DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, 11-16, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/672,594 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘594 anticipates:
Claim 1. A medical device for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the medical device comprising: a main body having an elongated shaft portion and a holding portion provided at a distal end of the shaft portion, the holding portion configured to hold the sheet-shaped delivery object; and wherein the holding portion has a tapered portion widening in a tapered manner from the distal end of the shaft portion and a placement portion extending from the tapered portion, and end portions of the placement portion are folded back inward at least on a proximal end side (claims 1 and 9).
Claim 6. The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the holding portion is configured to be bendable at an angle with respect to an axial direction of the shaft portion (claim 2).
Claim 7. The medical device according to claim 1, wherein the shaft portion is hollow (claim 8).
Claim 8. The medical device according to claim 1, further comprising: an elongated sliding body configured to slide on one or more of the holding portion and an elongated cylindrical body (claim 1, 12, 13).
Claim 11. A method for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the method comprising: providing the medical device of claim 1 (sclaim 1 and 9); placing the sheet-shaped delivery object on the holding portion (claim 1); accommodating the medical device in the cylindrical body; delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site (claims 12 and 13).
Claim 12. The method according to claim 11, wherein the delivery to the target site is performed by inserting the medical device into the cylindrical body intraperitoneally inserted into a body cavity (claim 13).
Claim 13. The method according to claim 11, wherein the sheet-shaped delivery object is intraperitoneally inserted into a body cavity and applied to the target site (claim 12 and 13).
Claim 14. A method for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the method comprising: placing a sheet-shaped delivery object on a holding portion of a medical device, the medical device including an elongated shaft portion and the holding portion provided at a distal end of the shaft portion, the holding portion having a tapered portion widening in a tapered manner from the distal end of the shaft portion and a placement portion extending from the tapered portion, and wherein end portions of the placement portion are folded back inward at least on a proximal end side (claims 1 and 9); accommodating the medical device in an elongated cylindrical body; delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site (claims 12 and 13).
Claim 15. The method according to claim 14, wherein the delivery to the target site is performed by inserting the medical device into the cylindrical body intraperitoneally inserted into a body cavity (claims 12 and 13).
Claim 16. The method according to claim 14, wherein the sheet-shaped delivery object is intraperitoneally inserted into a body cavity and applied to the target site (claims 12 and 13).
Claim 20. The method according to claim 14, wherein the holding portion is configured to be bendable at an angle with respect to an axial direction of the shaft portion (claim 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, it is unclear what the structure scope of “sheet-shaped” are. It seems any structure could be interpreted as sheet-shaped.
It is unclear what metes and bounds of “a proximal end side” are. This “a proximal end side” is on which apparatus? The placement portion or the shaft portion, or anything else? It seems from the Spec., this “a proximal end side” is a proximal end side of the placement portion 122.
In re claim 6, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “bendable” are. Anything can be bendable depends on the force being applied. But something is more bendable than others, or flexible than others. The Examiner will interpret that “the holding portion is configured to be
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knight et al. (US 5,667,480, hereinafter Knight ‘480).
In re claim 1, Knight ‘480 teaches a medical device for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the medical device comprising: a main body having an elongated shaft portion (fig. 1&4, 12; fig. 2&5, 21) and a holding portion provided at a distal end of the shaft portion (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28), the holding portion configured to hold the sheet-shaped delivery object (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28, it is capable of; note that sheet-shaped delivery object is not being limited to a particular sheet shape and size); and wherein the holding portion has a tapered portion widening in a tapered manner from the distal end of the shaft portion and a placement portion extending from the tapered portion, and end portions of the placement portion are folded back inward at least on a proximal end side (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28).
In re claim 2, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein a folding angle of the end portions of the placement portion with respect to the placement portion is configured to increase from a distal end side to the proximal end side (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28).
In re claim 3, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein at least the distal end side of the placement portion on which the sheet-shaped delivery object is placed is configured to be a planar surface (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28, note that 16 is a plane, and that a plane does not have to be flat).
In re claim 4, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the folding angle of the end portions of the placement portion with respect to the placement portion is configured to be 60 degrees to 180 degrees (col. 5, lines 43-46).
In re claim 5, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the folding angle of the end portions of the placement portion with respect to the placement portion is configured to be 90 degrees to 180 degrees (col. 5, lines 43-46).
