DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on January 21, 2026 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 21, 39 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks as they pertain to the drawing objection of claim 42, while Applicant points to Figure 11C, Figure 11C does not show “after the light is transmitted from the output element” - i.e. Figure 11C does not have output elements (1730, 1730b). As per claim 39, and the corresponding embodiment (Figs. 17, 18), the light output element is (1730, 1730b). The drawings do not show the claimed subject matter of claim 42 whereby after output element (1730, 1730b) and before transmission through optics (1130), and before the light is reflected by the SLM, transmitting light through a polarizer. In other words, the Figures 17, 18 do not show polarizer (1150) between (1730, 1730b) and (1130).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
“a polarizer disposed along a first optical path between the first location and the pixelated spatial light modulator and along a second optical path between the pixelated spatial light modulator and the second location” (claim 35) - i.e. polarizer (1150) in not along the path between the first location (1730, 1730b) and the SLM (1140) in Figs. 17, 18.
“after the light is transmitted from the output element, before the light is transmitted through the optics, and before the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator, transmitting light through a polarizer” (claim 42) - i.e. there is no polarizer between (1730, 1730b) and (1130) in Figs. 17-18.
“after the light is transmitted from the output element, after the light is transmitted through the optics, and before the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator, transmitting the light through a polarizer” (claim 43) - i.e. there is no polarizer between optics (1130) and SLM (1140) in Figs. 17, 18.
“after the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator and before the light is transmitted through the optics, transmitting the light through a polarizer” (claim 44) - i.e. there is no polarizer between optics (1130) and SLM (1140) in Figs. 17, 18.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 24, the claim recites via claim 21 “optics having an optical power…” and then in claim 24 “further comprising optics having optical power” which, as per the specification/figures, appear to be the same optics (1130). The metes and bounds are unclear if claim 24 introduces additional optics (further comprising) or if the optics of claim 21 and 24 the same as is consistent with the specification. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand the claim 24 optics the same as the optics in claim 21.
As to claim 25, the claim recites via claim 21 “optics having an optical power…” and then in claim 25 “further comprising optics having optical power” which, as per the specification/figures, appear to be the same optics (1130). The metes and bounds are unclear if claim 25 introduces additional optics (further comprising) or if the optics of claim 21 and 25 the same as is consistent with the specification. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand the claim 25 optics the same as the optics in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 24, 26, 28, 30-32, 34, 36, 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kasai et al. (JP 2001-264682; cited by Applicant; herein Kasai).
As to claim 21, Kasai teaches a display system (Kasai Fig. 12) comprising at least one light source configured to output light (Kasai Fig. 12 - 6);
a pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - reflection type liquid crystal display (3));
optics having optical power (Kasai Fig. 12 - condenser lens (5));
an optical element configured to receive the light from the at least one light source along a first direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - light guide/prism (1) receiving light (La) from LED (6) along illumination direction);
wherein the optical element comprises an output element disposed at a first location in an X-Z plane and configured to output the light through the optics along a second direction different from the first direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - output reflector (r13) outputs light to optics (5));
wherein the pixelated spatial light modulator is configured to receive the light from the optics (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, 3) and reflect the light toward a second location in the X-Z plane different from the first location (Kasai Fig. 12 - light reflected from (3) toward (r14, r6) which is different from (r13)) and in a third direction non-parallel with the second direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - L, 3), wherein light that impinges on the pixelated spatial light modulator after passing through the optics is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator in the third direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - L, 3).
As to claim 23, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the first location is laterally offset from the second location (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13, r14/r6).
As to claim 24, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches comprising optics having optical power disposed between the optical element and the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 1, 5, 3).
As to claim 26, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 24, and Kasai further teaches the optics has a first side configured to receive light from the output element (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5), and a second side, opposite the firs side and configured to transmit the light to the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, 3).
As to claim 28, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 24, and Kasai further teaches at least one waveguide disposed to receive the light reflected from the pixelated spatial light modulator after the light reflected from the pixelated spatial light modulator passes through the optics (Kasai Fig. 12 - 1).
As to claim 30, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches all of the light that impinges on the pixelated spatial light modulator after passing through the optics is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator in the third direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - L).
As to claim 31, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the optics comprises a first portion that receives light along the second direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5), and a second portion that outputs the light reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, 3).
