DETAILED ACTION
4Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Dependent claims 33 and 34 should depending on the preceding claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 18, 19, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dunnum [US 6,037,872]
Consider claim 1. A storage assembly comprising: a container (the bottle 1, see Fig. 1) having an attachment surface (the attachment slot surface 5, see Fig. 1);
a handle positionable adjacent the attachment surface, the handle comprising: an elongated grip portion (the elongate grip 20, see Fig. 2), an anchor for mounting the handle to the attachment surface (the anchor/slot 5 for mounting the elongate attachment 8 of the handle member 6, see Figs. 1, 2, col. 3, lines 8-20), and
at least one electronic component configured for wireless identification or tracking of
the container, the at least one electronic component encapsulated partially or entirely in the handle (the handle member 6 includes one or more integrated chip 10 having IC-1 to IC-4 and timer 40, see Figs. 2, 3, col. 2, lines 27-44, col. 3, lines 24-65).
Consider claim 3. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the handle includes one or more legs extending from the grip portion, each of the one or more legs having a grip end and a foot end opposite the grip end (the handle member 6 includes a top leg 17 and bottom leg 18 and the grip 20, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 4. The storage assembly of claim 3, wherein the handle includes a foot attached to each foot end (each of the foot/leg 17, 18 is attached to the elongate arm 16 of the elongate attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2)
Consider claim 5. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the anchor is coupled to at least one foot end (the anchor/slot 5 is coupled to the elongate arm 16 of the elongate attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2)
Consider claim 6. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the anchor comprises a base extending along a base direction that is parallel to the elongated grip portion (the anchor/slot 5 included a base being extending along and parallel to the grip 20, see Fig. 2), and
a protrusion extending away from the base and in a protrusion direction that is perpendicular to the base direction (the edge/hook extending away from the base and perpendicular to the anchor/slot 5, see Fig. 2.
Consider claim 7. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the container comprises a fluid container (the baby milk/liquid bottle, see Fig. 1, col. 1, lines 6-10).
Consider claim 8. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the grip portion comprises, when the handle is coupled to the container, an outer surface facing outwardly away from the container, and an inner surface facing inwardly toward the container (the handle member 6, see Figs. 1, 2).
Consider claim 18. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the container and the handle is reusable, and the anchor is configured for removably mounting the handle to the attachment surface (the removeable handle member 6, see Figs. 1, 2).
Consider claim 19. A handle assembly configured to be coupled to a container having an attachment surface, the handle assembly comprising: an elongated grip portion; an anchor for removably mounting the handle assembly to the attachment surface of the container; and at least one electronic component configured for wireless identification or tracking of the container, the at least one electronic component being encapsulated partially or completely in the handle assembly (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1, 5).
Consider claim 21. The handle assembly of claim 19, further comprising one or more legs extending from the grip portion, each of the one or more legs having a grip end and a foot end opposite the grip end (as cited in respect to claim 3 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 22. The handle assembly of claim 20, further comprising a foot attached to each foot end (as cited in respect to claim 4 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 23. The handle assembly of claim 21, wherein the anchor comprises a base extending along a base direction that is parallel to the elongated grip portion, and a protrusion extending away from the base and in a protrusion direction that is perpendicular to the base direction (as cited in respect to claim 6 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 24. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the anchor is coupled to at least one foot end (as cited in respect to claim 5 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 25. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the container comprises fluid container (as cited in respect to claim 7 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 26. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the grip portion, when the handle assembly is coupled to the container, an outer surface facing outwardly away from the container and an inner surface facing inwardly toward the container (as cited in respect to claim 8 above, see Figs. 1, 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-17, 20, 27-42, 45-49, 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] in view of Strassburger et al [US 9,782,792]
Consider claim 2. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein the at least one electronic component comprises at least one radio frequency identification device (RFID) tag. However, Dunnum teaches that the handle 20 includes one or more integrated chip 10 having IC-1 to IC-4 and timer 40, see Figs. 2, 3, col. 2, lines 27-44, col. 3, lines 24-65).
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag 10 for mounting on a handle of a container such as a paint can or plastic pail includes a tag housing 12 having a tubular configuration and a lumen extending through the housing. The housing 12 further includes a flange extending radially outwardly from the tubular housing 12. The flange is adapted to receive a security device 20, such as an electronic article surveillance tag or an RFID tag 10. The security tag 10 includes a cover mounted to the flange to encapsulate the security device 20 (see Figs. 1, 2, abstract).
