DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 18, 19, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] in view of Lu et al [US 2019/0246873]
Consider claim 1. A storage assembly comprising: a container (the bottle 1, see Fig. 1)
having an attachment surface (the attachment slot surface 5, see Fig. 1);
a handle positionable adjacent the attachment surface, the handle comprising: an
elongated grip portion (the elongate grip 20, see Fig. 2), an anchor for mounting the
handle to the attachment surface (the anchor/slot 5 for mounting the elongate
attachment 8 of the handle member 6, see Figs. 1, 2, col. 3, lines 8-20). But,
Dunnum fails to disclose at least one electronic component configured for wireless identification or tracking of the container, the at least one electronic component encapsulated partially or entirely in the handle entirely in the handle by material from the handle, the container or combination thereof. However,
Dunnum teaches that the bottle 1 with a handle member 6 are made of plastic material or suitable equivalent. The handle member 6 includes one or more integrated chip 10 having IC-1 to IC-4 and timer 40, see Figs. 2, 3, col. 2, lines 27-44, col. 3, lines 24-65, col. 4, lines 7-10).
Lu et al suggests that the handle portion 2130 can be fold inside out and can be used as a container to hold the contaminated disposable portion (see Figs. 11A, 11B, para [0064]). In an example, Dallas chip or EEPROM is used, the sensor (Dallas chip or EEPROM) on the cannula is read by the electronics inside handle. Once detected, the handle electronics will program the sensor and tag is as used, which may be through embedded software programming. In another example, a barcode or RFID configured to be read by a reader may be located on the proximal end of the single-use portion and can be read by a reader located on the handle portion. In some cases, once a re-use is detected, the single-use portion may be configured to be disabled from being used after being read a first time by the reader (see Fig. 10, para [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or use the handle portion embedded with RFID and memory software program of Lu et al to the plastic bottle handle member of Dunnum since the handle member is embedded with IC circuits and timer circuit for protection and preventing damage to the electric and electronic circuitries from external forces, liquid and/or water while being used to hold a bottle or container, even though Dunnum silences of the detail structure of the handle member.
Consider claim 3. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the handle includes one or
more legs extending from the grip portion, each of the one or more legs having a grip
end and a foot end opposite the grip end (the handle member 6 includes a top leg 17
and bottom leg 18 and the grip 20, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 4. The storage assembly of claim 3, wherein the handle includes a foot
attached to each foot end (each of the foot/leg 17, 18 is attached to the elongate arm 16
of the elongate attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2)
Consider claim 5. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the anchor is coupled to at
least one foot end (the anchor/slot 5 is coupled to the elongate arm 16 of the elongate
attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 6. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the anchor comprises a
base extending along a base direction that is parallel to the elongated grip portion (the
anchor/slot 5 included a base being extending along and parallel to the grip 20, see Fig.
2), and
a protrusion extending away from the base and in a protrusion direction that is
perpendicular to the base direction (the edge/hook extending away from the base and
perpendicular to the anchor/slot 5, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 7. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the container comprises a
fluid container (the baby milk/liquid bottle, see Fig. 1, col. 1, lines 6-10).
Consider claim 8. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the grip portion comprises,
when the handle is coupled to the container, an outer surface facing outwardly away
from the container, and an inner surface facing inwardly toward the container (as the combination between Dunnum and Lu et al in respect to claim 1 above, see the
handle member 6 of Dunnum, see Figs. 1, 2, and the handle portion 2130 of Lu et al, see Figs. 11A, 11B).
Consider claim 18. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein at least one of the container and the handle is reusable, and the anchor is configured for removably mounting the handle to the attachment surface. However,
Dunnum teaches that the removeable handle member 6 are made of plastic material or suitable equivalent. The handle member 6 includes one or more integrated chip 10 having IC-1 to IC-4 and timer 40, see Figs. 2, 3, col. 2, lines 27-44, col. 3, lines 24-65, col. 4, lines 7-10).
