DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 have been examined.
P = paragraph, e.g. p5 = paragraph 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive regarding the 103 rejection. The 102 rejection has been withdrawn.
Qualim discloses a battery charging event, a battery discharging event, or a battery preconditioning event (p’s 3, 4, 20 and 28). Qualim discloses via p3:
Upon charging and discharging of such a battery pack, heat may be generated inside battery cells of the battery pack thereby affecting temperature of the pack.
Qualim discloses via p4:
[0004] In some examples, such as an electric vehicle or a hybrid electric vehicle operating in all-electric mode, propulsion and operation of other vehicle systems exclusively relies on electric power. In order to improve battery performance, battery temperature control may be provided by a thermal management system. Battery cells within an enclosure of a battery pack are prone to exothermic reactions caused by shorts or faults within the cell that lead to high pressure and temperature events which may cause degradation of the battery cell, the enclosure, and the battery pack. In some instances, an initial exothermic reaction may be initially extinguished by the thermal management system, but may later react again either in the same cell as the initial reaction or in another battery cell. In addition to providing battery packs with such thermal management systems, various systems may be provided to remove or limit oxidants around the battery cells to reduce possibility of additional exothermic reactions that can further increase temperature and/or battery degradation.
Gonring discloses the measuring of temperature and pressure to detect a lack of integrity of the battery enclosure via at least the citations in the body of rejection below. E.g. Gonring discloses via col.2, 41-55:
(10) According to yet another implementation of the present disclosure, a method for operating a marine battery configured to provide energy to a marine vessel load is provided. The method includes receiving, at a battery management system for the marine battery, pressure information from a pressure sensor located in a sealed battery volume within a battery enclosure for the marine battery. The battery enclosure includes a main enclosure body and an auxiliary enclosure body. The method further includes receiving temperature information from a temperature sensor located in the sealed battery volume, comparing the pressure information and the temperature information, and determining whether an enclosure breach in the sealed battery volume has occurred based on a comparison of the pressure information and the temperature information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonring, USP 12,113,225, and further in view of Qualim, USPAP 2024/0274974.
As per claims 1, 20 and 21, Gonring discloses a method/system/computer readable medium, comprising:
generating pressure sensor data by a pressure sensor located within a battery enclosure; generating temperature sensor data by a temperature sensor located within the battery enclosure; Gonring discloses via col. 2, 41-55:
According to yet another implementation of the present disclosure, a method for operating a marine battery configured to provide energy to a marine vessel load is provided. The method includes receiving, at a battery management system for the marine battery, pressure information from a pressure sensor located in a sealed battery volume within a battery enclosure for the marine battery. The battery enclosure includes a main enclosure body and an auxiliary enclosure body. The method further includes receiving temperature information from a temperature sensor located in the sealed battery volume, comparing the pressure information and the temperature information, and determining whether an enclosure breach in the sealed battery volume has occurred based on a comparison of the pressure information and the temperature information.
detecting a lack of integrity (breach) of the battery enclosure by:
processing the temperature sensor data to detect a positive change in temperature within the battery enclosure that occurs during an event; and
processing the pressure sensor data to detect that a measured change in pressure is below a pressure change threshold that is calculated as a function of the positive change in temperature (col. 4, 15-37; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; col. 5, 32-50; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20; fig’s 1, 6); and
Gonring discloses via col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20:
(33) As depicted in FIG. 5, during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510), the pressure within the enclosure 300 increases at approximately the same rate as the pressure within the enclosure 200 (depicted as line segment 506). Notably, the maximum pressure of the enclosure 300 is less than the maximum experienced by the enclosure 200, which does not include any pressure mitigation features. Detection of enclosure breaches within the enclosure 300 (described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6) may occur during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510). For example, if a controller receiving pressure and temperature information from the sensors 306, 308 within the enclosure 300 determines that the temperature is above 40° C. and the pressure has not correspondingly risen above 12.5 psi, the controller may perform an enclosure breach mitigation action that includes displaying a warning on the display 40 (depicted in FIG. 1) and/or shutting the battery down.
