Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 12/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states "…Claim 1 recites: "the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film."… the Office Action points to Figs. 2 and 3 as well as [0061], [0036], and [0038] of Kizmaz as teaching this limitation. However, [0061], [0036], and [0038] are silent as to this feature, and such a limitation is, at most, only displayed in Fig. 2 of Kizmaz. Yet, Figs. 5 and 6 of Kizmaz teach separate embodiments where the alleged liquid crystal film 1 is thicker than the alleged spacer 2, and no preference is taught with respect to any particular height of the spacer relative to the liquid crystal film. Further, Kizmaz fails to recognize any importance of the liquid crystal film 1 being thicker than the spacer 2…” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the office action explicitly points out that Fig. 2-3 of Kizmaz teaches that "the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film" while the citation of “1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]” is used to interpret the claim limitation of “the liquid crystal film”. Per MPEP 2125 I., drawings can be used as prior art. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Since the Fig. 2-3 of Kizmaz clearly show that the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal, Kizmaz teaches that “the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film”.
Second, Kizmaz is the primary reference for the rejection of claim 1, no matter what the other separate embodiments of the Figs. 5 and 6 of Kizmaz (which are NOT the embodiments/inventions used by examiner to teach claim 1) teach about the thicknesses difference between the spacer and the liquid crystal film, the Fig. 2-3 of Kizmaz (which are the embodiments/inventions cited/used by examiner to teach claim 1) clearly show that the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film, and nothing in the specification of Kizmaz is taught to limit the thickness of the spacer to be the same as or less than that of the liquid crystal film. Kizmaz does not teach away from the limitation of “the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film” (MPEP, 2144.05.III.B.). Furthermore, even not applied to the rejections of claim 1 below, it is helpful to know that Per MPEP 2143.01 I, the disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Last, regarding on applicant’s argument that “Kizmaz fails to recognize any importance of the liquid crystal film 1 being thicker than the spacer 2”, Kizmaz is the primary reference for the rejections of claim 1 below and the Fig. 2-3 of Kizmaz already explicitly show/teach that the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film; there is no need to provide any rational/importance for this teaching since it is not using a secondary reference (who teaches the limitation “the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film”) to modify the primary reference (who does not teach the limitation “the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film”) for any rational/importance which is obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Applicant also states "… As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the height of the spacer in comparison to the liquid crystal film provides unexpected results…the Office Action merely points to Fig. 5 of Nagase which shows the spacer and liquid crystal film having an equal height. However, nothing in Nagase or the references indicate superior results when the height of the spacer is greater than that of the liquid crystal film. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect superior results when the spacer has a greater height, based on the teachings of the references. ". Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Per MPEP 2125 I., drawings can be used as prior art. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Since the Fig. 5 of Nagase clearly show that the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal, Nagase teaches that “the spacer has a thickness larger than that of the liquid crystal film”.
Second, as stated in the rejections of claims 7 and 13 below, Nagase is the primary reference for the rejections of claims 7 and 13, and the Fig. 5 of Nagase already clearly show that a height of the spacer is greater than a height of the liquid crystal film; there is no need to provide any rational or superior result for this teaching since it is not using a secondary reference (who teaches the limitation “a height of the spacer is greater than a height of the liquid crystal film”) to modify the primary reference (who does not teach the limitation “a height of the spacer is greater than a height of the liquid crystal film”) for any rational/importance/superior result which is obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Furthermore, even not applied to the rejections of claims 1, 7 and 13 below, it is helpful to know that Per MPEP 2144 IV: the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See also, Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kizmaz (US 2021/0146659) in view of Boote (WO 2010/032068A1) and Tamai (JPH11194350A).
Regarding claim 1, Kizmaz teaches a Laminated glass (Fig. 1-3 and Fig. 7, [0059-0082]) comprising: a first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); a first interlayer (8 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); a liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]); a second interlayer (7 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); and a second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]), each being layered and disposed in this order (Fig. 2-3),
wherein the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]) includes a liquid crystal layer ([0038]),
the first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and the second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) have an outer shape larger than (Fig. 1-3) an outer shape of the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]), a spacer (2 in Fig. 2-3, [0059-0061]) is disposed in at least a part of a region (Fig. 1-3) which is interposed between (Fig. 1-3) the first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and the second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and in which the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]) is not disposed (Fig. 1-3),
the spacer (2 in Fig. 2-3, [0059-0061]) has a thickness larger (Fig. 2-3) than that of the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]).
