Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “thought the pores” and “though the pores” have incorrect spellings of “through.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the thermal expansion chamber." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 15, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0204303), in view of Hannemann (DE 102013/006103).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 21, Li teaches a system (Fig. 1, [0015]) comprising:
at least one active radio frequency component (rightmost 4, Fig. 6, [0028]);
a non-electrically conductive solid-liquid phase change material (SL-PCM) (30, Fig. 2, [0019], paraffin; Fig. 6, 30 in fifth accommodation space 200 from the left); and
a thermal expansion chamber (200, Fig. 2, [0020]; Fig. 6, third accommodation space 200 from the left); and
a reservoir (200, Fig. 2; Fig. 6, fifth accommodation space 200 from the left) wherein the reservoir surrounds the SL-PCM (Fig. 2, [0018])
wherein the SL-PCM is positioned between the at least one active radio frequency component and the thermal expansion chamber (Fig. 6), and
wherein the SL-PCM is in thermal conductive contact with the at least one active radio frequency component ([0020], [0028])
wherein the reservoir and the thermal expansion chamber are separated by a wall (200, Fig. 2, [0020]; Fig. 6, fourth accommodation space 200 from the left), and
a housing (2, Fig. 6, [0028]) which encapsulates the at least one active radio frequency component, SL-PCM, and thermal expansion chamber (Fig. 6).
Li does not teach the reservoir is comprised of a porous material having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores, and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick, wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores.
However, Hannemann teaches a porous material (2, Fig. 2, [0033], “base matrix”) having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]), and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick (2, Fig. 2, [0014], [0015], [0033], “base matrix”; 2 is considered as a wick having pores as the pore space provides capillary action for the latent heat storage device [0014], which is a phase change material [0015] with a solid-liquid phase transition [0021], and having communicating cavities in an open or closed channel structure [0033], into which the PCM can expand [0041]), wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to use the base matrix of Hannemann in each accommodation cell (Li: 200) to store the SL-PCM in order to achieve uniform, continuous, and immediate temperature control of an object (Hannemann: [0010]). The immediate temperature control especially aligns with Li’s goals of quickly transferring heat to peripheral region (Li: [0027]) and of uniform heat distribution (Li: [0030]). The second and fourth accommodation spaces from the left (Li: 200, Fig. 6) are walls between the reservoir (Li: Fig. 6, first and fifth accommodation spaces from the left) and the thermal expansion chamber (Li: Fig. 6, third accommodation space from the left).
Also, Li teaches the inner wall between adjacent accommodation cells may include a plurality of openings, and the openings may have the same or different shapes or sizes (Li: [0026]). Additionally, Li teaches a goal of making the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily ([0021]). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to modify the openings of Li to the pore sizes and locations of Hannemann in order to make the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily (Li: [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Li teaches the thermal expansion chamber adjacent to the inner wall of the housing (See annotated Fig. 1 below, the row shown in the cross section shown of Fig. 6 could be the row below, and the thermal expansion chamber in this row would be adjacent to the inner wall of the housing).
Regarding claim 9, modified Li teaches the thermal expansion chamber is spaced from the housing and the at least one active radio frequency component by the SL-PCM (Fig. 6, the thermal expansion chamber is spaced from and the housing and the active radio frequency component by the SL-PCM when viewed in the left to right direction as the SL-PCM is between the housing and the active radio frequency component).
Regarding claim 10, modified Li teaches a reservoir (200, Fig. 2; Fig. 6, fifth accommodation space 200 from the left)
wherein the reservoir surrounds the SL-PCM (Fig. 2, [0018]),
wherein the thermal expansion chamber is spaced from the housing and the at least one active radio frequency component by the reservoir (Fig. 6, the thermal expansion chamber is spaced from and the housing and the active radio frequency component by the reservoir when viewed in the left to right direction as the SL-PCM is between the housing and the active radio frequency component).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Li teaches a method for passively cooling a guidance system comprising (See MPEP § 2111.02(II): “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”):
absorbing thermal energy from at least one active radio frequency component (rightmost 4, Fig. 6, [0028]) with a solid-liquid phase change material (SL-PCM) (30, Fig. 2, [0019]; 30 in fifth accommodation space 200 from the left, Fig. 6, [0020], [0028]) which is located in a reservoir (200, Fig. 2; Fig. 6, fifth accommodation space 200 from the left) wherein the reservoir surrounds the SL-PCM (Fig. 2; [0018]),
wherein the SL-PCM is positioned between the at least one active radio frequency component and the thermal expansion chamber (200, Fig. 2, [0018], [0020]; Fig. 6, third accommodation space 200 from the left), and
wherein the SL-PCM is in thermal conductive contact with the at least one active radio frequency component ([0020], [0028])
wherein the reservoir and a thermal expansion chamber are separated by a wall (200, Fig. 2, [0020]; Fig. 6, fourth accommodation space 200 from the left),
changing the phase of the SL-PCM from a solid to a liquid ([0020]), and moving the SL-PCM to the thermal expansion chamber ([0018], [0020]).
