[DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges that Applicant, in response to restriction requirement (mailed 09/01/2026), has elected Claims 1 and 4-9 without traverse. Examiner hereby withdraws Claims 2-3 and 10-14.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delavaux (US 6,583,925, henceforth D1) in view of Delavaux (US 11,509,108, henceforth D2) and Yang (CN 111711061 A, henceforth D3).
Regarding Claim 1, D1 teaches A rare-earth doped optical amplifying device [Abstract, Col 6 Line 35-Col 7 Line 40, Figs. 8-9] comprising:
a section of rare-earth doped optical fiber, defined as having a first termination and second, opposing termination [#102 or #104 in Fig. 8];
a pump source generating a pump beam at a wavelength λP known to excite rare-earth ions within the section of rare-earth doped optical fiber [#114 or #112 in Fig. 8];
an input coupler disposed between the pump source and the first termination of the section of rare-earth doped optical fiber and configured to inject the pump beam into the section of rare-earth doped optical fiber and provide amplification to the input optical signal propagating therethrough [#MUX1 or #MUX4 in Fig. 8]; and
a pump redirection coupler disposed at the second, opposing termination of the section of rare-earth doped optical fiber and configured to direct an unabsorbed pump beam exiting the section of rare-earth doped optical fiber away from a path of the propagating input signal [#MUX3 or #MUX2 in Fig. 8].
D1 does not explicitly teach – but D2 does teach using Thulium (Tm) as a rare-earth dopant [Abstract] with a pump source generating a pump beam known to excite Tm ions [various sources generate #P1 and/or #P2 in all figures]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of optical amplification, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Tm as the rare-earth dopant for at least one of the Tm-doped optical fibers, with pump source(s) generating pump beam(s) known to excite Tm ions, to provide signal gain in the 2 μm wavelength band [Background].
Neither D1 nor D2 explicitly teaches – but D3 does explicitly teach a Tm-doped optical fiber of length L less than 1m [“gain optical fiber 4 is a length of 0.15m of thulium-doped optical fiber”]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fiber of D3 for at least one of the Tm-doped optical fibers in the amplifying device of D1 as modified above with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the intended use of amplifying 1700-1800nm, none of D1, D2, or D3, explicitly teach this range. However, Chen (see NPL below, §2.3, Fig. 2.1) teaches that this is a known property of Tm-doped fibers.
Regarding Claim 4, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in claim 1, wherein the input coupler comprises a first WDM configured to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths λS and λP and the pump redirection coupler comprises a second WDM configured to multiplex/demultiplex wavelengths λS and λP [Col 4 LL 30-35, wavelength division multiplexer #40 (herein after generally referred to as a "multiplexer", where the wavelength division/combination nature of each multiplexer will be presumed)].
Regarding Claim 5, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in claim 1, wherein the Tm-doped optical amplifying device comprises a single stage Tm-doped fiber amplifier (TDFA) configured as a counter-propagating amplifier, wherein the input signal passes through the pump redirection coupler prior to entering the section of Tm-doped fiber and the input coupler is disposed beyond the section of Tm-doped optical fiber and configured to direct the pump beam into the section of Tm-doped fiber so as to propagate through in a direction opposite to the propagation direction of the input signal, with unabsorbed pump energy exiting the section of Tm-doped optical fiber so as to be coupled into the pump redirection coupler [#130 to #104 to #126 in Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 6, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in wherein the Tm-doped optical amplifying device comprises a single stage Tm- doped fiber amplifier (TDFA) configured as a co-propagating amplifier, wherein the input signal and the pump beam are applied as separate inputs to the input coupler, the combination thereafter injected into the section of Tm-doped fiber, with the pump redirection coupler being disposed beyond the section of Tm-doped optical fiber and configured to direct unabsorbed pump energy away from the TDFA [#120 to #102 to #122 in Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 7, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in claim 1, wherein the Tm-doped optical amplifying device comprises a multi-stage amplifier including at least a first amplifier stage and a second amplifier stage [Abstract, Col 6 Line 35-Col 7 Line 40, Figs. 8-9], each of the first and second amplifier stages comprising:
a section of Tm-doped optical fiber [#102 and #104 in Fig. 8], defined as having a first termination and second, opposing termination, the section of Tm-doped optical fiber having a length L less than one meter [part of modification with D3];
a pump source generating a pump beam at a wavelength λP known to excite Tm ions within the section of Tm-doped optical fiber [#114 and #112 in Fig. 8];
an input coupler disposed between the pump source and the first termination of the section of Tm-doped optical fiber and configured to inject the pump beam into the section of Tm-doped optical fiber and provide amplification to the input optical signal propagating therethrough [#MUX1 and #MUX4 in Fig. 8]; and
a pump redirection coupler disposed at the second, opposing termination of the section of Tm-doped optical fiber and configured to direct an unabsorbed pump beam exiting the section of Tm-doped optical fiber away from a path of the propagating input signal [#MUX3 and #MUX2 in Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 8, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in claim 7 wherein the pump source of the first amplifier stage and the pump source of the second amplifier stage are configured as two separate pump sources [#114 and #112 separate in Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 9, D1 as modified above teaches The Tm-doped optical amplifying device as defined in claim 8 wherein the pump wavelength of the first amplifier stage pump source is greater than the pump wavelength of the second amplifier stage pump source [#114 and #112 generate different wavelengths in Fig. 8].
Relevant Prior Art
In addition to applicant-provided prior art and the prior art used above, the examiner identified the following relevant prior art:
The following disclose Tm-doped fibers with length less than 1m:
Li C, Wei X, Kong C, Tan S, Chen N, Kang J, Wong KK. Fiber chirped pulse amplification of a short wavelength mode-locked thulium-doped fiber laser. Apl Photonics. 2017 Dec 1;2(12) [“The gain fiber was a segment of 0.8-m-long TDF (OFS TmDF200)” in Fig. 1a (top right)].
Xu D, Bourdakos KN, Crisford A, Johnson P, Abughazaleh I, Srisamran P, Oreffo RO, Mahajan S, Richardson DJ, Xu L. All-fiberized 1840-nm femtosecond thulium fiber laser for label-free nonlinear microscopy. Biomedical Optics Express. 2023 Aug 9;14(9):4520-30 [§2, “a TDF length of 0.7 m”].
Chen, S. (2019). Thulium doped fiber based lasers and amplifiers (Doctoral dissertation) [p. 85, “the 0.6 m single mode Tm3+-doped fiber”].
Nomura Y, Murakoshi H, Fuji T. Short-wavelength, ultrafast thulium-doped fiber laser system for three-photon microscopy. OSA Continuum. 2020 May 27;3(6):1428-35 [§2, “As the amplifier fiber, a 0.5-m-long, large-mode-area thulium-doped fiber made of ZBLAN”].
He W, Zhu L, Dong M, Luo F. Tunable and switchable thulium-doped fiber laser utilizing Sagnac loops incorporating two-stage polarization maintaining fibers. Optical Fiber Technology. 2016 May 1;29:65-9 [Abstract, “a 0.4-m-long thulium-doped fiber is selected as the gain medium”].
Chen, S. (2019, above) recites several other characteristics of Tm-doped fibers.
Delavaux (US 6,429,964 B1) discloses amplifiers with multiple concatenated stages of amplification with co-propagating and counter-propagating pump signal.
Mehuys (US 5,930,029 A) discloses an optical amplifier with a doped fiber, using multiple optical pumps with multiple wavelengths which propagate bidirectionally.
Conclusion
/MAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645