In re claim 6, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the holding portion is configured to be bendable at an angle with respect to an axial direction of the shaft portion (figs 4 & 5, it is at an angle zero, or angle 180).
In re claim 7, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the shaft portion is hollow (figs. 4 & 5, 13 and 23 are lumens to receive endoscope, col. 4, lines 52-55; col. 5, lines 10-15).
In re claim 8, Knight ‘480 teaches further comprising: an elongated sliding body configured to slide on one or more of the holding portion and an elongated cylindrical body (figs. 4 & 5, 13 and 23 are lumens to receive endoscope 6, col. 4, lines 52-55; col. 5, lines 10-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight ‘480 in view of Mathis et al. (US 2006/0167416, hereinafter Mathis ‘416).
In re claim 11, Knight ‘480 teaches a method for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the method comprising: providing the medical device of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); but fails to teach placing the sheet-shaped delivery object on the holding portion; accommodating the medical device in the cylindrical body; delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site.
Mathis ‘416 teaches teach placing the sheet-shaped delivery object on the holding portion; accommodating the medical device in the cylindrical body; delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site (0096, 0144-0149, note that film is a sheet shaped delivery object).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Knight ‘480 to include the features of Mathis ‘416 in order to provide additional therapeutic treatment to the desired location.
In re claim 12, Mathis ‘416 teaches wherein the delivery to the target site is performed by inserting the medical device into the cylindrical body intraperitoneally (0141) inserted into a body cavity (0096, 0144-0149).
In re claim 13, Mathis ‘416 teaches wherein the sheet-shaped delivery object is intraperitoneally (0141) inserted into a body cavity and applied to the target site (0096, 0144-0149).
In re claim 14, Knight ‘480 teaches a method for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the method comprising:
Knight ‘480 fails to teach placing a sheet-shaped delivery object on a holding portion of a medical device …, and delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site.
Mathis ‘416 teaches placing a sheet-shaped delivery object on a holding portion of a medical device …, and delivering the medical device to the target site; and applying the sheet-shaped delivery object to the target site (0096, 0144-0149, note that film is a sheet shaped delivery object).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Knight ‘480 to include the features of Mathis ‘416 in order to provide additional therapeutic treatment to the desired location.
In re claim 15, Mathis ‘416 teaches wherein the delivery to the target site is performed by inserting the medical device into the cylindrical body intraperitoneally (0141) inserted into a body cavity (0096, 0144-0149)..
In re claim 16, Mathis ‘416 teaches wherein the sheet-shaped delivery object is intraperitoneally (0141) inserted into a body cavity and applied to the target site (0096, 0144-0149).
In re claim 17, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein a folding angle of the end portions of the placement portion with respect to the placement portion is configured to increase from a distal end side to the proximal end side (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28)..
In re claim 18, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the folding angle of the end portions of the placement portion with respect to the placement portion is configured to be 60 degrees to 180 degrees (col. 5, lines 43-46).
In re claim 19, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein at least the distal end side of the placement portion on which the sheet-shaped delivery object is placed is configured to be a planar surface (fig. 1&4, 16 & 18; fig. 2&5, 26 & 28, note that 16 is a plane, and that a plane does not have to be flat).
In re claim 20, Knight ‘480 teaches wherein the holding portion is configured to be bendable at an angle with respect to an axial direction of the shaft portion (figs 4 & 5, it is at an angle zero).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closet prior art fails to teach “end portions of the placement portion are configured to be wound such that back surfaces of the end portion of the placement portion are pressed against each other” when combined with the rest of claim 9 structures.
Knight ‘480 teaches a medical device for applying a sheet-shaped delivery object to a target site, the medical device comprising: a main body having an elongated shaft portion and a holding portion provided at a distal end of the shaft portion, the holding portion configured to hold the sheet-shaped delivery object; the holding portion having a tapered portion widening in a tapered manner from the distal end of the shaft portion and a placement portion extending from the tapered portion; and when the main body is accommodated in a cylindrical body configured to accommodate the main body so as to be movable forward and backward (figs. 4 & 5, 13 and 23 are lumens to receive endoscope 6, col. 4, lines 52-55; col. 5, lines 10-15) but fails to teach end portions of the placement portion are configured to be wound such that back surfaces of the end portion of the placement portion are pressed against each other.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797