DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 9-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/01/2026.
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objections:
Applicant amended drawings and addressed all previous drawings objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
Specification Objections:
Applicant amended specification and addressed all previous specification objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous claim objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 112(b):
Claim 9 has been amended, therefore the previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
35 USC § 103:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg.s 10-12, filed August , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kao et al. (US 20130316557 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see 12-13, filed August , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ito (US 6332781 B1) and Kao et al. (US 20130316557 A1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12021329 B2 and in view of Seido et al. (US 20170062978 A1), hereinafter Seido, and in further view of Reichenbach et al. (US 20130096364 A1), hereinafter Reichenbach, and Kao et al. (US 20130316557 A1), hereinafter Kao. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 12021329 B2
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising:
A blood pump controller comprising: a blood pump controller housing having an external surface defining an internal volume; and a connector receptacle located in the housing,
Contacting an orientation feature of a connector insert to a cam surface of a connector receptacle, wherein the orientation feature comprises a key extending from a side of the connector insert;
the connector receptacle configured to receive a connector insert, the connector receptacle comprising: a side wall extending from the external surface of the housing into the internal volume and to a bottom of the connector receptacle, the side wall and the bottom together defining a receptacle volume having an opening proximate to the external surface of the housing;
advancing the connector insert into the connector receptacle to bias the connector insert to a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle via interaction between the orientation feature and the cam surface of the connector receptacle, wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle;
an orientation feature configured to engage with at least one mating feature of the connector insert to move the connector insert to a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle while the connector insert is inserted into the connector receptacle; and a drain feature configured to allow draining of any liquid in the connector receptacle when the connector insert is received within the connector receptacle.
contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle
and mating insert contacts of the connector insert with receptacle contacts of the connector receptacle.
a plurality of electrical contacts configured for mating with corresponding contacts of a connector insert when the connector insert is coupled with the connector receptacle;
Claim 4
Claim 4
The method of claim 1, wherein the key comprises apointed key having a point.
The blood pump controller of claim 3, wherein the key comprises a pointed key having a point.
Claim 5
Claim 5
The method of claim 4, wherein the point of the pointedkey engages with the cam surface when the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle.
The blood pump controller of claim 4, wherein thepoint of the pointed key engages with the alignment cam when the connector insert is inserted into the connector receptacle.
Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, an orientation feature comprises a key extending from a side of the connector insert, a first orientation, and contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.”
However, Seido teaches an orientation feature (Fig. 1, element 30, para. 0041 (cam follower)) of a connector insert (Fig. 1, element 2, para. 0016 (socket)) to a cam surface (Fig. 1, element 17, para. 0029 (cam surface)) of a connector receptacle (Fig. 1, element 1, para. 0016 (plug)), wherein the orientation feature comprises a key (Fig. 1, element 30a, para. 0041 (tilted surface)) extending from a side of the connector insert;
wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0052 (achieving alignment of the plug with the socket), 0053 (when the plug is connected with the socket, the center of the plug does not deviate from the center of the socket thereby connecting the plug to the socket smoothly)), 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket)).
Seido does not teach a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Reichenbach teaches a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system (para. 0020 (method of using a blood pump assembly)) comprising an implantable blood pump (Fig. 1, element 100 – blood pump, para. 0049 (blood pump 100 can be implanted in a patient’s body)).
Reichenbach does not teach the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches contacting the orientation feature (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) with a locking member (Fig. 3, element 130 – retention ring) that is rotatable about the connector receptacle (Fig. 3, element 160 – female electrical connector); and
inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110)) to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert (Fig. 3, element 110 – male electrical connector) into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (the retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an orientation feature comprising a key from the connector insert and a first orientation, as disclosed in Seido, within the system of claim 1 of the reference patent, to enable the connector insert to have components that enable extra security when secured to the connector receptacle to prevent dislocation.
Seido, Reichenbach, and Kao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach listed above, and provide a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump. Doing so allows Seido’s teachings to be used in a medical implant, while maintaining the secure attachment of the electrical connectors.
It also would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide a locking member with the connector receptacle, and inducing rotation from an insertion orientation to a locking orientation. Doing so would prevent axial disconnection from the two connectors, thereby providing a secure attachment.