Kizmaz does not teach that the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; the liquid crystal film includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal layer constant, and the liquid crystal film includes: a first laminate comprising a first substrate, a first electrode, and a first alignment layer, each being layered in this order; and a second laminate comprising a second substrate, a second electrode, a second alignment layer, each being layered in this order; the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer, and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer.
Boote teaches that (Fig. 6, Pages 4-12 of WO 2010/032068A1) the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 52 including 55 in Fig. 6, Pages 7 and 11) includes a sealing material (59, or 59 and 53a in Fig. 6) that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds the periphery of the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 6, Page 11); the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 52 including 55 in Fig. 6, Pages 7 and 11) includes: a first laminate (the laminate between 54a and 55 in Fig. 6) comprising a first substrate (53b in Fig. 6), and a first electrode (58a in Fig. 6), each being layered in this order (Fig. 6); and a second laminate (the laminate between 54b and 55 in Fig. 6) comprising a second substrate (53c in Fig. 6), and a second electrode (58b in Fig. 6), each being layered in this order (Fig. 6).
Tamai teaches that (Fig. 1-3, Pages 6-7 of English translation of JPH11194350A) a liquid crystal film (Fig. 1-3, Pages 6-7) includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer (6 in Fig. 1-3) disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal film constant (Fig. 1 and 3), a first laminate (the laminate above 6 and 7 in Fig. 1 and 3) comprising the first substrate (1b in Fig. 1 and 3), the first electrode (2b in Fig. 1 and 3), and a first alignment layer (5b in Fig. 1 and 3), each being layered in this order (Fig. 1 and 3); a second laminate (the laminate below 6 and 7 in Fig. 1 and 3) comprising the second substrate (1a/11a in Fig. 1 and 3), the second electrode (2a in Fig. 1 and 3), a second alignment layer (5a in Fig. 1 and 3), each being layered in this order (Fig. 1 and 3); the liquid crystal layer (7 in Fig. 1 and 3) is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer (Fig. 1 and 3), and the in-liquid-crystal spacer (6 in Fig. 1 and 3) is disposed in (Fig. 1 and 3, 6 is in 5a in Fig. 1 and 3) at least one selected from the first alignment layer (5b in Fig. 1 and 3) or the second alignment layer (5a in Fig. 1 and 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Boote and Tamai for the system of Kizmaz such that in the system of Kizmaz, the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; the liquid crystal film includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal layer constant, and the liquid crystal film includes: a first laminate comprising a first substrate, a first electrode, and a first alignment layer, each being layered in this order; and a second laminate comprising a second substrate, a second electrode, a second alignment layer, each being layered in this order; the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer, and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer. The motivation is to seal the switchable film (liquid crystal l) and avoid the leakage of the switchable film (liquid crystal layer) (Boote, Page 9, Lines 29-31), and make it possible to achieve excellent display quality without unevenness by providing a cell with a uniform thickness and also sufficient impact resistance (Tamai, Abs).
Regarding claims 2-4, Kizmaz does not teach the following elements.
Tamai teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, [0024, 0029-0033, 0046-0055]):
(Claim 2) the in-liquid-crystal spacer (6 in Fig. 1-3) is disposed on (Fig. 1) at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer (Fig. 1, the spacer 6 is on 5b).
(Claim 3) at least a portion of the in-liquid-crystal spacer (6 in Fig. 1-3) is disposed inside at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer (Fig. 1 and 3, at least a portion of 6 is inside 5a).
(Claim 4) the in-liquid-crystal spacer (6 in Fig. 1-3) is fixed to at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer by an adhesive (Fig. 3, the space 6 is fixed in 5a).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Tamai for the system of Kizmaz in view of Boote and Tamai such that in the system of Kizmaz in view of Boote and Tamai,
(Claim 2) the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed on at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer.
(Claim 3) at least a portion of the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed inside at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer.
(Claim 4) the in-liquid-crystal spacer is fixed to at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer by an adhesive.
The motivation is to make it possible to achieve excellent display quality without unevenness by providing a cell with a uniform thickness and also sufficient impact resistance (Tamai, Abs).
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kizmaz (US 2021/0146659) in view of Boote (WO 2010/032068A1) and Baker (US 2017/0329161).
Regarding claim 1, Kizmaz teaches a Laminated glass (Fig. 1-3 and Fig. 7, [0059-0082]) comprising: a first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); a first interlayer (8 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); a liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]); a second interlayer (7 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]); and a second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]), each being layered and disposed in this order (Fig. 2-3),
wherein the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]) includes a liquid crystal layer ([0038]),
the first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and the second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) have an outer shape larger than (Fig. 1-3) an outer shape of the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]), a spacer (2 in Fig. 2-3, [0059-0061]) is disposed in at least a part of a region (Fig. 1-3) which is interposed between (Fig. 1-3) the first glass plate (5 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and the second glass plate (4 in Fig. 2-3, [0061]) and in which the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]) is not disposed (Fig. 1-3),
the spacer (2 in Fig. 2-3, [0059-0061]) has a thickness larger (Fig. 2-3) than that of the liquid crystal film (1 in Fig. 2-3, [0061, 0036, 0038]).
