DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 refers to “the battery cell”. However, “a plurality of battery cells”, encompassing multiple battery cells are earlier recited and it is uncertain as to which is being referenced in claim 18. See MPEP 2173.05 (e). It is unclear whether just one or all battery cells comprise/require the limitation of claim 18.
Claim 19 is thus rejected due to its dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2023/0046770 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a battery cell comprising (Xu Fig. 3 depicts a battery cell 20.):
a case which accommodates an electrode assembly (Xu Fig. 3 illustrates and para. [0075] states that a case (housing 22) which accommodates an electrode assembly (core assembly 23).);
a cap plate which is arranged on the case and seals the case (Xu Fig. 3 displays and para. [0075] states that a cap plate (end cover 21) is arranged on the case and seals the case.);
a vent member which is arranged in the cap plate and communicates with an inside of the case (Para. [0076] states that end cover 21 (cap plate) may be provided with a pressure relief mechanism (vent member) wherein the pressure relief mechanism communicates with an inside of the case by releasing internal pressure when the internal pressure reaches a threshold value.); and
an electrolyte accommodation member which is located in the case, communicates with the vent member, accommodates an electrolyte, and is ruptured when an internal pressure of the case is greater than a first pressure value (Annotated Xu Fig. 10 illustrates and para. [0080] describes an electrolyte accommodation member (liquid bladder 24) which is located in the case (housing 22), communicates with the vent member when an internal pressure reaches a threshold value, accommodates an electrolyte, and is ruptured when an internal pressure of the case is greater than a first pressure value.).
Annotated Xu Fig. 10: A battery cell comprising of a case (housing 22) which accommodates an electrode assembly (core assembly 23); a cap plate (end cover 21) which is arranged on and seals the case; a vent member (pressure relief mechanism) arranged on the cap plate; and an electrolyte accommodation member (liquid bladder 24), which is located in the case.
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses wherein the electrolyte accommodation member is arranged to block the inside of the case from the vent member (Annotated Xu Fig. 10 illustrates and paras. [0093 – 0097] describe a liquid bladder 24 (electrolyte accommodation member) wherein liquid bladder 24 is comprised of a first liquid bladder 241 and a second liquid bladder 242. Second liquid bladder 242 is arranged underneath end cover 21 to block an inside of the case from the vent member.).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses wherein the electrolyte accommodation member comprises an electrolyte accommodation membrane which is in contact with the electrolyte and moves toward the cap plate when the internal pressure of the case is greater than atmospheric pressure (Paras. [0093 – 0097] describe a liquid bladder 24 (electrolyte accommodation member) which is comprised of an electrolyte accommodation membrane (first liquid bladder 241). First liquid bladder 241 holds the electrolyte, and as illustrated in Fig. 6, is in a state when the internal pressure within housing 22 is above atmospheric pressure and, as a result, the electrolyte accommodation membrane moving toward the cap plate. Additionally, Xu Fig. 7 illustrates and para. [0086] explains that when the internal pressure in liquid bladder 24 reaches a threshold value, a weakened structure 25 is ruptured, wherein electrolyte in the liquid bladder 24 is released from liquid bladder 24 as illustrated by two curved arrows in Xu Fig. 7. Furthermore, the two curved arrows display the direction wherein the electrolyte is released due to the rupturing of the weakened structure 25 as being toward end cover 21 (cap plate).).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses a battery module comprising (Xu Fig. 2 depicts a battery module.):
a housing (Xu Fig. 2 illustrates a box body 10 (housing).); and
a plurality of battery cells arranged in the housing (Xu Fig. 2 displays a plurality of battery cells 20 in a box body 10.),
wherein a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a case which accommodates an electrode assembly (Xu Fig. 3 illustrates and para. [0075] states that a case (housing 22) which accommodates an electrode assembly (core assembly 23).),
a cap plate which is arranged on the case and seals the case (Xu Fig. 3 displays and para. [0075] states that a cap plate (end cover 21) is arranged on the case and seals the case.),
a vent member which is arranged in the cap plate and communicates with an inside of the case (Para. [0076] states that end cover 21 (cap plate) may be provided with a pressure relief mechanism (vent member) wherein the pressure relief mechanism communicates with an inside of the case by releasing internal pressure when the internal pressure reaches a threshold value.), and
an electrolyte accommodation member which is located in the case, communicates with the vent member, accommodates an electrolyte, and is ruptured when an internal pressure of the case is greater than a first pressure value (Annotated Xu Fig. 10 illustrates and para. [0080] describes an electrolyte accommodation member (liquid bladder 24) which is located in the case (housing 22), communicates with the vent member when an internal pressure reaches a threshold value, accommodates an electrolyte, and is ruptured when an internal pressure of the case is greater than a first pressure value.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied in claims 1 and 17 above, and in further view of Du et al. (CN 105449284 A).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Xu discloses the battery cell as claimed in claims 1 and 17.
