DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, 14, 19 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20220129657 A1), and further in view of Nagasaka (US 20050029612 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a fingerprint sensor package carrier, comprising:
a film member including a plurality of through-holes formed in sides of the film member (base film 400 with holes 410, Para. 116, Fig. 11B); and
a plurality of fingerprint sensor packages arranged between the sides of the film member (a base film 400 on which the fingerprint sensor modules 10P (see FIG. 11A) is to be mounted, Para. 116-117; Figs. 11A, 11B),
wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages includes a substrate and a controller chip disposed on the substrate (substrate base layer 111 and chip 210, Para. 29, 31; Fig. 11C),
wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages includes a plurality of first sensing patterns and a plurality of second sensing patterns, wherein the plurality of first sensing patterns are spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extend in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the plurality of second sensing patterns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extend in the first direction (sensing patterns 125R and 127T, Para. 37), and
wherein the film member has adhesiveness, such that the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages are detachably coupled to the film member (via adhesive 420, Para. 119, Fig. 11B).
Lim fails to disclose the film member overlaps the plurality of first and second sensing patterns.
Nagasaka teaches including detachable protective film to cover image sensors (a protective film to the cover member surface in a detachable manner so that the cover member can be protected, Para. 2-4).
From the teachings of Nagasaka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim to include a film member overlaps the plurality of first and second sensing patterns in order to protect the sensing patterns.
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses wherein the substrate is disposed between the controller chip and the film member (substrate 100 and chip 210, Para. 29, Fig. 11C), and wherein the film member has an adhesiveness, such that the film member is configured to detach from the substrate (adhesive 420, Para. 119).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
a passive component disposed on the substrate (element 220, Para. 29); and
a molding layer covering the controller chip and the passive component (molding 230, Para. 76).
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes: a second molding layer covering the controller chip (first molding portion 241, Para. 112); and a first molding layer covering the second molding layer (second molding 243 surrounding first molding 241, Para. 112).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
a base layer (111, Para. 31; Fig. 11C);
an upper insulating layer disposed between the base layer and the film member (115, Para. 59; Fig. 11C); and
an upper protective layer disposed between the upper insulating layer and the film member (layer 119, Para. 60; Fig. 11C),
wherein the upper insulating layer is disposed between the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing pattern (Fig. 11C), and
wherein the film member has an adhesiveness, such that upper protective layers of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages are detachable from the film member (420, Para. 117).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
a lower insulating layer disposed between the base layer and the controller chip (layer 113, Para. 53; Fig. 11C);
a lower protective layer disposed between the lower insulating layer and the controller chip (protection layer 117, Para. 31; Fig. 11C);
a ground pattern disposed between the lower insulating layer and the base layer and vertically overlapping the controller chip (123G, Para. 38; Fig. 11C); and
conductive vias spaced apart from the ground pattern and electrically connecting the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns to the controller chip (131R, 133R, 135R, Para. 39; Fig. 11C).
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20220129657 A1), and further in view of Huang (US 20170228529 A1) and Nagasaka (US 20050029612 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lim fails to disclose wherein the film member has an adhesiveness that is weakened by ultraviolet rays.
Huang teaches a fingerprint sensor package carrier including an adhesiveness that is weakened by ultraviolet rays (Para. 46-47, 69-70).
From the teachings of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim to include wherein the film member has an adhesiveness that is weakened by ultraviolet rays in order to allow efficient removal of the fingerprint sensor packages using UV lights.
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses wherein the film member includes:
a film (film 400, Para. 116, Fig. 11B);
an adhesive layer disposed on the film (adhesive 420, Para. 117); and
a resin layer disposed between the adhesive layer and the film (base layer 111 include resin, Para. 49),
wherein the film has the plurality of through-holes (Fig. 11B).
Huang teaches a fingerprint sensor package carrier including a release layer that is weakened by ultraviolet rays (Para. 46-47, 69-70).
From the teachings of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim to include a release layer disposed on the film; and the adhesive layer disposed between the release layer and the film in order to allow efficient removal of the fingerprint sensor packages using UV lights.
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
an edge substrate spaced apart from the substrate and surrounding the substrate (layer 115, Para. 55); and
conductive wires electrically connecting the edge substrate to the substrate (conductive patterns 125G, 125R, and 125T, Para. 55),
wherein the film member has adhesiveness, such that the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages is detachable from the film member (adhesive 420, Para. 117).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
an edge substrate having a portion vertically overlapping the substrate (layer 113, Para. 31); and
conductive wires electrically connecting the edge substrate to the substrate (conductive patterns 123G, 123R, and 123T, Para. 31),
wherein the film member is spaced apart from the substrate of each plurality of fingerprint sensor package, and has adhesiveness, such that the edge substrate of each plurality of fingerprint sensor packages is detachable from the film member (open areas 410 and adhesive 420, Para. 117; Fig. 11B).
Regarding claims 11, 12, Lim discloses a fingerprint sensor package carrier, comprising:
a film member including a film (base film 400 with holes 410, Para. 116, Fig. 11B),
a plurality of fingerprint sensor packages arranged on the film member (a base film 400 on which the fingerprint sensor modules 10P (see FIG. 11A) is to be mounted, Para. 116-117; Figs. 11A, 11B), wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages includes a controller chip and a substrate disposed between the controller chip and the film member (substrate base layer 111 and chip 210, Para. 29, 31; Fig. 11C), and
wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages has a plurality of first sensing patterns and a plurality of second sensing patterns, wherein the plurality of first sensing patterns are spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extend in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the plurality of second sensing patterns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extend in the first direction (sensing patterns 125R and 127T, Para. 37),
wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages includes an upper protective layer covering the plurality of second sensing patterns (via layer 119 to cover the sensing patterns, Para. 60).