The security tag 10 formed in accordance with the present invention also includes a flange 16 extending radially outward from the housing body 12. The housing body 12 has an elongate, generally tubular configuration, an exterior wall 15, a longitudinal axis extending between a first end 11 and a second end 12 and a lumen 14 extending through the housing body 12 between the first and second ends 11, 12 and adapted to receive the handle 3 (see FIG. 6). As shown in FIG. 2, the flange 16 extends radially and outwardly from the exterior wall 15 of the housing body 12 to a distal edge 17 that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis 19. The flange 16 includes a recessed area 18 adapted to receive a security device 20, such as an EAS device or an RFID tag. A cover 22 is provided to be mounted onto the flange 16 to secure and encapsulate the security device 20 therein and prevent removal by the consumer. In a preferred embodiment, the flange 16 includes a recessed bezel 24 which is dimensioned so that the cover fits flush with the exterior wall of the flange as shown by the bottom view of FIG. 7. The recessed bezel provides a ledge upon which the cover is mounted. The cover 22 may be ultrasonically welded or adhesively bonded to the flange 16 to permanently bond the cover to the housing to prevent its removal and protect the security device 20 (see Figs. 1-5, abstract, col. 1, lines 43-61, col. 2, lines 61-67, col. 3, lines 1-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to substitute the RFID tag of Strassburger et al to one of the IC chip of Dunnm for easily and quickly identifying and recognizing of the bottle or container by a caregiver, parent and/or user and to protect from the theft, since both references in the field of endeavor of the invention to have one or more electronic circuitry, IC chip, RFID tag being attached or mounted to the handle of a bottle or container.
Consider claim 9. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed along the inner surface of the grip portion (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 10. The storage assembly of claim 3, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the one or more legs (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed n the legs 17, 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 11. The storage assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the foot (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed in the elongate plate/foot 8, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 12. The storage assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the base (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Reiss et al in respect to claim 2 above, the IC/RFID tag is disposed in a base of the elongate attachment plate 8, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 13. The storage assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the anchor (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is disposed to one or more locations in the handle member 6, see Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art that it is a desire choice or user choice to attach/mount the IC or RFID tag to the anchor or slot 5, which provides the same output result.
Consider claim 14. The storage assembly of claim 11, wherein the foot includes an opening configured to receive the at least one RFID tag (as cited in respect to claim 11 above, and including the open end at the foot/leg 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 15. The storage assembly of claim 14, wherein the opening comprises a cavity for at least partially enclosing the at least one RFID tag within the foot (the elongate member 8 having an open hollow/cavity at the foot/leg 18 to receive the IC 10 or RFID tag as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 16. The storage assembly of claim 14, wherein the opening comprises a recess formed along a bottom surface of the foot (as cited in respect to claims 14, 15 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 17. The storage assembly of claim 13, wherein the protrusion comprises an upper section and a lower section, and the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the upper section or the lower section (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 2, 13 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is disposed to one or more locations in the handle member 6, see Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art that it is a desire choice or user choice to attach or mount the IC or RFID tag to the hook or protrusion along the anchor or slot 5 which provides the same output result.
Consider claim 20. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the at least one electronic component comprises at least one radio frequency identification device (RFID) tag (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is respect to claim 2 above).
Consider claim 27. The handle assembly of claim 25, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed along the inner surface of the grip portion (as cited in respect to claim 9 above).
Consider claim 28. The handle assembly of claim 20, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the one or more legs (as cited in respect to claim 10 above).
Consider claim 29. The handle assembly of claim 21, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the foot (as cited in respect to claim 11 above).
Consider claim 30. The handle assembly of claim 22, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the base (as cited in respect to claim 12 above).
Consider claim 31. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the anchor (as the discussed in respect to claim 13 above).
Consider claim 32. The handle assembly of claim 28, wherein the foot includes an opening configured to receive the at least one RFID tag (as cited in respect to claim 14 above).
Consider claim 33. The handle assembly of claim 31, wherein the opening comprises a cavity for at least partially enclosing the at least one RFID tag within the foot (as cited in respect to claim 15 above).
