CTNF 18/672,133 CTNF 88904 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The instant application No. 18672133 has claims 1-17 are pending. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 8, 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0156516 A1; hereinafter Chu) in view of Wentink (Pub. No. US 2015/0245243 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses an information indication method for a peer-to-peer link, comprising: generating, by a first device, a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element, (See ¶0045, the SCS Response frame may not include an update of the requested traffic characteristics in a Quality of Service (QoS) Characteristics element of the SCS Response frame) wherein the QoS characteristics element comprises a control information field (S 20230156516-See ¶0063-0064, see ¶0046, By indicating the requested traffic characteristics and/or the accepted traffic characteristics in the QoS Characteristics elements of the SCS Request frame and the SCS Response frame,) and first indication information, (See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) the control information field comprises a direction subfield, (See ¶0063-0064, he Control Info 608 includes six subfields the Presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested; he link bitmap is used to indicate links being used for negotiated down-link (DL) traffic and/or up-link (UL) traffic.) the direction subfield is set to a first value indicating that a data direction described by the QoS characteristics element is a peer-to-peer (P2P link), (See ¶0063-0064, presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested) and the first indication information indicates a physical layer rate of the P2P link; (See ¶0063, Minimum Data Rate 614 (3 octets); See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) and sending, by the first device, the QoS characteristics element to a second device. (See ¶0063-0064, see ¶0046, By indicating the requested traffic characteristics and/or the accepted traffic characteristics in the QoS Characteristics elements of the SCS Request frame and the SCS Response frame,) However, Chu fails to disclose the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device, Wentink disclose the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device, (2015/0245243 a1-See ¶0044, A STA 110 may transmit a control frame including a PHY header and an MPDU, for example, to another STA 110; See ¶043, Two or more STAs 110 may communicate via a direct wireless communication link 120 when both STAs 110 are in the AP coverage area 125, when one STA 110 is within the AP coverage area 125, or when neither of the STAs 110 is within the AP coverage area 125; direct wireless communication links 120 may include Wi-Fi Direct connections, connections established by using a Wi-Fi Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) link, and other P2P group connections; inherent that mpdu comprises of msdu) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify generating a QoS element to transmit to include the a MPDU can be transmitted on P2P link. The motivation to combine is STA 110 may reduce the overhead of a control frame indicating a response policy for initiating the establishment of a communication link with another device, such as another STA 110 (See ¶0044). Regarding claims 2 and 10, Chu discloses the first indication information comprises: a physical layer rate, a modulation and coding scheme, and/or a number of spatial streams. (See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval; interpreted the bandwidth is a physical layer rate; See ¶0047, When the SCS Request frame with QoS Characteristics elements of a non-AP MLD is accepted by an associated AP MLD, the AP MLD will allocate enough resources (e.g., allocate enough medium time with an appropriate Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS), number of spatial streams (Nss), and/or bandwidth) to satisfy a frame transmission requirement of the non-AP MLD.) Regarding claims 3 and 11, Chu discloses the QoS characteristics element further comprises second indication information indicating that at least one of multiple links is used as the P2P link described by the QoS characteristics element; (See ¶0051, the SCS Request frame includes a QoS Characteristics element that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested (e.g., P2P link 208 (FIG. 2)), a medium time of the P2P traffic, and a bandwidth of the links where the P2P traffic is requested.) when the second indication information indicates that n links in the multiple links are used as P2P links described by the QoS characteristics element, (See ¶0051, the SCS Request frame includes a QoS Characteristics element that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested (e.g., P2P link 208 (FIG. 2)), a medium time of the P2P traffic, and a bandwidth of the links where the P2P traffic is requested.) the QoS characteristics element comprises n pieces of first indication information and n bandwidth fields, (See ¶0051, the SCS Request frame includes a QoS Characteristics element that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested (e.g., P2P link 208 (FIG. 2)), a medium time of the P2P traffic, and a bandwidth of the links where the P2P traffic is requested.) and n is a positive integer; and one piece of first indication information indicates a physical layer rate of one of the n links, (See ¶0063, The QoS Characteristics element may represent the Minimum Data Rate 614 (3 octets); Link ID (LinkID) 608-5 (3 bits)) and one bandwidth field indicates a maximum bandwidth for transmission on one of the n links. (See ¶0051, the SCS Request frame includes a QoS Characteristics element that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested (e.g., P2P link 208 (FIG. 2)), a medium time of the P2P traffic, and a bandwidth of the links where the P2P traffic is requested.) Regarding claims 4 and 12, Chu discloses the second indication information is a bitmap, and one bit of the second indication information corresponds to one link; (See ¶0064, the link bitmap is used to indicate links being used for negotiated down-link (DL) traffic and/or up-link (UL) traffic) and when one bit of the second indication information is set to a second value indicating that a link corresponding to the bit is used as the P2P link described by the QoS characteristics element. (See ¶0064, the