As to claim 32, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the optical element further comprises an input element that receives the light from the at least one light source (Kasai Fig. 2 - r14).
As to claim 34, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the optical element comprises a waveguide (Kasai Fig. 12 - 1).
As to claim 36, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the output element comprises a reflector that is not a beam splitter (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13).
As to claim 38, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches at least one light distributing element configured to receive the light reflected from the pixelated spatial light modulator and emit the light reflected from the pixelated spatial light modulator toward an eye of a user (Kasai Fig. 12 - r3, 2).
As to claim 39, Kasai teaches a method (Kasai Fig. 12) comprising transmitting light from at least one light source to an optical element (Kasai Fig. 12 - 6, 1);
receiving, at an output element of the optical element (Kasai Fig 12 - r13), the light along a first direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - light (La) along illumination direction), wherein the output element is disposed at a first location in an X-Z plane (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13);
transmitting light from the output element along a second direction different from the first direction through optics having an optical power (Kasai Fig. 12 - condenser lens (5)) and toward a pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13, L, 3);
reflecting the light from the pixelated spatial light modulator toward a second location in the X-Z plane (Kasai Fig. 12 - L, r14, r6) different from the first location in a third direction non-parallel with the second direction (Kasai Fig. 12 - L).
As to claim 40, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 39, and Kasai further teaches after the light is transmitted from the output element and before the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator, transmitting the light through the optics (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5).
As to claim 41, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 40, and Kasai further teaches transmitting the light through the optics after the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, 3, L).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27, 29, 33, 35, 37, 42, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai as applied to claims 21, 24, 32, 40 above, and further in view of Robbins et al. (US 2016/0077338 - Robbins; of record).
As to claim 25, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches comprising optics having optical power disposed between the optical element and the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 1, 5, 3).
Kasai does not specify a polarizer along an optical path of the light reflected by the SLM and between the optics and eye of the user.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches a display with SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230; para. [0041]), optics having optical power (Robbins Fig. 3A - 226; para. [0052]), a polarizer along an optical path of the light reflected by the SLM and between the optics and eye of the user (Robbins Fig. 3A - 289; para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such a polarizer since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizer allows for cleaning up polarization errors from the display (Robbins para. [0051]).
As to claim 27, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 24, and Kasai further teaches the optics comprise a first side configured to receive light from the output element (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5).
Kasai doesn’t specify a polarizer disposed along the optical path of the light between the first side of the optics and the at least one light source.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches display systems for HMDs with having an SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230; Fig. 3C - 230) with light sources (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222; Fig. 3C - 222), optics (Robbins Fig. 3A - 226; Fig. 3C - 226, 250), and a polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224, 402) along the optical path between the light source/input (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222; Fig. 3C - 222, 401) and optics (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222, 224, 226; [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such elements since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizers are well known in the art for reflecting the intended polarization from the light source to the optics/display (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222, 224, 226; [0055]).
As to claim 29, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kasai further teaches the optics are disposed between the optical element and the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, 3), the optics comprise a first side configured to receive light from the output element (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, r8) and a second side opposite the first side and configured to transmit the light to the pixelated spatial light modulator (Kasai Fig. 12 - 5, r9), wherein the first side of the optics is closer to the optical element than the second side of the optics (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13, r8, r9).
Kasai doesn’t specify a polarizer disposed along an optical path between the spatial light modulator and the optical element, wherein the light reflected by the spatial light modulator passes through the polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches display systems for HMDs with having an SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230; Fig. 3C - 230) with light sources (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222; Fig. 3C - 222), optical element (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222; Fig. 3C - 222, 401) and a polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224; Fig. 3C - 402) disposed along an optical path between the spatial light modulator and the optical element, wherein the light reflected by the spatial light modulator passes through the polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3A - 237).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such elements since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizers are well known in the art for reflecting the intended polarization and passing the SLM polarization (Robbins Fig. 3A - 222, 224, 226; [0055]).
As to claim 33, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 32, and Kasai further teaches the output element comprises a reflector (Kasai Fig. 12 - r13), but doesn’t specify the input element is also a reflector.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins HMD displays having input/output elements as reflectors (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224, 234). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide input/output reflectors since, as taught by Robbins, reflectors are well known in the art for the purpose of directing the light to the intended directions/elements (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224, 234).
