DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McLuchlan et al. (US 2004/0248453) hereafter McLuchlan.
Regarding claim 1, McLuchlan, discloses a connector system 10, particularly an electrical connector system, comprising: a first connector housing 12 having a first locking feature 28; a second connector housing (not shown, see paragraph [024] –[0029] being configured to mate with the first connector housing 12 and having a second locking feature (latch receiving area of the mating connector, see paragraph [0029], lines 8-14), wherein the first and second locking feature are configured to lock the first connector housing and the second connector housing with each other, and a connector position assurance (CPA) element 16 configured to tension the first locking feature and the second locking feature relative to each other when the CPA element is assembled with the mated connector housings (figs. 1, 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 2, McLuchlan, discloses the CPA element has (front portion of 56 is of) a tapered shape.
Regarding claim 3, McLuchlan, discloses the CPA element has a wedge shape 64 .
Regarding claim 4, McLuchlan, discloses the first connector housing 12 comprises an actuation surface (of CPA receiving are 30 under latch 28, fig. 3, between two side sections 32) being arranged to slidingly guide the CPA element into the assembled position when the connector housings are mated.
Regarding claim 5, McLuchlan, discloses the actuation surface is inclined relative to a direction along which the CPA element is insertable into the first connector housing (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, McLuchlan, discloses the second connector housing comprises an actuation surface (of latch receiving aera for receiving the latch projection (fig. 9)being arranged to slidingly guide the CPA element into the assembled position when the connector housings are mated (see paragraphs [0028] and [0029].
Regarding claim 7, McLuchlan, discloses the actuation surface (see fig. 9 and being interact with the inclined wedges the latch 28 , see paragraph [0028] is inclined relative to a direction along which the CPA element is insertable into the second connector housing.
Regarding claim 8, McLuchlan, discloses the connector system is configured such that the CPA element can be assembled with the first and the second connector housing only when they are mated with each other.
Regarding claim 20, McLuchlan, discloses the connector system comprises a first electrical contacting feature arranged within the first connector housing and a second electrical contacting feature arranged within the second connector housing, wherein the first and second electrical contacting feature are adapted to establish electrical contact when the first connector housing is mated with the second connector housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John.
Regarding claim 9, McLuchlan, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first locking feature comprises a locking receiving area and the second locking feature comprises a resilient arm with a locking portion shaped to form-fittingly engage with the locking receiving area.
McLuchlan, discloses the first locking feature comprises a resilient arm a and the second locking feature comprises a locking receiving area with a locking portion shaped to form-fittingly engage with the locking receiving area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first locking feature comprises a locking receiving area and the second locking feature comprises a resilient arm with a locking portion shaped to form-fittingly engage with the locking receiving area, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 10, McLuchlan, discloses the CPA element is adapted to press the locking portion into the locking receiving area when the CPA element is assembled with the mated connector housings.
Regarding claim 11, McLuchlan, discloses n the locking receiving area (corresponding to ramp surface of 28, 48 comprises a ramp surface being arranged such that the locking portion is urged into a clearance-free position when the CPA element presses the locking portion towards the locking receiving area.
Regarding claim 12, McLuchlan, discloses the locking receiving area has a tapered shape (corresponding to ramp surface of locking portion.
Regarding claim 13, McLuchlan, discloses the locking receiving area tapers in a direction along which the locking portion is engageable with the locking receiving area.
Regarding claim 14, McLuchlan, discloses the locking receiving area 40, 42 is arranged on an outer circumferential surface of the first connector housing 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not discloses a connector system according to claim 1, discloses a first locking feature 28 comprises a first abutment portion adapted to abut a CPA element and a second locking feature comprises a second abutment portion to abut the CPA element as required by this claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831