DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohtoku (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0212466; already of record) in view of Ikeda et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0407385; already of record) and in view of Aurongzeb et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0263179; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kohtoku discloses a method of adjusting a temperature (i.e. cooling unit 90 for cooling a plurality of areas A-D of a liquid crystal panel 10) of an electronic apparatus (liquid crystal display device 100) including a panel substrate (liquid crystal panel 10) on which a plurality of elements (pixels 30) are mounted, (fig. 48, [0261-0262]), comprising:
a first step of detecting temperatures of the panel substrate (10) in a plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each temperature sensors 170) set in the panel substrate (10) (i.e. the temperature sensors 170 is located in addition to the light receiving sensors 122 and is thus in the liquid crystal panel 10), by a plurality of temperature detectors (170), (figs. 36 and 48, [0202-0203]); and
a second step of individually adjusting temperatures (i.e. cooling unit 90a-90d can cool the plurality of areas A-D) of a plurality of adjustment regions (areas A-D), by a temperature adjuster (90), set in the panel substrate (10) in accordance with the detected temperatures of the panel substrate (10) in the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. each region of the temperature sensors 170 is for sensing temperature), (figs. 36 and 48, [0255-0256 and 0266-0269]),
the temperature adjuster (90) includes a cooling member (cooling pipes 98a-98d) connected to the panel substrate (10) and configured to cool the panel substrate (1), (fig. 48, [0062-0063 and 0269]),
the cooling member (98a-98d) comprises a plurality of medium flow channels (93a-93d), each of the plurality of medium flow channels (93a) including an inlet flow channel section (i.e. section A) extending in a first direction (vertical direction), an outlet flow channel section (i.e. section B) extending in the first direction (vertical direction), and a joint flow channel section (i.e. section C) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, (see fig. 48 reproduced below, [0269]),
a circuit wiring (i.e. signal lines) extends from each of the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each temperature sensors 170) to a backlight control section 240 (i.e. the temperature sensors 170 are connected to the backlight control section 240 via signal lines, and the temperature of each area of the backlight unit 20 is sent to the backlight control section 240),
a detection result (i.e. sensed temperature) of each of the plurality of temperature detectors (170) is sent at least through the circuit wiring (i.e. signal lines), (figs. 36 and 38, [0203]).
However, Kohtoku does not mention wherein the plurality of temperature detectors are formed by film formation on a surface of the panel substrate and made of a metal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ikeda teaches
a temperature adjuster (28), set in the panel substrate (21), (figs. 10 and 12, [0064 and 0071]),
wherein the plurality of temperature detectors (8) are formed by film formation (i.e. anode electrode insulating film 96 and anode electrode of light emitting element 3, wherein the light emitting element 3 may also be used as the temperature sensor 8) on a surface of the panel substrate (21) and made of a metal (i.e. anode electrode 23 can be made of metals of Mo and Ti), (figs. 8 and 15, [0083, 0085-0086 and 0133]),
a circuit wiring (i.e. wiring from temperature sensor 8 to detection circuit 211) extends from each of the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. each region of temperature sensor 8) to a peripheral region (i.e. detection circuit 211 may be provided to the drive IC 210 which is in the peripheral region GA) of the panel substrate (array substrate 2), (figs. 1, 14 and 15, [0023-0024 and 0132]), and
a detection result (i.e. output voltage Vf of temperature sensor 8) of each of the plurality of temperature detectors (8) is sent at least through the circuit wiring (211), (fig. 15, [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohtoku, by specifically providing the film formation of the temperature detector, as taught by Ikeda, for the purpose of detecting temperature by using a light emitting element.
However, Kohtoku in view of Ikeda does not mention the cooling member functions as a frame for holding the panel substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Aurongzeb teaches the cooling member (cooling channels 78) functions as a frame (72) for holding the panel substrate (front OLED 64 and rear OLED 64) (i.e. cooling channels 78 are integrate in the display support midframe 72 which holds the front and read OLEDs 64), (figs. 6 and 8, [0031 and 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohtoku in view of Ikeda, by specifically providing the cooling member functions as a frame, as taught by Aurongzeb, for the purpose of holding the front and rear OLEDs together to the midframe.
Regarding claim 2, Kohtoku discloses
each of the plurality of adjustment regions (areas A-D) of the panel substrate (10) is provided with at least one of the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. each region of temperature sensors 170 is for sensing temperature), and,
in the first step, the temperatures of the panel substrate (10) are detected in the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each temperature sensor 170) provided in the plurality of adjustment regions (areas A-D) of the panel substrate (10), respectively, (figs. 36 and 48, [0202, 0261 and 0266-0269]).
Regarding claim 3, Kohtoku discloses
wherein the plurality of medium flow channels (98a-98d) corresponding to the plurality of adjustment regions (areas A-D) of the panel substrate (10) and configured to circulate a cooling medium (i.e. cooling medium ca be pure water) therein, (fig. 48, [0062-0063]), and,
in the second step, circulation states of the cooling medium (pure water) circulating in the plurality of medium flow channels (98a-98d) are individually adjusted in accordance with the temperatures of the panel substrate (10) in the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of temperature sensors 170 for detecting temperature), (fig. 48, [0256 and 0269]).
