Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the measured values".
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the sensor unit", “the sensor input”, and “the sensor output”.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the sensor unit", “the sensor input”, “the sensor output”, and “the decoupling capacitor”.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the second semiconductor switch" and “the second state”.
Claim 11 recites the limitations "the sensor unit", “the sensor input”, “the sensor output”, “the first closing time”, “the first opening time”, “the first switch time”, “the first sampling time”, and “the first delay time”.
Claim 12 recites the limitations “the fourth semiconductor switch”, “the second closing time”, “the first opening time”, "the second opening time", “the second closing time”, “the second sampling time”, and “the second delay time”.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the output voltage", “the third sampling time”, and “the second opening time”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for at least these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sibrai (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0225924, cited on Applicant’s IDS dated 5/23/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Sibrai teaches a device for coupling to a circuit arrangement (Fig. 2), which extends from a first node to a second node, wherein an energy storage device (Fig. 2, energy storing capacitor Cstore 850) is coupled to the first node, the circuit arrangement comprising a first, controllable semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415) and a unit, referred to as an ignition unit (squib 900), the first semiconductor switch and the ignition unit being connected in series (paragraphs [0047]-[0048]), the ignition unit being configured to ignite upon reaching a predefined current flowing through the ignition units, referred to as an ignition current (paragraph [0049], firing current); and wherein the device comprises a control unit (Control and Test Unit 100) configured to be coupled to the first semiconductor switch, and wherein, in a first state (diagnostic and online test 150), the control unit is configured to control the first semiconductor switch such that the first semiconductor switch adjusts an electrical current through the first semiconductor switch and the ignition unit to a predefined current referred to as a measurement current, wherein the measurement current is between 1% and 40% of the ignition current (paragraphs [0049]-[0050], measurement/diagnostic current is smaller or equal to 50mA; firing current is about 2A).
Regarding Claim 4, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai further teaches wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a second semiconductor switch (FET N5 435 and FET N6 430), wherein the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415), the ignition unit (squib 900), and the second semiconductor switch (FETs N5 435 and N6 430) are connected in series, wherein the control unit (100) is configured to be further coupled to the second semiconductor switch and wherein, in the first state (diagnostic and online test 150), the control unit is configured to control the first and second semiconductor switches such that the first and second semiconductor switches adjust an electrical current through the first semiconductor switch, the ignition unit, and the second semiconductor switch to the predefined measurement current (paragraphs [0046]-[0047] and [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai further teaches the control unit is configured to change from a first state of the control unit to a second state of the control unit, and vice versa (Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0048] and [0050]-[0051], diagnostic and online test 150, and firing control 120, in control and test unit 100 are equated to the first and second states).
Regarding Claim 10, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai further teaches wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a third semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N3 440 and FET N4 445), wherein the third semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N3 440 and FET N4 445), the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415), the ignition unit (squib 900), and the second semiconductor switch (FET N5 435 and FET N6 430) are connected in series, wherein the control unit is further configured to be coupled to the third semiconductor switch (Control and Test Unit 100), wherein the control unit is configured to close the third semiconductor switch in the first state (diagnostic and online test 150, paragraphs [0048]-[0050]), and wherein the control unit is configured to open the third semiconductor switch in the second state (firing control 120, paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 9. Sibrai further teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises a fourth semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N1 420 and FET N2 425) coupled between the sensor input of the sensor unit and the sensor output of the sensor unit, wherein the control unit (Control and Test Unit 100) is further coupled to the fourth semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N1 420 and FET N2 425), wherein the control unit is configured, in the second state (firing control 120), to control the fourth semiconductor switch such that the fourth semiconductor switch is closed prior to the first sampling time and during a predefined time, referred to as the first closing time, wherein the control unit is configured to control the fourth semiconductor switch so that the fourth semiconductor switch is opened during a time referred to as the first opening time and directly following the first closing time, wherein the control unit is configured to change to the first state during the first opening time at a time referred to as the first switch time, and wherein the first sampling time follows the first switch time at a time interval of less than a predefined time, referred to as the first delay time (paragraphs [0048]-[0051], the switch will be opened after it is closed; it is noted that none of the recited times are defined in the claim).