Claims 4-5 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 4-5 of the instant application.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 15-17, and 32 of U.S. Patent No. 11031729 B2 and in view of Seido, and in further view of Reichenbach and Ito (US 6332781 B1). The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
Instant application
US 11031729 B2
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising:
An implantable blood pump system comprising: an implantable blood pump; a controller coupled to the blood pump;
Contacting an orientation feature of a connector insert to a cam surface of a connector receptacle, wherein the orientation feature comprises a key extending from a side of the connector insert;
a connector receptacle comprising: a plurality of contacts; and a following surface comprising a first and a second key; and a connector insert configured to be received within the connector receptacle to couple a plurality of insert contacts with the plurality of contacts of the connector receptacle, the connector insert comprising: walls defining a follower receptacle configured to receive a portion of the following surface when the connector insert is in a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle; and a cam surface configured to engage with the following surface to bias the connector insert to the desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle when the connector insert is inserted into the connector receptacle.
advancing the connector insert into the connector receptacle to bias the connector insert to a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle via interaction between the orientation feature and the cam surface of the connector receptacle, wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle;
a connector receptacle comprising: a plurality of contacts; and a following surface comprising a first and a second key; and a connector insert configured to be received within the connector receptacle to couple a plurality of insert contacts with the plurality of contacts of the connector receptacle, the connector insert comprising: walls defining a follower receptacle configured to receive a portion of the following surface when the connector insert is in a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle; and a cam surface configured to engage with the following surface to bias the connector insert to the desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle when the connector insert is inserted into the connector receptacle.
and mating insert contacts of the connector insert with receptacle contacts of the connector receptacle.and mating a plurality of insert contacts of the connector insert with a plurality of receptacle contacts of the connector receptacle.
and a connector insert configured to be received within the connector receptacle to couple a plurality of insert contacts with the plurality of contacts of the connector receptacle
Claim 1
Claim 17
contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle;
The implantable blood pump system of claim 16, wherein the locking member selectively engages with the following surface of the connector insert to retain the at least a portion of the following surface within the follower receptacle.
Claim 1
Claim 16
and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle
The implantable blood pump system of claim 15, wherein the locking member is rotatable about the connector receptacle.
Claim 9
Claim 15
The method of claim 1, wherein a portion of the orientation feature insert is received within a channel of the locking member.
The implantable blood pump system of claim 14, wherein the locking member comprises a channel in which the connector receptacle is at least partially received.
Claims 1 and 16-17 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising: a first orientation, and contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.”
However, Seido teaches wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0052 (achieving alignment of the plug with the socket), 0053 (when the plug is connected with the socket, the center of the plug does not deviate from the center of the socket thereby connecting the plug to the socket smoothly)), 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket)).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first orientation, as disclosed in Seido, within the system of claim 1 of the reference patent, to enable the connector insert to have components that enable extra security when secured to the connector receptacle to prevent dislocation.
Seido does not teach a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Reichenbach teaches a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system (para. 0020 (method of using a blood pump assembly)) comprising an implantable blood pump (Fig. 1, element 100 – blood pump, para. 0049 (blood pump 100 can be implanted in a patient’s body)).
Reichenbach does not teach the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches contacting the orientation feature (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) with a locking member (Fig. 3, element 130 – retention ring) that is rotatable about the connector receptacle (Fig. 3, element 160 – female electrical connector); and
inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110)) to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert (Fig. 3, element 110 – male electrical connector) into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (the retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
Seido, Reichenbach, and Kao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach listed above, and provide a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump. Doing so allows Seido’s teachings to be used in a medical implant, while maintaining the secure attachment of the electrical connectors.
It also would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide a locking member with the connector receptacle, and inducing rotation from an insertion orientation to a locking orientation. Doing so would prevent axial disconnection from the two connectors, thereby providing a secure attachment
Claim 15 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 9 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seido et al. (US 20170062978 A1), hereinafter Seido, and in view of Reichenbach et al. (US 20130096364 A1), hereinafter Reichenbach, and in further view of Kao et al. (US 20130316557 A1), hereinafter Kao.