Kizmaz does not teach that the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; the liquid crystal film includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal layer constant, and the liquid crystal film includes: a first laminate comprising a first substrate, a first electrode, and a first alignment layer, each being layered in this order; and a second laminate comprising a second substrate, a second electrode, a second alignment layer, each being layered in this order; the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer, and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer.
Boote teaches that (Fig. 6, Pages 4-12 of WO 2010/032068A1) the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 52 including 55 in Fig. 6, Pages 7 and 11) includes a sealing material (59, or 59 and 53a in Fig. 6) that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds the periphery of the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 6, Page 11); the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 52 including 55 in Fig. 6, Pages 7 and 11) includes: a first laminate (the laminate between 54a and 55 in Fig. 6) comprising a first substrate (53b in Fig. 6), and a first electrode (58a in Fig. 6), each being layered in this order (Fig. 6); and a second laminate (the laminate between 54b and 55 in Fig. 6) comprising a second substrate (53c in Fig. 6), and a second electrode (58b in Fig. 6), each being layered in this order (Fig. 6).
Baker teaches that a liquid crystal film (Fig. 1, [0024, 0029-0033, 0046-0055]) includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer (24 in Fig. 1, [0048-0055]) disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal film constant (Fig. 1-2, Col. 3-4), a first laminate (the laminate above 26 in Fig. 1) comprising the first substrate (12 in Fig. 1), the first electrode (the upper 16 in Fig. 1), and a first alignment layer (the upper 18 in Fig. 1), each being layered in this order (Fig. 1); a second laminate (the laminate below 26 in Fig. 1) comprising the second substrate (14 in Fig. 1), the second electrode (the lower 16 in Fig. 1-2), a second alignment layer (the lower 18 in Fig. 1), each being layered in this order (Fig. 1); the liquid crystal layer (26 in Fig. 1, [0048, 0030]) is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer (Fig. 1, [0048, 0055]), and the in-liquid-crystal spacer (24 in Fig. 1, [0048-0055]) is disposed in ([0055, 0024, 0029]) at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer ([0055, 0024, 0029]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Boote and Baker for the system of Kizmaz such that in the system of Kizmaz, the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; the liquid crystal film includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal layer constant, and the liquid crystal film includes: a first laminate comprising a first substrate, a first electrode, and a first alignment layer, each being layered in this order; and a second laminate comprising a second substrate, a second electrode, a second alignment layer, each being layered in this order; the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer, and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer. The motivation is to seal the switchable film (liquid crystal l) and avoid the leakage of the switchable film (liquid crystal layer) (Boote, Page 9, Lines 29-31), and assist the alignment of the liquid crystal molecules and maintain a controlled distance or gap between the substrates (Baker, Abs, [0028, 0049, 0015]).
Regarding claims 5-6, Kizmaz does not teach the following elements.
Baker teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, [0024, 0029-0033, 0046-0055]):
(Claim 5) the in-liquid-crystal spacer (24 in Fig. 1, [0048-0055]) is a bead spacer (Fig. 1. [0051, 0054])
(Claim 6) the bead spacer (24 in Fig. 1, [0048-0055]) includes at least one selected from a spherical shape (Fig. 1. [0051, 0054]), a rod shape, or an elliptical shape (Fig. 1. [0051, 0054]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Baker for the system of Kizmaz in view of Boote and Baker such that in the system of Kizmaz in view of Boote and Baker,
(Claim 5) the in-liquid-crystal spacer is a bead spacer.
(Claim 6) the bead spacer includes at least one selected from a spherical shape, a rod shape, or an elliptical shape.
The motivation is to maintain a controlled distance or gap between the substrates (Baker, Abs, [0015]).
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagase (JPH11327448A) in view of Ushiyama (JP2016126289A) and Toda (US 6654083).
