DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 3, 11 and 19 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled or newly added. The status of claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Jul 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that the combination of Chen et al (US 20230379745 A1, PCT Cont. Jan 29, 2021) fails to anticipate "receive, via a control path, an indication of one or more quality of service parameters associated with a plurality of data bit groups, the one or more quality of service parameters comprising policy information that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups" in Claim 1.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Chen’745 discloses: “access network device obtains first information, where the first information indicates a transmission integrity requirement of a data unit”; “access network device may obtain the first information by receiving a QoS configuration profile from a core network element”; “A transmission integrity requirement is a requirement that when a data unit is divided into a plurality of data packets in a transmission process, the plurality of data packets need to be completely transmitted” (par 0161-0163); “Step S1220: The access network device receives the data unit, where the data unit includes N data packets, each of the N data packets includes a same first identifier, the first identifier is used to identify the data unit, and N is a positive integer”; “each of the N data packets further includes a second identifier, where the second identifier is used to identify the data packet” (par 0166-0167); “the access network device sends the sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information, the first identifier, and the second identifier” (par 0172); “when data packets belonging to a same data unit further include second identifiers, the second identifiers are used to identify the data packets. The access network device determines, based on the first information, whether the data unit needs the integrity transmission. If the data unit needs the integrity transmission, the access network device determines, based on the first identifiers and the second identifiers in the data packets, whether the data packets belonging to the same data unit have been transmitted. If the data packets have been transmitted, the sleep indication information is sent to the terminal. If the data unit does not need to be transmitted completely, the access network device may still detect the data packets” (par 0173); “if the data unit is a video frame, the first identifier may be used to identify… a quantity of data packets belonging to the video frame. The second identifier may be used to identify an integer less than or equal to N, and may be used to identify a bit size of each data packet” (par 0174). “The access network device sends sleep indication information to the terminal based on the first information and the first identifier, for example, sends a DRX command to the terminal”.
Therefore Chen’745 discloses: access network device receives transmission integrity requirement (of data unit including N data packets) in QoS configuration profile from a core network element (corresponding to “receive, via a control path, an indication of one or more quality of service parameters associated with a plurality of data bit groups”), detects and identifies data unit including N data packets with bit size of each data packet by first and second identifiers with integrity (corresponding to a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups. Noted, access network device should receive (corresponding by detects and identifies) all these bits in N data packets of data unit in order to transmit all of these bits with integrity, and thus corresponding to successfully received); and transmit all these bits in N data packets of data unit with integrity (sending sleep indication information/DRX command to terminal after transmission all bits in data unit with integrity, it means all bits in data unit should be transmitted in the same active cycle of terminal) can be equated to the one or more quality of service parameters comprising policy information that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups; especially transmit all these bits in N data packets of data unit with integrity can be equated to process.
And thus Chen’745 anticipates "receive, via a control path, an indication of one or more quality of service parameters associated with a plurality of data bit groups, the one or more quality of service parameters comprising policy information that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups" in Claim 1
Further on, Chen’745 discloses: “access network device may obtain the initial service cycle and/or the first information by receiving the QoS configuration profile”; “initial service cycle may be further configured in the PDR delivered by the session management network element” (par 0182-0183); “perform traffic shaping on a received data unit based on the initial service cycle and/or the service cycle expected by the terminal” (par 0221); “If traffic shaping is performed for only one time, a network node that performs traffic shaping on the data unit may be an access network device, or may be a user plane network element” (par 0159).
Combining paragraphs 0159, 0182-0183, 0221 and paragraphs listed above, Chen’745 discloses: access network device receives transmission integrity requirement and initial service cycle (of data unit including N data packets) in QoS configuration profile from a core network element; detects and identifies data unit including N data packets with bit size of each data packet by first and second identifiers with integrity; and then transmits transmit all these bits in N data packets of data unit with integrity and traffic shaping (corresponding to the one or more quality of service parameters comprising policy information that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups); especially transmit with integrity and traffic shaping can be equated to whether the plurality of data bit groups are processed. This could be second way to map the claim limitations in claim 1.
Therefore, the cited references teach the claimed limitations in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claims 10 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7, 9-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 20230379745 A1, PCT Cont. Jan 29, 2021).
