DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed May 23, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-21 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 23, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the housing extension portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 220. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs [0190] – [0191] refer to the second inner wall portion, previously identified as element 119, as element 219, inconsistent with Figure 11 to which the paragraphs refer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "and the at least one vane protrusion portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the plurality of vane extension portions" in lines 19-20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the plurality of vane protrusion portions" in lines 21-22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christian et al. (JP 2014001731 A, hereafter referred to as Christian).
Regarding Claim 1, Christian discloses (see Figures 1-3) a fan motor, comprising: a shroud (13, Page 3, ¶ 5); an impeller (8, Page 2, ¶ 10) that is accommodated inside of the shroud (13, Page 3, ¶ 5), mounted to a rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5), and configured to be rotated by the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5); a motor (1, Page 2, ¶ 6) that includes a rotor (3, Page 2, ¶ 5) connected to the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5) and a stator (2, Page 2, ¶ 5) that surrounds the rotor (3, Page 2, ¶ 5), the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5) being rotated by the motor (1, Page 2, ¶ 6); and a motor housing (5, Page 2, ¶ 7) that is coupled to a downstream end of the shroud (13, Page 3, ¶ 5) based on a flow direction of air suctioned into the shroud by the impeller (8, Page 2, ¶ 10), wherein the motor housing (5, Page 2, ¶ 7) comprises: an outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12) that is coupled to the shroud (13, Page 3, ¶ 5) to define an appearance of the fan motor together with the shroud (13, Page 3, ¶ 5); an inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) that is disposed inside of the outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12) toward the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5) and accommodates the motor (1, Page 2, ¶ 6); at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) that extends from an inner circumferential surface of the outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12) to an outer circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12); and at least one vane extension portion (Annotated Figure 2) that extends from a downstream end of the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) toward the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5) based on the flow direction of air and covers at least a portion of a thickness surface (Annotated Figure 2) between the outer circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) and an inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figures 2-3) that the at least one vane extension portion (Annotated Figure 2) extends to the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) and the outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12) are each formed in a cylindrical shape, and wherein a length of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) axially extending from a point where the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) starts to be formed is shorter than a length of the outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12).
Regarding Claim 9/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figures 1-2 above) the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) extends at an incline with respect to an axial direction along the outer circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) and is formed in a curved shape, and wherein the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) comprises a plurality of vanes (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) spaced apart in a circumferential direction along the outer circumferential surface of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) (Page 6, ¶ 2: “The guide vanes 34 are each essentially curved from the motor housing edge 12 in a vane shape and extend in the direction of the air outlet opening 17 and are coupled to the outer wall 31 as well as the inner wall 32.”).
Regarding Claim 10/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (See Figure 1 above) that the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) is configured as a one-stage vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) or an N-stage vane, N being a natural number equal to or greater than 2, separated in the axial direction.
Regarding Claim 11/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figure 2 above) that the motor housing (5, Page 2, ¶ 7) further comprises a housing extension portion (7, Page 5, ¶ 12) that extends axially from a downstream end of the outer wall (31, Page 5, ¶ 12) based on the flow direction of air.
Regarding Claim 13/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figure 2 above) that the motor housing (5, Page 2, ¶ 7) further comprises: a first bearing (10, Page 3, ¶ 2) that is disposed at a downstream side of the impeller (8, Page 2, ¶ 10) based on the flow direction of air to support an upstream side of the rotational shaft (4, Page 2, ¶ 5); a first bearing housing (41, Page 7, ¶ 6) that accommodates the first bearing (10, Page 3, ¶ 2); and a connection portion (11, Page 7, ¶ 5) that extends radially from an outer circumferential surface of the first bearing housing (41, Page 7, ¶ 6) toward an upstream end of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (KR 20230133064 A, hereafter referred to as Yang).
Regarding Claim 7/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses (see Figure 1) that an opening (40, Page 7, ¶ 1) is formed at a downstream end of the inner wall (32, Page 5, ¶ 12) based on the flow direction of air to penetrate radially toward the outer circumferential surface of the stator (2, Page 2, ¶ 5), and wherein the at least one vane extension portion (Annotated Figure 1) guides the flow direction of air, such that air flowing along the at least one vane (34, Page 6, ¶ 2) flows toward the motor (1, Page 2, ¶ 6) through the opening (40, Page 7, ¶ 1).