Regarding claim 7, Nagase teaches laminated glass (Fig. 5, Pages 1-14 of English translation of JPH11327448A) comprising: a first glass plate (11 in Fig. 5, the material of the protective plate 11/12 include glass, acrylic, polycarbonate, polyether sulfone, polyarylate, polyethylene terephthalate, and the like); a first interlayer (the upper 51 in Fig. 5); a liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3); a second interlayer (the lower 51 in Fig. 5); and a second glass plate (12 in Fig. 5), each being layered and disposed in this order (Fig. 5),
wherein the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) includes a liquid crystal layer (21 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5),
the first glass plate (11 in Fig. 5) and the second glass plate (12 in Fig. 5) have an outer shape larger (Fig. 5, Fig. 1 and 3) than an outer shape of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3),
a spacer (13 in Fig. 5) is disposed between the first and second glass plates (Fig. 5) and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3), and a height of the spacer (13 in Fig. 5) is greater than (Fig. 5) a height of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3),
the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) includes an in-liquid-crystal spacer (26 in Fig. 2) disposed to make a thickness of the liquid crystal layer constant(Fig. 2),
the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) includes:
a first laminate (the laminate corresponding to 24, 22, 221, the insulating film and the alignment film on the electrode 221 in Fig. 2, Page 6, Paragraph 6-9, It is preferable to provide an insulating film on the surface of each electrode; On the surface of the insulating film, an alignment film may be provided if necessary) comprising a first substrate (22 in Fig. 2), a first electrode (221 in Fig. 2), and a first alignment layer (Page 6, Paragraph 6-9, fig. 2, the alignment film on the insulating film covering the electrode 221), each being layered in this order (Fig. 2, Page 6, Paragraph 7-9); and
a second laminate (the laminate corresponding to 25, 23, 231, the insulating film and the alignment film on the electrode 231 in Fig. 2, Page 6, Paragraph 7-9, It is preferable to provide an insulating film on the surface of each electrode; On the surface of the insulating film, an alignment film may be provided if necessary) comprising a second substrate (23 in Fig. 2), a second electrode (231 in Fig. 2), a second alignment layer (Page 6, Paragraph 6-9, fig. 2, the alignment film on the insulating film covering the electrode 231), each being layered in this order (Fig. 2, Page 6, Paragraph 6-9);
the liquid crystal layer (21 in Fig. 2) is disposed between the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer (Fig. 2, Page 6, Paragraph 6-9).
Nagase does not teach that the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; a light-shielding part that shields light that reaches the sealing material from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass, and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer.
Ushiyama teaches that (Fig. 1-2, Pages 2-3 of JP2016126289A) the liquid crystal film (10 in Fig. 1-2) includes a sealing material (25 in Fig. 1-2, Page 5, Paragraph 1) that is disposed to seal a liquid crystal layer (14 in Fig. 1-2) and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 1-2, Page 5, Paragraph 1); and an in-liquid-crystal spacer (24 in Fig. 1-2) is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer (23A in Fig. 1-2) or the second alignment layer (23B in Fig. 1-2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Ushiyama for the system of Nagase such that in the system of Nagase, the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; and the in-liquid-crystal spacer is disposed in at least one selected from the first alignment layer or the second alignment layer. The motivation is to prevent leakage of the liquid crystal material during the process steps, and a change in brightness depending on the viewing direction can be reduced/prevented (Ushiyama, Abs, Page 5, Paragraph 1, 3 and 5).
Toda teaches that a light-shielding part (510, 610 and/or 900 in Fig. 10E and Fig. 12, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61) that shields light that reaches a sealing material (80 in Fig. 10E and Fig. 12) from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass (Fig. 10E and Fig. 12, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Toda for the system of Nagase in view of Ushiyama such that in the system of Nagase in view of Ushiyama, a light-shielding part that shields light that reaches the sealing material from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass. The motivation is to make it possible to perform the light-shielding at the periphery of the display area (Toda, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Nagase also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 8) the spacer (13 in Fig. 5) is disposed to surround an entirety of an outer periphery (Fig. 1, 3 and 5) of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3).
(Claim 10) the spacer (13 in Fig. 5) is disposed adjacent to (Fig. 5) the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3).
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagase in view of Ushiyama and Toda as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Danner (US 2011/0292494).
Regarding claims 11-12, Nagase does not teach the following elements.
Danner teaches the following elements (Fig. 3-5 and Fig. 7, [0140-0149, 0008, 0019]):
(Claim 11) a spacer (516 in Fig. 5, [0145, 0149], or 716 in Fig. 7) is disposed at a distance from a liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 104, 106 and 108 in Fig. 5, Fig. 3, [0140, 0008, 0019], or 606 in Fig. 7);
(Claim 12) a first interlayer (310 in Fig. 5, Fig. 3, [0141], or 620 in Fig. 7) is disposed to partially enter (Fig. 5, Fig. 7) a portion (Fig. 5, Fig. 7) between the spacer (516 in Fig. 5, [0145, 0149], or 716 in Fig. 7) and the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to 104, 106 and 108 in Fig. 5, Fig. 3, [0140, 0008, 0019], or 606 in Fig. 7).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Danner for the system of Nagase in view of Ushiyama and Toda such that in the system of Nagase in view of Ushiyama and Toda,
(Claim 11) the spacer is disposed at a distance from the liquid crystal film;
(Claim 12) at least one of the first interlayer and the second interlayer is disposed to partially enter a portion between the spacer and the liquid crystal film.