Regarding claim 4, please refer to claim 3 for details.
Regarding claim 5, Kohtoku discloses wherein, in the second step, flowrates of the cooling medium circulating in the plurality of medium flow channels (98a-98d) are individually adjusted as the circulation states of the cooling medium, (fig. 48, [0266-0269]).
Regarding claim 6, please refer to claim 5 for details.
Regarding claim 7, Kohtoku discloses
wherein, in the second step, cooling temperatures of the cooling medium circulating in the plurality of medium flow channels (98a-98d) are further adjusted as the circulation states of the cooling medium, (fig. 48, [0266-0269]).
Regarding claim 8, please refer to claim 7 for details.
Regarding claim 9, Kohtoku discloses an electronic apparatus (100) including a panel substrate (10) on which a plurality of elements (30) are mounted, (fig. 47, [0261-0262]), comprising:
a plurality of temperature detectors (122) provided in a plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each temperature sensors 170) set in the panel substrate (10) and configured to detect temperatures of the panel substrate (i.e. the temperature sensors 170 is located in addition to the light receiving sensors 122 and is thus in the liquid crystal panel 10), (figs. 36 and 47, [0202-0203]);
a temperature adjuster (90) including a plurality of temperature adjusting units (98a-98d) corresponding to a plurality of adjustment regions (areas A-D) set in the panel substrate (10), and configured to adjust the temperatures of the panel substrate, (fig. 47, [0255-0256 and 0266-0267); and
a controller (200 and 280) configured to control an operation of the temperature adjuster (90), (figs. 38 and 48, [0215 and 0269]);
a circuit wiring (i.e. signal lines) extending from each of the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each temperature sensors 170) to a backlight control section 240 (i.e. the temperature sensors 170 are connected to the backlight control section 240 via signal lines, and the temperature of each area of the backlight unit 20 is sent to the backlight control section 240), (figs. 36 and 38, [0203]),
wherein the controller (200 and 280) individually controls operations of the plurality of temperature adjusting units (98a-98d) in accordance with temperatures of the panel substrate (10) in the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. regions of each light receiving sensors 122) detected by the plurality of temperature detectors (122), (fig. 48, [0266-0269]),
the temperature adjuster (90) includes a cooling member (cooling pipes 98a-98d) connected to the panel substrate (10) and configured to cool the panel substrate (1), (fig. 48, [0062-0063 and 0269]),
the cooling member (98a-98d) comprises a plurality of medium flow channels (93a-93d), each of the plurality of medium flow channels (93a) including an inlet flow channel section (i.e. section A) extending in a first direction (vertical direction), an outlet flow channel section (i.e. section B) extending in the first direction (vertical direction), and a joint flow channel section (i.e. section C) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, (see fig. 48 reproduced below, [0269]),
a detection result (i.e. sensed temperature) of each of the plurality of temperature detectors (170) is sent to the controller (200 and 280) at least through the circuit wiring (i.e. temperature sensors 170 are connected to the backlight control section 240 via signal lines, wherein the backlight control section 240 is in the control section 200), (figs. 36 and 38, [0093 and 0203]).
However, Kohtoku does not mention the plurality of temperature detectors are formed by film formation on a surface of the panel substrate and made of a metal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ikeda teaches wherein the plurality of temperature detectors (8) are formed by film formation (i.e. anode electrode insulating film 96 and anode electrode of light emitting element 3, wherein the light emitting element 3 may also be used as the temperature sensor 8) on a surface of the panel substrate (21) and made of a metal (i.e. anode electrode 23 can be made of metals of Mo and Ti), (figs. 8 and 15, [0083, 0085-0086 and 0133]).
a circuit wiring (i.e. wiring from temperature sensor 8 to detection circuit 211) extending from each of the plurality of measurement regions (i.e. each region of temperature sensor 8) to a peripheral region (i.e. detection circuit 211 may be provided to the drive IC 210 which is in the peripheral region GA) of the panel substrate (array substrate 2), (figs. 1, 14 and 15, [0023-0024 and 0132]), and
a detection result (i.e. output voltage Vf of temperature sensor 8) of each of the plurality of temperature detectors (8) is sent to the controller (210) at least through the circuit wiring, (figs. 1 and 15, [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohtoku, by specifically providing the film formation of the temperature detector, as taught by Ikeda, for the purpose of detecting temperature by using a light emitting element.
However, Kohtoku in view of Ikeda does not mention the cooling member functions as a frame for holding the panel substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Aurongzeb teaches the cooling member (cooling channels 78) functions as a frame (72) for holding the panel substrate (front OLED 64 and rear OLED 64) (i.e. cooling channels 78 are integrate in the display support midframe 72 which holds the front and read OLEDs 64), (figs. 6 and 8, [0031 and 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohtoku in view of Ikeda, by specifically providing the cooling member functions as a frame, as taught by Aurongzeb, for the purpose of holding the front and rear OLEDs together to the midframe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the prior art of Kohtoku.
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623