Christian does not disclose that the motor housing comprises at least one support portion that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator.
However, Yang, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the motor housing (340, Page 7, ¶ 18) comprises at least one support portion (350, Page 7, ¶ 18) that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (172, Page 4, ¶ 3) to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator (210, Page 7, ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian such that the motor housing comprises at least one support portion that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator, as disclosed by Yang, in order to aid in cooling the stator (Page 10, ¶ 5: “As a result, cooling of the stator 210 can be promoted.”).
Regarding Claim 16/13/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Christian does not disclose that the motor housing further comprises: at least one support portion that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall toward the rotational shaft to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator; a second bearing that is disposed at a downstream side of the motor based on the flow direction of air to support a downstream side of the rotational shaft; a second bearing housing that accommodates the second bearing; a coupling portion that is coupled to a downstream end of the at least one support portion; and a bridge that extends in a radial direction to be connected to an outer circumferential surface of the second bearing housing and an inner circumferential surface of the coupling portion.
However, Yang, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the motor housing further comprises: at least one support portion (350, Page 7, ¶ 18) that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (172, Page 4, ¶ 3) toward the rotational shaft (281, Page 5, ¶ 5) to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator (210, Page 7, ¶ 7); a second bearing (290b, Page 5, ¶ 10) that is disposed at a downstream side of the motor (200, Page 5, ¶ 1) based on the flow direction of air to support a downstream side of the rotational shaft (281, Page 5, ¶ 5); a second bearing housing (364, Page 8, ¶ 2) that accommodates the second bearing (290b, Page 5, ¶ 10); a coupling portion (366, Page 10, ¶ 9) that is coupled to a downstream end of the at least one support portion (350, Page 7, ¶ 18); and a bridge (Annotated Figure 2) that extends in a radial direction to be connected to an outer circumferential surface of the second bearing housing (364, Page 8, ¶ 2) and an inner circumferential surface of the coupling portion (366, Page 10, ¶ 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian such that the motor housing further comprises: at least one support portion that protrudes from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall toward the rotational shaft to support an outer circumferential surface of the stator; a second bearing that is disposed at a downstream side of the motor based on the flow direction of air to support a downstream side of the rotational shaft; a second bearing housing that accommodates the second bearing; a coupling portion that is coupled to a downstream end of the at least one support portion; and a bridge that extends in a radial direction to be connected to an outer circumferential surface of the second bearing housing and an inner circumferential surface of the coupling portion, as disclosed by Yang, in order to improve cooling in the motor (Page 8, ¶ 8: “As a result, heat conduction of the first housing 350 may be promoted and heat dissipation of the first bearing 290a may be promoted.”)
Regarding Claim 19/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Christian does not disclose that the motor housing further comprises at least one support portion that protrudes radially inward from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall to support the stator.
However, Yang, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the motor housing (340, Page 7, ¶ 18) further comprises at least one support portion (350, Page 7, ¶ 18) that protrudes radially inward from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (172, Page 4, ¶ 3) to support the stator (210, Page 7, ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian such that the motor housing further comprises at least one support portion that protrudes radially inward from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall to support the stator, as disclosed by Yang, in order to aid in cooling the stator (Page 10, ¶ 5: “As a result, cooling of the stator 210 can be promoted.”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20220010811 A1, hereafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claim 14/13/1, Christian has been discussed above.
Additionally, Christian discloses that the stator (2, Page 2, ¶ 5) is spaced apart in the axial direction from an inner surface of the connection portion (11, Page 7, ¶ 5).
Christian does not explicitly disclose that the stator comprises: a stator core; and a stator coil that is wound around the stator core, and wherein an upstream end of the stator coil based on the flow direction of air overlaps the at least one vane extension portion in a radial direction.