Regarding claim 1, Seido teaches contacting an orientation feature (Fig. 1, element 30, para. 0041 (cam follower)) of a connector insert (Fig. 1, element 2, para. 0016 (socket)) to a cam surface (Fig. 1, element 17, para. 0029 (cam surface)) of a connector receptacle (Fig. 1, element 1, para. 0016 (plug)), wherein the orientation feature comprises a key (Fig. 1, element 30b, para. 0041 (pointed projection)) extending from a side of the connector insert;
advancing the connector insert into the connector receptacle to bias the connector insert to a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle via interaction between the orientation and the cam surface of the connector receptacle (para. 0041 (cam follower 30 comprises… a pointed projection 30b at the distal end of the tilted surface 30a, insertable into the entering groove 17b of the tilted cam surface 17 of the plug 1));
wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0052 (achieving alignment of the plug with the socket), 0053 (when the plug is connected with the socket, the center of the plug does not deviate from the center of the socket thereby connecting the plug to the socket smoothly)), 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket)); and
mating insert contacts (Fig. 1, element 32 (para. 0042 (connector pins)) of the connector insert with receptacle contacts (Fig. 1, element 19, para. 0031 (pin-receiving hole)) of the connector receptacle.
Seido does not teach a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Reichenbach teaches a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system (para. 0020 (method of using a blood pump assembly)) comprising an implantable blood pump (Fig. 1, element 100 – blood pump, para. 0049 (blood pump 100 can be implanted in a patient’s body)).
Reichenbach does not teach the method comprising: contacting the orientation feature with a locking member that is rotatable about the connector receptacle; and inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches contacting the orientation feature (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) with a locking member (Fig. 3, element 130 – retention ring) that is rotatable about the connector receptacle (Fig. 3, element 160 – female electrical connector); and
inducing rotation of the locking member from an insertion orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110)) to a locking orientation of the locking member relative to the connector receptacle by engagement of the locking member by the orientation feature during advancement of the connector insert (Fig. 3, element 110 – male electrical connector) into the connector receptacle, wherein the locking member engages the orientation feature in the locking orientation to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (the retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
Seido, Reichenbach, and Kao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach listed above, and provide a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump. Doing so allows Seido’s teachings to be used in a medical implant, while maintaining the secure attachment of the electrical connectors.
It also would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide a locking member with the connector receptacle, and inducing rotation from an insertion orientation to a locking orientation. Doing so would prevent axial disconnection from the two connectors, thereby providing a secure attachment.
Regarding claim 2, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising reorientating the connector insert from the first orientation (para. 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket)) to a second orientation via interaction between the orientation feature and the cam surface of the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0041 (a pointed projection at the distal end of the tilted surface, insertable into the entering groove of the tilted cam surface of the plug), abstract (plug and the socket are slidably contacted to each other, rotated and positioned in a rotational direction around the axis when the plug is fitted onto the socket axially)).
Regarding claim 3, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the key in a key slot (Fig. 1, element 17b) on the connector receptacle when the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0041 (tilted surface insertable into the entering groove of the tilted cam surface of the plug)).
Regarding claim 4, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the key comprises a pointed key having a point (Fig. 1, element 30b, para. 0041 (pointed projection at the distal end of the distal surface)).
Regarding claim 5, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the point of the pointed key engages with the cam surface when the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0041 (a pointed projection at the distal end of the tilted surface, insertable into the entering groove of the tilted cam surface of the plug)).
Regarding claim 6, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the orientation feature further comprises a circular cylindrical member (Fig. 1, element 27) extending from the side of the connector insert (para. 0040 (at the end face of the tubular portion, a cam follower faces the tilted cam surface)).
Regarding claim 9, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1, and the orientation feature (Fig. 1, element 30, para. 0041 (cam follower)).
Seido does not teach wherein a portion of the orientation feature insert is received within a channel of the locking member.
Kao teaches wherein a portion of the orientation feature insert (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) is received within a channel (Fig. 3, element 142 – recesses) of the locking member (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao and provide the orientation feature being received within a channel of the locking member. Doing so allows that the orientation feature to be contained within the locking member, to prevent the disconnection between the connector insert and the connector receptacle.
Regarding claim 10, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Kao) teaches the method of claim 1. Seido does not teach wherein the implantable blood pump is coupled to a controller or a power source.
Reichenbach teaches wherein the implantable blood pump is coupled to a controller (para. 0017 (blood pump assembly includes a pump controller)) or a power source (para. 0081 (lead… couples directly or indirectly to power source)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach and provide coupling to an implantable blood pump to a controller or a power source. Doing so would allow the connector assembly to deliver electrical power throughout the blood pump, controller, and power source.