Regarding Claim 12, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai further teaches wherein the control unit (Control and Test Unit 100), in the first state, is configured to control the fourth semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N1 420 and FET N2 425) to be closed during a predefined time referred to as the second closing time directly following the first opening time (paragraphs [0048]-[0051], the switch will be closed after it is opened), wherein the control unit is configured in the first state to control the fourth semiconductor switch so that the fourth semiconductor switch is opened during a predefined time referred to as the second opening time and directly following the second closing time, and wherein the second sampling time follows a start of the second opening time at a time interval of less than a predefined time referred to as the second delay time (paragraphs [0048]-[0051], the switch will be opened after it is closed; it is noted that none of the recited times are defined in the claim).
Regarding Claim 14, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai further teaches the circuit arrangement (Fig. 2), and the energy storage device (Fig. 2, energy storing capacitor Cstore 850), wherein the circuit arrangement extending from the first node to the second node, wherein the energy storage device being coupled to the first node (Fig. 2), wherein the circuit arrangement comprises the first controllable semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415) and the ignition unit (squib 900), wherein the first semiconductor switch and the ignition unit are coupled in series (Fig. 2), wherein the ignition unit is configured to ignite upon reaching a predefined current flowing through the ignition unit, referred to as an ignition current (paragraph [0049], firing current), and wherein the control unit (Control and Test Unit 100) of the device is coupled to the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415).
Regarding Claim 15, Sibrai teaches a method for a device that can be coupled to a circuit arrangement extending from a first node to a second node (Fig. 2), wherein an energy storage device is coupled to the first node (Fig. 2, energy storing capacitor Cstore 850), wherein the circuit arrangement comprises a first controllable semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415) and a unit referred to as an ignition unit (squib 900), wherein the first semiconductor switch and the ignition unit are connected in series (Fig. 2), wherein the ignition unit is configured to ignite upon reaching a predefined current flowing through the ignition unit, referred to as ignition current (paragraph [0049], firing current), and wherein the device comprises a control unit (Control and Test Unit 100) configured to be coupled to the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415), and wherein the method comprises: a) Controlling the first semiconductor switch by the control unit in a first state (diagnostic and online test 150) such that the first semiconductor switch adjusts an electrical current through the first semiconductor switch and the ignition unit to a predefined current referred to as a measurement current, wherein the measurement current is between 1% and 40% of the ignition current (paragraphs [0049]-[0050], measurement/diagnostic current is smaller or equal to 50mA; firing current is about 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibrai in view of Hayashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0362078).
Regarding Claim 2, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the device comprises a sensor unit, wherein an input of the sensor unit, referred to as a sensor input, is configured to be coupled to the circuit arrangement and to detect a voltage, referred to as a detection voltage, representing an electrical voltage of the energy storage device, wherein the sensor unit is configured to generate an output voltage at an output of the sensor unit, referred to as sensor output, based on the detection voltage such that the output voltage also represents the voltage of the energy storage device, and wherein the control unit is coupled to the sensor output and configured, in the first state, to detect a first value of the output voltage at a first time, referred to as the first sampling time, and to detect a second value of the output voltage at a second time, referred to as the second sampling time. However, Sibrai does teach an energy storage device (Fig. 2, energy storing capacitor Cstore 850). Further, Hayashi teaches a sensor unit (Fig. 14, voltage diagnosis circuit 270, paragraphs [0083] and [0084]), wherein an input of the sensor unit, referred to as a sensor input, is configured to be coupled to the circuit arrangement and to detect a voltage, referred to as a detection voltage, representing an electrical voltage of the energy storage device (backup capacitor BC), wherein the sensor unit is configured to generate an output voltage at an output of the sensor unit, referred to as sensor output, based on the detection voltage such that the output voltage also represents the voltage of the energy storage device, and wherein the control unit is coupled to the sensor output and configured, in the first state, to detect a first value of the output voltage at a first time, referred to as the first sampling time, and to detect a second value of the output voltage at a second time, referred to as the second sampling time (paragraph [0083], voltage is measured whenever requested by MCU, which would occur at multiple times, which are equated to first and second sampling times, during operation; and paragraph [0084], voltage difference for certain period of time). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the control unit is configured to determine an electrical capacitance and/or an internal electrical impedance of the energy storage device based on the measured values. However, Hayashi teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine an electrical capacitance and/or an internal electrical impedance of the energy storage device based on the measured values (paragraphs [0083]-[0084]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 5, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 2. Sibrai further teaches wherein energy storage capacitor (Cstore 850) is configured to be coupled to the first node of the circuit arrangement (Fig. 2). Sibrai does not specifically teach that the sensor input of the sensor unit is configured to be coupled to the first node of the circuit arrangement. However, Hayashi teaches that the sensor input of the sensor unit is configured to be coupled to the energy storage capacitor (Fig. 14 and paragraphs [0083] and [0084]; therefore, the input would also be coupled to the node). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the control unit is configured to detect a third value of the output voltage in the first state of the control unit at a third time referred to as the third sampling time, wherein the third sampling time is at a time interval of less than a predefined time, referred to as a lead time, before an end of the second opening time. However, Hayashi teaches wherein the control unit is configured to detect a third value of the output voltage in the first state of the control unit at a third time referred to as the third sampling time, wherein the third sampling time is at a time interval of less than a predefined time, referred to as a lead time, before an end of the second opening time (Fig. 14, voltage diagnosis circuit 270, paragraph [0083], voltage is measured whenever requested by MCU, which would occur at multiple times during operation; and paragraph [0084], voltage difference for certain period of time). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 16, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 15. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the device comprises a sensor unit, wherein an input of the sensor unit, referred to as a sensor input, is configured to be coupled to the circuit arrangement, wherein the sensor unit comprising a sensor output, wherein the control unit is coupled to the sensor output, and wherein the method further comprising: the sensor unit detecting a voltage, referred to as a detection voltage, representing an electrical voltage of the energy storage device, the sensor unit generating an output voltage at an output of the sensor unit, referred to as sensor output, based on the detection voltage such that the output voltage also represents the voltage of the energy storage device, and the control unit, if in the first state, detecting a first value of the output voltage at a first time, referred to as the first sampling time; and the control unit, if in the first state, detecting a second value of the output voltage at a second time, referred to as the second sampling time. However, Sibrai does teach an energy storage device (Fig. 2, energy storing capacitor Cstore 850). Further, Hayashi teaches wherein the device comprises a sensor unit (Fig. 14, voltage diagnosis circuit 270, paragraphs [0083] and [0084]), wherein an input of the sensor unit, referred to as a sensor input, is configured to be coupled to the circuit arrangement, wherein the sensor unit comprising a sensor output, wherein the control unit is coupled to the sensor output (Fig. 14), and wherein the method further comprising: the sensor unit detecting a voltage, referred to as a detection voltage, representing an electrical voltage of the energy storage device, the sensor unit generating an output voltage at an output of the sensor unit, referred to as sensor output, based on the detection voltage such that the output voltage also represents the voltage of the energy storage device, and the control unit, if in the first state, detecting a first value of the output voltage at a first time, referred to as the first sampling time; and the control unit, if in the first state, detecting a second value of the output voltage at a second time, referred to as the second sampling time (paragraph [0083], voltage is measured whenever requested by MCU, which would occur at multiple times, which are equated to first and second sampling times, during operation; and paragraph [0084], voltage difference for certain period of time). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 17, Sibrai in view of Hayashi teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 16. Sibrai does not specifically teach the control unit determining an electrical capacitance and/or an internal electrical impedance of the energy storage device based on the measured values. However, Hayashi teaches the control unit determining an electrical capacitance and/or an internal electrical impedance of the energy storage device based on the measured values (paragraphs [0083]-[0084]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the voltage diagnosis of Hayashi to the energy storing capacitor of Sibrai, in order to diagnose abnormalities such as degradation of the capacitor (see Hayashi, paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 18, Sibrai in view of Hayashi teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 17. Sibrai further teaches wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a second semiconductor switch (FET N5 435 and FET N6 430), wherein the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415), the ignition unit (squib 900), and the second semiconductor switch (FET N5 435 and FET N6 430)are connected in series, wherein the control unit (100) is configured to be further coupled to the second semiconductor switch, and wherein the method further comprising: the control unit, in the first state, controlling the first and second semiconductor switches such that the first and second semiconductor switches adjust an electrical current through the first semiconductor switch, the ignition unit, and the second semiconductor switch to the predefined measurement current (paragraphs [0046]-[0047] and [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 19, Sibrai in view of Hayashi teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 18. Sibrai further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to change from the first state of the control unit to the second state of the control unit, and vice versa (Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0048] and [0050]-[0051], diagnostic and online test 150, and firing control 120, in control and test unit 100 equated to the first and second states).