Lim fails to disclose a release layer disposed on the film; and the adhesive layer disposed between the release layer and the film.
Huang teaches a fingerprint sensor package carrier including a release layer that is weakened by ultraviolet rays (Para. 46-47, 69-70).
From the teachings of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim to include a release layer disposed on the film; and the adhesive layer disposed between the release layer and the film in order to allow efficient removal of the fingerprint sensor packages using UV lights.
Lim and Huang fail to disclose wherein a surface of the film member is detachably coupled to a surface of the upper protective layer.
Nagasaka teaches a surface of a film member is detachably coupled to a surface of the upper protective layer of a sensor (a protective film to the cover member surface in a detachable manner so that the cover member can be protected, Para. 4).
From the teachings of Nagasaka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim and Huang to include a surface of a film member is detachably coupled to a surface of the upper protective layer in order to protect the upper protective layer.
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes: a second molding layer covering the controller chip (first molding portion 241, Para. 112); and a first molding layer covering the second molding layer (second molding 243 surrounding first molding 241, Para. 112).
Regarding claim 14, Lim, Huang and Nagasaka disclose the claimed invention, wherein Lim discloses wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
a base layer (111, Para. 31; Fig. 11C); and
an upper insulating layer disposed between the base layer and the film member (115, Para. 59; Fig. 11C);
wherein the upper protective layer is disposed between the upper insulating layer and the film member (layer 119, Para. 60; Fig. 11C),
wherein the upper insulating layer is disposed between the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing pattern (Fig. 11C), and
wherein the upper protective layer is disposed on the release layer (sensor package comprising layer 119 to be placed in opening 410, Para. 118; Fig. 11B and 11C).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses wherein the substrate of each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages further includes:
a lower insulating layer disposed between the base layer and the controller chip (layer 113, Para. 53; Fig. 11C);
a lower protective layer disposed between the lower insulating layer and the controller chip (protection layer 117, Para. 31; Fig. 11C);
a ground pattern disposed between the lower insulating layer and the base layer and vertically overlapping the controller chip (123G, Para. 38; Fig. 11C); and
conductive vias spaced apart from the ground pattern and electrically connecting the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns to the controller chip (131R, 133R, 135R, Para. 39; Fig. 11C).
Regarding claim 16, Lim and Huang discloses the claimed invention, wherein Lim discloses wherein each of the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages includes:
an edge substrate spaced apart from the substrate, wherein the edge substrate surrounds the substrate (layer 115, Para. 55); and
conductive wires electrically connecting the edge substrate to the substrate (conductive patterns 125G, 125R, and 125T, Para. 55),
wherein the substrate is in contact with the release layer (sensor package comprising substrate to be placed in opening 410, Para. 118; Fig. 11B and 11C).
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses wherein the film member further includes a support film including a plurality of through-holes formed in sides of the support film (PF holes 430 on top and bottom of film, Para. 117, Fig. 11B), and wherein the film, the release layer, and the adhesive layer are disposed between the plurality of fingerprint sensor packages and the support film (Para. 118; Fig. 11B and 11C).
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses wherein the film, the release layer, and the adhesive layer do not have the plurality of through-holes therein (PF holes 430 on top and bottom of film, Para. 117, Fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 19, Lim and Huang teaches a fingerprint sensor package assembly method, comprising:
detaching a fingerprint sensor package from a film member (UV lights, Para. 47 of Huang and see rejection of claim 11),
wherein the fingerprint sensor package includes a substrate, a controller chip disposed on the substrate (substrate base layer 111 and chip 210, Lim, Para. 29, 31; Fig. 11C), and
a molding layer covering the controller chip (230, Lim, Para. 76; Fig. 11C); and
disposing the fingerprint sensor package in a groove region of a device body (open area 410 of film 400, Lim, Para. 117),
wherein a horizontal size of a portion of the fingerprint sensor package, other than the molding layer, before being detached from the film member is the same as a horizontal size of the portion of the fingerprint sensor package, other than the molding layer, after being disposed in the groove region of the device body (release layer 502 may be an ultra-violet (UV) glue, which loses its adhesive property when exposed to UV lights. Release layer 502 may be dispensed as a liquid, Huang, Para. 47).
Lim and Huang fail to disclose the film member overlaps a plurality of first sensing patterns and a plurality of second sensing patterns, included in the fingerprint sensor.
Nagasaka teaches including detachable protective film to cover image sensors (a protective film to the cover member surface in a detachable manner so that the cover member can be protected, Para. 2-4).
From the teachings of Nagasaka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim and Huang to include a film member overlaps a plurality of first sensing patterns and a plurality of second sensing patterns, included in the fingerprint sensor in order to protect the fingerprint sensor.
Regarding claim 20, Lim, Nagasaka, and Huang teaches wherein the detaching includes emitting ultraviolet rays to the fingerprint sensor package or the film member (Huang, Para. 47), wherein the film member has a plurality of through-holes formed in sides of the film member (PF holes 430, Lim, Para. 117, Fig. 11B), and wherein the fingerprint sensor package is disposed between the sides of the film member (open areas 410, Lim, Para. 117, Fig. 11B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new reference not presented before (Nagasaka US 20050029612).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689