link bitmap is used to indicate links being used for negotiated down-link (DL) traffic and/or up-link (UL) traffic. In some embodiments, the Medium Time 632 indicates a medium time of the P2P traffic. For example, the medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval.) Regarding claims 5 and 13, Chu discloses the QoS characteristics element further comprises third indication information indicating a mean service interval allocated to the first device for frame exchange on the P2P link. (See ¶0061, The updated parameters may be a link bitmap of a P2P link where the AP MLD may have accepted (only) some of the requested links; See ¶0063, QoS Characteristics element 600 includes , Minimum Service Interval 610 (4 octets), Maximum Service Interval 612 (4 octets)) Regarding claims 6 and 14, Chu discloses the QoS characteristics element further comprises fifth indication information indicating a P2P link to which a traffic flow described by the QoS characteristics element is mapped. (See ¶0046 negotiation of the SCS for the multiple links includes exchanging an SCS Request frame and an SCS Response frame which include QoS Characteristics elements that indicate requested traffic characteristics and/or accepted traffic characteristics.) Regarding claim 8, Chu discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, (See ¶0041, e at least one controller may be implemented within a processor) configured to generating, by a first device, a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element, (See ¶0045, the SCS Response frame may not include an update of the requested traffic characteristics in a Quality of Service (QoS) Characteristics element of the SCS Response frame) wherein the QoS characteristics element comprises a control information field (S 20230156516-See ¶0063-0064, see ¶0046, By indicating the requested traffic characteristics and/or the accepted traffic characteristics in the QoS Characteristics elements of the SCS Request frame and the SCS Response frame,) and first indication information, (See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) the control information field comprises a direction subfield, (See ¶0063-0064, he Control Info 608 includes six subfields the Presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested; he link bitmap is used to indicate links being used for negotiated down-link (DL) traffic and/or up-link (UL) traffic.) the direction subfield is set to a first value indicating that a data direction described by the QoS characteristics element is a peer-to-peer (P2P link), (See ¶0063-0064, presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested and the first indication information indicates a physical layer rate of the P2P link; (See ¶0063, Minimum Data Rate 614 (3 octets); See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) and sending, by the first device, the QoS characteristics element to a second device. (See ¶0063-0064, see ¶0046, By indicating the requested traffic characteristics and/or the accepted traffic characteristics in the QoS Characteristics elements of the SCS Request frame and the SCS Response frame,) However, Chu fails to disclose the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device, Wentink disclose the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device, (2015/0245243 a1-See ¶0044, A STA 110 may transmit a control frame including a PHY header and an MPDU, for example, to another STA 110; See ¶043, Two or more STAs 110 may communicate via a direct wireless communication link 120 when both STAs 110 are in the AP coverage area 125, when one STA 110 is within the AP coverage area 125, or when neither of the STAs 110 is within the AP coverage area 125; direct wireless communication links 120 may include Wi-Fi Direct connections, connections established by using a Wi-Fi Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) link, and other P2P group connections; inherent that mpdu comprises of msdu) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify generating a QoS element to transmit to include the a MPDU can be transmitted on P2P link. The motivation to combine is STA 110 may reduce the overhead of a control frame indicating a response policy for initiating the establishment of a communication link with another device, such as another STA 110 (See ¶0044). Regarding claim 16, Chu discloses a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor and a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive/send a QoS characteristics element, and when the at least one processor runs program instructions, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising: receiving, a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element; (See ¶0045, the SCS Response frame may not include an update of the requested traffic characteristics in a Quality of Service (QoS) Characteristics element of the SCS Response frame) and parsing, the QoS characteristics element, (See ¶0051, after MLD1 302 receives the SCS Response frame that indicates whether the requested traffic characteristics were accepted, MLD1 302 and MLD2 304 exchange frames on multiple links according to the negotiated SCS.) wherein the QoS characteristics element comprises a control information field (S 20230156516-See ¶0063-0064, see ¶0046, By indicating the requested traffic characteristics and/or the accepted traffic characteristics in the QoS Characteristics elements of the SCS Request frame and the SCS Response frame,) and first indication information, (See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) the control information field comprises a direction subfield, (See ¶0063-0064, he Control Info 608 includes six subfields the Presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested; he link bitmap is used to indicate links being used for negotiated down-link (DL) traffic and/or up-link (UL) traffic.) the direction subfield is set to a first value indicating that a data direction described by the QoS characteristics element is a peer-to-peer (P2P) link, (See ¶0063-0064, presence Bitmap of Additional Parameters 608-4 is a link bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap or a 16-bit bitmap) that indicates links where P2P traffic is requested and the first indication information indicates a physical layer rate of the P2P link. (See ¶0063, Minimum Data Rate 614 (3 octets); See ¶0064, he medium time of the P2P traffic indicates a time under a specific reference bandwidth