Xu fails to disclose a battery cell further comprising a blocking member arranged on the cap plate to cover the vent member.
However, Du teaches a battery cell further comprising a blocking member arranged on the cap plate to cover the vent member (Annotated Du Fig. 3 illustrates a blocking member (denoted by arrow) arranged on the cap plate (battery top cover 2) to cover the vent member (manually operated vent hole 21).
Xu and Du are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu to include a blocking member arranged on the cap plate to cover the vent member because Du teaches when the pressure within the gas chamber becomes too high, operating the manual vent allows for efficient battery gas discharge, thus preventing the battery from exploding due to severe gas expansion (para. [0012]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Du Fig. 3: A lithium-ion battery comprised of a blocking member (denoted by arrow) arranged on a cap plate (battery top cover 2) to cover the vent member (manually operated vent hole 21).
Claims 3-4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as modified by Du, as applied in claims 2 and 18 above, and in further view of Blanchard et al. (US 2026/0204732 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 19, Xu, as modified by Du, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claims 2 and 18.
Xu, as modified by Du, fails to disclose wherein, when the internal pressure of the case is greater than a second pressure value, the blocking member is ruptured such that a ruptured hole is formed in the blocking member, of instant claims 3 and 19, and wherein the second pressure value is greater than the first pressure value, of instant claim 4.
However, Blanchard teaches wherein, when the internal pressure of the case is greater than a second pressure value, the blocking member is ruptured such that a ruptured hole is formed in the blocking member (Paras. [0147 – 0148]] state that a membrane (blocking member) ruptures upon internal pressure of a second passage, which is within a case, reaching a second pressure value. Blanchard Fig. 7A illustrates an embodiment of a membrane 160 that may rupture when the fluid within a second passage 150 exceeds a force threshold that membrane 160 can hold.), and wherein the second pressure value is greater than the first pressure value (para. [0147] states that a first pressure threshold is lower than a second pressure threshold.).
Xu, Du and Blanchard are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu to include when an internal pressure of the case if greater than a second pressure valve, a blocking member is ruptured and wherein a second pressure value is greater than a first pressure value because Blanchard teaches that choosing a first pressure value to possess a lower value than a second pressure value balances the pressure within the battery interior and ensures that a closing piston opens a first passage before the membrane is at risk of rupturing (para. [0150]), wherein keeping the membrane closed advantageously prevents external particles from entering the battery interior, extending the lifespan of said battery (para. [0156]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as modified by Du, as applied in claim 2 above, and in further view of Lee (US 2019/0237729 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Xu, as modified by Du, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 2.
Xu, as modified by Du, fails to disclose the battery cell further comprising a sealing member which is arranged in the vent member and moves to allow communication between the vent member and an inside of the case by an increase of the internal pressure of the case.
However, Lee teaches the battery cell further comprising a sealing member which is arranged in the vent member and moves to allow communication between the vent member and an inside of the case by an increase of the internal pressure of the case (Annotated Lee Fig. 3A illustrates a sealing member (second embossed portion 154d) arranged in a vent member (safety vent 154). Para. [0063] explains that when an internal pressure of a case 140 is greater than a reference pressure, safety vent 154 ruptures to allow internal gas within case 140 to be released, explaining that, due to the position of the second embossed portion 154d within safety vent 154, it is necessary for the second embossed portion to rupture, allowing communication between the safety vent 154 and the inside of case 140.).
Xu, Du and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu to include a sealing member arranged in a vent member wherein the sealing member moves to allow communication between the vent member and an inside of the case by an increase of the internal pressure of the case because Lee teaches a safety vent rupturing allows for internal gas within a battery case to be released rapidly to an outside of a battery case, thereby avoiding dangerous situations such as excessive pressure within a battery (para. [0063]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Lee Fig. 3A: A battery cell comprising of a cap plate (151), wherein, a vent member (safety vent 154) is arranged on said cap plate and a sealing member (second embossed member 154d) is provided within the vent member.
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, as applied in claim 5 above, and in further view of Wendling et al. (US 2010/0215996 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 5.
Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, fails to disclose wherein the blocking member is in contact with the sealing member to press the sealing member toward the inside of the case.
However, Wendling teaches wherein the blocking member is in contact with the sealing member to press the sealing member toward the inside of the case (Annotated Wendling Fig. 1 illustrates and para. [0058] explains of a sealing member (vent ball 76) and a blocking member (vertical walls of the vent well 74) wherein the blocking member is in contact with the sealing member to press the sealing member toward the inside of the battery case. The vertical walls of vent well 74 offer sufficient compressibility to push vent ball 76 towards an inside of the case when an internal pressure of said case is below a predetermined level.).
