DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the amendment filed on 6 July 2026, having claims 1-6.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “performing, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission to the access network node; and receiving, the DL transmission from, the access network node, within the channel occupancy” in lines 4-6. The limitation is NOT supported by the original specification. While the specification mentions that uplink transmissions may be performed, the specification never expressly discloses that the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission are performed within the same channel occupancy. The new matter must be deleted from the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “receiving, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission from a user equipment (UE), wherein a channel occupancy of the channel is shared by the access network node; and performing the DL transmission to the UE within the channel occupancy” in lines 4-6. While the specification mentions that uplink transmissions may be performed, the specification never expressly discloses that the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission are performed within the same channel occupancy. The new matter must be deleted from the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “perform, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission to the access network node; and receive, the DL transmission from, the access network node, within the channel occupancy” in lines 7-10. The limitation is NOT supported by the original specification. While the specification mentions that uplink transmissions may be performed, the specification never expressly discloses that the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission are performed within the same channel occupancy. The new matter must be deleted from the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “receive, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission from a user equipment (UE), wherein a channel occupancy of the channel is shared by the access network node; and perform the DL transmission to the UE within the channel occupancy” in lines 5-8. While the specification mentions that uplink transmissions may be performed, the specification never expressly discloses that the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission are performed within the same channel occupancy. The new matter must be deleted from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (US 2018/0115983 A1) (reference disclosed by applicant).
For claims 1 and 5, Harada discloses sensing a channel to be idle, wherein a channel occupancy is shared by an access network node which has sensed the channel to be idle for a downlink (DL) transmission ([0042-0043] an eNB (network node) determines a channel to be idle after performing LBT but does not make a downlink transmission, then the UE performs LBT on the shared channel and determines that the channel is idle);
performing, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission to the access network node ([0046] UE performs LBT on the channel and then an uplink transmission); and
receiving, the DL transmission from, the access network node, within the channel occupancy ([0045] the UE receives DCI (downlink transmission) from the base station in subframe N in the same channel).
For claim 2, Harada discloses receiving, from the access network, information indicating the DL transmission, wherein the information is transmitted by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0123] the DCI (downlink information) is received in a PDCCH).
For claims 4 and 6, Harada discloses sensing a channel to be idle for a downlink (DL) transmission ([0042-0043] an eNB (network node) determines a channel to be idle after performing LBT but does not make a downlink transmission),
receiving, on the channel, an uplink (UL) transmission from a user equipment (UE), wherein a channel occupancy of the channel is shared by the access network node ([0046] UE performs LBT on the channel and then an uplink transmission after [0043] the UE performs LBT on the shared channel and determines that the channel is idle); and
performing the DL transmission to the UE within the channel occupancy ([0045] the base station transmits DCI (downlink transmission) to the UE in subframe N in the same channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 2018/0115983 A1) (reference disclosed by applicant) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0268883 A1).
For claim 3, Harada does not expressly disclose the information is configured to support a minimum transmission granularity of 2 symbols.
Zhang, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the information is configured to support a minimum transmission granularity of 2 symbols ([0074] a time unit may be a mini-slot or symbol, and the minimum time for the DCI comprising the information is 2 time units or symbols). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement the same DCI format as taught by Zhang in the communication network of Harada to transmit downlink control information to the UE.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471