DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on April 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Bremer discloses an adaptive anti-lock brake control system which are used in conjunction with vehicle service brakes and are therefore not vehicle emergency brakes, the examiner disagrees. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the anti-lock brakes can be used as emergency brakes or in an emergency so the intended use of the brakes is not able to patentably distinguish between the brakes of the prior art of Bremer and claim 1 of the subject application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bremer (USPN 3,953,080).
Regarding claim 1, Bremer teaches an emergency brake control apparatus for a vehicle train having emergency brakes (figure 1; abstract; column 2, 15-32), the emergency brake control apparatus comprising:
a first speed source arranged to provide a first signal indicative of ground speed of the vehicle train (figure 1, element 12; column 2, line 62-column 3, line 2);
a second speed source arranged to provide a second signal indicative of ground speed of the vehicle train (figure 1, element 12’; column 2, line 62-column 3, line 2);
a vehicle controller arranged to (i) control the emergency brakes based upon the first signal from the first speed source when the first signal is within a predetermined speed tolerance (figure 1, elements 20, 34, 36, 40, 46; column 3, lines 2-27), and (ii) control the emergency brakes based upon the second signal from the second speed source when the first signal from the first speed source is outside of the predetermined speed tolerance (figure 1, elements 20, 34, 36, 40, 46; column 3, line 2 – column 5, line 3).
Regarding claim 5, Bremer teaches an emergency brake control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller comprises a brake controller that controls the emergency brakes based upon vehicle ground speed (figure 1, all; column 3, lines 11-62; column 5, lines 35-56).
Regarding claim 9, Bremer teaches an emergency brake control apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising:
a driver alerting device for alerting a vehicle driver of when control of the emergency brakes is switched between the first and second signals (figure 1, elements 66 and 68; column 5, lines 35-68).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 8, and 23-33 are allowed.
Claims 4 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach that the second speed source contains all of a camera, a radar, a Lidar, an inertial measurement unit, and a global-positioning system providing the second signal. Claims 3 and 23-27 contain allowable subject matter based on their dependence on claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the vehicle controller is arranged to activate the emergency brakes, without any vehicle driver intervention, when service brakes are unable to slow down or stop the vehicle train. Claims 28-33 contain allowable subject matter based on their dependence on claim 8.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach that the first speed source comprises a first wheel sensor coupled to a steering axle of a tractor of the vehicle train and a second wheel sensor coupled to a drive axle of the tractor.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach a specific button, located in the driver compartment, for enabling the driver to activate the emergency brakes.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach an autonomous driving system that requests to activate the emergency brakes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Susan E Scharpf/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747