DETAILED ACTION
This is an AIA application filed May 23, 2024.
The earliest effective filing date of this AIA application is seen as June 14, 2023, the date of the earliest priority application (United States provisional patent application serial number 63/472,884) for any claims which are fully supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) by the provisional application.
The effective filing date of this AIA application is seen as May 23, 2024, the actual filing date, for any claims that are not fully supported by the foregoing provisional or non-provisional application(s) or the application(s) listed below.
The present application is also related to the applications giving rise to the following patent publication(s) (some redundancy may be present):
Office
Application
App. Date
Pub. #
Pub. Date
EP
24182049
06/13/2024
EP 4478101 A1
12/18/2024
The claims originally filed May 23, 2024 are entered, currently outstanding, and subject to examination.
This action is in response to the information disclosure statement/IDS filing of October 25, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and outstanding.
No claims have been amended, cancelled, withdrawn, or added.
Claims 1-20 are currently outstanding and subject to examination.
This is a non-final action and is the first action on the merits.
Allowable subject matter is not indicated below.
Often, in the substance of the action below, formal matters are addressed first, claim rejections second, and any response to arguments third.
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(IV)
No special definitions as defined by MPEP § 2111.01(IV) are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given their plain meaning. MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01.
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring those to the attention of the examiner and the prosecution history with its next response in a manner both specific and particular. In doing so, there will be no mistake, confusion, and/or ambiguity as to what constitutes the special definition(s). Per above, such special definitions must conform to the requirements of MPEP § 2111.01(IV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by European patent publication number 3579037 of Devaux et al. published December 11, 2019 (Devaux, cited by Applicant. Quotes are from the machine translation supplied herewith).
With respect to claim 1, Devaux discloses a rack mount assembly (Figs. 1-7) configured to be received in an equipment rack (Fig. 2) of a fiber optic network (Fig. 5, "guide channel 4C optical fibers"), the equipment rack having a front side and a back side with a first vertical frame member opposing a second vertical frame member between the front side and the back side (Fig. 2), the rack mount assembly comprising:
a shelf having a main support surface ("According to Figures 1 to 5, the height of the module is reduced and equal to a standardized unit and the inside of the module 4 has a bottom adapted to receive a set of parts allowing 4AC guidance and / or splicing 4AD and / or hosting systems 4AE coupling and / or the storage of optical fibers, arranged to allow a reversible mounting on the left or right of said plane.");
a first bracket configured to be attached to the first vertical frame member (Figs. 2, 4, generally at 3),
the first bracket being configured to form a first joint with the shelf (Figs. 2, 4, generally at 3); and
a second bracket configured to be attached to the second vertical frame (Figs. 2, 4, generally at 6),
the second bracket being configured to form a second joint with the shelf (Figs. 2, 4, generally at 6),
wherein the shelf is pivotal at at least one of the first joint and the second joint such that when the rack mount assembly is secured in the equipment rack (Figs. 2, 4, generally at 3),
the shelf is movable from a closed position to an opened position in which the shelf is configured to extend outwardly of the front side of the equipment rack ("The Figures 1 and 2 are perspective views of a device of optical telecommunication pivotable modules according to the invention with a module pivoting to the left, in the open position and in the closed position.").
With respect to claim 2, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a clip configured to be removably coupled to the first joint, and
when coupled to the first joint,
the clip forms a hinge at the first joint.
The clips shown in Fig. 5 at 4A/B are seen as interchangeable and forming a hinge with post 3 of Fig. 7.
With respect to claim 3, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 2, including one wherein
the clip includes a web coupling (connection between the first and second legs as follows) a first leg (end of first prong, say the left one) to a second leg (end of second prong, say the right one),
each of the first leg and the second leg including a ledge (Fig. 5 appears to show flexible elements having ledge-like surfaces),
the first leg and second leg being movable relative to the web (needed to flex about the hinge post/pin 3 and subsequently provide secure engagement therewith).
With respect to claim 4, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one wherein
in the opened position,
a top,
a bottom, and
a rear side of the shelf are configured to be exposed and accessible relative to the equipment rack.
Figs. 1 and 3.
With respect to claim 5, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one wherein
in the closed position,
the shelf is coupled to each of the first bracket and the second bracket at the first joint and the second joint, respectively.
Figs. 2 and 4.
With respect to claim 6, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one wherein
in the opened position,
the shelf is coupled to the first bracket at the first joint and is disconnected from the second bracket.
Figs. 1 and 3.
With respect to claim 7, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one wherein
the second joint is configured to be selectively disassembled so that the shelf is pivotal toward the opened position.
Fig. 1 and 6.
With respect to claim 8, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one wherein
the first bracket includes one of a first post and a first socket and the shelf includes the other of the first post and the first socket, and
wherein the first socket is configured to receive the first post to form the first joint.
Per above re Figs. 5 and 7.
With respect to claim 9, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 8, including one wherein
the first socket has an opening that has a dimension less than an outside dimension of the first post.
At least, the length of the first prong is greater than the opening of the clip/socket.
