Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“an external power source” identified in claim 10.
“a battery charging station” identified in claim 11.
Note that 35 U.S.C. 113 identifies the requirement for drawings to be generally provided (“The applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.”) and 37 CFR 1.83(a) identifies requirements for what those drawings must show (“The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box)”).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a conduit including a first fluid line extending between the supply tank the reservoir” which is grammatically incorrect and should be rewritten to include the word --and--after “tank”, and is also objected to because it is unclear whether this is meant to indicate that the conduit extends between the supply tank and the reservoir or that the first fluid line extends between the supply tank and the reservoir. Note that if it is the latter, then this may result in a subsequent drawing objection because Fig 5 does not show a single fluid line connecting the supply tank 46 and the reservoir 70.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressure control element” in the claims (e.g., claims 1 and 3) ; “external power source” (e.g., claim 10).
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of examining this application, the term “superheat” within the claims is interpreted to mean that a liquid is heated to above its atmospheric boiling point and is still in a liquid state, as identified in paragraph 0040 and as one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the term with regard to heating a liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the term “approximately”, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would be unable to identify whether a temperature is approximately 10 degrees or not approximately 10 degrees.
Claim 11 recites the term “approximately”, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would be unable to identify whether a temperature is approximately 10 degrees or not approximately 10 degrees.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “degrees” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what unit this is, e.g. degrees Celsius or degrees Fahrenheit. For examination purposes this is assumed to be degrees Celsius.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “degrees” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what unit this is, e.g. degrees Celsius or degrees Fahrenheit. For examination purposes this is assumed to be degrees Celsius.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are also rejected by virtue of dependency.
In view of the 112(b) rejections set forth above, the claims are rejected below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115607053 A (hereinafter Yan) in view of US 20120204376 A1 (Charlton).
Examiner’s note: All mapping below (references made to reference characters, figures, paragraphs, etc.) is with regard to the base reference (the first reference identified above) unless otherwise noted.
Examiner's note: The examiner's submitted English translation of Yan, submitted with this office action, is referenced hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses:
A surface cleaner operable to clean a surface (Fig 1 shows this), the surface cleaner comprising:
a housing (110; Fig 1) including a handle (112; Fig 2) and a base (generally at 130 in Fig 1),
the handle configured to move the base along the surface (Fig 1 shows this);
a supply tank (150; Fig 2) configured to store a liquid (e.g. lines 489-497);
a heater (122; Fig 3) including a reservoir (e.g. lines 369-376, 422-431, 456-466);
a pump (160; Fig 2; e.g. lines 499-505) positioned between the supply tank and the heater,
the pump operable to draw the liquid from the supply tank and pump the liquid into the reservoir (e.g. lines 499-505),
the heater operable to superheat the liquid (e.g. lines 369-376, 464);
a pressure control element in fluid communication with the heater and operable to depressurize the liquid into vapor (e.g. lines 388-394, 458-461);
a nozzle (131; Fig 2) disposed in the base and in fluid communication with the pressure control element, the nozzle configured to dispense the vapor (e.g. lines 473-487);
Yan may not explicitly disclose:
The base is pivotably coupled to the handle
and a cleaning pad coupled to the base such that the cleaning pad directly contacts the surface.
However, Charlton, in the same field of endeavor, surface cleaners, teaches:
A base (16; Figs 1-4) of a steam surface cleaner, which pivots (para 0016) to enable the head to remain in flat contact with the surface while the user maneuvers the device, and which has a cleaning pad (44; Fig 3) with a steam nozzle (26; para 0018; Figs 2-3) to enable the cleaning device to steam scrub a surface to remove dirt and debris (para 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yan to include Charlton’s teachings as described above, replacing Yan’s head with Charlton’s head, in order to enable the head to remain in flat contact with the surface while the user maneuvers the device, and enable the cleaning device to steam scrub a surface to remove dirt and debris (para 0003, 0016).
This modification results in teaching the limitations above.
Regarding claim 2, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
a battery operable to power the surface cleaner (the disclosure is entirely directed towards use of a cordless, aka wireless, cleaning device, wherein this indicates a battery operated cleaning device; e.g. lines 351-360);
and a controller configured to control operation of the surface cleaner (e.g. line 409: “controlling the box body 121 to release pressure”).
Regarding claim 3, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
a conduit including a first fluid line (170; Fig 2) extending between the supply tank the reservoir, and a second fluid line (140; Fig 3; lines 473-487) extending between the pressure control element and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 4, Yan, as modified above, discloses all claim limitations (see above) except may not disclose: the heater uses less than 250 Watts of power to heat the liquid.
However, Yan discloses (e.g. lines 345-349) that his steam generator/heater requires more than 800W of power and his battery provides only up to 550W of power. Since his battery does not provide the required power for his heater, the heater must then be connected to an external power supply to power the heater to generate steam. This appears to be an issue related to only size or scale, wherein the amount of power required (Watts are a measure of power—the rate at which energy is used to generate heat) is related to the size of the steam generator/heater or the amount/size of water to be heated.