Li does not teach the reservoir is comprised of a porous material having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores, and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick, wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores.
However, Hannemann teaches a porous material (2, Fig. 2, [0033], “base matrix”) having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]), and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick (2, Fig. 2, [0014], [0015], [0033], “base matrix”; 2 is considered as a wick having pores as the pore space provides capillary action for the latent heat storage device [0014], which is a phase change material [0015] with a solid-liquid phase transition [0021], and having communicating cavities in an open or closed channel structure [0033], into which the PCM can expand [0041]), wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to use the base matrix of Hannemann in each accommodation cell (Li: 200) to store the SL-PCM in order to achieve uniform, continuous, and immediate temperature control of an object (Hannemann: [0010]). The immediate temperature control especially aligns with Li’s goals of quickly transferring heat to peripheral region (Li: [0027]) and of uniform heat distribution (Li: [0030]). The second and fourth accommodation spaces from the left (Li: 200, Fig. 6) are walls between the reservoir (Li: Fig. 6, first and fifth accommodation spaces from the left) and the thermal expansion chamber (Li: Fig. 6, third accommodation space from the left).
Also, Li teaches the inner wall between adjacent accommodation cells may include a plurality of openings, and the openings may have the same or different shapes or sizes (Li: [0026]). Additionally, Li teaches a goal of making the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily ([0021]). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to modify the openings of Li to the pore sizes and locations of Hannemann in order to make the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily (Li: [0021]).
Regarding claims 15 and 23, Li teaches a system (Fig. 1, [0015]) for passively cooling a guidance system (See MPEP § 2111.02(II): “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”) comprising:
at least one active radio frequency component (rightmost 4, Fig. 6, [0028]);
a solid-liquid phase change material (SL-PCM) (30, Fig. 2, [0019], paraffin; Fig. 6, 30 in fifth accommodation space 200 from the left), wherein the SL-PCM receives thermal energy from the at least one active radio frequency component ([0028]) resulting in the SL-PCM changing from a solid phase to a liquid phase ([0020]); and
a thermal expansion chamber (200, Fig. 2, [0018], [0020]; Fig. 6, third accommodation space 200 from the left), wherein the SL-PCM is positioned between the at least one active radio frequency component and the thermal expansion chamber (Fig. 6); and
a reservoir (200, Fig. 2; Fig. 6, fifth accommodation space 200 from the left) wherein the reservoir surrounds the SL-PCM (Fig. 2, [0018]),
wherein the SL-PCM is positioned between the at least one active radio frequency component and the thermal expansion chamber (Fig. 6), and wherein the SL-PCM is in thermal conductive contact with the at least one active radio frequency component ([0020], [0028])
wherein the reservoir and the thermal expansion chamber are separated by a wall (200, Fig. 2, [0020]; Fig. 6, fourth accommodation space 200 from the left)
wherein the liquid phase SL-PCM moves from the reservoir into the thermal expansion chamber ([0018], [0020]).
Li does not teach the reservoir is comprised of a porous material having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores, and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick, wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores.
However, Hannemann teaches a porous material (2, Fig. 2, [0033], “base matrix”) having a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM thought the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]), and
wherein the wall comprises at least one pore and wick (2, Fig. 2, [0014], [0015], [0033], “base matrix”; 2 is considered as a wick having pores as the pore space provides capillary action for the latent heat storage device [0014], which is a phase change material [0015] with a solid-liquid phase transition [0021], and having communicating cavities in an open or closed channel structure [0033], into which the PCM can expand [0041]), wherein the at least one pore and wick have a pore size equal to the SL-PCM surface tension quality which is sufficient to allow for capillary action of the SL-PCM though the pores ([0014], [0015], [0021], [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to use the base matrix of Hannemann in each accommodation cell (Li: 200) to store the SL-PCM in order to achieve uniform, continuous, and immediate temperature control of an object (Hannemann: [0010]). The immediate temperature control especially aligns with Li’s goals of quickly transferring heat to peripheral region (Li: [0027]) and of uniform heat distribution (Li: [0030]). The second and fourth accommodation spaces from the left (Li: 200, Fig. 6) are walls between the reservoir (Li: Fig. 6, first and fifth accommodation spaces from the left) and the thermal expansion chamber (Li: Fig. 6, third accommodation space from the left).
Also, Li teaches the inner wall between adjacent accommodation cells may include a plurality of openings, and the openings may have the same or different shapes or sizes (Li: [0026]). Additionally, Li teaches a goal of making the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily ([0021]). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to modify the openings of Li to the pore sizes and locations of Hannemann in order to make the liquid phase change material flow among the accommodation cells through the openings more easily (Li: [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763