DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is responsive to claims filed on 07/02/2024. Please note Claims 2-21 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover (US 20180045963 A1, cited on IDS 5/23/2024), in view of Bradski (US 20160026253 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hoover discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
detecting, by one or more processors of a wearable augmented reality system (Fig. 2. [0041] “The display 220 can be operatively coupled 250, such as by a wired lead or wireless connectivity, to a local data processing module 260 which may be mounted in a variety of configurations, such as fixedly attached to the frame 230, fixedly attached to a helmet or hat worn by the user, embedded in headphones, or otherwise removably attached to the user 210 (e.g., in a backpack-style configuration, in a belt-coupling style configuration).”), motion of a totem (Fig. 10, block 1010. [0095] “At block 1010, the wearable system may detect a motion of a totem.”);
capturing, by the one or more processor of the wearable augmented reality system, the motion of the totem (Fig. 10, block 1010 “detect and capture user’s interaction with a totem”. [0095] “The movement of the totem may be recognized through the outward-facing imaging system…”);
detecting, by the one or more processors of the wearable augmented reality system and based, at least partly on the motion of the totem, a position, orientation, or movement of the totem with respect to a reference frame (Fig. 10, block 1020. [0096] “Based at least partly on the detected gesture, eye pose, head pose, or input through the totem, the wearable system detects a position, orientation, or movement of the totem (or the user's eyes or head or gestures) with respect to a reference frame, at block 1020.”);
mapping, by the one or more processors of the wearable augmented reality system, user’s interaction with the totem (Fig. 10, block 1030. [0096] “At block 1030, the user's interaction with the totem is mapped.”); and
determining, by the one or more processors of the wearable augmented reality system and based on the mapping, user input (Fig. 10, block 1040. [0096] “Based on the mapping of the user interaction with respect to the reference frame 1020, the system determines the user input at block 1040.”).
Hoover does not expressly disclose mapping the position, the orientation, or the movement of the totem.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bradski discloses mapping, by the one or more processors of the wearable augmented reality system, the position, the orientation, or the movement of the totem (Fig. 111, step 11106 “Map user’s interaction with position/orientation and/or movement of totem”. [1152] “At 11106, the user's interaction (e.g., position/orientation/movement against reference frame) is consulted with a map stored in the system. In one or more embodiments, the map may be a 1:1 map that correlates certain movements/positions or orientations with a particular user input.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Hoover with the feature of mapping the position, the orientation, or the movement of the totem. Doing so could correlate certain movements/positions or orientations with a particular user input, as taught by Bradski.
Regarding Claim 3, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein detecting, by one or more processors of a wearable augmented reality system, motion of the totem is performed through use of an outward-facing imaging system or sensors (Hoover [0095] “The movement of the totem may be recognized through the outward-facing imaging system or may be detected through sensors (e.g., haptic glove, image sensors, hand tracking devices, eye-tracking cameras, head pose sensors, etc.).”).
Regarding Claim 4, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the sensors comprise one or more of a haptic glove, image sensors, hand tracking devices, eye-tracking cameras, or head pose sensors (Hoover [0095] “The movement of the totem may be recognized through the outward-facing imaging system or may be detected through sensors (e.g., haptic glove, image sensors, hand tracking devices, eye-tracking cameras, head pose sensors, etc.).”).
Regarding Claim 5, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the totem is designated for a particular application (Hoover [0095] “The user may have multiple totems. For example, the user may have designated one totem for a social media application, another totem for playing games, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein detection of the position, the orientation, or the movement of the totem with respect to the reference frame, is also based, at least partly on eye pose, head pose, or input through the totem (Hoover [0096] “Based at least partly on the detected gesture, eye pose, head pose, or input through the totem, the wearable system detects a position, orientation, or movement of the totem (or the user's eyes or head or gestures) with respect to a reference frame, at block 1020.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the reference frame is a set of map points based on which the wearable augmented reality system translates the motion of the totem into an action or a command (Hoover [0096] “The reference frame may be a set of map points based on which the wearable system translates the movement of the totem (or the user) to an action or command.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Hoover-Bradski discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the motion of the totem is back and forth, signifying turning a virtual page or moving from one user interface screen to another user interface screen (Hoover [0097] “For example, the user may move a totem or physical object back and forth to signify turning a virtual page and moving on to a next page or moving from one user interface (UI) display screen to another UI screen.”).
Regarding Claim 9, it recites similar limitations of claim 2 but in a medium form. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, it recites similar limitations of claim 4. The rationale of claim 4 rejection is applied to reject claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites similar limitations of claim 5. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, it recites similar limitations of claim 6. The rationale of claim 6 rejection is applied to reject claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, it recites similar limitations of claim 7. The rationale of claim 7 rejection is applied to reject claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 8. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, it recites similar limitations of claim 2 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 16. Notice that one or more computer memory devices is taught by Hoover in [0042].
Regarding Claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 4. The rationale of claim 4 rejection is applied to reject claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 5. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 6. The rationale of claim 6 rejection is applied to reject claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, it recites similar limitations of claim 7. The rationale of claim 7 rejection is applied to reject claim 21.
Conclusion
/CHONG WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613