DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This is a final rejection in response to the Applicant's remarks and amendment filed on 04/14/2026. Claim(s) 1,3,10,14 is/are currently amended, claim(s) 2 is/are cancelled, claim(s) 4-9,11-13 and 15-20 is/are previously presented. Accordingly claims 1 and 3-20 are examined herein.
Note
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating unit for melting a filament” in claims 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at [0037] of instant publication;
“an XY mechanism that moves the tool head” in claims 7 and 10-13 with corresponding structure disclosed at Fig. 5; [0019-0020] of instant publication;
“a lifting mechanism that that lifts and lowers the build plate” in claims 7 and 10-14 with corresponding structure disclosed at [0051] of instant publication; and
“a filament providing mechanism” in claims 7 and 10-14 with corresponding structure disclosed at Fig. 6; [0043] of instant publication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7,10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2017/0072632 - of record) in view of Sydow (US 2019/0184633 - of record) and Share (US 2018/0029307).
Regarding claim 1, Page teaches a tool head for a three-dimensional molding device (100) (see Fig. 1;[0027]), comprising:
an extruder (an extruder assembly) for feeding a filament (see [0027-0028]);
an extruder motor (102 and/or 162) for driving the extruder (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 1C; [0006], [0031] and [0039-0040]);
a heating unit (heating system (132)) for melting the filament fed from the extruder (see Fig. 1B; [0028] and [0032-0034]);
a nozzle (138) for discharging the filament melted by the heating unit (see Fig. 1B;[0033], [0035] and [0037]); and
a fan for cooling a hot end (see [0006], [0008], [0028], [0033], [0039] and [0047-0050]). However, Page does not explicitly teach that the fan is for cooling the extruder motor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Sydow teaches a print head for three-dimensional printing comprising an extrusion assembly (1) for providing filament (10) coupled to a drive assembly in the form of a stepper motor (3), a nozzle assembly (2) coupled to the extrusion assembly (1) (Abstract; Fig. 1 and [0024]); and a cooling mechanism comprising cooling ducts (14) distributing a cooling medium (11) for cooling both the stepper motor (3) and the extrusion assembly (1) as a whole (see Figs. 1-2; [0025-0026]) for the benefits of avoiding the loss of motor steps, irregular/uncontrolled filament feeding, and/or deterioration of product quality (see [0011]).
Sydow further teaches that a fan is well-known cooling mechanism in the art (see [0004]). It is clear from the disclosure of Sydow that the technique of cooling of the extruder motor via a cooling medium is known and desirable in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device as taught by Page in view of Sydow by configuring the fan with cooing ducts for cooling the extruder motor as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Sydow above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would prevent an irregular and uncontrolled filament feed, which might otherwise result in deterioration of the product quality (see [0011] of Sydow).
Page in view of Sydow further teaches, wherein the fan for cooling the extruder motor is a hot end fan that cools the heating unit (see [0028], [0039] and [0047-0050] of Page and [0025-0026] of Sydow). However, Page in view of Sydow does not teach that the hot end fan is configured such that cooling air from the hot end fan cools the extruder motor after cooling the heating unit.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Share teaches a temperature control system for an extruder (100) of a 3-D printer (Abstract), wherein the temperature control system comprises a hot end blower or fan (120), wherein air flow from blower (120) is directed, through a baffling system to different components of the extruder to cool these different components such as an extruder motor (148,152) and heating block (156) (see Figs. 2A-2B and Figs. 4-5;[0033-0038]). Share further teaches the fan/blow configured for blowing the cool air through different channels (176,180) of the baffling system such that cooling air from the hot end fan (120) cools the extruder motor (152) and cooling the heating unit (156) separately (see Figs. 5-6;[0036-0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device as taught by Page in view of Share by configuring the hot end fan such that cooling air from the hot end fan cools the extruder motor after cooling the heating unit as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Sydow above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for cooling different components of the extruder using the same blower, having good temperature control of the filament being melted (see [0001] and [0006] of Share).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skills in the art, upon reading Share would have recognized that that cooling air from the hot end fan cools the extruder motor after cooling the heating unit is one of a finite number of options (i.e. cooling extruder motor after, before or simultaneously the heating unit) known to be useful for efficiently cooling the extruder’s multiple components. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try configuring the hot end fan such that cooling air from the hot end fan cools the extruder motor after cooling the heating unit in the device by Share because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but or ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Page in view of Sydow and Share further teaches the tool head, wherein a ventilation passage (cooling ducts (14)) for the cooling air is present therein (see Fig. 2; [0025-0026] of Sydow).