Annotated Wendling Fig. 1: A battery comprising of a blocking member (vertical walls of vent well 74) and a sealing member (vent ball 76).
Xu, Du, Lee, and Wendling are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, to include a blocking member which is in contact with a sealing member to press said sealing member toward the inside of a battery case because Wendling teaches that the vertical walls of the vent well 74 provide sufficient compressibility on vent ball 76 to maintain a hermetic seal under normal conditions (para. [0058]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Regarding claim 7, Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 6.
Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, further discloses a vent member (safety vent 154) comprising a vent hole (151b) which extends through a lower surface of the cap plate, communicates with the inside of the case, and has a first diameter (Annotated Lee Fig. 3A.1); and
an inclined vent portion (sloping portion 154b) which extends through an upper surface of the cap plate, has a second diameter greater than the first diameter, and is obliquely formed toward the vent hole (Annotated Lee Figs. 2 and 3A.1).
Annotated Lee Fig. 2: A battery comprising a cap plate (151), wherein arranged on said cap plate, a vent hole (151b) is extended through a lower surface of the cap plate and has a first diameter. Additionally, an inclined vent portion (sloping portion 154b) as part of safety vent 154, extends through an upper surface of the cap plate, has a second diameter greater than the first diameter, and is obliquely formed toward the vent hole.
Annotated Lee Fig. 3A.1: A battery comprising a cap plate (151), wherein arranged on said cap plate, an inclined vent portion (sloping portion 154b) is extended through an upper surface of the cap plate and has second diameter greater than the first diameter, and is obliquely formed toward the vent hole.
Regarding claim 9, Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 7.
Xu, as modified by Du and Lee, further discloses a sealing member which allows the vent hole to communicate with the inclined vent portion when a difference between an internal pressure of the vent hole and an internal pressure of the inclined vent portion is greater than a certain value (Annotated Lee Fig. 3A illustrates a sealing member (second embossed portion 154d) arranged in a vent member (safety vent 154). Para. [0063] explains that when an internal pressure of a case 140 is greater than a reference pressure, safety vent 154 ruptures to allow internal gas within case 140 to be released, explaining that, due to the position of the second embossed portion 154d within safety vent 154, it is necessary for the second embossed portion to rupture, allowing communication between the vent hole 151b and an inclined vent portion (sloping portion 154b) when a difference between a pressure of the vent hole and a pressure of the inclined portion is greater than a certain value.); and
blocks the vent hole from the inclined vent portion when the difference between the internal pressure of the vent hole and the internal pressure of the inclined vent portion is less than or equal to the certain value (Para. [0072] describes the sealing member (second embossed portion 154d) preferably being positioned in the vent hole 151b in order to make pressures converge on vent hole 151b. This, along with Annotated Lee Fig. 2, illustrates the sealing member positioned between vent hole 151b and inclined vent portion (sloping portion 154b) to block both the vent hole 151b and sloping portion 154b when the difference between a pressure of the vent hole and a pressure of the inclined portion is less than or equal to a certain value.).
Regarding claim 10, Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 9.
Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, further discloses wherein a shape of the sealing member is a spherical shape (Annotated Wendling Fig. 1 illustrates and para. [0060] states that sealing member (vent ball 76) should be highly spherical.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, as applied in claim 7 above, and in further view of Mochizuki et al. (US 2021/0257699 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Wendling, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 7.
Xu, as modified by Du, Lee, and Wendling, fails to disclose wherein the vent member comprises a vent gasket which is arranged between the vent hole and the inclined vent portion and on which the sealing member is seated.
However, Mochizuki teaches wherein the vent member comprises a vent gasket which is arranged between the vent hole and the inclined vent portion and on which the sealing member is seated (Annotated Mochizuki Fig. 7 illustrates a valve device 200 which is comprised of a vent hole (denoted by arrow), an inclined vent portion (denoted by arrow), a vent gasket (O ring 212), a sealing member (ball 214), and a blocking member (spring 216). The vent gasket is placed between the vent hole and the inclined vent portion, and the sealing member is seated on top of said vent gasket.).
Xu, Du, Lee, Wendling and Mochizuki are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu, as modified by Du, Lee and Mochizuki, to include a blocking member which is in contact with a sealing member to press said sealing member toward the inside of a battery case because Mochizuki teaches that when an internal pressure of the housing body reaches a predetermined pressure, gas passes through the valve device, pressing the sealing member against the blocking member, and flowing through the resulting gap between the vent gasket and the sealing member, lowering the internal pressure of the housing body back to a stable level (para. [0115]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Mochizuki Fig. 7: A valve device comprising of a vent gasket (O ring 212) arranged between a vent hole (denoted by arrow) and an inclined vent portion (denoted by arrow). The sealing member (ball 214) is seated on top of O ring 212.).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied in claim 12 above, and in further view of Park et al. (US 2026/0221580 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 12.