Lu et al suggests that the handle portion 2130 is designed to be re-used many times (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 7A, 7B, para [0034, 0048]). The handle portion 2130 is embedded with RFID tag, microchip and memory for storing ID. In some cases, once a re-use is detected, the single-use portion may be configured to be disabled from being used after being read a first time by the reader (see Figs. 11A, 11B, para [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and implement the re-useable handle portion of Lu et al to the handle member of Dunnum for extending and using of the handle on multiple applications and different bottles and containers identified by the RFID tag or code stored in the handle.
Consider claim 19. A handle assembly configured to be coupled to a container having
an attachment surface, the handle assembly comprising: an elongated grip portion; an
anchor for removably mounting the handle assembly to the attachment surface of the
container; and at least one electronic component configured for wireless identification or
tracking of the container, the at least one electronic component being encapsulated
partially or completely in the handle assembly (as discussed between Dunnum and Lu et al in respect to claim 1 above, see
Figs. 1, 5). But
Dunnum fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of the attachment surface of the container is disposed on a neck of the container, a mouth of the container, or a combination thereof. However,
Dunnum teaches that the handle member 10 is attached to the body of the bottle 1, see Figs. 1, 2, abstract).
Lu et al suggests that the handle portion 2130 is attached or mounted at the open end of the drape container 3100 by the matting portion 2261 and coupler 3120, see Fig. 11A, para [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or use the attaching/mounting of the handle portion to the opening mouth/portion of the drape container of Lu et al to the bottle handle of Dunnum for providing flexibility and use of handle being attaching and releasing from the neck or open mouth of the bottle/container with greater secure, strong and easier to use by a user without changing the purposes and results of the handle.
Consider claim 21. The handle assembly of claim 19, further comprising one or more
legs extending from the grip portion, each of the one or more legs having a grip end and
a foot end opposite the grip end (as cited in respect to claim 3 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 22. The handle assembly of claim 20, further comprising a foot attached
to each foot end (as cited in respect to claim 4 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 23. The handle assembly of claim 21, wherein the anchor comprises a
base extending along a base direction that is parallel to the elongated grip portion, and
a protrusion extending away from the base and in a protrusion direction that is
perpendicular to the base direction (as cited in respect to claim 6 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 24. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the anchor is coupled to
at least one foot end (as cited in respect to claim 5 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 25. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the container comprises
fluid container (as cited in respect to claim 7 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 26. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the grip portion, when the
handle assembly is coupled to the container, an outer surface facing outwardly away
from the container and an inner surface facing inwardly toward the container (as cited in
respect to claim 8 above, see Figs. 1, 2).
Claims 2, 9-17, 20, 27-42, 45-49, 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Lu et al [US 2019/0246873] and further in view of Strassburger et al [US 9,792,792]
Consider claim 2. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein the at least one electronic
component comprises at least one radio frequency identification device (RFID) tag.
However, Dunnum teaches that the handle 20 includes one or more integrated chip 10
having IC-1 to IC-4 and timer 40, see Figs. 2, 3, col. 2, lines 27-44, col. 3, lines 24-65).
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag 10 for mounting on a handle of a
container such as a paint can or plastic pail includes a tag housing 12 having a tubular
configuration and a lumen extending through the housing. The housing 12 further
includes a flange extending radially outwardly from the tubular housing 12. The flange is
adapted to receive a security device 20, such as an electronic article surveillance tag or
an RFID tag 10. The security tag 10 includes a cover mounted to the flange to
encapsulate the security device 20 (see Figs. 1, 2, abstract).
