DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,891,519 to Matsukawa et al. (Matsukawa).
Regarding claim 17, Matsukawa discloses a can lid (51) comprising a disk-shaped panel portion (52) in which a score line (59) is formed on an outer peripheral edge side of the panel portion, a protection portion (Fig 7) disposed on outer peripheral edge side of the panel portion, the protection portion comprising an upper layer (A, Fig 7 below), intermediate layer (B, Fig 7 below), lower layer (C, Fig 7 below) provided by folded part of the panel portion, a ring-shaped groove portion (53) provided on outer peripheral edge of the panel portion, a flange portion (55) provided on outer peripheral edge of the groove portion and configured to be seamed to a can body since it has the structure as recited, a tab (61) provided in the panel portion and configured to break the score line (59) and allow the panel portion to open along the score line, wherein the panel portion comprises a panel outer peripheral portion (A, Fig 6 below) between the score line and groove portion, an upper surface of the panel outer peripheral portion is inclined outward and downward in a radial direction (Fig 6 below), wherein the upper surface of the panel outer peripheral portion is provided between the protection portion (Fig 7) and the groove portion (53) (Fig 6), wherein the score line (59) is formed in upper surface of the intermediate later (B, Fig 7) of the protection portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 10, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7,891,519 to Matsukawa et al. (Matsukawa) in view of US 2019/0112096 to Gogola et al. (Gogola) and US Patent No. 8,313,004 to Stodd et al. (Stodd).
Regarding claim 7, Matsukawa discloses a can lid (51) comprising a disk-shaped panel portion (52) in which a score line (59) is formed on an outer peripheral edge side of the panel portion, a protection portion (Fig 7) disposed on the outer peripheral edge side of the panel portion, the protection portion comprising an upper layer (A, Fig 7 below), an intermediate layer (B, Fig 7 below), a lower layer (C, Fig 7 below) formed by a folded part of the panel portion, a ring shaped groove portion (53) provided on an outer peripheral edge of the panel portion, a flange portion (55) provided on outer peripheral edge of the groove portion and configured to be seamed to a can body, a tab (61) provided in the panel portion and configured to break the score line (59) and allow the panel portion (52) to open along the score line, wherein the panel portion (52) comprises a panel outer peripheral portion (A, Fig 6 below) between the score line (59) and groove portion (53), upper surface portion of the panel outer peripheral portion is disposed between protection portion and groove portion and is inclined outward and downward in radial direction (Fig 6), the score line (59) is formed in upper surface of the intermediate layer (B, Fig 7 below) of protection portion. Matsukawa does not teach the recited dimensions. However, Gogola discloses a cane end and in particular discloses distance between lowermost portion of the upper surface portion and uppermost portion of the score line in axial direction between 0.4 to 4mm since the score residual is approximately .0038 inches plus the deboss panel 0.016 inches (€0037). Stodd discloses a can end (Fig 13) and in particular discloses upper surface portion (216, Fig 13) inclined at an angle (A6) of 13 degrees with respect to direction orthogonal to axial direction of the panel portion (212). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the angle inclined to the range as recited in order and the distance as recited in order to facilitate strengthening of the can end since it has been held that lid since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Matsukawa discloses a can container comprising a can lid of claim 7 and further discloses can body with a bottom cylindrical shape and open end to which can lid is sealed (col. 6, ll. 65-67).
Regarding claim 13, Matsukawa further discloses the can to be positive-pressure and filled with foamable content (col. 5, ll. 25-35).
Regarding claim 16, Matsukawa further discloses score line (59) formed on outer peripheral edge side to enable most of the panel portion (52) to be opened.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant does not provide any rebuttal to the rejection under Matsukawa and instead states that the space between the annular groove and the score line is inclined before the flange is seamed and fixed to the can body. However, this is irrelevant to the claims because the claims do not require any inclination or fixing to a can body since the claims are only directed to a can lid and not to a can body. Applicant argues that Matsukawa does not teach upper surface portion of the panel outer peripheral portion is disposed between protection portion and groove portion and score line is formed in upper surface of intermediate layer of the protection portion. This is not persuasive because Matsukawa discloses panel outer peripheral portion (A, Fig 6 above) disposed between protection portion (Fig 7, comprising 57 and 58) and groove portion (53), the panel outer peripheral portion inclined outward and downward in radial direction as shown in Fig 6, score line (59) formed in upper surface of intermediate layer of protection portion (Fig 7).
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735