Claims 11, 12, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seido (US 20170062978 A1) and in view of Reichenbach (US 20130096364 A1) and in further view of Ito (US 6332781 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Seido teaches contacting a mating feature (Fig. 1, element 30, para. 0041 (cam follower)) of a connector insert (Fig. 1, element 2, para. 0047 (socket)) to an orientation feature (Fig. 1, element 17, para. 0029 (cam surface)) of a connector receptacle (Fig. 1, element 1, para. 0016 (plug));
advancing the connector insert into the connector receptacle to move the connector insert to a desired alignment with respect to the connector receptacle, wherein the connector insert has a first orientation when advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0052 (achieving alignment of the plug with the socket), 0053 (when the plug is connected with the socket, the center of the plug does not deviate from the center of the socket thereby connecting the plug to the socket smoothly)), 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket));
mating insert contacts of the connector insert with receptacle contacts of the connector receptacle when the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (Fig. 1, element 32 (para. 0042 (connector pins)), Fig. 1, element 19, para. 0031 (pin-receiving hole)).
Seido does not teach a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system comprising an implantable blood pump, the method comprising: draining fluid from the connector receptacle via the orientation feature as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle.
Reichenbach teaches a method of coupling an implantable blood pump system, (para. 0020 (method of using a blood pump assembly)) comprising an implantable blood pump (Fig. 1, element 100 – blood pump, para. 0049 (blood pump 100 can be implanted in a patient’s body)), the method comprising:
mating insert contacts of the connector insert with receptacle contacts of the connector receptacle when the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0082 (power lead mating region defines a plurality of openings for receiving and connecting to the pins)).
Reichenbach does not teach draining fluid from the connector receptacle via the orientation feature as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle.
Ito teaches draining fluid from the connector receptacle (col. 2, lines 32-34 (connector is provided with openings for draining water)) as the connector insert (Fig. 13, element D – connector D) is advanced into the connector receptacle (col. 8, lines 52-55 (water drops and dusts received by the shutters 85 as well as the dust or the like scraped by abrasion when the male terminal is inserted, may fall through the opening 118 may not stay in the housing 73)).
Seido, Reichenbach, and Ito are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Seido teaches an orientation feature that is within the connector receptacle (para. 0029). However, Seido does not disclose the orientation feature being able to drain fluid. Ito teaches that when the connector insert is inserted within the connector receptacle, the connector receptacle has openings that allow it to drain fluid (col. 8, lines 52-55). Although Ito does not teach an orientation feature, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Ito listed, and provide an orientation feature that is able to drain fluid. Doing s so allows Seido’s teachings to be used in a medical implant, while maintaining the secure attachment of the electrical connectors. Doing so allows the fluids that is transferred to the connector receptacle from the connector insert, to be removed safely within the connector receptacle.
Regarding claim 12, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and in further view of Ito) teaches the method of claim 11.
Seido does not teach wherein the connector insert comprises a seal extending around at least one of the insert contacts of the connector insert.
Reichenbach teaches wherein the connector insert comprises a seal extending around at least one of the insert contacts of the connector insert (Fig. 9, element 198, (para. 0081 (insulation sleeve fits over the conductors to create a hermetic seal around the pins)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach and provide a seal around the insert contacts of the connector insert. Doing so would provide protection around the connector inserts, thereby improving electrical safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Ito) teaches the method of claim 11, and the orientation feature in the connector receptacle.
Seido does not teach wherein the orientation feature comprises a channel in the connector receptacle.
Ito teaches a channel in the connector receptacle (Fig. 13, element 118 – opening).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Ito and provide the orientation feature comprising a channel. Doing so ensures that the fluids are escaped safely, to ensure protection of the connector receptacle.
Regarding claim 16, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Ito) teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising reorientating the connector insert from the first orientation to a second orientation via interaction between the mating feature of the connector insert and the orientation feature of the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0067 (plug and socket are relatively rotated smoothly, thereby preventing biased contact… on sliding surfaces of the plug and the socket)) to a second orientation via interaction between the following surface of the connector insert and the cam surface of the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0041 (a pointed projection at the distal end of the tilted surface, insertable into the entering groove of the tilted cam surface of the plug), abstract (plug and the socket are slidably contacted to each other, rotated and positioned in a rotational direction around the axis when the plug is fitted onto the socket axially)).