The security tag 10 formed in accordance with the present invention also includes a
flange 16 extending radially outward from the housing body 12. The housing
body 12 has an elongate, generally tubular configuration, an exterior wall 15, a
longitudinal axis extending between a first end 11 and a second end 12 and a
lumen 14 extending through the housing body 12 between the first and second
ends 11, 12 and adapted to receive the handle 3 (see FIG. 6). As shown in FIG. 2, the
flange 16 extends radially and outwardly from the exterior wall 15 of the housing
body 12 to a distal edge 17 that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis 19. The
flange 16 includes a recessed area 18 adapted to receive a security device 20, such as
an EAS device or an RFID tag. A cover 22 is provided to be mounted onto the
flange 16 to secure and encapsulate the security device 20 therein and prevent removal
by the consumer. In a preferred embodiment, the flange 16 includes a recessed
bezel 24 which is dimensioned so that the cover fits flush with the exterior wall of the
flange as shown by the bottom view of FIG. 7. The recessed bezel provides a ledge
upon which the cover is mounted. The cover 22 may be ultrasonically welded or
adhesively bonded to the flange 16 to permanently bond the cover to the housing to
prevent its removal and protect the security device 20 (see Figs. 1-5, abstract, col. 1,
lines 43-61, col. 2, lines 61-67, col. 3, lines 1-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to substitute the RFID tag of Strassburger et al to one of the IC
chip of Dunnm and Lu et al for easily and quickly identifying and recognizing of the bottle or container by a caregiver, parent and/or user and to protect from the theft, since both references in the field of endeavor of the invention to have one or more electronic
circuitry, IC chip, RFID tag being attached or mounted to the handle of a bottle or
container.
Consider claim 9. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one RFID tag is
disposed along the inner surface of the grip portion (as the combination of the RFID tag
between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 10. The storage assembly of claim 3, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the one or more legs (as the combination of the RFID tag between
Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed n the legs 17, 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 11. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the foot (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed in the elongate plate/foot 8, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 12. The storage assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the base (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed in a base of the elongate attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 13. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the anchor (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is disposed to one or more locations in the handle member 6, see Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art that it is a desire choice or user choice to attach/mount the IC or RFID tag to the anchor or slot 5, which provides the same output result.
Consider claim 14. The storage assembly of claim 11, wherein the foot includes an
opening configured to receive the at least one RFID tag (as cited in respect to claim 11
above, and including the open end at the foot/leg 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 15. The storage assembly of claim 14, wherein the opening comprises a
cavity for at least partially enclosing the at least one RFID tag within the foot (the
elongate member 8 having an open hollow/cavity at the foot/leg 18 to receive the IC 10
or RFID tag as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 16. The storage assembly of claim 14, wherein the opening comprises a
recess formed along a bottom surface of the foot (as cited in respect to claims 14, 15
above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 17. The storage assembly of claim 13, wherein the protrusion comprises
an upper section and a lower section, and the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the
upper section or the lower section (as the combination of the RFID tag between
Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 2, 13 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is disposed to one or more locations in the handle member 6, see Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art that it is a desire choice or user choice to attach or mount the IC or RFID tag to the hook or protrusion along the anchor or slot 5 which provides the same output result.
Consider claim 20. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the at least one electronic
component comprises at least one radio frequency identification device (RFID) tag (as
the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is respect to claim 2 above).
Consider claim 27. The handle assembly of claim 25, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed along the inner surface of the grip portion (as cited in respect to claim 9
above).
Consider claim 28. The handle assembly of claim 20, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the one or more legs (as cited in respect to claim 10 above).
Consider claim 29. The handle assembly of claim 21, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the foot (as cited in respect to claim 11 above).
Consider claim 30. The handle assembly of claim 22, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the base (as cited in respect to claim 12 above).
Consider claim 31. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the at least one RFID tag
is disposed in the anchor (as the discussed in respect to claim 13 above).
Consider claim 32. The handle assembly of claim 28, wherein the foot includes an
opening configured to receive the at least one RFID tag (as cited in respect to claim 14
above).
Consider claim 33. The handle assembly of claim 32, wherein the opening comprises a
cavity for at least partially enclosing the at least one RFID tag within the foot (as cited in
respect to claim 15 above).
Consider claim 34. The handle assembly of claim 32, wherein the opening comprises a
recess formed along a bottom surface of the foot (as cited in respect to claim 32, 33
above, wherein the cavity, opening or recess formed along the elongate attachment 8
and to bottom foot/leg 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 35. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the anchor comprises an
upper section and a lower section, and the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the
upper section or the lower section (as discussed in respect to claim 17 above).
