DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending as amended 1/3/25 and are considered herein.
Formalities:
The drawings of 5/23/24 are accepted.
The specification of 1/3/25 is accepted.
Applicant’s priority is noted to be:
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 7 requires the codon optimization to be in the first region. However, codon optimization can only be present in the region coding for the polypeptide. Thus, despite a slight difference in wording, these claims have substantially the same scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains elements (c) and (d). (c) a terminal region located 3’ to (b), while (d) is a 3’ tailing region. It is not clear if (c) and (d) are the actually the same, or if (c) or (d) is actually the terminal region.
Double Patenting
To establish nonstatutory double patenting under an obviousness analysis: (A) the conflicting design claims must have overall appearances with basically the same design characteristics; and (B) the differences between the two designs must be insufficient to patentably distinguish one design from the other. Differences may be considered patentably insufficient when they are de minimis or obvious to a designer of ordinary skill in the art. While the conflicting application or patent (if less than a year older than the application) used to establish nonstatutory double patenting is not considered "prior art," the principle involved is basically the same. See In re Zickendraht, 319 F.2d 225, 138 USPQ 22 (CCPA 1963)(see concurring opinion of Judge Rich).
U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380
Claims 1-8 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1: Patent Claim 1 teaches a region of linked nucleosides encoding a protein antigen (b), a 5’ UTR region comprising a translation enhancer which may be a Cap1 (e.g., Claim 8 and (a)), a 3’ UTR (c), and a tailing region (d).
Claims 2-5: Patent Claim 1 teaches 1-me-pseudouridine and 5’-me-cytidine.
Claims 6-7: Claim 2 teaches codon optimization, which necessarily is the same region, being to the coding region.
Claim 8: Claim 1 teaches the 5’UTR.
Claim 12: Claim 7 teaches the 5’ cap.
Claim 13: Claim 8 teaches Cap1.
Thus, in light of the patent, the compositions claimed are obvious. The Artisan would make them to practice the methods of the patent. The Artisan would expect success, as it is claimed.
+Native IRES
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380 in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,763,458.
As shown above, the patent claims the various aspects, save for the presence of a native IRES.
On the other hand,
+ TEE
Claims 1-8 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226470 to Mauro, et al.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of a translation enhancer elements that are not cap1, being utilized is not claimed.
On the other hand, Mauro teaches for expression of proteins, including SEQ ID NOs 1-35.
Thus, in light of the patent and Mauro, the invention is obvious. The Artisan would utilize the TEEs of Mauro, in order to enhance transcription. The Artisan would expect success, as Mauro teaches it for such use.
+miR-122 binding site
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of Wong, et al. (2010) “Cordycepin Inhibits Protein Synthesis and Cell Adhesion through Effects on Signal Transduction”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 285(4): 6210-21.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of utilizing a miR-122 binding site is not claimed.
On the other hand, Broderick discloses that the miR-122 binding site represses expression in liver (e.g., Introduction).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate the miR-122 binding site into the mRNA. The Artisan would do so to inhibit liver cell expression. The Artisan would expect success, as the site is used in the construct for art-recognized purposes.
+Cordycepin
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of Broderick, et al. (2011) “MicroRNA therapeutics”, Gene Therapy, 18: 1104-10.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of terminating the mRNA with cordycepin is not claimed.
On the other hand, Wong teaches 3’-deoxyadenosine (cordycepin) has relatively minor effects on transcription of mRNA, but inhibits polyadenylation, when incorporated at the 3’ end as a chain terminator (p. 2610, paragraph bridging columns).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to utilize the cordycepin of Wong. The Artisan would do so to inhibit polyA tail formation. The Artisan would expect success, as it is utilized for art-recognized purposes.
+stem-loop in 3’ end
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of Williams, et al. (1994) “Changes in the stem-loop at the 3’ terminus of histone mRNA affects its nucleoplasmic transport and cytoplasmic regulation” Nucleic Acids Research, 4660-66.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of of a 3’ end containing a stem-loop structure is not claimed.
On the other hand, it has long been known that the 3’ end of histone mRNA not only favors nuclear localization, but inhibits degradation (e.g., Williams, ABSTRACT).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to contain the stem loops of Williams in the 3’ end of the mRNA. The Artisan would do so to localize it to the nucleus and inhibit degradation. The Artisan would expect success, as the components are utilized for art-recognized purposes.
U.S. Patent No. 10,155,029
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,029. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1: Patent Claim 1 teaches a region encoding a polypeptide of interest (b), which may comprise a translation initiation sequence in Claim 5, a first terminal region 5’UTR (a), a 3’UTR (c), and a 3’ tailing region (d). The TEE may be cap1 (e.g., Claim 15).
Claim 2: Claim 1 requires modified uridines.
Claim 3: Claim 2 teaches pseudouridine analogs.
Claim 4: Claim 3 teaches 1-me-pseudoU.
Claim 5: Claim 4 requires 5-me-C.
