DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are withdrawn. New rejections are set forth herein and made final. All arguments are fully addressed herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 4 should read “[[a]] the target rotational speed”
Claims 3 and 4 should read “[[an]] the obstacle”
Appropriate correction is required. Please check the claims for other antecedent issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-7 contain the limitation “sharp corner”. It is unclear what is meant by sharp and what is not sharp. The specification does not lead to what is considered a sharp corner. Thus it is unclear what is being identified as a sharp corner. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite.
Any dependent claims from those rejected above are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Xie (US 2023/0305573).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for controlling rotation of a side brush, comprising: obtaining a working mode of a cleaning apparatus when the cleaning apparatus is working; determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned; and controlling the side brush of the cleaning apparatus to rotate at the target rotational speed (Paragraphs 39, 41, 47, 59-60 and 69-70)
wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: when the cleaning apparatus is in a first working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the size information of the obstacle (Paragraph 47; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim)
Wang fails to explicitly disclose when the cleaning apparatus is in a first working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be greater than or equal to a preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed; or when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be smaller than the preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a second rotational speed, wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed
Xie teaches a robot cleaner wherein the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be greater than or equal to a preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed; or when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be smaller than the preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a second rotational speed, wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed (Paragraph 97-99). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teachings of Xie. The ability to convert an image to a “depth image so as to accurately determine whether an obstacle is present within the current depth image or not. In the method, any object in a traveling route of the self-moving robot can be detected, which breaks through a limitation on types of obstacles in the existing method. In addition, a defect in a detection height of a laser device is remedied, so that a capability of detecting an obstacle by the self-moving robot is further improved, and obstacle avoidance performance of the self-moving robot is increased.” (Xie Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: when that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the type information of the obstacle (Wang Paragraphs 39, 41, 47, 59-60 and 69-70; Xie Paragraph 95-99).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: when that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the type information of the obstacle (Wang Paragraphs 39, 41, 47, 59-60 and 69-70; Xie Paragraph 95-99).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: when that the cleaning apparatus is in the first working mode and no obstacle is detected by the cleaning apparatus, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed (Wang Paragraph 59-60).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses a control apparatus for controlling rotation of a side brush, comprising: an obtaining module configured to obtain a working mode of a cleaning apparatus when the cleaning apparatus is working; a determining module configured to determine a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned; and a controlling module configured to control the side brush of the cleaning apparatus to rotate at the target rotational speed (Wang Paragraphs 39, 41, 59-60 and 69. The different modules are different aspects of the controller).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose when the cleaning apparatus is in a first working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be greater than or equal to a preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed; or when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be smaller than the preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a second rotational speed, wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed
Xie teaches a robot cleaner wherein the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be greater than or equal to a preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed; or when the that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be smaller than the preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a second rotational speed, wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed (Paragraph 97-99). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teachings of Xie. The ability to convert an image to a “depth image so as to accurately determine whether an obstacle is present within the current depth image or not. In the method, any object in a traveling route of the self-moving robot can be detected, which breaks through a limitation on types of obstacles in the existing method. In addition, a defect in a detection height of a laser device is remedied, so that a capability of detecting an obstacle by the self-moving robot is further improved, and obstacle avoidance performance of the self-moving robot is increased.” (Xie Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Xie disclose an electronic device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 28).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Xie (US 2023/0305573) in view of Wang (WO2019109227) herein Wang B
Regarding claim 6 and 7, (as best understood) Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 3. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when that it is determined that the obstacle has a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a third rotational speed, wherein an angle of the sharp corner is smaller than or equal to a preset angle threshold; or when that it is determined that the obstacle does not have a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a fourth rotational speed, wherein the third rotational speed is greater than the fourth rotational speed.
Wang B teaches in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: when that it is determined that the obstacle has a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a third rotational speed, wherein an angle of the sharp corner is smaller than or equal to a preset angle threshold; or when that it is determined that the obstacle does not have a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a fourth rotational speed, wherein the third rotational speed is greater than the fourth rotational speed (Paragraph 75). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to use the images to determine features such as broken sharp corners and adjust the side brush speed accordingly, as taught by Wang B. The greater resemblance of the image to a prestored item, allows for the robot to more easily detect the object. Giving the robot more reassurance of what the object may be cleaned by the side brush and ensure that the object isn’t something else (Wang B Paragraph 61 and 69)
Claim 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Xie (US 2023/0305573) in view of Takenaka (US 2005/0188494).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises arcuate route sweeping .
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises arcuate route sweeping (Figure 6b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an arcuate path as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises spiral type route sweeping .
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises spiral type route sweeping (Paragraphs 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spiral type as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises circular route sweeping.
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises circular route sweeping (Figure 5b Paragraphs 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a circular route as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Xie (US 2023/0305573) in view of Santini (US 2016/0235270).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Wang in view of Xie disclose the method according to claim 4. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second working mode comprises sweeping along an edge.
Santini teaches wherein the second working mode comprises sweeping along an edge (Paragraph 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to allow the robot to slow down and move along a wall as taught by Santini. Such a modification would allow the robot to avoid a collision with the obstacle while cleaning along its perimeter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the term “sharp corner” is a term of the art and gives examples of other patents. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant is trying to claim identifying a sharp corner, then executing steps to follow. There is no definition in the specification of what a sharp corner is. One person might think 90 degrees is a sharp corner. As such the claims are still determined to be indefinite.
Applicant’s arguments, , filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 102-Wang have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Wang in view of Xie.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723