Regarding claim 6, Page in view of Sydow and Share further teaches the tool head, further comprising a parts cooling fan capable for cooling a modeled object (i.e. the cooling fan configured for cooling nozzle (138) as shown in cross-section in the schematic of FIG. 1B and the material dispensed by the nozzle (138) which forms the modeled object) (see Fig. 1B and Fig. 3A; [0033] and [0047-0050] of Page).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Page in view of Sydow and Share teaches a three-dimensional molding device (3D printer (100)) (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page), comprising:
the tool head according to claim 1 (see 103 rejection of claim 1 above);
an XY mechanism (carriage 106 is moveable in a first direction (x) along a fixed arm of the 3D printer (100)) that moves the tool head in the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1A;[0027] of Page) ;
a build plate (build platform (108 and/or 168)) on which a modeled object discharged from the tool head is placed (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 1C;[0027] of Page);
a lifting mechanism (i.e. motion system structure that configured to lift the build platform (108) in y and Z directions) that lifts and lowers the build plate (see Fig. 1A;[0027] of Page);
a filament providing mechanism (a cold end that pulls/feeds the filament (e.g., thermoplastic from a spool)) that provides filament to the tool head (see [0028] of Page); and
a control device that controls these operations (i.e. 3D printer motion system (120) includes at least one controller and an input/output (I/O) subsystem) (see Fig. 1B;[0029-0030] and [0040] of Page).
Regarding claim 14, Page in view of Sydow and share further teaches a three-dimensional molding device (3D printer (100)) (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page), comprising:
the tool head according to claim 6 (see 103 rejection of claim 6 above);
an XY mechanism (carriage 106 is moveable in a first direction (x) along a fixed arm of the 3D printer (100)) that moves the tool head in the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page);
a build plate (build platform (108 and/or 168)) on which a modeled object discharged from the tool head is placed (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 1C; [0027] of Page);
a lifting mechanism (i.e. motion system structure that configured to lift the build platform (108) in y and Z directions) that lifts and lowers the build plate (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page);
a filament providing mechanism (a cold end that pulls/feeds the filament (e.g., thermoplastic from a spool)) that provides filament to the tool head (see [0028] of Page); and
a control device that controls these operations (i.e. 3D printer motion system (120) includes at least one controller and an input/output (I/O) subsystem) (see Fig. 1B;[0029-0030] and [0040] of Page).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2017/0072632 - of record) in view of Sydow (US 2019/0184633 - of record) and Share (US 2018/0029307) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LaBossiere (US 2007/0003656 - of record).
Regarding claim 4, Page in view of Sydow and Share teaches the tool head as discussed in claim 1 above.
Page further teaches a 3D printer motion system (120) includes the extrusion motor and filament drive mechanism (see [0031] of Page). However, the combination of Page in view of Sydow does not teach the extruder has a first rotating member and a second rotating member; the first rotating member is provided with: a first driven gear receiving driving force from a first driving gear of the extruder motor, a second driving gear that transmits driving force to the second rotating member, and a first support shaft that supports the first driven gear and the second driving gear; the second rotating member is provided with: a second driven gear receiving driving force from the second driving gear, and a second support shaft that supports the second driven gear; and the filament is fed while sandwiched between the first rotating member and the second rotating member.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing devices, LaBossiere teaches deposition modeling system incorporates a drive mechanism (10) to feed a strand of filament (Abstract, Fig. 2A), the drive mechanism comprises a first rotating member (30, 44, 46, and 32) and a second rotating member (26 and 28); the first rotating member is provided with: a first driven gear (a driven gear (46)) receiving driving force from a first driving gear (a drive gear (44)) of an extruder motor (12), a second driving gear (idler roller (30)) that transmits driving force to the second rotating member (see Figs. 2A-2B; [0032], [0034] and [0039]), and a first support shaft (28) that supports the first driven gear (46) and the second driving gear (30); the second rotating member is provided with: a second driven gear (drive roller (26)) receiving driving force from the second driving gear (idler roller (30), and a second support shaft (a drive axle (28)) that supports the second driven gear (26) (see Fig. 2B;[0034-0035]); and the filament (38) is fed while sandwiched between the first rotating member and the second rotating member (see Fig. 2A;[0037] and [0040]). LaBossiere teaches that the feed drive mechanism accommodates filament having various diameters, more effectively controls movement of the filament and is easier to service and repair (see [0002] and [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of LaBossiere with a feed drive mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of LaBossiere above; and doing so is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a drive mechanism that accommodates filament having various diameters, more effectively controls movement of the filament and is easier to service and repair (see [0002] and [0047] of LaBossiere).
Regarding claim 5, Page in view of Sydow, Share and LaBossiere further teaches the tool head, wherein the first driven gear (46) has more teeth than the first driving gear (44) and the second driving gear (30) has fewer teeth than the first driven gear (46) (see Figs. 2A-2B of LaBossiere).
Regarding claims 12-13, Page in view of Sydow, Share and LaBossiere teaches a three-dimensional molding device (3D printer (100)) (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page), comprising:
the tool head according to claims 4 and 5 (see 103 rejection of claims 4-5 above);
an XY mechanism (carriage 106 is moveable in a first direction (x) along a fixed arm of the 3D printer (100)) that moves the tool head in the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page);
a build plate (build platform (108 and/or 168)) on which a modeled object discharged from the tool head is placed (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 1C; [0027] of Page);
a lifting mechanism (i.e. motion system structure that is configured to lift the build platform (108) in y and Z directions) that lifts and lowers the build plate (see Fig. 1A; [0027] of Page);
a filament providing mechanism (a cold end that pulls/feeds the filament (e.g., thermoplastic from a spool)) that provides filament to the tool head (see [0028] of Page); and
a control device that controls these operations (i.e. 3D printer motion system (120) includes at least one controller and an input/output (I/O) subsystem) (see Fig. 1B;[0029-0030] and [0040] of Page).
