DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims of Group 2 are dependent upon the claims of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is between an apparatus and process. Although the process claims require all the particulars of the apparatus claims, the apparatus claims do not require all the particulars of the process claims rendering the claims distinct from one another.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 and 8-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ford et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0275679).
Regarding claim 1, Ford et al. discloses a pocket door frame (1, Fig. 13), comprising a back frame portion (100, 200 rear portions); and a front frame portion (100, 200), wherein each of the back frame portion and the front frame portion have a first vertical support (100) and a second vertical support (100).
Regarding claim 2, Ford et al. discloses the back frame portion and the front frame portion can be made of composite material, wood, steel and reinforced plastic (Para [0135]).
Regarding claim 3, Ford et al. discloses the first support (100) and the second support (100) are constructed of the same material (Para [0002]) as the back frame portion (100, 200) and the front frame portion (100, 200).
Regarding claim 5, Ford et al. discloses a plurality of slats (200) between the first vertical support (100) and the second vertical support (100, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Ford et al. discloses the slats (200) are made of the same material as the back frame portion and the front frame portion (Para [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Ford et al. discloses the slats are at least one of screwed into the vertical supports via brackets (1000, Para [0106]).
Regarding claim 9, Ford et al. discloses a track or lip (101, 102) disposed on the first support and the second support to assist in securely holding the slats (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 10, Ford et al. discloses wherein the slats (200) are adjustable along the track or lip (Para [0110]) before being adhered to the track or lip.
Regarding claim 11, Ford et al. discloses comprising a middle support (4, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 12, Ford et al. discloses the middle support (4) is adhered to the second vertical support (100).
Regarding claim 13, Ford et al. discloses comprising a header (Header, Reproduced Fig. 13), which disposed at the top of the first support and the second support.
Regarding claim 14, Ford et al. discloses the header (Header) is pre-sized for the installation (Reproduced, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 15, Ford et al. discloses the header further comprises a horizontal support (Extended Portion, Reproduced Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 16, Ford et al. discloses a doorstop (5) attached to the pocket door frame (Figs. 16-17)
Regarding claim 19, Ford et al. discloses a pocket door frame (1, Fig. 13) to be used in the installation of pocket doors with a size larger than the size of the pocket door frame, comprising a header (Header) having an extended header portion (Extended Portion, Reproduced Fig. 13) extends past a back end of the pocket door frame, wherein the extended header portion is universally sized (Para [0067]), to be cut to a specific size in situ.
Regarding claim 20, Ford et al. discloses the extended header portion (Extended Portion) includes at least one indicator (length and width of the Header) of what size is appropriate for various pocket doors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0275679).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Ford et al. discloses wherein the first and second supports (100) and the slats (200) and the second support (100) are constructed of from a range of different materials (Para [0135]) but does not necessarily disclose that the materials of the supports being different than the back frame portion and the front frame portion. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to construct any portions of the frame from different materials for strength, flexibility, aesthetic and cost purposes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. There would be no new or unpredictable results achieved from using different materials to construct different portions of a frame as a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633