Consider claim 36. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein the elongated grip portion
comprises a wire handle. However,
Dunnum teaches that the handle member 6 comprises electrical lines or wires inside the elongate grip 20, see Fig. 2).
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag 10 of the present invention includes
an elongated housing body 12 having a lumen 14 extending therethrough. The security
tag 10 is adapted to be mounted on a wire loop handle 30 for a container, such as a five
gallon plastic paint-type pail. (See e.g. FIGS. 6 and 7). The security tag provides two
functions. First, the security tag includes an electronic security device mounted therein,
such as an electronic article surveillance (EAS) device as is well known in the industry
or an RFID tag used for security and/or inventory monitoring. Second, the security tag
provides a larger diameter handle for the consumer to grasp making carrying a heavy
pail more comfortable. Without the security tag, the thin wire, plastic or rope handle can
cut into the consumer's hand and make transporting the pail difficult (see Fig. 1, 6, 7,
abstract, col. 2, lines 62-67, col. 2, lines 1-8, 60-67, col. 4, lines 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to substitute the wire handle of Strassburger et al for the elongate
handle grip of Dunnum and Lu et al for providing comfortable handle easily to carry the container and prevent the wire handle from pressing into the hand of the person carrying the container.
Consider claim 37. A method of integrating an electronic component to a handle
provided for attachment to a container, the electronic component configured for at least
wireless identification or tracking of the container, the method comprising: (a) providing
at least one electronic component; (c) forming a handle including the molded electronic
component assembly; and (d) mounting the handle to the container (as the combination
of the RFID tag as a wireless identification between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is respect to claim 2 above). But
Dunnum fails to disclose molding a molding material about the at least one electronic component to form a molded electronic component assembly.
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of
plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and
cover 22 may be formed by injection molding, thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically
forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy which can initially flow into a mold and later
solidities. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the security tag may be made from
any suitable material using a variety of manufacturing technologies (see Figs. 1-5, col.
2, lines 3-6, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one skill in the art before the effective filed date
of the invention to modify or implement the RFID tag molding process of Strassburger et al and Lu et al for attaching or mounting the IC or RFID tag into the handle with greater security and protecting and sealing the IC or FRID tag from any environment conditions and damage from carrying or using of the bottle or container.
Consider claim 38. The method of claim 37, wherein the at least one electronic
component comprises at least one RFID tag (as the combination of the RFID tag
between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above)
Consider claim 39. The method of claim 38, wherein step (b) comprises molding the
molding material about the at least one RFID tag, such that the molding material covers
at least a portion of a surface of the at least one RFID tag (as the combination of the
molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above).
Consider claim 40. The method of claim 38, wherein the molding material is selected for
bonding with a material of the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the
RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, see Strassburger et al, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Consider claim 41. The method of claim 38, further comprising (e) embedding the at
least one RFID tag within the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the
RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, wherein the security RFID tag is encapsulated and molding by the plastic or epoxy, see Strassburger et al, abstract, col. 3, lines 20-32, 42-50).
Consider claim 42. The method of claim 41, wherein step (e) comprises inserting a
completely encapsulated RFID tag into a housing and inserting the housing with the
completely encapsulated RFID tag into the handle (as cited in respect to claim 41
above).
Consider claim 45. The method of claim 38, wherein step (a) comprises printing the at
least one RFID tag onto an in-mold decorating (IMD) surface (as the combination of the
molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, and including printing letters and signs, see Strassburger et al, Figs. 1-4).
Consider claim 46. The method of claim 45, wherein step (b) comprises placing the IMD
surface with the at least one RFID tag in a mold prior to injecting the molding material
into the mold (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between
Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, wherein the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and cover 22 may be formed by injection molding,
thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy
which can initially flow into a mold and later solidities. Those skilled in the art will
appreciate that the security tag may be made from any suitable material using a variety
of manufacturing technologies, see Strassburger et al, Figs. 1-5, col, 3, lines 42-50).