Regarding claim 20, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Ito) teaches the method of claim 11. Seido does not teach wherein the implantable blood pump is coupled to a controller or a power source
Reichenbach teaches wherein the implantable blood pump is coupled to a controller (para. 0017 (blood pump assembly includes a pump controller)) or a power source (para. 0081 (lead… couples directly or indirectly to power source)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Reichenbach and provide an implantable blood pump coupled to a controller or a power source. Doing so would allow the connector assembly to deliver electrical power throughout the blood pump, controller, and power source.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seido and in view of Reichenbach and in further view of Ito, and Ogawa et al. (US 4932875 A), hereinafter Ogawa.
Regarding claim 13, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Ito) teaches the method of claim 12.
Seido does not teach compressing the seal between the connector insert and the connector receptacle to seal each insert contact and mated receptacle contact.
Ogawa further discloses compressing the seal (Fig. 2, element 3) between the connector insert (Fig. 2, element Cf) and the connector receptacle (Fig. 2, element cm) to seal each insert contact and mated receptacle contact (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 13-15 (seal member to be inserted between the opposing end faces of the two connectors Cf and Cm)).
Seido, Reichenbach, Ito, and Ogawa are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Ogawa and provide a seal between the insert contact and mated receptacle contact. Doing so prevents interruption of circuit connection, as high insulation is provided.
Regarding claim 14, Seido (in view of Reichenbach, Ito, and Ogawa) teaches method of claim 13.
Seido does not teach wherein the seal fluidly isolates each of the insert contacts of the connector insert when the seal is compressed between the connector insert and the connector receptacle.
Ogawa further discloses wherein the seal fluidly isolates each of the insert contacts of the connector insert when the seal is compressed between the connector insert and the connector receptacle (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 13-15 (seal member to be inserted between the opposing end faces of the two connectors Cf and Cm), col. 3, lines 5-7 (protuberances and the flat portions of the seal body from the apertures and protuberances on the seal member), col. 2, line 67 - col. 3 line 2 (first and second protuberances are each provided with an annular sealing ridge on the outer periphery), col. 3, lines 3-4 (second protuberances is centrally provided with a bore for corresponding male terminal)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Ogawa and provide a seal that isolates each of the insert contacts when compressed between the connector insert and the connector receptacle. Doing so fully envelops the insert contacts which adds protection and an enclosure once the seal is compressed between the two connectors. This provides protection from possible fluids that could enter as well as securing the attachment.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seido and in view of Reichenbach and in further view of Ito and Kao.
Regarding claim 17, Seido (in view of Reichenbach and Ito) teaches the method of claim 11. Seido does not teach further comprising inducing rotation of a locking member about the connector receptacle via the advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches inducing rotation of a locking member (Fig. 3, element 130 – retention ring) about the connector receptacle via the advancement of the connector insert into the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110… retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
Seido, Reichenbach, Ito, and Kao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of securing electrical connector assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide a locking member with the connector receptacle, and inducing rotation. Doing so would prevent axial disconnection from the two connectors, thereby providing a secure attachment.
Regarding claim 18, Seido (in view of Reichenbach, Ito, and Kao) teaches the method of claim 17. Seido does not teach further comprising engaging restraining the mating feature by the locking member to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches further comprising engaging restraining the mating feature (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) by the locking member (Fig. 3, element 130 – retention ring) to retain the connector insert within the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110… retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide the locking member to restrain the mating feature of the connector insert. Doing so provides extra security to ensure that the connector receptacle is able to retain the connector insert, to prevent unlocking.
Regarding claim 19, Seido (in view of Reichenbach, Ito, and Kao) teaches the method of claim 18. Seido does not teach wherein the mating feature is at least partially received within a channel of the locking member, and wherein the locking member rotates about the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle.
Kao teaches wherein the mating feature is at least partially received within a channel of the locking member, and wherein the locking member rotates about the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle
Kao teaches wherein the mating feature (Fig. 3, element 116 – tabs) is at least partially received within a channel (Fig. 3, element 142 – recesses) of the locking member and wherein the locking member rotates about the connector receptacle as the connector insert is advanced into the connector receptacle (para. 0044 (user plugs the male electrical connector 110 into the female electrical connector 160 such that the receiving recesses 142 receive the tabs 116 of the male electrical connector 110… the retention ring 130 is then rotated to lock the male electrical connector 110 to the female electrical connector 160)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seido to incorporate the teachings of Kao listed above, and provide the orientation feature being received within a channel of the locking member. Doing so allows the orientation feature to be contained within the locking member, to prevent the disconnection between the connector insert and the connector receptacle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EILEEN ROBLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796