DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Atkinson (US2009/0203727).
Atkinson discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising EDTA and magnesium stearate (claim 9).
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Koller (US 8,980,243).
Koller discloses a composition of EDTA and benzalkonium chloride (synonym for benzyldimethyltetradecylammonium chloride) (claim 1).
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Marc (US20090215052).
Marc discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising EDTA and PEI (claim 1).
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banfi et al (Clin Chem Lab Med 2007;45(5):565–576) in view of Weitz et al (N Engl J Med 2021;385:2161-2172).
Banfi et al teaches the use of EDTA for treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolism.
Weitz et al teaches factor Xia inhibitors, such as milvexian, are used for prevention and treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolism (abstract).
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. MPEP 2144.06. Here, the actives are all taught to treat thromboembolism, therefore it would have been obvious to combine them to produce a combined formulation.
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-5 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kauffmann (US 20190151851)
Kauffmann teaches compositions comprising combinations which include EDTA, argatroban, apixaban, and rivaroxaban (claim 2).
It would have been obvious to select from among the agents listed where the list includes combinations.
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-5 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banfi et al (Clin Chem Lab Med 2007;45(5):565–576) in view of Vazquez et al (Ann Pharmacother. 2008 July ; 42(7): 1118–1123. doi:10.1345/aph.1L077).
Banfi et al teaches the use of EDTA for treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolism.
Vazquez et al teaches stents comprising sirolimus of thromboembolism (abstract).
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. MPEP 2144.06. Here, the actives are all taught to treat thromboembolism, therefore it would have been obvious to combine them to produce a combined formulation.
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-5, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banfi et al (Clin Chem Lab Med 2007;45(5):565–576) in view of Suri (US 20170051059)
Banfi et al teaches the use of EDTA for treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolism.
Suri teaches conventional therapy for thromboembolism. includes administration of mycophenolate (¶ 8 and claim 18).
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. MPEP 2144.06. Here, the actives are all taught to treat thromboembolism, therefore it would have been obvious to combine them to produce a combined formulation.
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Claims 2-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US2009/0203727) in view of Banfi et al (Clin Chem Lab Med 2007;45(5):565–576) in view of (US20090215052), Weitz et al (N Engl J Med 2021;385:2161-2172), (US 20190151851), Vazquez et al (Ann Pharmacother. 2008 July ; 42(7): 1118–1123. doi:10.1345/aph.1L077), and (US 20170051059).
The references are all discussed above, but do not teach combining all the actives, vary the rate of anticoagulant to chelating agent, of applying the agents onto an implantable scaffold for the vascular lumen.
It would have been obvious to combine the actives of the various references for treatment of thromboembolism.
Further, when combining the actives, it would have been obvious to optimize the release rate of the actives in order to provide the desired pharmacokinetic properties of the administration.
Finally, it would have been obvious use an implantable scaffold for the composition given the need to treat thromboembolism occurs in the vascular system and a stent is a common means for delivering actives to the vascular system.
Note, with regards to claim 3, where the composition disclosed in the prior art meets the components instantly claimed, the functional property of the composition would be inherent based on the activity of the components, whether recognized at the time or not. MPEP 2112(I) and (II).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612