Claim(s) 8-9,15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2017/0072632 - of record) in view of Sydow (US 2019/0184633 - of record) and Share (US 2018/0029307) as applied to claims 7,10-11 and 14 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN 20452617 with English Machine Translation Attached - of record).
Regarding claim 8,15-16 and 19-20, Page in view of Sydow and Share teaches the three-dimensional molding device as discussed in claims 7,10-11 and 14 above.
Page in view of Sydow and Share does not teach wherein the XY mechanism is provided with:
two belts that horizontally move the tool head, two motors driving each of the belts, and
an X bar connected to the tool head, and two Y bars on both sides of the X bar; and the two Y bars are composed of a linear guide having a rail and a block, and pulleys for the two belts are present on the block.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Zeng teaches XY axis motion mechanism for a 3D printer (see Fig. 2;[0007] and [0023] of English Machine Translation Attached), includes two belts (10) that horizontally move a printhead (1), two stepping motors (9) driving each of the belts (see annotated Fig. 2 below;[0012] and [0024] of English Machine Translation Attached), and an X bar (2) connected to the printhead (1), and two Y bars (3) on both sides of the X bar; and the two Y bars are composed of a linear guide (6,7) having a rail and a block, and pulleys (11) for the two belts are present on the block (see annotated Fig. 2 below; [0010-0011], [0020] and [0024-0025] of English Machine Translation Attached). Zeng teaches that the XY axis motion mechanism of this structure can achieve a fairly high precision, and the guide rail can effectively reduce the resistance of the printing head during printing (see [0007] of English Machine Translation Attached).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device as taught by Page in view of Zeng with the XY mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing devices given the discussion of Zeng above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide XY axis motion mechanism that can achieve a fairly high precision, and the guide rail can effectively reduce the resistance of the printing head during printing (see [0007] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zeng).
Regarding claim 9, Page in view of Sydow, Share and Zeng further teaches the three-dimensional molding device, wherein the two motors (9,9) of the XY mechanism are located outside a chamber in which three-dimensional molding is performed (i.e. a space accommodate the molding material deposited by the print head (1) for forming the 3D object) (see annotated Fig. 2 below; [0024], [0023] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zeng).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2017/0072632 – of record) in view of Sydow (US 2019/0184633 - of record), Share (US 2018/0029307) and LaBossiere (US 2007/0003656 - of record) as applied to claims 12-13 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN 20452617 with English Machine Translation Attached - of record).
Regarding claims 17-18, Page in view of Sydow, Share and LaBossiere teaches a three-dimensional molding device (3D printer (160)) (see Fig. 1C), comprising the tool head as discussed in claims 12-13 above.
Page in view of Sydow does not teach wherein the XY mechanism is provided with:
two belts that horizontally move the tool head, two motors driving each of the belts, and
an X bar connected to the tool head, and two Y bars on both sides of the X bar; and the two Y bars are composed of a linear guide having a rail and a block, and pulleys for the two belts are present on the block.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Zeng teaches XY axis motion mechanism for a 3D printer (see Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2 above;[0007] and [0023] of English Machine Translation Attached), includes two belts (10) that horizontally move a printhead (1), two stepping motors (9) driving each of the belts (see annotated Fig. 2 above;[0012] and [0024] of English Machine Translation Attached), and an X bar (2) connected to the printhead (1), and two Y bars (3) on both sides of the X bar; and the two Y bars are composed of a linear guide (6,7) having a rail and a block, and pulleys (11) for the two belts are present on the block (see annotated Fig. 2 above; [0010-0011], [0020] and [0024-0025] of English Machine Translation Attached). Zeng teaches that the XY axis motion mechanism of this structure can achieve a fairly high precision, and the guide rail can effectively reduce the resistance of the printing head during printing (see [0007] of English Machine Translation Attached).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device as taught by Page in view of Zeng with the XY mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing devices given the discussion of Zeng above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide XY axis motion mechanism that can achieve a fairly high precision, and the guide rail can effectively reduce the resistance of the printing head during printing (see [0007] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zeng).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant argues that the claim terms are sufficiently clear for one having ordinary skill in the art to discern any and all possible structures thereof, and that the claim language is not limited to the embodiments expressly defined in the specification and the claim language does not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) or 35 U.S.C. §112, 6th paragraph. This argument is not found persuasive because:
1) the limitations meet the 3-prong analysis set forth in MPEP 2181 I;
2) applicant did not clearly identify on the record the alleged specific/classes of structure encompassed by the claimed “general terms” and did not present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function (See 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP 608.01 (o) & 2181); and
3) applicant does not want to invoke 112(f), yet applicant wants the examiner to determine/import the scope/meaning of the claimed limitations from the specification into the claims (pg. 1 of remarks).
With respect to the claim objection(s), applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the objection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s). Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Share (US 2018/0029307). Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743