DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7, 9-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 20230379745 A1, PCT Cont. Jan 29, 2021).
Regarding claim 2 (New), Chen’745 discloses a first device for wireless communication (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see, Fig. 16, memory storing computer program or instructions, par 0245); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive, via a control path (control plane path from core network element (session management network element) to access network device can be equated to control path, par 0023, 0162), an indication of one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS configuration profile can be equated to indication of one or more quality of service parameters, par 0180) associated with a plurality of data bit groups (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from session management network element, par 0023, 0162. Noted, session control network element configures access network device with QoS configuration profile, par 0180, 0182), the one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS profile, table 1, par 0181) comprising policy information (PDR (packet detection rule) in first information can be equated to policy information, 0035) that indicates whether the plurality of data bit groups (data unit including N data packets can be equated to plurality of data bit groups, and data packet can be equated to data bit group, par 0171) are processed based at least in part on a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups (see, first information in PDR (packet detection rule) indicates transmission integrity requirement of data unit detected and used to identify N data packets detected belonging to the data unit in QoS flow, to indicate whether data in the QoS flow need to be grouped, table 1, par 0035, 0181. Noted, First identifiers of N data packets belonging to the data unit are detected based on the PDR and used to identify size of data unit including N data packets can be equated to a quantity of successfully received bits of the plurality of data bit groups, par 0035, 0171); and
communicate, with one or more second devices (Fig. 12, terminal can be equated to second device, par 0168) during a protocol data unit session (PDU session can be equated to protocol data unit session, par 0168), data associated with one or more bit group protocol data units (N data packets in PDU session can be equated to one or more bit group protocol data units, par 0168) in accordance with the one or more quality of service parameters (first information in QoS configuration profile for integrity requirement of the transmission service can be equated to one or more quality of service parameters, par 0177, 0180) based at least in part on receiving the indication (see, Fig. 12, access network device receives and identifies N data packets in PDU session and communicates with terminal by DRX accordingly based on integrity requirement received in first information of QoS profile, par 0161, 0168-0169, 0177).
Regarding claim 3 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the one or more quality of service parameters (initial service cycle and first information in QoS configuration profile can be equated to one or more quality of service parameters, par 0180) comprises an error rate associated with the plurality of data bit groups, a delay budget associated with the plurality of data bit groups, timing information associated with the plurality of data bit groups (see, initial service cycle is a cycle in which an application network element generates a data unit in a transmission process of service data, par 0008), second policy information associated with the plurality of data bit groups, or any combination thereof (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 4 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 3 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the second policy information (MFBR in QoS profile can be equated to second policy information, table 1, par 0181) comprises one or more of: a first indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on receiving all data bits of the plurality of data bit groups (see, MFBR (Maximum flow bit rate) in QoS profile available only to the GBR QoS flow for both uplink and downlink and it’s defined (as all quantities of data bits receives in time period) for whole flow (with N data packets), table 1, par 0170, 0181), a second indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed up to a first bit in error of the plurality of data bit groups, or a third indication indicating that the plurality of data bit groups are processed based at least in part on a target quantity of data bits of the plurality of data bit groups (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 5 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the control path comprises an assured forwarding (AF) entity, a policy control function (PCF) entity, a session management function (SMF) entity, and an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (note, Fig. 1, control plane in 5G core network including paths among AF, PCF, SMF and AMF, par 0086, 0097-0099).
Regarding claim 6 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 5 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein, to receive the one or more quality of service parameters via the control path (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from session management network element, par 0023, 0162. Noted, session control network element configures access network device with QoS configuration profile, par 0180, 0182), the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive the indication of the one or more quality of service parameters from the SMF entity (see, Fig. 12 step S1210, access network device receives first information in QoS configuration profile from core network element (session management network element), par 0023, 0162).
Regarding claim 7 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first device to (see, Fig. 16, processor executes computer program stored in the memory to perform the method, par 0245):
receive, in a header (header information, par 0168) associated with the plurality of data bit groups (first identifier in header information used to identify the data unit with N data packets, par 0166, 0168), protocol layer information (first identifier in header information of general packet radio system tunneling protocol GTP can be equated to protocol layer information, par 0035) associated with transporting the plurality of data bit groups (see, Fig. 12, access network device receives first identifier in header information of general packet radio system tunneling protocol GTP to identify the data unit with N data packets, par 0035, 0166, 0168).
Regarding claim 9 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251), wherein the first device comprises a radio access network (RAN) entity and the one or more second devices comprise one or more user equipment (UEs) (see, Fig. 12, access network device communicates with terminal , par 0166, 0168).
Regarding claim 10 (New), Claim 10 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 11 (New), Claim 11 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12 (New), Claim 12 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13 (New), Claim 13 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14 (New), Claim 14 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 15 (New), Claim 15 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 17 (New), Claim 17 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 18 (New), Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 (New), Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20 (New), Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 21 (New), Claim 21 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen’745 in view of Wang et al (US20230019215A1, Priority Date: Jan 7, 2021).
Regarding claim 8 (New), Chen’745 discloses the first device of claim 7 (see, Fig. 1 and 16, access network device in 5G radio network, par 0086-0087, 0251).
Chen’745 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the header includes an indication of a priority of the data associated with the one or more bit group protocol data units.
However Wang’215 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, wireless 5G communication system with core NFs, par 0112) discloses: wherein the header includes an indication of a priority of the data associated with the one or more bit group protocol data units (see, ethernet frame header field PCP contains priority information of TSN traffic with QoS flows with multiple PDU sessions, par 0217, 0259).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the first device as taught by Wang’215 into that of Chen’745. The motivation would have been to improve performance when supporting Time Sensitive Communication (TSC) to 5G QoS mapping and associated QoS binding (par 0020).
Regarding claim 16 (New), Claim 16 recites a method of wireless communication at a first device in a wireless communication system performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dao et al (US 20190394279 A1) discloses: a QoS profile provided by an SMF 92 to the AN 84 via the AMF 90 (par 0015). This applies to claim 1: first device receives, via a control path, an indication of one or more quality of service parameters.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473