Consider claim 47. The method of claim 38, wherein step (c) comprises forming an
opening in the handle and step (a) comprises inserting the at least one RFID tag into
the opening of the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag
between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 14 and 37 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 48. The method of claim 47, wherein step (b) comprises flowing the
molding material into the opening of the handle and forming the molding material over
one or more exposed surfaces of the at least one RFID tag disposed in the opening of
the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between
Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 14 and 37 above, see Fig. 2,
Consider claim 49. The method of claim 41, wherein step (b) occurs prior to step (e),
such that at least one encapsulated RFID tag is embedded within the handle (as cited in
respect to claim 42 above).
Consider claim 53. The method of claim 38, wherein the container comprises a fluid
container (the mild or liquid bottle 1, see Figs. 1, 2).
Claims 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Lu et al [US 2019/0246873] and Strassburger et al [US 9,792,792] and further in view of Reiss et al [US 2011/0053208]
Consider claim 43. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein step (a) comprises adhering the
at least one RFID tag to a film.
Reiss et al suggests that the handling device 11 includes a substrate with at least one
crease that divides the substrate into a handle portion and a receiving portion that
includes an aperture having a perimeter that is configured so that it receives a container
(see abstract, Fig. 1). The handle portion includes an: adhesive in contact with it; and
adhesive label 14 or RFID device on it, where the adhesive label extends beyond the at
least one peripheral edge and connects at least two handle portions with each other.
The substrate includes a material, which is paper, cardboard, foil and/or film. The device
initially has a substantially flat profile and in use is folded about two creases so that a
pair of opposing handle portions project generally away from the receiving portion and
are connected to each other by an adhesive la7bel. The peripheral edge portions
are adhered to one another by an adhesive label portion (see Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C, para
[0023, 0024, 0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use or utilize the adhesive film for attaching the label RFID
device of Reiss et al to the attachment and bonding the IC or RFID tag of Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al for providing strong protection and to avoiding of breakage.
Consider claim 44. The method of claim 43, wherein step (b) comprises placing the film
with the at least one RFID tag in a mold prior to injecting the molding material into the
mold (as the combination of the attachment RFID tag including film and molding process between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al and Reiss et al in respect to claims 37 and 43 above).
Claims 50, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Lu et al [US 2019/0246873] and Strassburger et al [US 9,792,792] and further in view of Austin [US 2007/0139202]
Consider claim 50. Dunnum fails to disclose comprising (f) forming a plurality of
guiding features for positioning the at least one RFID tag in a mold, the guiding features
configured to detach from the at least one RFID tag when the at least one RFID tag is
subjected to heat or pressure. As the combination of the molding process for the RFID
tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 37 and 46 above.
Austin suggests that the method for manufacturing an object having an encapsulated
radio frequency identification (RFID) tag is provided. An RFID tag is mechanically or
chemically affixed to a first portion of the object being manufactured. The first portion of
the object, with the RFID tag affixed is placed in a cavity of a mold. The first portion is
then over-molded with a first material such as high temperature thermoplastic or low
temperature thermoset to generate a seamless object. A method for manufacturing an
object having a partially encapsulated RFID tag is also provided. An RFID tag is
laminated with a lamination material, such as high temperature thermoplastic. The
laminated RFID tag is affixed to a mold. The laminated RFID tag is then over-molded
with a first material to generate a seamless object (see abstract).
A flowchart 400 of a method for manufacturing a seamless object having an encapsulated RFID tag, according to an embodiment of the present invention. Note that
some steps shown in flowchart 400 do not necessarily have to occur in the order shown.
For illustrative purposes, the steps of FIG. 4 are described with respect to FIGS. 5A-5H.
FIGS. 5A-5H show views of an object during various phases of manufacture (see Fig. 4,
para [0056]).
