DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 06/18/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. The double patenting rejection is maintained below and should not be held in abeyance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Boretos (US 4,056,854) and in view of Merhi (US 2012/0179033).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 6, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 10,751,181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the patent claims. Specifically, the patent claims also recite a temporary aortic valve apparatus comprising: a catheter shaft adapted to be advanced through a vasculature of a patient for placement within an aorta of the patient (Col 16 lines 37-40); and a flexible occluding membrane having a lateral side fixedly coupled to the catheter shaft (Col 16 lines 41-42) and adapted to alternate between an expanded occluding configuration and a collapsed lesser occluding configuration in the aorta in synchrony with ventricular diastole and systole (Col 16 lines 42-47) when the catheter shaft is placed within the aorta of the patient (col 16 line 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merhi (US 2012/0179033).
Regarding claim 1, Merhi discloses a temporary aortic valve apparatus (100, FIG 1A-1D) comprising: a catheter shaft (102, [0039]) adapted to be advanced through a vasculature of a patient for placement within an aorta of the patient (FIG 10B shows placement in the aorta); and a flexible occluding membrane (110, [0042] the material to be a flexible membrane, which occludes to at least some degree by structurally blocking the aorta) and having a lateral side fixedly coupled to the catheter shaft ([0042-0043], FIG 1B and 1D) and adapted to alternate between an expanded occluding configuration (FIG 10C) and a collapsed lesser occluding configuration (FIG 10D) in the aorta (as shown deployed in the aorta) in synchrony with ventricular diastole and systole when the catheter shaft is placed within the aorta of the patient (The device is at least configured to alternate between the state of FIG 10C and 10D in the aorta, in synchrony with ventricular diastole and systole since it can be controlled via outer sheath 112).
Regarding claim 2, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane includes an opening (140, [0042] or in the alternative, at least one opening of the porous membrane is interpreted as the opening) positioned at substantially a center of the flexible occluding membrane (FIG 1B; placed at the center of the distal end, or in the alternative, an opening formed by the porosity of the membrane is positioned along the side of 110).
Regarding claim 3, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane includes an opening positioned at a location offset from a center of the flexible occluding membrane (Wherein an opening which forms the porosity of the membrane material, the opening is located on the side of 110 where the membrane is shown to be located).
Regarding claim 4, Merhi discloses the center of the flexible occluding membrane is disposed at a distal tip of the flexible occluding membrane (Wherein a center can be taken at the distal open end of 110, an opening in the porous membrane is offset from said center).
Regarding claim 5, Merhi discloses the catheter shaft is coupled to the flexible occluding membrane at the center of the flexible occluding membrane ([0043] “the embolic filter 110 is coupled to the catheter 102 on the side of the catheter facing the distal portion 104 when the distal portion 104” therefore showing the coupling point is at the center located at the distal tip of the membrane, FIG 1B and 1D).
Regarding claim 6, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane includes a plurality of openings (The other opening forming the porosity are interpreted as the plurality of openings) to allow blood perfusion therethrough when in the expanded occluding configuration ([0042 and 0091] “The open distal end 140 of the embolic filter 110 is located in the ascending aorta so that blood flows through the filter before flowing into the carotid arteries or descending aorta… embolic debris dislodged or otherwise in the blood stream during the procedure is captured by the embolic filter 110”).
Regarding claim 7, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane includes an opening ([0042] discloses “the embolic filter 110 comprises a porous membrane, for example a semi-permeable polyurethane membrane”, wherein one hole of the porous membrane is interpreted as the opening) with a cross-sectional size of 50% or less, 45% or less, 40% or less, 35% or less, 30% or less, 25% or less, 20% or less, 15% or less, 10% or less, or 5% or less of an artery (it is understood that an opening in a semi-permeable polyurethane membrane is size less than 50% of a cross section of an artery).
Regarding claim 8, Merhi discloses the catheter shaft comprises a distal anchoring loop (Arcuate shape of 104, [0041, 0043], see loop shape in FIG 1A-1D) having an expanded curved configuration for anchoring the catheter shaft and the flexible occluding membrane in the aorta (Expanded curved shape in FIG 1A and 10B, [0090]) and a collapsed, straightened configuration for advancement into or retraction from an artery (FIG 10A, [0090] “ The guidewire 740 keeps the distal portion 104 of the catheter 102 substantially straight (e.g., from being in the generally arcuate state) as the catheter 102 is inserted into and navigated within the patient's body”).
Regarding claim 10, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane is adapted to be positioned within an ascending aorta of the patient to provide occlusion therein (FIG 10C shows placement in the aorta, [0090]. Upon deployment, 110 at least partially occludes due to the semi-permeable nature of the membrane material, [0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane is adapted to be positioned within the ascending aorta just above the Sinus of Valsalva and coronary ostia (FIG 10C shows placement in the aorta, [0090]. FIG 10C appears to show placement above the Sinus of Valsalva and coronary ostia. Additionally, the device is at least configured to be deployed at various locations along the aorta, which could include above the Sinus of Valsalva and coronary ostia).
Regarding claim 12, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane is adapted to be positioned within the ascending aorta between the coronary ostia and the brachiocephalic artery (FIG 10C appears to show placement between the coronary ostia and the brachiocephalic artery. Additionally, the device is at least configured to be deployed at various locations along the aorta, which could include between the coronary ostia and the brachiocephalic artery).
Regarding claim 13, Merhi discloses the flexible occluding membrane is biased to be in the expanded occluding configuration ([0044] “The embolic filter 110 self-expands to the expanded, open configuration when not contained by the outer sheath 112”).
Regarding claim 14, Merhi discloses the catheter shaft is adapted to advance transapically (The catheter is at least dimensioned and configured for transapical delivery).
Regarding claim 15, Merhi discloses the catheter shaft is adapted to advance transaortically (FIGs 10A-10 show transaortic delivery of the catheter, [0090-0092]).
Regarding claim 16, Merhi discloses the catheter shaft is adapted to advance transfemorally (The catheter is at least dimensioned and configured for transfemoral delivery).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boretos (US 4,056,854).
Regarding claim 1, Boretos discloses a temporary aortic valve apparatus (10, FIG 1) comprising: a catheter shaft (20, FIG 1, 2B, 3A-3B, col 2 lines 58-63) adapted to be advanced through a vasculature of a patient (30, 32, 34, FIG 2A-2B) for placement within an aorta of the patient (Col 3 lines 20-45); and a flexible occluding membrane (18) having a lateral side fixedly coupled to the catheter shaft (FIG 1 and 3A-3B show the lateral sides of 11 are fixed to the shaft via arms 14a-14c. The shaft and membrane do not decouple during use of the device and therefore are interpreted as being fixedly coupled) and adapted to alternate between an expanded occluding configuration (FIG 4A) and a collapsed lesser occluding configuration (FIG 4B) in the aorta in synchrony with ventricular diastole and systole (Col 2 lines 13-18 and col 3 lines 46-56) when the catheter shaft is placed within the aorta of the patient (FIGs 3A-4B show the shaft is placed within the aorta during use).
Regarding claim 9, Boretos discloses the flexible occluding membrane includes an annular proximal lip (The annular rim of valve material 18 at proximal opening) adapted to appose an inner wall of an artery when the flexible occluding membrane is in the expanded occluding configuration (FIG 4A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771