DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crozet et al. (2002/0130138).
Regarding claim 1, Crozet teaches a liquid container configured to contain a liquid to be ejected onto a medium by a liquid ejection apparatus, the liquid container comprising:
a first containing unit (fig. 2, item 3) configured to contain the liquid;
a second containing unit (fig. 2, item 4)
a coupling portion (fig. 2, item 1) configured to couple the first containing unit and the second containing unit to each other (see fig. 2),
wherein the first containing unit is provided with a first derivation unit (fig. 2, item 11) configured to derive the liquid contained in the first containing unit,
the second containing unit is provided with a second derivation unit (fig. 2, item 12) configured to derive the liquid contained in the second containing unit, and
the first containing unit and the second containing unit are individually sealed (see fig. 3) such that the liquid contained by the liquid container does not flow between the first containing unit and the second containing unit (see fig. 2. Note that “containing unit” could mean almost anything. Note also that, for purposes of future examination, while the “same liquid” limitation is met, it could be argued that even inks of different colors are the same liquid as they are all inks. Note also that the preamble does not provide any necessary structure to the body of the claim and has thus not been addressed).
Regarding claim 2, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein a derivation direction (fig. 2, vertical on page) of the liquid from the first derivation unit is same as a derivation direction of the liquid from the second derivation unit (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 2, wherein the first derivation unit and the second derivation unit are located at a same position in a direction along the derivation direction (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the coupling portion is a housing (fig. 2, item 1) configured to house the first containing unit and the second containing unit (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crozet in view of Kwon (2004/0159625).
Regarding claim 4, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 1. Crozet does not teach wherein a derivation direction of the liquid from the first derivation unit is opposite to a derivation direction of the liquid from the second derivation unit. Kwon teaches this (Kwon, see fig. 5, Note two containers 1a, 1b separated by a partition and having two opposite derivation directions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to arrange the containers so as to have opposite derivation directions, as disclosed by Kwon, instead of the same derivation direction, as disclosed by Crozet, because doing so would amount to a simple rearrangement of the design of Crozet.
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crozet in view of Dowell.
Regarding claim 6, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 1. Crozet does not teach wherein the liquid container contains the liquid to be injected into a liquid reservoir unit provided to the liquid ejection apparatus. Dowell teaches this (Dowell, see fig. 1B, Note liquid container 100 contains ink for ejection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid container of Crozet as an ink container, as disclosed by Dowell, because doing so would amount to combining prior art teachings according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Crozet teaches the liquid container according to claim 1. Crozet does not teach wherein the liquid container is detachably attached to a loading unit of the liquid ejection apparatus. Dowell teaches this (Dowell, see fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid container of Crozet as an ink container, as disclosed by Dowell, because doing so would amount to combining prior art teachings according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Crozet in view of Dowell teaches the liquid container according to claim 7, wherein the liquid container is configured to be loaded on the loading unit in a first posture in which the liquid is derived from the first derivation unit to the liquid ejection apparatus, and a second posture which is different from the first posture, and in which the liquid is derived from the second derivation unit to the liquid ejection apparatus (Crozet, see fig. 2, Note that container 1 can be rotated 180 degrees about a vertical axis and repositioned on the loading unit, and note that liquid is derived from both derivation units in both postures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853