As to claim 35, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, but doesn’t specify a polarizer disposed along a first optical path between the first location and the pixelated spatial light modulator and a long a second optical path between the pixelated spatial light modulator and the second location.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches HMDs displays having SLMs (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230; Fig. 3C - 230) and a polarizer disposed along a first optical path between a first location and the pixelated SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224; para. [0055]) and a second optical path between the SLM and a second location (Robbins Fig. 3A - 224).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such a polarizer since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizer allows for cleaning up polarization errors from the display (Robbins para. [0051]).
As to claim 37, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, but doesn’t specify a polarizer along an optical path between the first location and an eye of a user, the light reflected by the SLM passes through the polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches a display with SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230; para. [0041]) a polarizer between the first location and an eye of the user and the light reflected by the SLM passing through the polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3A - 289; para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such a polarizer since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizer allows for cleaning up polarization errors from the display (Robbins para. [0051]).
As to claim 42, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 40, but doesn’t specify after the light is transmitted from the output element, before the light is transmitted through the optics, and before the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator, transmitting the light through a polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches HMD displays having an SLM (Robbins Fig. 3C - 230), optics (Robbins Fig. 3C - 250), transmitting light from an output element (Robbins Fig. 3C - 222, 401) and after the light is transmitted from the output element, before transmitted through the optics, and before reflected by the SLM, transmitting through a polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3C - 402; para. [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such polarizer since, as taught by Robbins, such beamsplitter are well known in the art for passing/reflecting polarization states to direct light along the various paths (Robbins Fig. 3C - 402; para. [0066]).
As to claim 45, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 40, but doesn’t specify after light is reflected by the SLM and after the light is transmitted through the optics, transmitting the light through a polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Robbins teaches a HMD having an SLM (Robbins Fig. 3A - 230), optics (Robbins Fig. 3A - 226), and after light reflected from the SLM, and transmitted through the optics, transmitting light through a polarizer (Robbins Fig. 3A - 289; para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such a polarizer since, as taught by Robbins, such polarizer allows for cleaning up polarization errors from the display (Robbins para. [0051]).
Claims 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Freeman et al. (US 2007/0171329 - Freeman; of record).
As to claim 43, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 40, but doesn’t specify after the light is transmitted from the output element, after the light is transmitted through the optics, and before the light is reflected by the pixelated SLM, transmitting the light through a polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Freeman teaches displays for HMDs where after the light is transmitted from the output element (Freeman Fig. 3A), after the light is transmitted through the optics (Freeman Fig. 3A), and before the light is reflected by an SLM (Freeman Fig. 3B - 326), transmitting the light through a polarizer (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a polarizer between the optics and SLM since, as taught by Freeman, such polarizers allow for rotating polarization for light path directing (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]).
As to claim 44, Kasai teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 40, but doesn’t specify after the light is reflected by the pixelated spatial light modulator and before the light is transmitted through the optics, transmitting the light through a polarizer.
In the same field of endeavor Freeman teaches displays for HMDs having an SLM (Freeman Fig. 3B - 326), and optics (Freeman Fig. 3A - 110; Fig. 3B - 322), after light reflected by the SLM, and before light is transmitted thorough the optics, transmitting the light through a polarizer (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a polarizer between the optics and SLM since, as taught by Freeman, such polarizers allow for rotating polarization for light path directing (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]).
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (cited above) in view of Roest (US 2002/0167733; of record).
As to claim 1, Freeman teaches a display system comprising at least one light source configured to output light (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 306, 308, 310);
a spatial light modulator (SLM) (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 326; [0045]);
at least one waveguide comprising (Freeman Fig. 3B - 318) a first surface (Freeman Fig. 3B - bottom surface of (318); bottom surface of (102)), a second surface opposite the first surface (Freeman Fig. 3B - top surface of (318); top surface of (102)), a first edge and a second edge between the first surface and the second surface (Freeman Fig. 3B - edges of (318));
an output element disposed between the first surface and the second surface at a first location in an X-Z plane (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - left side reflecting end of (318)), wherein the at least one waveguide is configured to receive the light from the at least one light source (Freeman Fig. 3A-B - 318, 306, 308, 310), and the output element is configured to receive the light propagating in the at least one waveguide in a first direction (Freeman Fig. 3B - propagating left/right) and output the light along a second direction different from the first direction (Freeman Fig. 3B - output light down (second direction));
optics having optical power (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 322, 110, 328, 304), wherein the optics are disposed between the at least one waveguide and the SLM (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 322, 326);
wherein the SLM is configured to receive the light from the optics reflect the light along a third direction non-parallel with the second direction (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - third direction (up and angled) non-parallel second direction (down)) toward a second location in the X-Z plane that is different from the first location (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - SLM (326) reflects light toward second location (304/110) different from the first location (end of 318)), and wherein the SLM is disposed closer to the first surface than the second surface of the at least one waveguide (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 326, 318), and wherein light that impinges on the SLM after passing through the optics is reflected by the SLM in the third direction (Freeman Figs. 3A - 326).
