic salts (see HOWARTH at Abstract: about −65° C. to about −75° C; and KATANO at Abstract: −75.0° C. to −66.0° C). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have anticipated success when using deionized water disclosed by HOWARTH as a solvent for cold storage material composition of KATANO based on the teachings of KATANO describing that the water in the disclosed cold storage material composition is not particularly limited and may be, for example, water usable as drinking water, such as tap water; more specifically, the water may be any of soft water, hard water, pure water, and the like (see KATANO at paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of KATANO by utilizing deionized water as a solvent disclosed by HOWARTH since KATANO explicitly suggests the use of purified water, and thus, the results of substitution with deionized water would be reasonably predictable.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 106753256 A) with reference to the provided machine translation, hereinafter referred to as SUN, in view of Narahara et al. (US 20200399516 A1), hereinafter referred to as NARAHARA, and Geoff et al. (GB 2600445 A), hereinafter referred to as GEOFF.
Regarding claim 1, SUN teaches organic, inorganic or mixed solutions as the main phase change material, and then the corresponding thickening agent and nucleating agent are added as
auxiliary materials that can be effectively applied to the cold chain logistics field (see SUN at paragraphs [7-8]). SUN also teaches the phase change material of the invention comprises the following weight percentage raw materials: 80 to 98 percent of phase change material; 1 to 10 percent of nucleating agent and 1 to 10 percent of thickener; wherein the phase change material is an aqueous solution of inorganic salt (see SUN at paragraphs [10] and [15]). But SUN is silent with respect to the composition comprising 35-45 parts of a main material, 2-5 parts of a temperature regulating material, 0.5-2 parts of an inorganic nucleating agent, and 55-60 parts of a solvent; wherein the main material is lithium bromide; the temperature regulating material is one or more of ammonium chloride, magnesium chloride, calcium chloride, or sodium bromide.
However, NARAHARA discloses a cold storage material composition allowing for temperature maintenance of a temperature control target article in various control temperature ranges in a range of −75° C. to −55° C. and being capable of solidifying within a given period of time (see NARAHARA at Abstract). NARAHARA teaches that a cold storage material composition may include 0.1 mol to 28.0 mol of chloride ions, 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide ions, relative to 100 mol of water (see NARAHARA at paragraph [0026]). NARAHARA also teaches that examples of the original form(s) of the chloride ions include chloride salts such as sodium chloride, calcium chloride, ammonium chloride, magnesium chloride (see NARAHARA at paragraph [0058]); examples of the original form(s) of the bromide ions include bromide salts such as sodium bromide, lithium bromide, these bromide salts can be used individually or in combination (see NARAHARA at paragraph [0059]). Thus, NARAHARA teaches a composition that may include >0.5 wt% of lithium bromide, >0.6 wt% of calcium chloride, >0.3 wt% of sodium chloride, >0.3 wt% of ammonium chloride and >0.6 wt% of sodium bromide.
While NARAHARA teaches a composition comprising 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide (lithium bromide) relative to 100 mol of water (0.5-96 wt%), NARAHARA fails to disclose that lithium bromide is used as main material. However, the advantages of using lithium bromide as a main material is known in the art as evidenced from the disclosure of GEOFF describing a phase change material composition comprising an aqueous solution of lithium bromide (LiBr); LiBr may be <55 wt% and the water >45 wt%; the PCM may comprise a nucleating agent; and preferably the composition freezes at more than -86°C and melts at less than -40°C, making it useful as an aqueous salt-based eutectic PCM solution useable in ultra-low temperature thermal storage applications (see GEOFF at Abstract).
