DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2024 is being considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-8 contain method steps starting in “in a case” it is unclear if these required by the claim. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite. Contingent limitations are discussed in MPEP 2111.04. For Examination purposes, they will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation which does not require for these events to take place. If Applicant believes this interpretation is in error please change the language from “in a case” to “when”.
Claims 6-7 contain the limitation “sharp corner”. It is unclear what is meant by sharp and what is not sharp. For example if a wall has a corner that measures 120 degrees, but has a bullnose edge, is this considered “sharp”. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite. Since these claims are prefaced with “in a case” no claim assumptions are made.
Any dependent claims from those rejected above are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 112137503A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for controlling rotation of a side brush, comprising: obtaining a working mode of a cleaning apparatus when the cleaning apparatus is working; determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned; and controlling the side brush of the cleaning apparatus to rotate at the target rotational speed (Paragraphs 39, 41, 59-60 and 69).
Regarding claim 2, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a first working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the size information of the obstacle (Paragraph 47; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim).
Regarding claim 3, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the type information of the obstacle (Paragraph 47; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim) ).
Regarding claim 4, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned, wherein the information of the obstacle comprises the type information of the obstacle (Paragraphs 47, 59-60 and 69; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim) .
Regarding claim 5, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein, in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a first working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to size information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be greater than or equal to a preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed; or in a case that the size information of the obstacle is determined to be smaller than the preset size threshold according to the size information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a second rotational speed, wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed (Paragraph 70; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim).
Regarding claim 6, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein, in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that it is determined that the obstacle has a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a third rotational speed, wherein an angle of the sharp corner is smaller than or equal to a preset angle threshold; or in a case that it is determined that the obstacle does not have a sharp corner according to the type information, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a fourth rotational speed, wherein the third rotational speed is greater than the fourth rotational speed. (as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim)
Regarding claim 7, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein, in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in a second working mode, the determining the target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to type information of the obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in the area currently being cleaned comprises: in a case that it is determined that the obstacle has a sharp corner according to the type information, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush is a third rotational speed, wherein an angle of the sharp corner is smaller than or equal to a preset angle threshold; or in a case that it is determined that the obstacle does not have a sharp corner according to the type information, determining the target rotational speed of the side brush is a fourth rotational speed, wherein the third rotational speed is greater than the fourth rotational speed. (as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim)
Regarding claim 8, (as best understood) Wang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the cleaning apparatus is in the first working mode and no obstacle is detected by the cleaning apparatus, determining that the target rotational speed of the side brush is a first rotational speed (Paragraph 59-60; as discusses above, in a case is not required in the claim).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses a control apparatus for controlling rotation of a side brush, comprising: an obtaining module configured to obtain a working mode of a cleaning apparatus when the cleaning apparatus is working; a determining module configured to determine a target rotational speed of the side brush of the cleaning apparatus according to the working mode of the cleaning apparatus and information of an obstacle detected by the cleaning apparatus in an area currently being cleaned; and a controlling module configured to control the side brush of the cleaning apparatus to rotate at the target rotational speed (Paragraphs 39, 41, 59-60 and 69. The different modules are different aspects of the controller).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses a electronic device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Takenaka (US 2005/0188494)
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises arcuate route sweeping .
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises arcuate route sweeping (Figure 6b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a arcuate path as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises spiral type route sweeping .
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises spiral type route sweeping (Paragraphs 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spiral type as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the method according to claim 2. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first working mode comprises circular route sweeping.
Takenaka teaches a robot cleaner comprises circular route sweeping (Figure 5b Paragraphs 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a circular route as taught by Takenaka. Such a modification would ensure less debris is missed in comparison to the traditional zigzag pattern (Takenaka Paragraph 7).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112137503A) in view of Santini (US 2016/0235270).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Wang discloses the method according to claim 4. Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second working mode comprises sweeping along an edge.
Santini teaches wherein the second working mode comprises sweeping along an edge (Paragraph 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to allow the robot to slow down and move along a wall as taught by Santini. Such a modification would allow the robot to avoid a collision with the obstacle while cleaning along its perimeter.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723