DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa et al. (hereinafter Thangarasa)(US 2020/0178172) in view of Ganesan et al. (hereinafter Ganesan)(US 2023/0262601).
Regarding claim 1, Thangarasa teaches a transmission method for a power saving signal, comprising: determining, by a terminal, a transmission manner for a power saving signal based on a measurement result for a reference signal, the transmission manner comprising a first transmission manner or a second transmission manner; and receiving, by the terminal, the power saving signal in a determined transmission manner from a network device(P[0089], signal level may be determined based on the UE coverage level, a signal level; P[0108], based on reported measurement; P[0272], power saving capability indicating type or operational mode of the wireless device).
Thangarasa did not teach specifically wherein the first transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a wake- up receiver of the terminal, and the second transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a primary receiver of the terminal; and the first transmission manner is different from the second transmission manner in a parameter of at least one of a waveform, a modulation mode, a coding mode, or a multiple access mode. However, Ganesan teaches in an analogous art wherein the first transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a wake- up receiver of the terminal, and the second transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a primary receiver of the terminal; and the first transmission manner is different from the second transmission manner in a parameter of at least one of a waveform, a modulation mode, a coding mode, or a multiple access mode(abstract; radio resource configuration for power saving; first receiver including wakeup receiver; second receiver includes baseband processing unit separate from the first receiver; P[0037], modulation; P[0135]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the first transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a wake- up receiver of the terminal, and the second transmission manner is a transmission manner corresponding to a primary receiver of the terminal; and the first transmission manner is different from the second transmission manner in a parameter of at least one of a waveform, a modulation mode, a coding mode, or a multiple access mode in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal, configuration information; wherein determining, by the terminal, the transmission manner for the power saving signal comprises: determining, by the terminal, the transmission manner for the power saving signal according to the configuration information(Ganesan: item 802, receive radio resource configuration for wakeup signal reception; item 808 in Fig. 8; determine to wakeup the second receiver based on the wakeup signal).
Regarding claim 3, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration information is carried in at least one of: a system message; a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling; or a physical layer signaling(Thangarasa: P[0271], RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 4, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: sending, by the terminal, uplink information, wherein the uplink information is used to assist a network device in determining the transmission manner for the power saving signal(Thangarasa: P[0270], obtaining information related to power saving capability from the wireless device)
Regarding claim 5, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of claim 4, wherein sending, by the terminal, the uplink information comprises: sending, by the terminal, the uplink information via an uplink channel; or sending, by the terminal, the uplink information via a backscatter signal(P[0123], determination can be based on uplink signal measurement transmitted by the UE).
Regarding claim 6, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches wherein the uplink information comprises: a measurement result for a reference signal; or feedback information for a triggering signal, wherein the triggering signal is sent by the network device in the first transmission manner(Thangarasa: P[0110], event triggered reporting).
Regarding claim 7, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the uplink channel comprises at least one of: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); or a physical random access channel (PRACH)(Thangarasu: P[0109], PRACH; Ganesan: P[0099], PUCCH; P[0068], PUSCH).
Regarding claim 9, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of obtaining, by the terminal, a threshold value configured by a network device, wherein determining, by the terminal, the transmission manner for the power saving signal based on the measurement result for the reference signal comprises: determining, by the terminal, the transmission manner for the power saving signal based on a magnitude comparison between the measurement result for the reference signal and the threshold value(Thangarasa: Figure 9; P[0152-0160]; P[0152], threshold).
Regarding claim 10, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method, further comprising: reporting, by the terminal, the transmission manner for the power saving signal(Thangarasu: P[0109], reported measurement result, PRACH CE level).
Regarding claim 12, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the method of determining, by the terminal, spatial information of the power saving signal, wherein receiving, by the terminal, the power saving signal sent in the first transmission manner comprises: receiving, by the terminal based on the spatial information of the power saving signal, the power saving signal sent in the first transmission manner(Thangarasa: P[0137], signal level may include coverage level of the wireless device; P[0151], UE coverage level; UE is configured to determine whether to apply the WUS based on the obtained configuration data).
Claims 13-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 3, 2, 5+6+7, 9, 12-13, 1 respectively.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 7 or 3.
Regarding claim 22, Thangarasa in view of Ganesan teaches the, wherein receiving, by the terminal, the power saving signal in the determined transmission manner from the network device comprises: receiving, by the terminal, the power saving signal sent by a wireless power supply node in the first transmission manner(Ganesan: items 804-806 in Fig. 8; WUS in a resource indicated by the radio resource configuration by the wake-up receiver).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647