With respect to claim 10, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 8, wherein the first bracket includes:
(i) a base wall;
(ii) a pair of opposing flanges extending from the base wall,
the first post extending between the pair of opposing flanges; and
(iii) a mounting flange extending from the base wall in an opposing direction from the pair of opposing flanges,
wherein the mounting flange is configured to secure the first bracket to the first vertical frame member.
With respect to claim 11, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 8, including one further comprising:
a clip configured to be removably coupled to the first joint, and
when coupled to the first joint,
the clip forms a hinge at the first joint;
wherein the clip includes a web coupling a first leg to a second leg,
each of the first leg and the second leg including a ledge,
the first leg and second leg being movable relative to the web;
wherein the first bracket includes one of a first post and a first socket and the shelf includes the other of the first post and the first socket,
wherein the first socket is configured to receive the first post to form the first joint, and
wherein the first socket includes a pair of recesses,
each recess of the pair of recesses receiving one of the ledges when the clip is coupled to the first joint.
Per above with regards to the several elements. See claims 2, 3, 8 and 9.
Regarding
wherein the first socket includes a pair of recesses,
each recess of the pair of recesses receiving one of the ledges when the clip is coupled to the first joint.
The sockets of 6 generally are seen to have at least an upper and a lower recess into which and where the elements shown in Fig. 5 may project.
With respect to claim 12, Devaux as set forth above discloses the rack mount assembly of claim 1, including one further comprising:
at least one module supported on the main support surface,
the at least one module being configured to receive at least one optical fiber;
wherein the at least one module includes a cover and a base,
the cover being coupled to the base at a hinge; and
wherein the at least one module encloses at least one splice tray for routing at least one optical fiber.
Figs. 1-4 are seen to show splice trays at the rear, which splice trays are seen as hinged at least along the lines of Fig. 10.
With respect to claim 13, Devaux as set forth above discloses an equipment rack in a fiber optic network having one or more feeder cables containing one or more optical fibers, including one comprising:
one or more rack mount assemblies of claim 1 mounted in the equipment rack,
wherein the one or more optical fibers are routed to the one or more rack mount assemblies.
Per the abstract.
With respect to claim 14, Devaux as set forth above discloses a method of installing a rack mount assembly including a shelf, a first bracket, and a second bracket in an equipment rack of a fiber optic network that is configured to receive one or more feeder cables, the method comprising:
attaching the first bracket to a first vertical frame member of the equipment rack;
attaching the second bracket to a second vertical frame member of the equipment rack;
pivoting the shelf outwardly relative to the second vertical frame to an opened position in which the shelf extends outwardly of the first vertical frame member at a first joint formed between the shelf and the first bracket;
routing one or more optical fibers from the one or more feeder cables along a main support surface of the shelf; and
pivoting the shelf from the opened position to a closed position in which the shelf is coupled to the first bracket at the first joint and the second bracket at a second joint.
The method of claim 14 would naturally occur during the assembly and use of a device according to Devaux as set forth above.
With respect to claim 15, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 14, including one wherein
prior to pivoting the shelf to the opened position, the method further comprises:
attaching a clip to the first joint to form a hinge at the first joint (Figs. 5 and 7),
wherein routing includes routing the one or more optical fibers proximate the hinge (Fig. 5, "It comprises two symmetrical guide channels 4C, 4D lateral optical fibers downstream of the guide portion of the support part 2.").
With respect to claim 16, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, including one wherein
after attaching the clip and before routing the one or more optical fibers, the method further comprises:
removing the clip from the first joint; and
attaching the clip to the second joint to form a hinge at the second joint,
wherein routing the one or more optical fibers includes routing the one or more optical fibers proximate the hinge.
As the clips 4A and 4B are interchangeable, such a switch/swap would achieve the steps set forth in claim 15.
With respect to claim 17, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 14, including one wherein
prior to pivoting the shelf to the opened position, the method further comprises:
attaching the shelf to the first bracket to form the first joint; and
attaching the shelf to the second bracket to form the second joint.
Per the normal/natural use of Devaux.
With respect to claim 18, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 17, including one wherein
attaching the shelf to the first bracket follows attaching the first bracket to the first vertical frame member, and
attaching the shelf to the second bracket follows attaching the second bracket to the second vertical frame member.
Per the normal/natural use of Devaux.
With respect to claim 19, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 17, including one wherein
attaching the shelf to the first bracket includes pushing the shelf into engagement with the first bracket, and
attaching the shelf to the second bracket includes pushing the shelf into engagement with the second bracket to form the first joint and the second joint, respectively.
Per the normal/natural use of Devaux. Figs. 5 and 7.
With respect to claim 20, Devaux as set forth above discloses the method of claim 14, including one wherein
routing the one or more optical fibers includes routing the one or more optical fibers through a module supported on the main support surface.
Per the normal/natural use of Devaux. See claim 13, above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s publication US 20240418957 A1 published December 19, 2024 is cited.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references have elements related to Applicant’s disclosure and/or claims or are otherwise associated with the other cited references, particularly with respect to telecommunications cabinets and related devices/systems.
/Andrew Jordan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874
V: (571) 270-1571 (Pacific time)
F: (571) 270-2571
May 30, 2026