Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 4, line 1, please change “accord’ ing” to –according--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2006012703 (Kojima) (cited on IDS filed 05/23/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kojima discloses a secondary battery comprising packaging shell (nickel-plated steel battery can 19), a stack of positive and negative electrode plates (Figure 4), and insulating sheets formed on both sides of the stacked positive and negative electrode plates. Each set of positive and negative electrode plates is considered an electrode assembly and are separated by insulating thin plate/sheet (9) such as a polypropylene sheet. The coating amount of positive and negative electrode mixtures differs between the two stacks. The negative plates are formed with a current collector (copper foil) and a negative electrode mixture (active material) of carbon powder, PVDF (binder) and acetylene black (conductive agent) form a mixture layer on the current collector. The weight per unit area of the mixture layer is set to 35 g / m2 (53.9mg/1540.25 mm2) on one side of the copper foil in the negative electrode plate (2) and is set to 70 g / m2 (107.8mg/1540.25 mm2) in the negative electrode plate (4) providing a difference of 53.9mg /1540.25 mm2 which falls within the claimed range of 30-100 mg/1540.25 mm2 [0021]. The battery may be used in various electronic apparatuses such as mobile phones, computers etc.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the coating weight of the first negative electrode plate (2) is 35 g / m2 (53.9mg/1540.25 mm2) which falls within the claimed range of 50-140mg/mm2.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the first positive electrode plate comprises a layer weight of 120 g / m2 (184.8 mg/1540.25 mm2) one side of the aluminum foil in the positive electrode plate 1 and 240 g /m2 (396.6 mg/1540.25 mm2) in the positive electrode plate 3 providing a difference of 184.8 mg/1540.25 mm2
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kojima discloses a plurality of current collection tabs are formed at every certain length of a collector.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 19 and 20, Kojima discloses an accommodation cavity as discussed above where plate (9) is provided between the electrode assemblies as shown in Figure 4. The presence of the insulating sheet is considered to provide a separation into a first cavity and a second cavity where the first positive and first negative electrodes are provided in a first cavity, and the second positive and second negative electrodes are provided in the second cavity. The insulating sheet may be made of polypropylene or polyethylene [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006012703 (Kojima) (cited on IDS filed 05/23/2024).
Kojima discloses the secondary batter used in electronic apparatuses as discussed above but does not give additional values for the coating weights of the negative and positive electrode plates.
Kojima discloses that when the positive and negative electrode plates have different coating amounts/weights, both high output and high capacity can be achieved. Kojima discloses that the amounts are not limited to the example only and may be selected as appropriate within the range that is usually used. In other words, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to adjust the coating amounts.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as stated above the coating weight of the second negative active material layer is 70 g / m2 (107.8mg/1540.25 mm2) which is outside the range of 130-170 mg/1540.25 mm2), however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to optimize the coating amounts to adjust the discharge voltage and to make accommodations for different types of active materials, binders and conductive agents that are used to form the layer.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the first positive electrode plate comprises a layer weight of 120 g / m2 (184.8 mg/1540.25 mm2) on one side of the aluminum foil in the positive electrode plate 1 and 240 g /m2 (396.6 mg/1540.25 mm2) in the positive electrode plate 3 providing a difference of 184.8 mg/1540.25 mm2. This difference is outside the range claimed of 50-150 mg/1540.25 mm2. However, as noted above, Kojima is not limited to the single example only and optimization of the coating amounts and differences thereof between electrode sets would have been obvious to adjust the discharge voltage and to make accommodations for different types of active materials, binders and conductive agents that are used to form the layer.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the first positive electrode plate comprises a layer weight of 120 g / m2 (184.8 mg/1540.25 mm2) which is within the claimed range of 150-250 mg/1540.25 mm2).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006012703 (Kojima) (cited on IDS filed 05/23/2024) in view of WO 2020/155993 (Huang).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kojima discloses the secondary battery discussed above and discloses carbon as the active material in the negative active material layer, but does not disclose graphite and does not disclose average particle sized thereof. Huang discloses a negative pole piece comprising a current collector having an active material thereon. The active material (both the first and second active materials) may be a carbon material such as graphite. It would have been obvious to select a known negative active carbon material as disclosed by Huang as the negative active material for the layer of Kojima as graphite is exemplary of a carbon material used as an active material in a negative electrode plate of a secondary battery. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success since Kojima discloses carbon material and Huang discloses graphite as a carbon material and uses the material in the same capacity.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Huang further discloses that two active material layers may be present where there is a size differential between the active materials of the two layers. The smaller the average particle size the second active material is, the more fully the contact with the electrolyte is, the more conducive to the charge exchange between active ions and electrons, which is more conducive to the rapid charging of the battery. The average particle size (D50) of the second active material is 5 μm-40 μm; more preferably, it is 8 μm-35 μm. It would have been obvious to adjust the particle size of the graphite active material of each layer to optimize the charging speed of the battery. Absent a showing of unexpected results, adjusting the size of the graphite particles is seen to be within the level of ordinary skill based upon its known effect as demonstrated by Huang.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723