In step 410, the tag is laminated between two layers to generate a laminated tag
structure. Step 410 is optional. FIGS. 5A and 5B illustrate top and side views of a
laminated tag structure 500. In an embodiment, the laminate layers are made from a
high temperature thermoplastic film. High temperature thermoplastics such as
Polyetherimide (PEI) (e.g., GE Plastics Ultem 1000) maintain dimensional stability at
high temperatures. This characteristic reduces the likelihood of the RFID chip
becoming detached from the substrate and decreases the tag production cycle time by
enabling higher cure temperatures (see Fig. 4, para [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use or utilize the method or guiding steps of processing molding
RFID tag by the detaching support pins from the RFID tag due to high or low
temperature thermoplastic of Austin to the molding process method of Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger as to lower cost materials can be used for both the tag and the hard plastic substrate, see Austin, para [0076]).
Consider claim 51. Dunnum fails to disclose comprising (g) providing a plurality of
support pins for supporting the at least one RFID tag in a mold, the support pins
configured to detach from the at least one RFID tag when the at least one RFID tag is
subjected to heat or pressure.
Austin suggests that in the exemplary mechanical method depicted in FIGS. 9A-9E,
laminated tag structure 800 is affixed to a first portion of the object by aligning the one
or more location holes 818 with the one or more locating pins 922 of the first portion.
FIG. 9C depicts a side view of first portion 920. The number of locating pins 922
corresponds to the number of location holes 918 cut into the laminated tag structure. In
an alternate embodiment, there are more location holes 918 cut into the laminated tag
structure than locating pins. The locating pins are heat-staked down to retain the
laminated tag structure on the first portion 940 of the object. FIG. 9D depicts a side-
view and FIG. 9E depicts a top view of the resulting first portion with the locating pins
heat-staked down. As can be seen in FIGS. 9D and 9E, the heat-staked down locating
pins hold the laminated tag structure 910 securely to the first portion 920 of the object.
As would be appreciated by persons of skill in the art, other mechanical methods can be
used to affix the laminated tag structure to the first portion of the object and may
detaching the pin from the RFID tag due to high/low temperature (see Figs. 5A-5E, 9A-
9E, para [0057, 0059, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use or utilize the method of processing molding RFID tag by the
detaching support pins from the RFID tag due to high or low temperature thermoplastic
of Austin to the molding process method of Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al as to lower cost materials can be used for both the tag and the hard plastic substrate, see Austin, para [0076]).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum
[US 6,037,872] and Lu et al [US 2019/0246873] and Strassburger et al [US 9,792,792] and further in view of Yang [US 094,027]
Consider claim 52. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein step (b) comprises electrostatic
pinning of the film with the at least one RFID tag to a surface of the mold prior to
injecting the molding material into the mold (as the combination of the molding process
for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Lu et al and Strassburger et al and Reiss et al in respect to claims 14, 37 and 43 above, and further Strassburger et al teaches that the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and cover 22 may be formed by injection molding, thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy which can initially flow into a mold and later solidities. Those skilled in the art will
appreciate that the security tag may be made from any suitable material using a variety
of manufacturing technologies (see Figs. 1-5, col. 2, lines 3-6, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Yang suggests that the method for applying a radio frequency identification tag to an
object, e.g., a container, by means of an insert molding process or in-mold decorating
process (see abstract).
The molding operation can be a conventional molding operation, such as, for example,
extrusion blow molding, injection blow molding, injection molding, reaction injection molding, compression molding, transfer molding. The processes are described in
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 8, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
(1987), pages 102-138; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 4, John
Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1986), pages 79-108; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and
Engineering, Vol. 4, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1986), pages 79-108; Encyclopedia of
Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 14, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1988), pages 72-
100; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 2, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
(1985), pages 447-478, all of which have been previously incorporated herein by
reference. Suitable processes are also described in U.S. Pat. Nos. 4,643,789 and
4,369,157, incorporated herein by reference. In the molding process, the adhesive
coated composite film 34 (less the release liner) bearing the radio frequency
identification tag is fused to the object generated by the insert molding station 52. The
radio frequency identification tag can be introduced to the mold by means of vacuum or
by electrostatic forces to maintain the radio frequency identification tag stationary during
the molding process (see Figs. 4-10, col. 13, lines 37-60, col. 16, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed
date of the invention to use or utilize the method of processing molding RFID tag by
electrostatic force of the film of Yang to the molding process method of Dunnum and
Lu et al and Strassburger et al for the benefits of a web process incorporating an insert molding step, include, but are not limited to, reduction of cost, reduction of the risk of counterfeiting of the radio frequency identification tag, and improvement in appearance of the radio frequency identification tag. In particular, the likelihood of delamination of the radio frequency identification tag is reduced because the assembly comprising the microchip and the antenna is protected by the polymeric material used for preparing the article, e.g., the container, itself. A conventional radio frequency identification tag is subject to being damaged and is also subject to tampering (see Yang, col. 4, lines 17-30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-53 under Dunnum have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lu et al [US 2019/0246873] to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Dunnum is silent as to the how the voice chip 10 is mounted to the elongated arm 16 of the handle member 6.