Xu fails to disclose wherein the electrolyte accommodation member comprises a protrusion configured to rupture the electrolyte accommodation membrane which moves according to the internal pressure of the case.
However, Park teaches wherein the electrolyte accommodation member comprises a protrusion configured to rupture the electrolyte accommodation member which moves according to the internal pressure of the case (Park Fig. 9 and annotated Park Fig. 10 illustrates and paras. [0094] and [0095] state that the electrolyte accommodation member (bottom plate 220) comprises a protrusion (needle 312b) configured to rupture the electrolyte accommodation membrane (cell terrace 112), wherein the needle portion moves according to an internal pressure of the case (module case 200). Para. [0051] states that the cell terraces 112 are the front sealing potions and the rear sealing portions of the pouch-type battery cells 110, thus accommodating the electrolyte.).
Xu and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu to include a protrusion configured to rupture an electrolyte accommodation membrane which moves according to the internal pressure of the case because Park teaches when the needle 312b from the needle portion 312 forms a hole or crack in cell terrace 112, this enables the release of high-temperature gas, particles, and etc. within battery cell 110 to an outside of the battery cell 110, delaying thermal runaway and increasing the lifespan of the battery cell (para. [0095]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Park Fig. 10: A battery comprising an electrolyte accommodation member (bottom plate 220) which houses an electrolyte accommodation membrane (cell terrace 112), wherein a protrusion (needle 312b) infiltrates the electrolyte accommodation membrane upon a certain internal pressure value. The resulting protrusion enables the release of high-temperature gas, heat particles, and etc. through gas venting holes (201) into an exterior of the battery.
Regarding claim 14, Xu, as modified by Park, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 13, wherein the protrusion is configured as a sting protruding toward the electrolyte accommodation membrane and ruptures the electrolyte accommodation membrane.
Xu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose wherein the protrusion is arranged on a lower surface of the cap plate and, after protruding into the electrolyte accommodation membrane, the electrolyte accommodated in the electrolyte membrane falls.
However, Park teaches that the protrusion is arranged on an upper surface of a bottom plate (220) and, after protruding into cell terrace 112, high-temperature gas, particles, and etc. fall through gas venting holes 201 toward an outside of the battery cell.
Xu and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same art of developing batteries with venting devices for relieving internal pressure within said batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Xu, as modified by Park, to include the protrusion is arranged on a lower surface of the cap plate and, after protruding into the electrolyte accommodation membrane, the electrolyte accommodated in the electrolyte membrane falls because Park teaches the needle 312b from the needle portion 312 forms a hole or crack in cell terrace 112, this enables the release of high-temperature gas, particles, and etc. within battery cell 110 to an outside of the battery cell 110, delaying thermal runaway and increasing the lifespan of the battery cell (para. [0095]) and applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (D).
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions (a protrusion placed on a top of a bottom plate than placed on a bottom of a cap plate) of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04. IV.
Regarding claim 15, Xu, as modified by Park, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 13.
Xu further discloses wherein the electrolyte accommodation member comprises a guide member which guides the electrolyte accommodation membrane (housing 22) to move toward the cap plate (Xu Fig. 6 displays guide members (core assemblies 23) that guide the electrolyte accommodation membrane (liquid bladder 24) to move toward cap plate (end cover 21) upon expansion of the core assemblies 23 due to increased internal pressure.).
Annotated Xu Fig. 6: A battery comprising an electrolyte accommodation member (housing 22) comprises a guide member (core assemblies 23) which guides the electrolyte accommodation membrane (liquid bladder 24) to move toward the cap plate (end cover 21).
Regarding claim 16, Xu, as modified by Park, discloses the battery cell as claimed in claim 13.
Xu further discloses wherein the electrolyte accommodation member comprises an electrolyte pouch which surrounds the electrolyte and comprises an elastic material (Para. [0079] states that liquid bladder 24 is a closed bladder holding the electrolyte inside. Furthermore, liquid bladder 24 is comprised of an outer protective layer and an inner sealing layer. The outer protective layer may be aluminum, Teflon, acrylic, polypropylene, and the like, whereas, the inner sealing layer may be polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride, polystyrene, acrylic resin, polycarbonate, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyurethane, and the like. The aforementioned list of materials all display a degree of elasticity.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 2026/0045628 A1) discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged in a housing, a case accommodating an electrode assembly, a cap plate which seals a case opening, a vent member arranged in the cap plate, and an electrolyte accommodation member.
Contact Information
/SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713