Consider claim 34. The handle assembly of claim 31, wherein the opening comprises a recess formed along a bottom surface of the foot (as cited in respect to claim 32, 33 above, wherein the cavity, opening or recess formed along the elongate attachment 8 and to bottom foot/leg 18, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 35. The handle assembly of claim 19, wherein the anchor comprises an upper section and a lower section, and the at least one RFID tag is disposed in the upper section or the lower section (as discussed in respect to claim 17 above).
Consider claim 36. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein the elongated grip portion comprises a wire handle. However, Dunnum teaches that the handle member 6 comprises electrical lines or wires inside the elongate grip 20, see Fig. 2).
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag 10 of the present invention includes an elongated housing body 12 having a lumen 14 extending therethrough. The security tag 10 is adapted to be mounted on a wire loop handle 30 for a container, such as a five gallon plastic paint-type pail. (See e.g. FIGS. 6 and 7). The security tag provides two functions. First, the security tag includes an electronic security device mounted therein, such as an electronic article surveillance (EAS) device as is well known in the industry or an RFID tag used for security and/or inventory monitoring. Second, the security tag provides a larger diameter handle for the consumer to grasp making carrying a heavy pail more comfortable. Without the security tag, the thin wire, plastic or rope handle can cut into the consumer's hand and make transporting the pail difficult (see Fig. 1, 6, 7, abstract, col. 2, lines 62-67, col. 2, lines 1-8, 60-67, col. 4, lines 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to substitute the wire handle of Strassburger et al for the elongate handle grip of Dunnum for providing comfortable handle easily to carry the container and prevent the wire handle from pressing into the hand of the person carrying the container.
Consider claim 37. A method of integrating an electronic component to a handle provided for attachment to a container, the electronic component configured for at least wireless identification or tracking of the container, the method comprising: (a) providing at least one electronic component; (c) forming a handle including the molded electronic component assembly; and (d) mounting the handle to the container (as the combination of the RFID tag as a wireless identification between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above, wherein the IC/RFID tag is respect to claim 2 above). But
Dunnum fails to disclose molding a molding material about the at least one electronic component to form a molded electronic component assembly.
Strassburger et al suggests that the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and cover 22 may be formed by injection molding, thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy which can initially flow into a mold and later solidities. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the security tag may be made from any suitable material using a variety of manufacturing technologies (see Figs. 1-5, col. 2, lines 3-6, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to use or implement the RFID tag molding process of Strassburger et al for attaching or mounting the IC or RFID tag into the handle with greater security and protecting and sealing the IC or FRID tag from any environment conditions and damage from carrying or using of the bottle or container.
Consider claim 38. The method of claim 37, wherein the at least one electronic component comprises at least one RFID tag (as the combination of the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 2 above)
Consider claim 39. The method of claim 38, wherein step (b) comprises molding the molding material about the at least one RFID tag, such that the molding material covers at least a portion of a surface of the at least one RFID tag (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above).
Consider claim 40. The method of claim 38, wherein the molding material is selected for bonding with a material of the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, see Strassburger et al, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Consider claim 41. The method of claim 38, further comprising (e) embedding the at least one RFID tag within the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, wherein the security RFID tag is encapsulated and molding by the plastic or epoxy, see Strassburger et al, abstract, col. 3, lines 20-32, 42-50).
Consider claim 42. The method of claim 41, wherein step (e) comprises inserting a completely encapsulated RFID tag into a housing and inserting the housing with the completely encapsulated RFID tag into the handle (as cited in respect to claim 41 above).
Consider claim 45. The method of claim 38, wherein step (a) comprises printing the at least one RFID tag onto an in-mold decorating (IMD) surface (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, and including printing letters and signs, see Strassburger et al, Figs. 1-4).
Consider claim 46. The method of claim 45, wherein step (b) comprises placing the IMD surface with the at least one RFID tag in a mold prior to injecting the molding material into the mold (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claim 37 above, wherein the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and cover 22 may be formed by injection molding, thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy which can initially flow into a mold and later solidities. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the security tag may be made from any suitable material using a variety of manufacturing technologies, see Strassburger et al, Figs. 1-5, col, 3, lines 42-50).
Consider claim 47. The method of claim 38, wherein step (c) comprises forming an opening in the handle and step (a) comprises inserting the at least one RFID tag into the opening of the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 14 and 37 above, see Fig. 2).