However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the stator (140, ¶ [0036]) comprises: a stator core (141, ¶ [0083]); and a stator coil (142, ¶ [0083]) that is wound around the stator core (141, ¶ [0083]), and wherein an upstream end of the stator coil (142, ¶ [0083]) based on the flow direction of air overlaps the at least one vane extension portion (Annotated Figure 2) in a radial direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian such that the stator comprises: a stator core; and a stator coil that is wound around the stator core, and wherein an upstream end of the stator coil based on the flow direction of air overlaps the at least one vane extension portion in a radial direction, as disclosed by Kim, in order to improve the cooling performance of the motor (¶ [0138]: “That is, the heat dissipation fins 162 can serve to guide the flow of air moving inside the housing 110 and to maximize the cooling performance of the motor by expanding the heat exchange area between the air and the stator 140.”)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian in view of Kim as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (KR 20230133064 A, hereafter referred to as Yang).
Regarding Claim 15/14/13/1, Christian in view of Kim has been discussed above.
Christian in view of Kim does not disclose that an upstream end of the stator core based on the flow direction of air is located to correspond to a downstream end of the outer wall.
However, Yang, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that an upstream end of the stator core (220, Page 5, ¶ 13) based on the flow direction of air is located to correspond to a downstream end of the outer wall (174, Page 11, ¶ 17).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian in view of Kim such that an upstream end of the stator core based on the flow direction of air is located to correspond to a downstream end of the outer wall, as disclosed by Yang, in order to guide air towards the motor (Abstract: “Accordingly, the air passing through the vane can be emitted towards the motor.”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian in view of Yang as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Hayamitsu et al. (JP 2018155238 A, hereafter referred to as Hayamitsu).
Regarding Claim 20/19/1, Christian in view of Yang has been discussed above.
Christian in view of Yang does not disclose that the motor housing further comprises a motor seating portion concavely formed on one side of the at least one support portion to surround an outer circumferential surface of the stator.
However, Hayamitsu, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 12) that the motor housing (30, Page 3, ¶ 4) further comprises a motor seating portion (Annotated Figure 12) concavely formed on one side of the at least one support portion (312, Page 7, ¶ 6) to surround an outer circumferential surface of the stator (13, Page 3, ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan motor disclosed by Christian in view of Yang such that the motor housing further comprises a motor seating portion concavely formed on one side of the at least one support portion to surround an outer circumferential surface of the stator, as disclosed by Hayamitsu, in order to efficiently transfer heat from the stator (Page 7, ¶ 9: “Therefore, the heat of the stator 13 is efficiently released to the outside through the upper motor housing 31.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 12, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 3, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the motor housing (110) further comprises at least one vane protrusion portion (125) that extends from the at least one vane extension portion (124) to radially protrude from the inner circumferential surface of the inner wall (116) toward the rotational shaft (134). (see Figure 3 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Claims 4-5 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein a radial width of the at least one vane (123) is formed at a ratio of 3 to 11% of a diameter of the outer wall (122), and wherein an axial length of the at least one vane (123) is formed at a ratio of 25 to 50% of the diameter of the outer wall (122). (see Figure 7 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Regarding Claim 17, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the inner wall (116) comprises: a first inner wall portion (117) that has a first thickness and is formed in a cylindrical shape; and
a second inner wall portion (119) that is connected to a downstream side of the first inner wall portion (117) based on the flow direction of air, has a second thickness thicker than the first thickness, and is formed in a cylindrical shape, wherein a flow path inner wall portion (128) surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the first inner wall portion (117), wherein a flow path outer wall portion (129) is accommodated inside of a downstream end of the shroud and spaced radially apart from the flow path inner wall portion (128) outside of the flow path inner wall portion (128), wherein the outer wall (122) is connected to a downstream end of the flow path outer wall portion (129) and disposed radially spaced apart from the second inner wall portion (119) outside the second inner wall portion (119), and wherein the at least one vane (123) comprises:
a first vane (1231) that protrudes from an outer circumferential surface of the flow path inner wall portion (128) to the flow path outer wall portion (129); and
a second vane (1232) that is connected to communicate with a downstream end of the first vane (1231) and protrudes from an outer circumferential surface of the second inner wall portion (119) to the outer wall (122). (see Figure 6 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Claim 18 is allowable due to dependence on claim 17.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang ‘250 (US 20230291250 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-5.
Han et al. (EP 4199324 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-3.
Giyeob et al. (KR 20230006788 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 1.
Yamauchi et al. (JP 2020094536 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-5.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834