Freeman doesn’t specify the SLM is a pixelated type SLM. In the same field of endeavor Roest teaches pixelated SLMs for HMD displays (Roest Fig. 1 - 6; Fig. 2 - 26; para. [0014], [0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a pixelated SLM since, as taught by Roest, such LCOS displays are well known in the art for image generation in HMD display systems (Roest Fig. 1 - 6; Fig. 2 - 26; para. [0014], [0015]).
As to claim 2, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the optics are disposed closer to the first surface than the second surface of the at least one waveguide (Freeman Fig. 3B - 322, 318).
As to claim 3, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the at least one waveguide comprises a first input element disposed between the first surface and the second surface of the at least one waveguide (Freeman Fig. 3B - 318; para. [0048] - unlabeled internal reflectors between bottom (first) surface of (102, 318) and top (second) surface of (102, 318)).
As to claim 4, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the at least one waveguide further comprises an input element coupled to the second surface of the at least one waveguide and opposite the at least one light source (Freeman Fig. 3B - 318; para. [0048] - unlabeled internal reflectors).
As to claim 6, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Freeman further teaches the input element is a reflective in-coupling optical element disposed in the at least one waveguide (Freeman Fig. 3B - 318; para. [0048] - unlabeled internal reflectors).
As to claim 7, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Freeman further teaches a second input element coupled to the second surface of the at least one waveguide (Freeman Fig. 3A - input element (110) coupled to top (second) surface of (102, 318)).
As to claim 8, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and Freeman further teaches the output element is disposed between the second input element and the first input element (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - output element (left reflector of 318) between second input element (110) and first input element (input reflectors of (318)).
As to claim 10, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the at least one light source comprises a plurality of laterally displaced light emitters (Freeman Fig. 3B - 306, 308, 310), but doesn’t specify the light source is disposed closer to the first surface (bottom/posterior) than the second surface (top/anterior).
It would have been obvious to provide the light source closer to the first surface than the second surface since, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Such rearrangement of light sources (306, 308, and/or 310) allow for compact layout design considerations of the system.
As to claim 11, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Freeman further teaches a polarizer disposed along an optical path of the light reflected by the pixelated SLM between the optics and an eye of a user (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]).
As to claim 13, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Freeman further teaches a polarizer disposed along an optical path of the light from the at least one light source tht was reflected and transmitted through the optics (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]).
As to claim 14, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Freeman further teaches a polarizer disposed along an optical path of the light from the at least one light source that was reflected and transmitted between the optics and the pixelated SLM (Freeman Figs. 3A-B - 322, 328, 326).
As to claim 18, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the output element is opaque and comprises at least one of a mirror, reflective grating, or one or more coatings (Freeman Fig. 3B - left reflective end of (318)).
As to claim 19, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches a polarizer disposed between the at least one light source and pixelated SLM (Freeman Fig. 3A - 328; para. [0056]).
As to claim 20, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Freeman further teaches the light reflected from the pixelated SLM is projected into an eye of a user (Freeman Fig. 5- 114), wherein the eye is closer to the first surface than the second surface of the at least one waveguide (Freeman Fig. 5 - 114).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman and Roest as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Brown et al. (US 8,830,588 - Brown; of record).
As to claim 5, Freeman in view of Roest teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, but doesn’t specify a diffractive in-coupling optical element disposed on the second surface of the at least one waveguide.
In the same field of endeavor Brown teaches a display system having a waveguide and a diffractive in-coupling optical element on a second surface (Brown Fig. 2 - 42, 40; col. 4:26-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a diffractive in-coupling since, as taught by Brown, such in-coupling is well known in the art for launching light from the light source(s) into a waveguide (Brown Fig. 2 - 42, 40; col. 4:26-38).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 6, 2026