(34) Lines 512 and 514 depict the behavior of the battery enclosure with the piston system 400, depicted in FIG. 4. Specifically, line 512 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively higher spring constant, and line 514 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively lower spring constant. Accordingly, the enclosure 400 with the higher spring constant experiences a higher maximum pressure (approximately 16 psi), while the enclosure 400 with the lower spring constant experiences a lower maximum pressure (approximately 14 psi). Notably, both implementations of the enclosure 400 experience a lower maximum pressure than the enclosure 200, which includes no pressure mitigation features. Furthermore, in contrast to the enclosure 300 with the bladder system, the enclosure 400 with the piston system permits the detection of enclosure breaches across the entire temperature spectrum due to the expected linear correlation between pressure and temperature through the complete temperature range.
generating an alert in response to detecting the lack of integrity,
the event comprising a battery charging event, a battery discharging event, or a battery preconditioning event (col.9, 51-67; col. 10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-34; fig’s 7, 5).
Gonring discloses all the limitations of the invention, however, arguendo, if Gonring is or might be interpreted such that it might not explicitly disclose a battery charging event, a battery discharging event, or a battery preconditioning event, then Qualim discloses a battery charging event, a battery discharging event, or a battery preconditioning event (p’s 3, 4, 20, 28, 26, 29, 35, 47, 54, 86; fig’s 2, 1, 5). If this interpretation is taken, then it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gonring to include a battery charging event, a battery discharging event, or a battery preconditioning event such as that taught by Qualim in order that upon charging and discharging of such a battery pack, heat may be generated inside battery cells of the battery pack thereby affecting temperature of the pack (Qualim p3) or in order to improve battery performance, battery temperature control may be provided by a thermal management system. Battery cells within an enclosure of a battery pack are prone to exothermic reactions caused by shorts or faults within the cell that lead to high pressure and temperature events which may cause degradation of the battery cell, the enclosure, and the battery pack. In some instances, an initial exothermic reaction may be initially extinguished by the thermal management system, but may later react again either in the same cell as the initial reaction or in another battery cell. In addition to providing battery packs with such thermal management systems, various systems may be provided to remove or limit oxidants around the battery cells to reduce possibility of additional exothermic reactions that can further increase temperature and/or battery degradation (Qualim, p4).
As per claim 2, Gonring discloses wherein: the event comprises a battery charge event comprising supplying current to one or more batteries within the battery enclosure; and the pressure sensor data and temperature sensor data are generated while the current is being supplied (col. 4, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12; col.4, 15-37; claim 1) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 4, 15-37:
(13) The power storage system 16 may further include a battery management system (BMS) 60 configured to monitor and/or control aspects of the power storage system 16. For example, the BMS 60 may receive inputs from one or more sensors within or on the power storage system 16, such as an integrated management module (IMM), one or more temperature sensors configured to sense temperature at location(s) within the battery pack enclosures (see FIGS. 2-4), one or more pack internal pressure sensors configured to sense pressure at location(s) within the enclosure, a water sensor configured to sense water ingress or to sense water on the exterior of the enclosure, a humidity sensor configured to sense humidity within the enclosure, and electrolysis gas sensors configured to sense the presence of gas (e.g., hydrogen gas) indicating that electrolysis is occurring. The system is configured to determine a battery state of health and to recognize a hazardous condition based on any one or more of the sensor measurements. The BMS 60 may further be configured to receive information from current, voltage, and/or other sensors within the power storage system 16, such as to receive information about the voltage, current, and temperature of each battery cell and/or each cell module 18 within the power storage system 16.
As per claim 3, Gonring discloses wherein: the pressure change threshold is based on the current and the positive change in temperature (col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 4, 15-37:
(13) The power storage system 16 may further include a battery management system (BMS) 60 configured to monitor and/or control aspects of the power storage system 16. For example, the BMS 60 may receive inputs from one or more sensors within or on the power storage system 16, such as an integrated management module (IMM), one or more temperature sensors configured to sense temperature at location(s) within the battery pack enclosures (see FIGS. 2-4), one or more pack internal pressure sensors configured to sense pressure at location(s) within the enclosure, a water sensor configured to sense water ingress or to sense water on the exterior of the enclosure, a humidity sensor configured to sense humidity within the enclosure, and electrolysis gas sensors configured to sense the presence of gas (e.g., hydrogen gas) indicating that electrolysis is occurring. The system is configured to determine a battery state of health and to recognize a hazardous condition based on any one or more of the sensor measurements. The BMS 60 may further be configured to receive information from current, voltage, and/or other sensors within the power storage system 16, such as to receive information about the voltage, current, and temperature of each battery cell and/or each cell module 18 within the power storage system 16.