Courts have established that a change in size will not sustain a patent and is not inventive, rather is a practice requiring only ordinary skill and hence is considered a routine expedient and obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV). In this case, according to Yan’s disclosure (e.g. lines 345-349), it appears that only the size of Yan’s heater, and/or only the size/amount of Yan’s water to be heated, needs to be reduced in order to result in a heater small enough, or an amount of water small enough, such that only 250W, or a 250W battery, is required to achieve the desired result (i.e. turn Yan’s water in to steam using a particular amount of power). In other words, it is not inventive to merely reduce the size of Yan’s heater, and/or the size/amount of Yan’s water to be heated, to the extent that only 250W of power is required, rather than 800W of power, to turn Yan’s water into steam.
Regarding claim 8, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the liquid is heated to a temperature of approximately 10 to 50 degrees above a boiling temperature of the liquid at atmospheric pressure (e.g. line 406: higher than 100°C).
Regarding claim 9, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the liquid is pressurized at a pressure ranging from 1 bar to 3 bar in the reservoir (e.g. line 405: “pressure is greater than the standard atmospheric pressure”, wherein 1ATM = 1.01325 bar).
Regarding claim 10, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the surface cleaner is couplable to an external power source (base station 200; Fig 6), the surface cleaner is operable to pre heat the liquid when coupled to the external power source (e.g. lines 351-360).
Regarding claim 11, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the controller pre heats the liquid to a temperature approximately 10 degrees lower than a boiling temperature of the liquid at atmospheric pressure when coupled to the external power source (e.g. lines 398-406, wherein the liquid is heated from nominal up to over 100°C).
Regarding claim 12, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the external power source is a battery charging station (the disclosure is entirely directed towards use of a cordless, aka wireless, cleaning device, wherein this indicates a battery operated cleaning device; e.g. lines 351-360), the battery charging station is operable to pre heat the liquid when coupled to the battery charging station (e.g. 398-406, 585-592).
Regarding claim 15, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the cleaning pad includes at least one aperture (56A; Fig 3) that allows the vapor to flow from the nozzle, through the at least one aperture, and onto the surface (Fig 3 shows this).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art reference(s) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 5039175 A (hereinafter Holzmann).
Regarding claim 5, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
and wherein the surface cleaner includes a second sensor configured to measure a temperature of the liquid (e.g. lines 713-715 indicate a temperature sensor in box body 121).
Yan may not explicitly disclose:
the surface cleaner includes a first sensor configured to measure a pressure of the liquid (),
However, Holzmann, in the same field of endeavor, pumps supplying pressure vessels, provides a general teaching of pressure system (col 4 lines 42-57) comprising a motor for a pump, a pressure reservoir, a pressure sensor, a safety valve, and a controller, wherein the pressure sensor 59 indicates to the control unit 17 when the pressure reservoir 58 is filled full enough that further operation of the pump 60 is unnecessary, also the safety valve 61 opens at a pressure threshold to protect the pump 60 and pressure reservoir 58 from overload.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yan as modified above to include Holzmann’s teachings as described above, utilizing a pressure sensor and safety valve and controller as described above, in order prevent unnecessary operation of the pump and protect the pump and pressure reservoir from overload (col 4 lines 42-57).
This modification results in teaching the limitation above.
Regarding claim 6, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the controller is operable to activate and deactivate the pump based at least in part on a signal received from the first sensor or second sensor (see claim 5 discussion regarding Holzmann).
Regarding claim 7, Yan, as modified above, discloses:
the controller is operable to activate and deactivate the heater based at least in part on a signal from the first sensor or second sensor (e.g. lines 713-715 identifies that heating is stopped at a temperature threshold value).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art reference(s) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20160296091 A1 (Seo).
Regarding claim 13, Yan, as modified above, discloses all claim limitations (see above) except may not explicitly disclose:
a power cord couplable to the external power source to charge the battery when the surface cleaner is connected to the external power source.
However, Seo, in the same field of endeavor, surface cleaners, teaches:
A cordless surface cleaner which has a detachable power chord (30; Fig 1) and a charger (140; Fig 2) in order to obtain power from an external power source without using a physical docking station (e.g. para 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yan as modified above to include Seo’s teachings as described above, having a detachable power chord and a charger in order to obtain power from an external power source without using a physical docking station (e.g. para 0019).
This modification results in teaching the limitation above.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art reference(s) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2011080085 A (hereinafter Okada).
Regarding claim 14, Yan, as modified above, discloses all claim limitations (see above) except may not explicitly disclose:
the pump is operable to pressurize the liquid to a predetermined pressure greater than atmospheric pressure.
However, Okada, in the same field of endeavor, pumps supplying pressure vessels, teaches a general teaching of using a pump to pressurize a fluid in a pressure vessel to above the atmospheric pressure and then using a heater to increase the temperature of the fluid in order to first increase the boiling point of the fluid (bottom of page 3 of English translation provided with this office action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yan as modified above to include Okada’s teachings as described above, having Yan’s pump pressurize the fluid to above the atmospheric pressure and then using the heater to increase the temperature of the fluid in order to first increase the boiling point of the fluid (bottom of page 3 of English translation provided with this office action).
This modification results in teaching the limitation above.
Conclusion
The following prior art, made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20190380557 - cited for teaching a cordless steam mop configured to heat liquid to at least 100° C to generate steam.
US 20010039684 - cited for teaching a surface cleaner which superheats a solution.
US 9516986 - cited for teaching a steam generator which superheats the fluid.
/Art Golik/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745