DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently pending
Claims 7-21 are currently withdrawn from consideration
Claims 1-6 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 08/13/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “The composition” and instead should state “The water-filtering composition” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “The composition” and instead should state “The water-filtering composition” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “The composition” and instead should state “The water-filtering composition” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “The composition” and instead should state “The water-filtering composition” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “The composition” and instead should state “The water-filtering composition” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. FURTHERMORE, line 3 states “the composition.” and instead should state “the water-filtering composition.” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momayez et al. (U.S. 2020/0017415 A1) (hereinafter “Moma”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Moma teaches a water-filtering composition (see paragraphs 3, 26, 59, 95-97 and 126) (see Examples 1-3), comprising:
a geopolymer (see paragraphs 4-5, 59-60, 63, 85-86, 88 and 91);
a foaming agent (see paragraphs 59, 81, 83 and 93); and
a sequestration agent (see paragraphs 57, 66, 84 and 89-90).
Although Moma teaches a composition, one may broadly interpret that Moma does not explicitly teach ‘a water-filtering composition’, as recited in the preamble of independent claim 1. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the composition of Moma to be capable of filtering water for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently remove contaminants and unwanted particles from a water composition (see paragraphs 3, 26, 59, 95-97 and 126) (see Examples 1-3).
Regarding Claim 2:
Moma teaches the water-filtering composition of claim 1, wherein the sequestration agent comprises graphene nanoribbon, graphene oxide, reduced graphene oxide, iron oxide, titanium oxide, or combinations thereof (see paragraphs 57, 66, 84 and 89-90).
Regarding Claim 3:
Moma teaches the water-filtering composition of claim 1, wherein the foaming agent is silicon powder (see paragraphs 59, 81, 83 and 93).
Regarding Claim 4:
Moma teaches the water-filtering composition of claim 1, wherein the foaming agent is silicon powder and hydrogen peroxide (see paragraphs 59, 81, 83 and 93).
Regarding Claim 5:
Moma teaches the water-filtering composition of claim 1, wherein the geopolymer comprises pores having an average pore size of greater than about 500 µm and/or pores having an average pore size of less than about 50 µm (Examiner’s note: this claim limitation is in an alternative form and therefore only one has to occur) (see paragraphs 4-5, 59-60, 63, 83, 85-86, 88, 91 and 100-101) (see Examples 1-3).
Regarding Claim 6:
Moma teaches the water-filtering composition of claim 1, wherein the sequestration agent is present in an amount of from about 0.5 weight % to about 5.0 weight % based on a combined 100 weight % total of the composition (see paragraphs 57, 66, 84, 89-90, 95-96 and 101-122) (see Examples 1-3).
Other References Considered
Kim et al. (U.S. 9,957,197 B1) (hereinafter “Kim”) teaches a porous geopolymer.
KONDRATOWICZ et al. (EP 3487829 B1) (hereinafter “Kondra”) teaches a system and process for the production of geopolymer or geopolymer composite.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773