(B) In addition, claim 18 includes features which are not disclosed, taught, or suggested by the applied references, including at least the limitation of "wherein at least one of the container and the handle is re-usable."
(C) Amended claim 19 includes features which are not disclosed, taught, or suggested by the applied references, including: "A handle assembly configured to be coupled to a container having an attachment surface, the handle assembly comprising:
an elongated grip portion; an anchor for removably mounting the handle assembly to the attachment surface of the container; and at least one electronic component configured for wireless identification or tracking of the container, the at least one electronic component being encapsulated partially or completely in the handle
assembly; and wherein at least a portion of the attachment surface of the container is disposed on a neck of the container, a mouth of the container, or a combination thereof."
(D) The Office acknowledges Dunnum does not teach at least claimed step (b) of molding a molding material about the at least one electronic component to form a molded electronic component assembly, and so relies on Strassburger to cure this deficiency. See Office Action at page 13, citing FIGS. 1-5, col. 2 lines 3-6 and col. 3, lines 42-50 of Strassburger. The rejection based on Dunnum and Strassburger should not be maintained against claim 1 because the disclosure therein does not disclose all features of the claimed storage assembly. In particular, the cited disclosure relied upon by the Office generally teaches: the "security tag housing may be integrally formed as single piece via any type of molding process, such as injection molding. The cover is preferably molded as a separate component piece." See e.g., col. 2, lines 4-6 of Strassburger.
Response to the arguments:
(A) Even though Dunnum is not disclose details of electronic circuit and IC chips disposed inside the handle member. However, it is obvious to combine the assemble and structure of the handle portion of Lu et al to the handle member of Dunnum for embedding or encapsuling the for protection and preventing damage to the electric and electronic circuitries from external forces, liquid and/or water while being used to hold a bottle or container.
(B) It is obvious to combine the re-use of handle portion of Lu et al with the handle member of Dunnum for extending and using of the handle on multiple applications and different bottles and containers identified by the RFID tag or code stored in the handle.
(C) It is obvious to modify or use the attaching/mounting of the handle portion to the opening lid/mouth of the drape container of Lu et al to the bottle handle of Dunnum for providing flexibility and use of handle being attaching and releasing from the neck or open mouth of the bottle/container with greater secure, strong and easier to use by a user without changing the purposes and results of the handle.
(D) Even though Dunnum is not disclose details of how the electronic circuit and IC chips disposed inside the handle member. However, it is obvious to combine the RFID tag molding process of the handle portion assembly of Strassburger et al to the handle member of Dunnum for attaching or mounting the IC or RFID tag into the handle with greater security and protecting and sealing the IC or FRID tag from any environment conditions and damage from carrying or using of the bottle or container. Wherein, Strassburger et al art is not limit to references in the field of endeavor of the invention such as the security tag for mounting on a handle of a container such as a paint can or plastic pail includes a tag housing having a tubular configuration and a lumen extending through the housing. The housing further includes a flange extending radially outwardly from the tubular housing. The flange is adapted to receive a security device, such as an electronic article surveillance tag or an RFID tag. The security tag includes a cover mounted to the flange to encapsulate the security device. The security tag may be placed onto, e.g., a wire loop handle prior to mounting the handle to the container (see Strassburger et al, abstract), that would have been recognized by those skill in the art as useful for applicant’s purpose.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
05/19/2026