DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 05/23/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: dynamic gesture recognition module, static gesture recognition module, finite-state machine module, fusing module and post-processing module in claims 11, 13 and 16-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliseychik (US 2015/0220153 A1) in view of Domansky (US 2016/0129343 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Aliseychik discloses a method, comprising:
performing a dynamic gesture recognition operation on a window of the frames; (Aliseychik discloses dynamic gesture recognition based on movement over a specified period of time relative to one or more previous images of an image sequence, see paragraphs 58-59.)
performing a static gesture recognition operation on an individual frame among the frames; (Aliseychik discloses that static pose recognition module 114 identifies a particular pose in an input image, where the pose may be a static gesture, and outputs a static pose pattern ID. Aliseychik also teaches that the static pose recognition module is enabled for the current frame, see paragraphs 56, 60 and 89-90.)
applying a result of the static gesture recognition operation to a finite-state machine; (Aliseychik discloses a finite state machine 115 that controls the cursor detector, dynamic gesture detector and static pose recognition module. Aliseychik further discloses that the output of the static pose recognition module 114, including the static pose pattern ID, is applied to a maximization element 600 whose output determines a new state 602 for the finite state machine, see paragraphs 65-66 and 91-94.)
fusing results of the dynamic gesture recognition operation and the finite-state machine; and (Aliseychik discloses combining recognition outputs in a state update module by outputs of the cursor detector 113A, dynamic gesture detector 113B and static pose recognition module 114 are applied to maximization element 600, whose output determines the new finite state machine state. The outputs include the dynamic gesture pattern ID and static pose pattern ID, and the finite state machine state is updated from those outputs, see paragraphs 91-94.).
generating a final recognized gesture based on the fusing. (Aliseychik discloses that the maximization element determines the new FSM state as the cursor detected state, dynamic gesture detected state, or static pose recognition state, based on the non-zero pattern ID for the current frame. This new state becomes the final state or the current frame and serves as the initial state for the next frame, see paragraphs 17-18 and 91-94.)
Aliseychik fails to specifically disclose receiving frames of 3D physical body joints.
In related art, Domansky discloses receiving frames of 3D physical body joints. (Domansky discloses continuously receiving a recorded time series of frames from a motion sensing camera, where each frame comprises a 3D position of each of a plurality of body joints of a patient, see paragraphs 17-18.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Domansky into the teachings of Aliseychik to effectively recognize human gestures using image and motion sensing systems.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Aliseychik, as modified by Domansky, discloses the claimed invention wherein at least a portion of performing the dynamic gesture recognition operation overlaps in time with at least one of at least a portion of performing the static gesture recognition operation or at least a portion of applying the result the static gesture recognition operation to the finite-state machine. (Aliseychik: paragraph 95)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Aliseychik, as modified by Domansky, discloses the claimed invention wherein performing the dynamic gesture recognition operation comprises utilizing a lightweight spatio-temporal gesture recognition model. (Aliseychik: paragraphs 58-61 and 67-75)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Aliseychik, as modified by Domansky, discloses the claimed invention wherein performing post-processing on the result of the static gesture recognition operation before applying to the finite-state machine. (Aliseychik: paragraphs 56-61 and 81)
Claims 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliseychik in view of Domansky and in further view of Levinshtein (US 2020/0320748 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Aliseychik, as modified by Domansky, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the lightweight spatio-temporal gesture recognition model utilizes a depth-wise separable convolution neural network (DSCNN).
In related art, Levinshtein discloses a depth-wise separable convolution neural network (DSCNN). (paragraph 37)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Levinshtein into the teachings of Aliseychik and Domansky for effective real time processing of video.
Claims 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliseychik in view of Domansky and in further view of Ulutan (US 2023/0144745 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Aliseychik, as modified by Domansky, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the lightweight spatio-temporal gesture recognition model utilizes Gaussian error linear unit (GELU) activation.
In related art, Ulutan discloses Gaussian error linear unit (GELU) activation. (paragraphs 9-10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ulutan into the teachings of Aliseychik and Domansky to effectively classify attributes or gestures associated with an object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-10, 16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665