Regarding Claim 20, Sibrai in view of Hayashi teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 18. Sibrai further teaches wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a third semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N3 440 and FET N4 445), wherein the third semiconductor switch (Fig. 2, FET N3 440 and FET N4 445), the first semiconductor switch (FETs P1 410 and P2 415), the ignition unit (squib 900), and the second semiconductor switch (FET N5 435 and FET N6 430) are connected in series, wherein the control unit (Control and Test Unit 100) is further configured to be coupled to the third semiconductor switch, and wherein the method further comprising: the control unit closing the third semiconductor switch in the first state, and the control unit opening the third semiconductor switch in the second state (paragraphs [0048]-[0051]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibrai in view of Hayashi and Drobnik (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0341776).
Regarding Claim 6, Sibrai in view of Hayashi teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 2. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the device comprises an electrical capacitor referred to as a decoupling capacitor, and wherein the device is configured to couple the sensor input of the sensor unit to the circuit arrangement via the decoupling capacitor. However, Drobnik teaches wherein the device comprises an electrical capacitor referred to as a decoupling capacitor, and wherein the device is configured to couple the sensor input of the sensor unit to the circuit arrangement via the decoupling capacitor (paragraphs [0003]-[0005], decoupling capacitors are incorporated into circuits to mitigate the effects of noise). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a decoupling capacitor, such as is taught in Drobnik, in the system of Sibrai, because decoupling capacitors may mitigate the effects of noise and protect devices from voltage spikes (see Drobnik, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibrai in view of Heilmann (DE-102004049082-A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the sensor unit comprises an amplifier coupled between the sensor input and the sensor output. However, Heilmann teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises an amplifier coupled between the sensor input and the sensor output (see Background Art section, pages 1-3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the amplifier of Heilmann in the system of Sibrai, because airbag systems usually include amplifier units (see Heilmann, top of page 2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibrai in view of Huang (CN-1558190-A).
Regarding Claim 8, Sibrai teaches everything that is claimed above with respect to Claim 1. Sibrai does not specifically teach wherein the sensor unit comprises an electrical capacitor, referred to as a feedback capacitor, coupled between the sensor input of the sensor unit and the sensor output of the sensor unit. However, Huang teaches wherein the sensor unit comprises an electrical capacitor, referred to as a feedback capacitor, coupled between the sensor input of the sensor unit and the sensor output of the sensor unit (Fig. 2, impact sensor includes feedback capacitor C1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the feedback capacitor of Huang in the system of Sibrai, in order to change output sensitivity of the charge amplifier so as to measure the vibration acceleration of different sizes (see Huang, paragraph spanning pages 3-4).
Sibrai in view of Huang does not specifically teach wherein a capacitance of the feedback capacitor is between 5% and 66% of a capacitance of the decoupling capacitor. However, Huang does teach a decoupling capacitor (Fig. 2, C2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the claimed capacitance values in the feedback capacitor and decoupling capacitor system of Sibrai and Huang, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA L DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857