Claims 6-7: cap1 may be utilized (Claim 15).
Claim 8: Claim 1 teaches a 5’ UTR.
Claim 12: Claim 6 teaches a 5’ cap.
Claim 13: Claim 7 teaches several common caps.
Claim 15: Claim 1 requires the microRNA site.
Claim 16: Claim 8 teaches an immune specific microRNA site.
Claim 17: Claim 9 teaches the same miR sites.
Claim 18: Claim 10 teaches a chain terminating nucleoside.
Claim 19: Claim 11 teaches the same chain terminating nucleosides.
Claim 20: Claim 12 teaches a stem-loop in the 3’ tailing region.
Thus, in light of the patent the invention is obvious. The Artisan would make the invention and expect success, as it is claimed.
+ TEE
Claims 1-8, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226470 to Mauro, et al.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of a translation enhancer elements that are not cap1 are not claimed.
On the other hand, Mauro teaches for expression of proteins, including SEQ ID NOs 1-35.
Thus, in light of the patent and Mauro, the invention is obvious. The Artisan would utilize the TEEs of Mauro, in order to enhance transcription. The Artisan would expect success, as Mauro teaches it for such use.
+miR-122 binding site
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,380, in view of Wong, et al. (2010) “Cordycepin Inhibits Protein Synthesis and Cell Adhesion through Effects on Signal Transduction”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 285(4): 6210-21.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of utilizing a miR-122 binding site is not claimed.
On the other hand, Broderick discloses that the miR-122 binding site represses expression in liver (e.g., Introduction).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to incorporate the miR-122 binding site into the mRNA. The Artisan would do so to inhibit liver cell expression. The Artisan would expect success, as the site is used in the construct for art-recognized purposes.
U.S. Patent No. 10,925,935
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1: Claim 1 teaches a region encoding the polypeptide of interest (b), a 5’UTR (a) which may comprise the TEE Cap1 (e.g., Claim 15), a 3’UTR (c) and a tailing region (d).
Claim 2: Claim 1 teaches modified uridines.
Claim 3: Claim 2 teaches pseudouridine analogs.
Claim 4: Claim 3 teaches 1-methylpseudouridine.
Claim 5: Claim 4 teaches 5-methyl pseudouridine.
Claims 6-7: Claim 13 teaches codon optimized coding region.
Claim 8: Claim 1 teaches a 5’ UTR.
Claims 12-13: Cap1 is taught (e.g., Claim 15).
Claim 15: Claim 1 teaches the miRNA binding site.
Claim 16: Claim 5 teaches immune-cell-specific miRNA site.
Claim 17: Claim 6 teaches the same miR sites.
Thus, in light of the patent, the invention is obvious. The Artisan would make it and expect success, as it is claimed.
+ TEE
Claims 1-8, and 12-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,935, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226470 to Mauro, et al.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of a translation enhancer elements that are not cap1 are not claimed.
On the other hand, Mauro teaches for expression of proteins, including SEQ ID NOs 1-35.
Thus, in light of the patent and Mauro, the invention is obvious. The Artisan would utilize the TEEs of Mauro, in order to enhance transcription. The Artisan would expect success, as Mauro teaches it for such use.
+Cordycepin
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,935, in view of Broderick, et al. (2011) “MicroRNA therapeutics”, Gene Therapy, 18: 1104-10.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of terminating the mRNA with cordycepin is not claimed.
On the other hand, Wong teaches 3’-deoxyadenosine (cordycepin) has relatively minor effects on transcription of mRNA, but inhibits polyadenylation, when incorporated at the 3’ end as a chain terminator (p. 2610, paragraph bridging columns).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to utilize the cordycepin of Wong. The Artisan would do so to inhibit polyA tail formation. The Artisan would expect success, as it is utilized for art-recognized purposes.
+stem-loop in 3’ end
Claims 1-8, 12-13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,935, in view of Williams, et al. (1994) “Changes in the stem-loop at the 3’ terminus of histone mRNA affects its nucleoplasmic transport and cytoplasmic regulation” Nucleic Acids Research, 4660-66.
As shown above, the base claims are obvious over the patent alone, but the aspect of of a 3’ end containing a stem-loop structure is not claimed.
On the other hand, it has long been known that the 3’ end of histone mRNA not only favors nuclear localization, but inhibits degradation (e.g., Williams, ABSTRACT).
Thus, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to contain the stem loops of Williams in the 3’ end of the mRNA. The Artisan would do so to localize it to the nucleus and inhibit degradation. The Artisan would expect success, as the components are utilized for art-recognized purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Welden, et al. (2011) “Vector Design for Optimal Protein Expression”, BioTechniques, 31: 572-82.
Claim 1, 8, 12-13: van der Welden teaches making mRNAs from T7TS-glob-GFP, which contains the appropriate Cap, 5’ and 3’ UTRs, coding sequence, and polyA tail (e.g., p. 574). The Cap may be considered a TEE.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ROBERT M. KELLY
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/ROBERT M KELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638