As per claim 4, Gonring discloses wherein: the event comprises a battery preconditioning event comprising preconditioning one or more batteries within the battery enclosure for charging by increasing a temperature of the one or more batteries; and the pressure sensor data and temperature sensor data are generated while the one or more batteries are being preconditioned (col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col.5, 32-50:
(18) A temperature sensor 206 and a pressure sensor 208 are shown to be coupled to an upper wall of the battery enclosure 200. The temperature sensor 206 is configured to detect temperature information (e.g., temperature measurements) within the sealed battery volume 204. The temperature sensor 206 may be any suitable type of temperature sensor (e.g., a thermocouple, a resistance temperature detector (RTD), a thermistor, a semiconductor-based integrated circuit) and is not particularly limited. The pressure sensor 208 is configured to detect pressure information (e.g., pressure measurements) within the sealed battery volume 204. The pressure sensor 208 may be any suitable type of pressure sensor and is not particularly limited. In an exemplary implementation, the pressure sensor 208 is configured to measure absolute pressure within the sealed battery volume 204. As described in further detail below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6, the temperature sensor 206 and the pressure sensor 208 may be utilized in concert to detect breaches in the sealed battery volume 204.
As per claim 5, Gonring discloses wherein: the detecting of the positive change in temperature within the battery enclosure during the event comprises: processing the temperature sensor data to determine that a difference in temperature within the battery enclosure at two points in time during the event is over a temperature increase threshold; and the detecting that the measured change in pressure within the battery enclosure during the event is below the pressure change threshold comprises: processing the pressure sensor data to determine that a difference in pressure within the battery enclosure at two points in time during the event is under a pressure increase threshold (col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20:
(33) As depicted in FIG. 5, during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510), the pressure within the enclosure 300 increases at approximately the same rate as the pressure within the enclosure 200 (depicted as line segment 506). Notably, the maximum pressure of the enclosure 300 is less than the maximum experienced by the enclosure 200, which does not include any pressure mitigation features. Detection of enclosure breaches within the enclosure 300 (described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6) may occur during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510). For example, if a controller receiving pressure and temperature information from the sensors 306, 308 within the enclosure 300 determines that the temperature is above 40° C. and the pressure has not correspondingly risen above 12.5 psi, the controller may perform an enclosure breach mitigation action that includes displaying a warning on the display 40 (depicted in FIG. 1) and/or shutting the battery down.
(34) Lines 512 and 514 depict the behavior of the battery enclosure with the piston system 400, depicted in FIG. 4. Specifically, line 512 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively higher spring constant, and line 514 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively lower spring constant. Accordingly, the enclosure 400 with the higher spring constant experiences a higher maximum pressure (approximately 16 psi), while the enclosure 400 with the lower spring constant experiences a lower maximum pressure (approximately 14 psi). Notably, both implementations of the enclosure 400 experience a lower maximum pressure than the enclosure 200, which includes no pressure mitigation features. Furthermore, in contrast to the enclosure 300 with the bladder system, the enclosure 400 with the piston system permits the detection of enclosure breaches across the entire temperature spectrum due to the expected linear correlation between pressure and temperature through the complete temperature range.
As per claim 6, Gonring discloses the temperature increase threshold is 10 degrees celsius; and the pressure increase threshold is 0.3 kilopascals (col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5;col. 4, 15-37, 61-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 5:
As per claim 7, Gonring discloses wherein: the pressure increase threshold is equal to 0.3 kilopascals plus a linear function of: the temperature increase minus the temperature increase threshold (col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 5 above.
As per claim 8, Gonring discloses wherein: the measured change in pressure comprises a rate of pressure change during the event: and the pressure change threshold comprises a pressure change rate threshold that is calculated as a function of the positive change in temperature (claim 1: col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5;col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20:
(33) As depicted in FIG. 5, during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510), the pressure within the enclosure 300 increases at approximately the same rate as the pressure within the enclosure 200 (depicted as line segment 506). Notably, the maximum pressure of the enclosure 300 is less than the maximum experienced by the enclosure 200, which does not include any pressure mitigation features. Detection of enclosure breaches within the enclosure 300 (described in further detail below with reference to FIG. 6) may occur during the period of pressure increase (depicted as line segment 510). For example, if a controller receiving pressure and temperature information from the sensors 306, 308 within the enclosure 300 determines that the temperature is above 40° C. and the pressure has not correspondingly risen above 12.5 psi, the controller may perform an enclosure breach mitigation action that includes displaying a warning on the display 40 (depicted in FIG. 1) and/or shutting the battery down.