Consider claim 48. The method of claim 47, wherein step (b) comprises flowing the molding material into the opening of the handle and forming the molding material over one or more exposed surfaces of the at least one RFID tag disposed in the opening of the handle (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 14 and 37 above, see Fig. 2,
Consider claim 49. The method of claim 41, wherein step (b) occurs prior to step (e), such that at least one encapsulated RFID tag is embedded within the handle (as cited in respect to claim 42 above).
Consider claim 53. The method of claim 38, wherein the container comprises a fluid container (the mild or liquid bottle 1, see Figs. 1, 2).
Claims 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Strassburger et al [US 9,782,792] and further in view of Reiss et al [US 2011/0053208]
Consider claim 43. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein step (a) comprises adhering the at least one RFID tag to a film.
Reiss et al suggests that the handling device 11 includes a substrate with at least one crease that divides the substrate into a handle portion and a receiving portion that includes an aperture having a perimeter that is configured so that it receives a container (see abstract, Fig. 1). The handle portion includes an: adhesive in contact with it; and adhesive label 14 or RFID device on it, where the adhesive label extends beyond the at least one peripheral edge and connects at least two handle portions with each other. The substrate includes a material, which is paper, cardboard, foil and/or film. The device initially has a substantially flat profile and in use is folded about two creases so that a pair of opposing handle portions project generally away from the receiving portion and are connected to each other by an adhesive label. The peripheral edge portions are adhered to one another by an adhesive label portion (see Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C, para [0023, 0024, 0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to use or utilize the adhesive film for attaching the label RFID device of Reiss et al to the attachment and bonding the IC or RFID tag of Dunnum and Strassburger et al for providing strong protection and to avoiding of breakage.
Consider claim 44. The method of claim 43, wherein step (b) comprises placing the film with the at least one RFID tag in a mold prior to injecting the molding material into the mold (as the combination of the attachment RFID tag including film and molding process between Dunnum and Strassburger et al and Reiss et al in respect to claims 37 and 43 above).
Claims 50, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Strassburger et al [US 9,782,792] and further in view of Austin [US 2007/0139202]
Consider claim 50. Dunnum fails to disclose comprising (f) forming a plurality of guiding features for positioning the at least one RFID tag in a mold, the guiding features configured to detach from the at least one RFID tag when the at least one RFID tag is subjected to heat or pressure. As the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al in respect to claims 37 and 46 above.
Austin suggests that the method for manufacturing an object having an encapsulated radio frequency identification (RFID) tag is provided. An RFID tag is mechanically or chemically affixed to a first portion of the object being manufactured. The first portion of the object, with the RFID tag affixed is placed in a cavity of a mold. The first portion is then over-molded with a first material such as high temperature thermoplastic or low temperature thermoset to generate a seamless object. A method for manufacturing an object having a partially encapsulated RFID tag is also provided. An RFID tag is laminated with a lamination material, such as high temperature thermoplastic. The laminated RFID tag is affixed to a mold. The laminated RFID tag is then over-molded with a first material to generate a seamless object (see abstract).
A flowchart 400 of a method for manufacturing a seamless object having an encapsulated RFID tag, according to an embodiment of the present invention. Note that some steps shown in flowchart 400 do not necessarily have to occur in the order shown. For illustrative purposes, the steps of FIG. 4 are described with respect to FIGS. 5A-5H. FIGS. 5A-5H show views of an object during various phases of manufacture (see Fig. 4, para [0056]).
In step 410, the tag is laminated between two layers to generate a laminated tag structure. Step 410 is optional. FIGS. 5A and 5B illustrate top and side views of a laminated tag structure 500. In an embodiment, the laminate layers are made from a high temperature thermoplastic film. High temperature thermoplastics such as Polyetherimide (PEI) (e.g., GE Plastics Ultem 1000) maintain dimensional stability at high temperatures. This characteristic reduces the likelihood of the RFID chip becoming detached from the substrate and decreases the tag production cycle time by enabling higher cure temperatures (see Fig. 4, para [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to use or utilize the method or guiding steps of processing molding RFID tag by the detaching support pins from the RFID tag due to high or low temperature thermoplastic of Austin to the molding process method of Dunnum and Strassburger as to lower cost materials can be used for both the tag and the hard plastic substrate, see Austin, para [0076]).