with a specific time interval) However, Chu fails to disclose the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device Wentink discloses the P2P link is a link via which a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) or an aggregated MSDU is sent from one non-access point station device to another non-access point station device, (2015/0245243 a1-See ¶0044, A STA 110 may transmit a control frame including a PHY header and an MPDU, for example, to another STA 110; See ¶043, Two or more STAs 110 may communicate via a direct wireless communication link 120 when both STAs 110 are in the AP coverage area 125, when one STA 110 is within the AP coverage area 125, or when neither of the STAs 110 is within the AP coverage area 125; direct wireless communication links 120 may include Wi-Fi Direct connections, connections established by using a Wi-Fi Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) link, and other P2P group connections; inherent that mpdu comprises of msdu) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify generating a QoS element to transmit to include the a MPDU can be transmitted on P2P link. The motivation to combine is STA 110 may reduce the overhead of a control frame indicating a response policy for initiating the establishment of a communication link with another device, such as another STA 110 (See ¶0044) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Wentink, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0145801 A1; hereinafter Wang) . Regarding claims 7 and 15, Chu in view of Wentink fails to disclose the control information field further comprises a traffic identifier (TID) subfield; and a TID value indicated by the TID subfield is different from a TID value corresponding to any service on a P2P link set up between the first device and another device; or a TID value indicated by the TID subfield is different from a TID value corresponding to a traffic flow on a P2P link that is historically reported by the first device based on the QoS characteristics element. Wang discloses the control information field further comprises a traffic identifier (TID) subfield; and a TID value indicated by the TID subfield is different from a TID value corresponding to any service on a P2P link set up between the first device and another device; (20180145801 A1-See ¶0072, A TID field 416 may indicate one or more of ID(s) of the traffic flow(s) for which the STA is requesting UL or P2P TXOP. The TID field 416 may also be implemented as a hash, bitmap, or a combination thereof to indicate one or more TIDs.) or a TID value indicated by the TID subfield is different from a TID value corresponding to a traffic flow on a P2P link that is historically reported by the first device based on the QoS characteristics element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses frame is transmitted with QoS fields to include TID field that includes the traffic flows that provide service to the UE. The motivation to combine is to efficiently estimate the channel for MIMO transmissions by the receiving station (See ¶0078) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Wentink and, further in view of Das et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0374100 A1) . Regarding claim 9 and 17, Chu in view of Wentink fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to determine, based on an indication of the first indication information, a time resource allocated to a service on the P2P link. Das discloses the at least one processor is further configured to determine, based on an indication of the first indication information, a time resource allocated to a service on the P2P link. (20160374100-See ¶0021, Using the QoS requirement information, the scheduler device determines the set of timeblocks that will be used for a data exchange and announces the set of timeblocks to the non-scheduler; See ¶0027, the QoS requirements of the data connection request message include indications of QoS Stream identifier (ID), a nominal MAC service data unit (MDSU) size, a mean data rate, a minimum PHY rate) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify QoS element has data rate for p2p communication to include the data rate is used to allocate resources. The motivation to combine is to efficiently match the QoS demands to the services available among devices of the network group, the QoS requirements can be communicated during the setup of connection between devices (See ¶0020) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wentink et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0128809 A1)-See ¶0113, QoS control capabilities that may be provided and an example of the number of bits used include at least one of the following: TID (3 bits), end of service period (EOSP) (1 bit), aggregated MAC service data unit (A-MSDU) (1 bit), ACK policy, and queue size. Further, HT control capabilities that may be provided and an example of the number of bits used include at least one of the following: fast link adaptation (16 bits), calibration position/sequence (4 bits), channel state information (CSI)/steering (2 bits), null data packet (NDP) announcement (1 bit), and access control (AC) constraint/reverse direction grant (RDG) (3 bits). Shirali et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0332385 A1)-See ¶0135, The HE STA may report buffer status information for a given TID in the Queue Size subfield of the QoS Control field in QoS Data frames or in QoS Null frames. The HE STA may set the Queue Size High subfield to 255 to indicate an unknown/unspecified BSR for that TID. The HE STA may aggregate multiple QoS Data frames or QoS Null frames in an A-MPDU to report buffer status information for different TIDs. The HE STA may report buffer status information in the BSR A-Control subfield of frames it transmits if the associated AP has indicated support for HE capabilities support (such as in the A-BSR Support subfield of an HE Capabilities element); otherwise, the HE STA may not report buffer status information in the BSR A-Control subfield. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TEJIS DAYA whose telephone number is (571)270-7817. The examiner can normally be reached 6:30-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas Jensen can be reached at 571-270-5443. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 12 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/672,133 Page 13 Art Unit: 2472