(34) Lines 512 and 514 depict the behavior of the battery enclosure with the piston system 400, depicted in FIG. 4. Specifically, line 512 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively higher spring constant, and line 514 depicts the battery enclosure 400 with a spring 418 having a relatively lower spring constant. Accordingly, the enclosure 400 with the higher spring constant experiences a higher maximum pressure (approximately 16 psi), while the enclosure 400 with the lower spring constant experiences a lower maximum pressure (approximately 14 psi). Notably, both implementations of the enclosure 400 experience a lower maximum pressure than the enclosure 200, which includes no pressure mitigation features. Furthermore, in contrast to the enclosure 300 with the bladder system, the enclosure 400 with the piston system permits the detection of enclosure breaches across the entire temperature spectrum due to the expected linear correlation between pressure and temperature through the complete temperature range.
As per claim 9, Gonring discloses wherein: the battery enclosure comprises one or more breather valves for fluid communication between an interior of the battery enclosure and an external environment outside of the battery enclosure; and the pressure rate threshold is based on at least one known characteristic of the one or more breather valves (col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 6:
As per claim 10, Gonring discloses wherein: the battery enclosure includes a plurality of volumes in fluid communication, the plurality of volumes comprising: one or more battery modules; and one or more ancillary volumes outside of the one or more battery modules (col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5;col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 7:
As per claim 11, Gonring discloses wherein: the battery enclosure is a battery enclosure of a vehicle; and the method further comprises displaying the alert to a user of the vehicle (col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 9, 51-67; col. 10, 1-10:
(38) If, at step 606, the BMS 60 determines that the temperature and pressure information indicates that an enclosure breach condition has occurred, process 600 may proceed to step 608 and the BMS 60 may perform an enclosure breach mitigation action. Because an enclosure breach can result in water intrusion, which can in turn lead to a thermal runaway event, the present inventor has recognized the advantages of alerting a user to the existence of an enclosure breach prior to water intrusion. In some implementations, the enclosure breach mitigation action may include the BMS 60 transmitting a message (e.g., to central controller 12) to be displayed on a user device (e.g., display 40) indicating a battery enclosure breach. This message may prompt the user to inspect and service the battery, if possible. For example, user inspection of the battery may reveal that the enclosure breach has occurred within an auxiliary enclosure body, prompting the user to detach the auxiliary enclosure body for repair or complete replacement In further implementations, the BMS 60 may disconnect the affected battery from the power storage system 16. A severity of the enclosure breach may be determined based on an error between expected temperature and pressure values and the received temperature and pressure information. In some implementations, the BMS 60 performs both actions. Once the BMS 60 has performed the enclosure breach mitigation action or actions, process 600 reverts to step 602.
As per claim 12, Gonring discloses transmitting the alert to a remote device (fig’s 1, 5;col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above via col. 9, 51-67; col. 10, 1-10.
As per claim 13, Gonring discloses generating external pressure sensor data by an external pressure sensor located outside of the battery enclosure, and the detecting of the lack of integrity of the battery enclosure further comprises: processing the pressure sensor data and the external pressure sensor data to determine a pressure gradient between an interior and an exterior of the battery enclosure (fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 7:
As per claim 14, Gonring discloses continuously or periodically measuring the pressure gradient to monitor for lack of integrity of the battery enclosure (col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 6:
As per claim 15, Gonring discloses the method is performed as part of a manufacturing process (col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 5, 32-50:
(18) A temperature sensor 206 and a pressure sensor 208 are shown to be coupled to an upper wall of the battery enclosure 200. The temperature sensor 206 is configured to detect temperature information (e.g., temperature measurements) within the sealed battery volume 204. The temperature sensor 206 may be any suitable type of temperature sensor (e.g., a thermocouple, a resistance temperature detector (RTD), a thermistor, a semiconductor-based integrated circuit) and is not particularly limited. The pressure sensor 208 is configured to detect pressure information (e.g., pressure measurements) within the sealed battery volume 204. The pressure sensor 208 may be any suitable type of pressure sensor and is not particularly limited. In an exemplary implementation, the pressure sensor 208 is configured to measure absolute pressure within the sealed battery volume 204. As described in further detail below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6, the temperature sensor 206 and the pressure sensor 208 may be utilized in concert to detect breaches in the sealed battery volume 204.