Consider claim 51. Dunnum fails to disclose comprising (g) providing a plurality of support pins for supporting the at least one RFID tag in a mold, the support pins configured to detach from the at least one RFID tag when the at least one RFID tag is subjected to heat or pressure.
Austin suggests that in the exemplary mechanical method depicted in FIGS. 9A-9E, laminated tag structure 800 is affixed to a first portion of the object by aligning the one or more location holes 818 with the one or more locating pins 922 of the first portion. FIG. 9C depicts a side view of first portion 920. The number of locating pins 922 corresponds to the number of location holes 918 cut into the laminated tag structure. In an alternate embodiment, there are more location holes 918 cut into the laminated tag structure than locating pins. The locating pins are heat-staked down to retain the laminated tag structure on the first portion 940 of the object. FIG. 9D depicts a side-view and FIG. 9E depicts a top view of the resulting first portion with the locating pins heat-staked down. As can be seen in FIGS. 9D and 9E, the heat-staked down locating pins hold the laminated tag structure 910 securely to the first portion 920 of the object. As would be appreciated by persons of skill in the art, other mechanical methods can be used to affix the laminated tag structure to the first portion of the object and may detaching the pin from the RFID tag due to high/low temperature (see Figs. 5A-5E, 9A-9E, para [0057, 0059, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to use or utilize the method of processing molding RFID tag by the detaching support pins from the RFID tag due to high or low temperature thermoplastic of Austin to the molding process method of Dunnum and Strassburger as to lower cost materials can be used for both the tag and the hard plastic substrate, see Austin, para [0076]).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunnum [US 6,037,872] and Strassburger et al [US 9,782,792] and further in view of Yang [US 8,094,027]
Consider claim 52. Dunnum fails to disclose wherein step (b) comprises electrostatic pinning of the film with the at least one RFID tag to a surface of the mold prior to injecting the molding material into the mold (as the combination of the molding process for the RFID tag between Dunnum and Strassburger et al and Reiss et al in respect to claims 14, 37 and 43 above, and further Strassburger et al teaches that the security tag housing 12 is preferably made of plastic and is thermoformed. By way of example, the security tag housing 12 and cover 22 may be formed by injection molding, thermoforming, casting, ultrasonically forming and/or made from a plastic or epoxy which can initially flow into a mold and later solidities. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the security tag may be made from any suitable material using a variety of manufacturing technologies (see Figs. 1-5, col. 2, lines 3-6, col. 3, lines 42-50).
Yang suggests that the method for applying a radio frequency identification tag to an object, e.g., a container, by means of an insert molding process or in-mold decorating process (see abstract).
The molding operation can be a conventional molding operation, such as, for example, extrusion blow molding, injection blow molding, injection molding, reaction injection molding, compression molding, transfer molding. The processes are described in Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 8, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1987), pages 102-138; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 4, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1986), pages 79-108; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 4, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1986), pages 79-108; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 14, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1988), pages 72-100; Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering, Vol. 2, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (1985), pages 447-478, all of which have been previously incorporated herein by reference. Suitable processes are also described in U.S. Pat. Nos. 4,643,789 and 4,369,157, incorporated herein by reference. In the molding process, the adhesive coated composite film 34 (less the release liner) bearing the radio frequency identification tag is fused to the object generated by the insert molding station 52. The radio frequency identification tag can be introduced to the mold by means of vacuum or by electrostatic forces to maintain the radio frequency identification tag stationary during the molding process (see Figs. 4-10, col. 13, lines 37-60, col. 16, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filed date of the invention to use or utilize the method of processing molding RFID tag by electrostatic force of the film of Yang to the molding process method of Dunnum and Strassburger for the benefits of a web process incorporating an insert molding step, include, but are not limited to, reduction of cost, reduction of the risk of counterfeiting of the radio frequency identification tag, and improvement in appearance of the radio frequency identification tag. In particular, the likelihood of delamination of the radio frequency identification tag is reduced because the assembly comprising the microchip and the antenna is protected by the polymeric material used for preparing the article, e.g., the container, itself. A conventional radio frequency identification tag is subject to being damaged and is also subject to tampering (see Yang, col. 4, lines 17-30).
Conclusion
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687
10/20/2025