SUN and NARAHARA disclose cold storage material compositions allowing for temperature maintenance of a temperature control target article in low temperature ranges. According to MPEP § 2144.06(I), "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of SUN by including the aqueous solution comprising chloride ions, bromide ions, and ammonium ions, e.i., comprising sodium chloride, calcium chloride, ammonium chloride, magnesium chloride, sodium bromide, lithium bromide, as disclosed by NARAHARA based on teachings of NARAHARA describing a cold storage material composition allowing for temperature maintenance of a temperature control target article in various control temperature ranges in a range of −75° C. to −55° C. (see NARAHARA at Abstract). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further adjust the composition of SUN as modified by NARAHARA by selecting lithium bromide as a main material as disclosed by GEOFF since GEOFF explicitly teaches a phase change material composition comprising an aqueous solution of lithium bromide (LiBr) useable in ultra-low temperature thermal storage applications (see GEOFF at Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1, comprising parts by mass of raw materials in the following: 35-40 parts of the main material, 2-4 parts of the temperature regulating material, 1-2 parts of the inorganic nucleating agent, and 56-60 parts of the solvent (see rejection of claim 1 above and SUN at paragraphs [10] and [15]: 1 to 10 percent of nucleating agent and 1 to 10 percent of thickener; wherein the phase change material is an aqueous solution of inorganic salt; see NARAHARA at paragraph [0026]: a cold storage material composition may include 0.1 mol to 28.0 mol of chloride ions, 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide ions, relative to 100 mol of water; and see GEOFF at Abstract: an aqueous solution of lithium bromide (LiBr); LiBr may be <55 wt% and the water >45 wt%). Thus, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches ranges which overlap and render obvious the claimed ranges. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 2, comprising parts by mass of raw materials in the following: 38 parts of the main material, 2 parts of the temperature regulating material, 1 part of the inorganic nucleating agent, and 59 parts of the solvent (see rejection of claim 1 above and SUN at paragraphs [10] and [15]: 1 to 10 percent of nucleating agent and 1 to 10 percent of thickener; wherein the phase change material is an aqueous solution of inorganic salt; see NARAHARA at paragraph [0026]: a cold storage material composition may include 0.1 mol to 28.0 mol of chloride ions, 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide ions, relative to 100 mol of water; and see GEOFF at Abstract: an aqueous solution of lithium bromide (LiBr); LiBr may be <55 wt% and the water >45 wt%). Thus, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches ranges which overlap and render obvious the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 4, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 2, comprising parts by mass of raw materials in the following: 36 parts of the main material, 4 parts of the temperature regulating material, 1 part of the inorganic nucleating agent, and 59 parts of the solvent (see rejection of claim 1 above and SUN at paragraphs [10] and [15]: 1 to 10 percent of nucleating agent and 1 to 10 percent of thickener; wherein the phase change material is an aqueous solution of inorganic salt; see NARAHARA at paragraph [0026]: a cold storage material composition may include 0.1 mol to 28.0 mol of chloride ions, 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide ions, relative to 100 mol of water; and see GEOFF at Abstract: an aqueous solution of lithium bromide (LiBr); LiBr may be <55 wt% and the water >45 wt%). Thus, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches ranges which overlap and render obvious the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 5, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1, wherein the temperature regulating material is a mixture of ammonium chloride and sodium bromide (see rejection of claim 1 above and NARAHARA at paragraphs [0058-59]: the original form(s) of the chloride ions include chloride salts such as ammonium chloride; examples of the original form(s) of the bromide ions include bromide salts such as sodium bromide).
Regarding claim 6, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 5, wherein a mass ratio of the ammonium chloride to sodium bromide is 1:1 (see rejection of claim 1 above and NARAHARA at paragraphs [0026]: a cold storage material composition may include 0.1 mol to 28.0 mol of chloride ions, 0.1 mol to 20.0 mol of bromide ions, relative to 100 mol of water; and [0058-59]: the original form(s) of the chloride ions include chloride salts such ammonium chloride; examples of the original form(s) of the bromide ions include bromide salts such as sodium bromide).
Regarding claim 7, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic nucleating agent is at least one of sodium tetraborate and nano-silica (see SUN at paragraph [16]: the nucleating agent is one or more of nano-silica … borax).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of NARAHARA and GEOFF as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kaneff et al. (WO 9404630 A1), hereinafter referred to as KANEFF.
Regarding claim 8, SUN as modified by NARAHARA and GEOFF teaches the cryogenic inorganic phase change material according to claim 8. While SUN discloses that the nucleating agent is one or more (reads on the limitation “wherein the inorganic nucleating agent is a mixture of the sodium tetraborate and the nano-silica”) of nano-silica, … borax (see SUN at paragraph [16]), SUN is silent with respect to the a mass ratio of the sodium tetraborate to the nano-silica being 1:1.
However, the use of a mixture of borax and silica is known in the art as evidenced from the disclosure of KANEFF describing a phase change material which has a formulation comprising a mixture of sodium sulphate decahydrate, borax (sodium tetraborate decahydrate), fumed silica, ammonium chloride, potassium chloride, calcium sulphate, and water (see KANEFF at Abstract). KANEFF also discloses the composition comprising from 0.1 to 5.0 units by weight of borax and from 0.1 to 5.0 units of silica (see KANEFF at lines 5-10, p. 9).
MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)). SUN and KANEFF disclose phase change material comprising borax and silica. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected amounts from within the range taught by KANEFF because there is a reasonable expectation of success that adjusting the amount of borax and nano-silica in the composition of SUN to be within the claimed mass ratio of 1:1, as disclosed by KANEFF would be suitable.
Conclusion
/ANASTASIA A. KUVAYSKAYA/Examiner, Art Unit 1731