As per claim 16, Gonring discloses the method is performed after deployment of the battery enclosure as part of a product (col. 5, 1-12, 32-50; claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5; col. 4, 15-37, 61-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 4, 15-37:
(13) The power storage system 16 may further include a battery management system (BMS) 60 configured to monitor and/or control aspects of the power storage system 16. For example, the BMS 60 may receive inputs from one or more sensors within or on the power storage system 16, such as an integrated management module (IMM), one or more temperature sensors configured to sense temperature at location(s) within the battery pack enclosures (see FIGS. 2-4), one or more pack internal pressure sensors configured to sense pressure at location(s) within the enclosure, a water sensor configured to sense water ingress or to sense water on the exterior of the enclosure, a humidity sensor configured to sense humidity within the enclosure, and electrolysis gas sensors configured to sense the presence of gas (e.g., hydrogen gas) indicating that electrolysis is occurring. The system is configured to determine a battery state of health and to recognize a hazardous condition based on any one or more of the sensor measurements. The BMS 60 may further be configured to receive information from current, voltage, and/or other sensors within the power storage system 16, such as to receive information about the voltage, current, and temperature of each battery cell and/or each cell module 18 within the power storage system 16.
As per claim 17, Gonring discloses the method is performed in response to a diagnostic trigger event (col. 9, 1-20, 51-67; col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 6:
As per claim 18, Gonring discloses receiving a message; and processing the message to determine a product identification information representative of products at risk of lack of integrity of their battery enclosures; wherein the diagnostic trigger event comprises a determination that the product matches the product identification information (claim 1; col. 2, 41-55; fig’s 1, 5; col. 4, 15-37, 61-67; col. 5, 1-12, 32-50) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via col. 9, 51-67; col. 9, 1-10:
(38) If, at step 606, the BMS 60 determines that the temperature and pressure information indicates that an enclosure breach condition has occurred, process 600 may proceed to step 608 and the BMS 60 may perform an enclosure breach mitigation action. Because an enclosure breach can result in water intrusion, which can in turn lead to a thermal runaway event, the present inventor has recognized the advantages of alerting a user to the existence of an enclosure breach prior to water intrusion. In some implementations, the enclosure breach mitigation action may include the BMS 60 transmitting a message (e.g., to central controller 12) to be displayed on a user device (e.g., display 40) indicating a battery enclosure breach. This message may prompt the user to inspect and service the battery, if possible. For example, user inspection of the battery may reveal that the enclosure breach has occurred within an auxiliary enclosure body, prompting the user to detach the auxiliary enclosure body for repair or complete replacement In further implementations, the BMS 60 may disconnect the affected battery from the power storage system 16. A severity of the enclosure breach may be determined based on an error between expected temperature and pressure values and the received temperature and pressure information. In some implementations, the BMS 60 performs both actions. Once the BMS 60 has performed the enclosure breach mitigation action or actions, process 600 reverts to step 602.
As per claim 19, Gonring discloses wherein: the diagnostic trigger event comprises detection of a high-risk environmental condition (col.10, 1-33; col. 11, 12-30; fig’s 6, 7; col. 8, 52-67; col. 9, 1-20, 51-67) as per the discussion above and the rejection of corresponding parts of the claims above incorporated herein and further, Gonring discloses via figure 7:
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Engle et al. (U.S. patent application publication 2023/0124972) discloses
a battery thermal runaway detection sensor system for use within a battery enclosure housing one or more batteries. The system has at least one gas sensor for detecting a venting condition of a battery cell of hydrogen, carbon monoxide or carbon dioxide, and providing a sensed output in real time. A microcontroller determines power management and signal conditioned output on the concentration of specific battery venting gases based on the sensed output from said at least one gas sensor.
Gonring et al. (U.S. patent application publication 2022/0200070) discloses a
marine battery system configured to provide energy to a marine vehicle load. The marine battery system includes a battery, an enclosure configured to at least partially encapsulate the battery, a temperature sensor configured to detect temperature information within the enclosure, a pressure sensor configured to detect pressure information within the enclosure, and a controller coupled to the temperature sensor and the pressure sensor. The controller is configured to receive the temperature information from the temperature sensor, receive the pressure information from the pressure sensor, determine whether an enclosure breach condition has occurred based on a comparison of the temperature information and the pressure information, and in response to a determination that the enclosure breach condition has occurred, perform an enclosure breach mitigation action.
/Behrang Badii/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665