The motivation is to provide additional barrier layers, and effect sealing of the electro-optic layer (Danner, [0146, 0142-0143]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagase (JPH11327448A) in view of Akiyama (JP2007193160A), Toda (US 6654083) and Gajewski (US 5147485)
Regarding claim 13, Nagase teaches a method for producing laminated glass (Fig. 5, Pages 1-14 of English translation of JPH11327448A) by using a laminated body (Fig. 5) in which a liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) is interposed between a first glass plate (11 in Fig. 5) and a second glass plate (12 in Fig. 5), wherein
the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) includes a liquid crystal layer (21 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5), and
the first glass plate (11 in Fig. 5) and the second glass plate (12 in Fig. 5) have an outer shape larger (Fig. 5, Fig. 1 and 3) than an outer shape of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3), the method comprising:
a spacer (13 in Fig. 5) disposing process of disposing a spacer (13 in Fig. 5) in at least a part of a region (Fig. 5) which is interposed between the first glass plate (11 in Fig. 5) and the second glass plate (12 in Fig. 5) and in which the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5) is not disposed (Fig. 5) such that the spacer (13 in Fig. 5) surrounds (Fig. 5) an outer side of an end portion (Fig. 5) of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3) in a plan view;
wherein a height of the spacer (13 in Fig. 5) is greater than (Fig. 5) a height of the liquid crystal film (2 in Fig. 5 and Fig. 1-3).
Nagase does not teach that the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; a light-shielding part that shields light that reaches the sealing material from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass, the end portion of the liquid crystal film is the sealing material, a pressurization process of pressurizing a plate surface of at least one of the first glass plate or the second glass plate in a state in which the spacer is disposed.
Akiyama teaches that (Fig. 6-10, Pages 15-18 of English transition of JP2007193160A) a liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to the LC panel including 10, 20, 50 and 52 in Fig. 7) includes a sealing material (52 in Fig. 7) that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 6-7) and surrounds a periphery (Fig. 6-7) of the liquid crystal layer (50 in Fig. 7); and an end portion of the liquid crystal film (the film corresponding to the LC panel including 10, 20, 50 and 52 in Fig. 7) is the sealing material (52 in Fig. 7),
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Akiyama for the system of Nagase such that in the system of Nagase, the liquid crystal film includes a sealing material that is disposed to seal the liquid crystal layer and surrounds a periphery of the liquid crystal layer; and the end portion of the liquid crystal film is the sealing material. The motivation is that the intrusion of a foreign matter, such as moisture, into the image display region sealed by the sealing material can be effectively reduced (Akiyama, Abs).
Toda teaches that a light-shielding part (510, 610 and/or 900 in Fig. 10E and Fig. 12, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61) that shields light that reaches a sealing material (80 in Fig. 10E and Fig. 12) from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass (Fig. 10E and Fig. 12, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Toda for the system of Nagase in view of Akiyama such that in the system of Nagase in view of Akiyama, a light-shielding part that shields light that reaches the sealing material from an outside is provided along an outer periphery of the laminated glass. The motivation is to make it possible to perform the light-shielding at the periphery of the display area (Toda, Col. 18, Lines 40-67, Col. 21, Lines 46-61).
Gajewski teaches that a pressurization process (Col. 3, Lines 50-63, Col. 6, Lines 44-64) of pressurizing a plate surface of at least one of the first glass plate and the second glass plate (Col. 3, Lines 50-63, Col. 6, Lines 44-64, since heat and pressure are applied for a period of time, for example by placing the laminate assembly in an autoclave, a plate surface of at least one of the first glass plate and the second glass plate is inherently pressured) in a state in which the spacer (18 in Fig. 2 and 4, Abs, Col. 5) is disposed.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Gajewski for the system of Nagase in view of Akiyama and Toda such that in the system of Nagase in view of Akiyama and Toda, a pressurization process of pressurizing a plate surface of at least one of the first glass plate or the second glass plate in a state in which the spacer is disposed. The motivation is to provide a method to result superior optically clear laminates free of moisture, air, wrinkles and creasing (Gajewski, Abs, Col. 4, Lines 19-38).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871