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses a first device for wireless communication (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see, Fig. 16, memory storing computer program or instructions, par 0245); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive, via a control path (control plane path from core network element (session management network element) to access network device can be equated to control path, par 0023, 0162), an indication of one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS configuration profile can be equated to indication of one or more quality of service parameters, par 0180) associated with a plurality of data bit groups (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from session management network element, par 0023, 0162. Noted, session control network element configures access network device with QoS configuration profile, par 0180, 0182), the one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS profile, table 1, par 0181) comprising policy information (PDR (packet detection rule) in first information can be equated to policy information, 0035) that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups (data unit including N data packets can be equated to plurality of data bit groups, and data packet can be equated to data bit group, par 0171) are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups (see, first information in PDR (packet detection rule) indicates transmission integrity requirement of data unit detected and used to identify N data packets detected belonging to the data unit in QoS flow, to indicate whether data in the QoS flow need to be grouped, table 1, par 0035, 0181. Noted, First identifiers of N data packets belonging to the data unit are detected based on the PDR and used to identify size of data unit including N data packets can be equated to a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups, par 0035, 0171); and
communicate, with one or more second devices (Fig. 12, terminal can be equated to second device, par 0168) during a protocol data unit session (PDU session can be equated to protocol data unit session, par 0168), data associated with one or more bit group protocol data units (N data packets in PDU session can be equated to one or more bit group protocol data units, par 0168) in accordance with the one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS configuration profile for integrity requirement of the transmission service can be equated to one or more quality of service parameters, par 0177, 0180) based at least in part on receiving the indication (see, Fig. 12, access network device receives and identifies N data packets in PDU session and communicates with terminal by DRX accordingly based on integrity requirement received in first information of QoS profile, par 0161, 0168-0169, 0177).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the one or more quality of service parameters (initial service cycle and first information in QoS configuration profile can be equated to one or more quality of service parameters, par 0180) comprise an error rate associated with the plurality of data bit groups, a delay budget associated with the plurality of data bit groups, timing information associated with the plurality of data bit groups (see, initial service cycle is a cycle in which an application network element generates a data unit in a transmission process of service data, par 0008), second policy information associated with the plurality of data bit groups, or any combination thereof (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 4 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 3 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the second policy information (MFBR in QoS profile can be equated to second policy information, table 1, par 0181) comprises one or more of: a first indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on receiving all data bits of the plurality of data bit groups (see, MFBR (Maximum flow bit rate) in QoS profile available only to the GBR QoS flow for both uplink and downlink and it’s defined (as all quantities of data bits receives in time period) for whole flow (with N data packets), table 1, par 0170, 0181), a second indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed up to a first bit in error of the plurality of data bit groups, or a third indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a target quantity of data bits of the plurality of data bit groups (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the control path comprises an assured forwarding (AF) entity, a policy control function (PCF) entity, a session management function (SMF) entity, and an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (note, Fig. 1, control plane in 5G core network including paths among AF, PCF, SMF and AMF, par 0086, 0097-0099).
Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 5 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein, to receive the one or more quality of service parameters via the control path (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from session management network element, par 0023, 0162. Noted, session control network element configures access network device with QoS configuration profile, par 0180, 0182), the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive the indication of the one or more quality of service parameters from the SMF entity (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from core network element (session management network element), par 0023, 0162).
Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive, in a header (header information, par 0168) associated with the plurality of data bit groups (first identifier in header information used to identify the data unit with N data packets, par 0166, 0168), protocol layer information (first identifier in header information of general packet radio system tunneling protocol GTP can be equated to protocol layer information, par 0035) associated with transporting the plurality of data bit groups (see, Fig. 12, access network device receives first identifier in header information of general packet radio system tunneling protocol GTP to identify the data unit with N data packets, par 0035, 0166, 0168).
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the first device comprises a radio access network (RAN) entity and the one or more second devices comprise one or more user equipment (UEs) (see, Fig. 12, access network device communicates with terminal , par 0166, 0168).
Regarding claim 10 (Previously Presented), Claim 10 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Claim 11 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12 (Previously Presented), Claim 12 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), Claim 13 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), Claim 14 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), Claim 15 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented), Claim 17 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 21 (Previously Presented), Claim 21 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen’745 in view of Wang et al (US20230019215A1, Priority Date: Jan 7, 2021).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 7 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251).
Chen’745 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the header includes an indication of a priority of the data associated with the one or more bit group protocol data units.
However Wang’215 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, wireless 5G communication system with core NFs, par 0112) discloses: wherein the header includes an indication of a priority of the data associated with the one or more bit group protocol data units (see, ethernet frame header field PCP contains priority information of TSN traffic with QoS flows with multiple PDU sessions, par 0217, 0259).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the first device as taught by Wang’215 into that of Chen’745. The motivation would have been to improve performance when supporting Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) to 5G QoS mapping and associated QoS binding (par 0020).
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Claim 16 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dao et al (US 20190394279 A1) discloses: a QoS profile provided by an SMF 92 to the AN 84 via the AMF 90 (par 0015). This applies to claim 1: first device receives, via a control path, an indication of one or more quality of service parameters.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473